Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Lochgilphead Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Argyll > Lochgilphead > Lochgilphead Caravan Park > Reviews

Lochgilphead Caravan Park
Bank Park
Lochgilphead
Argyll   (Browse area)
PA31 8NX
Tel: 01546 602003
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 13
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 52 Reviews
                8/10 from 52 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 We used this site as a stopover on route to Mull, and I would suggest that its about its limit. All the pitches are hardstanding which is handy for just pulling up and moving again in all weathers. There is some road noise however it drops off at night. The facilities are adequate but due a revamp. The games room has been removed to add more washing machines as the town use this place for laundry!

There's a handy dog walk round the site and all the basics are here.

Off the site the town is useful for stocking up at the shops or fuel however its not a visitors town unlike many in the area. For example the pubs look very local orientated! Couple of takeaways to. The town looks a little economically depressed unfortunately. The town is a very easy walk from the site which is handy. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Tyrone 19 reviews from this member

 Stayed over the May Bank Holiday. This is a great site, the showers, toilets, etc. Were spot on. The owner was friendly and helpful.

The site is situated on the edge of the town and forms an excellent base from which to explore. We drove to Ardfern for a boat trip to Jura. We also recommend a visit to Tarbert and Crinan. The Crinan Canal walks are fantastic.

As other folk have mentioned, Lochgilphead itself is a little 'tired' but still provides a pleasant visit. We have fallen in love with the area and plan to visit again next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redguscat 15 reviews from this member

 I originally stayed here about 4 or 5 years ago at Easter, so both visits have been out of the peak season. On both occasions I've found the site to be friendly, welcoming and clean. The tent area was quiet (although I imagine it fills up in July and August) and the toilets and showers were clean.

The nicest touch is that they have a coffee machine in the laundrette. Every site should have one! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 I originally only intended to use the dryers here-- but ended up staying on the recommendation of a camper. So just to note--if you see lots of cars milling round near the entrance, nothing dodgy going on, it's just that the laundrette (which has plenty of machines) serves the town not just the campsite.

Mostly this is a fairly bog-standard site: has a clean toilet-block, and the radio playing in it is a nice touch.

The main downside is hinted at in the site's name: it caters largely for caravans, so if you're in a tent the toilet-block is rather a walk away round rows of statics.

Much of the tent area was a bit waterlogged on my visit. If you've a small tent, you can put it on one of the little banks in the middle of the park--but obviously not much use for a family tent (and you still have to walk across the 'swamp' to get to your tent).

The open plan nature of the site combined with high winds meant when I was there you had to painstakingly weight down anything you put down or see it blow 100m away. This contributed to me departing the site well past midday--plus point to the management for not making a fuss about this! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tamnbess 1 review from this member

 Just back from this caravan park and couldn't fault it. If it wasn't for our tent letting us down we wouldn't have been home.

The park itself is nice and friendly but most of all clean. The toilet block is clean and well kept. The tent pitches are ok but the ground can become a bit marshy after rain but that didn't put us off.

The staff are very helpful and really nice.

We took our dog and even she loved it.The small play area for the kids was ample and well situated for keeping an eye on them.

Lochgilphead town is much to be desired a bit run down and shops over priced due to no competition.

I will be coming back to this site as soon as our tent problem is resolved. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robbo75 2 reviews from this member

 Nice enough site with good showers etc.

Unfortunately the site is also infested with midges - we were being eaten alive within minutes of stepping out of the car.

It rained for one day whilst we were there, and frankly Lochgilphead itself does not offer a lot.

Most of the restaurants were closed, and the town really looked as though it is falling apart. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Grumpyhippy 6 reviews from this member

 A great site for exploring, with superb walks/cycle trails locally, suitable for everyone from family trundles along the Crinan canal, to hardcore 'crash and burn ' stuff for the brave! The site was clean,tidy and quiet, with good facilities, cheery, helpful staff and varied types of pitch to suit all. Lochgilphead itself is a pleasant place, with a wide variety of shopping/eating and a great frontage onto Loch Fyne. Among the many places for a day out,Oban is about an hour away with all its ferry connections to the Isles, the fascinating Kilmartin glen is on your doorstep as is the Kintyre peninsular. All in all a great site for introducing yourself the west coast of Scotland. I loved it! 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 Well, what a great little site! We stayed here for 2 nights on our way back south from Oban and the Highlands. The site is well kept, the grass well cut, and the facilities well clean! It was a pleasure to go to the toilet! The pitches were of a great size with each pitch being close to a water tap.
The site itself is within walking distance of small town which is on the shores of Loch Fyne. Close to the site is a canal which has a great towpath to jog and cycle on. We cycled along it to a great hotel where we were fed and watered before heading back. Wicked! 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Us2pluscaravan 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely camping/caravan site. Really well thought out. Each hook up is next to a tap so there is no need to walk for water. The toilet and showers are very clean, I really liked this site, would recommend this site to anyone. The toilet and showers are very clean and all free.
Very friendly and a lovely village, with loads to do around. 


Date of Visit: August 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John+Dee 4 reviews from this member

 Well maintained and friendly site very close to Lochgilphead centre.
Clean toilets and showers and well maintained grounds, including childrens play area and separate dog walking area. Electrical hook ups available and free use of showers etc. Nice site! 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Lochgilphead Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Lochgilphead Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Lochgilphead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Argyll

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3050 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement