Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park Reviews

Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park
Coylumbridge
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 01479 812800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Tents 17 Touring
Open: December - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: VangoMan02 21 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend at Rothiemurchus site.

Had one of the top pitches right next to entrance/exit. Obviously lots of coming and going so not a quiet pitch, headlights shining directly on the van windows at night when cars have to stop at barrier and use card for access to site.

This site is all about location and have stayed several times in caravans and tents over the years but first time so close to entrance.

The CDP was out of order but a temporary one was fixed up right next to where you get your drinking water on the top pitches?

The next nearest water tap was being used by a motorhome on a mains connection.

I agree with comments on the top set of toilets, way past their sell by date.

The main block at the bottom of the site is much better and have always used these on our visits.

Unfortunately there was no hot water on the morning of our last day. So no shower.

Will I return. Probably but in a tent, 24. 50 per night for 2 adults in a caravan with hookup taking into account the above.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frankies family 12 reviews from this member

Our third stop touring Scotland ( family of 4 with children aged 10 and 7 yrs)

A beautiful location and I've fell in love with aviemore.

A nice site well located to easily pick up the cycle paths direct into aviemore and the visitor centre. Slightly disappointed it wasn't as tranquil as expected due to road noise on what is really a 'b' road but very busy day and eve.

The site seems to be split into 'top' pitches which was where we were and then woodland pitches. Personally I prefer the top pitch but the toilet block there is old and whilst spotlessly clean really needs knocking down. I understand there are planned improvements for the site over the next 12 months so hopefully should address this. Woodland shower/ loos were fine but perhaps needed extra clean during the day as the mop to clean showers was dirtier than the mess you have made ( on both occasions used)

That said we had a great time, loved the area and the site and would definitely return.

Ps; the highland wildlife park was great and certainly worth a visit !

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Yampyget 4 reviews from this member

Travelled down from Findochty, got there about 2pm had a lovely welcome from the wardens.

Smashing pitch in the woods, TV signal poor but l was able to get mobile signal.

The new toilet block is good with toilet, handbasin and shower in one room, lovely for privacy. The older toilet block was poor and that's from hubby, needing up dating and cobwebby and appeared grubby, I glad I did not go in it.

But if you want a site in lovely wooded surrounding with streams running through it then this is the site for you,

A trip on the Strathspey railway is a must.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jillysunchyme 5 reviews from this member

Excellent site, lovely clean shower toilet block. Good site for exploring, lots of walks, funicular railway, RSPB site, all with in easy distance. Close to Aviemore for shops and places to eat. Lovely pub called bridge inn serving real ale and fresh cooked food. Their chocolate fondant was best I have ever tasted. The site was in a lovely setting, well organized and well laid out. Planning to visit again and will recommend to friends.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Rexxie 30 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay here very much. Felt like a camper's Centreparcs - with lots of cycle / walking paths available to try.

Short distance to the Rothiemurchus centre - lovely shop and cafe there.

Lots to see and do within a few miles- enjoyed a trip up Cairngorm funicular -you can get out and walk to the summit.

Loch Garten Osprey centre and Loch An Eilein also worth a look.

Friendly wardens. The shower block was a bit of a walk -nearer for tenters, but loved the fact you have loo, basin and shower in the same room. Everything very clean.

Would recommend.

Date of Visit: December 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Armchaircamper 22 reviews from this member

I have visited this site several times and it is one of my favourites. The tent area (no dogs allowed) is set amongst pine woodland with a choice of areas to pitch: up on a higher level or down near the stream if you don't mind the sound of running water. A small burn splits from the river for a little way before rejoining it and this forms an island reached by a small bridge. The areas between the trees on this island area make it suitable for smaller tents mainly.

Car parking is in designated areas beside the tracks which run through the site and never far from the tent with the exception of the island pitches.

Campers choose an area between the trees to pitch. The ground is hard so take rock pegs, although I've even bent a rock peg at this site. Also, clear the area of little pine cones before pitching. They can be difficult to see but a nuisance under the groundsheet.

The lovely warm toilet block has individual rooms containing shower, toilet and wash hand basin. Lots of space to move about and plenty of hooks to hang clothes as well as a shelf along one wall. The showers have recently been upgraded and are now larger and have proper taps, not the push button type. There are also a few separate toilet cubicles. The only improvement I would like to see is the installation of a hairdryer. There is a hand dryer which will do the job but blasts your hair in all directions - okay if you don't mind the wild creature of the woods look! The dishwashing facilities are also in this block. There is a 10 deposit required for the toilet block entry swipe card.

The staff are very friendly and helpful. The surrounding area is beautiful, overlooked by the Cairngorm mountains. There are lots of walks and outdoor activities round about, many of which are detailed on the Rothiemurchus website. Loch an Eilein is a beautiful little loch with a small wooded island with a castle. The walk around it is quite level and takes about an hour and a half, and also makes a good cycle run.

Aviemore is a mile or two along the road. It's very much based on the outdoor enthusiast with a good number of outdoor shops and eating places, but not much character in its own right. The Strathspey Steam Railway runs trains from the little station. A few miles from the site is the Cairngorm reindeer centre where you can book a visit to see and feed the herd on the hillside.

This is definitely a site to return to, but it's popular so it's best to book well in advance during peak season.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Adam + Vee 5 reviews from this member

Well there is pretty much nothing left to say about this, most wonderful, campsite, just perfect. Anyone who has gripes about this site should NOT be on a camping or caravan holiday.

We 1st visited this site around 3 years ago and had only time for 1 night but made sure we had more time to take in all the walks, cycle paths and incredible scenery around Aviemore and surrounding area.

On both occasions we were blessed with wonderful weather but this area lends itself to ANY weather really, it is so stunning!

Staff were ever helpful & friendly at all times.

Toilet blocks were clean, tidy and very spacious, excellent.

If you have young children then look no further, it is a safe distance in from the main road and the way the road winds through the site means motorists really do take their time.

We are already planning our visit this year and hopefully they will be able to accommodate us on our chosen dates.

Check it out on your next visit to the area, you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dodgers49 4 reviews from this member

Camped here for one night in a tent in late September of 2012. Was delighted by the beautiful scenery, fantastic old pine forest, (the campsite itself and the forest and the countryside at the back). Saw many Red Squirrels and birds here, including a Buzzard. There's a lovely little river which flows through the site, very picturesque, you can even camp on one of the little islands in the middle of it. I only stayed here for one night, so didn't get to see to much of the place and the facilities and staff there etc etc, but what I did see of all of that I thought to be good.

New toilet and shower block for tent campers, a little laundry and so on and so on, the staff were friendly and nice too. A lovely little quiet peaceful beautiful campsite, would definitely return for another stay, yes.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kathhastings 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned after spending two weeks on this wonderfully peaceful and scenic site.

Set amongst woodland and close to a rambling river, this is an idyllic location for a relaxing break. We all felt it was one of the best sites we've stayed on for the sheer feeling of well-being.

The pitches are of varied sizes and some, but not all, have a dedicated water tap and drainage - we did not know this when we booked earlier this year, otherwise we would have requested one of these serviced pitches.

As it was, however, the water tap and waste water drain were only a matter of feet away from our pitch. There are about 9 pitches around an open grassy play area at the entrance to the site and more pitches interspersed through the more wooded area. To the rear of the site is the tent area - again, all set within the trees and by the river bank.

There are 2 toilet blocks - the one on the entrance to the park provides toilet and wash basins only. Also at this block is the launderette with washer and dryer. This would be the only area that I feel could be improved on - the toilets could do with a bit of modernisation and the addition of showering facilities in this ara would be helpful as it's a little walk to the other block - if you got caught in the rain it wouldn't be nice!

The second amenity block is by the camping area at the rear of the site - this is a newer block and houses dishwashing facilities along with shower rooms. The rooms we used all had the toilet, washbasin and separate shower cubicle and plenty of space to put clothes and get ready afterwards. A big plus in my book - I can't stand cramped shower rooms where your clothes end up getting wet because there's not an inch of spare space to put them out of range of the shower!

Location wise - the site is about a mile or so from Aviemore and there's great cycle paths to take you in if you're a cycling fan. The cycle paths also lead from the site to the beautiful Loch an Eilein - a ride of about 30-40 mins depending on ability - thoroughly recommended - and I am not an experienced cyclist - in fact just bought a bike from the bike shop in Aviemore while there to make use of the splendid cycle paths - loved it!

A few minutes drive in the other direction takes you to Loch Morlich where you can enjoy water sports, hire out canoes or rowing boats and the kids can play on the lovely sandy shores.

Not to be missed is Cairngorm Mountain Railway - fantastic views from the top! (Return ticket for family of 4 30 - but can use Tesco Days Out Vouchers if you have Rewards to use)

We treated ourselves to Sunday dinner on board the Strathspey Steam Train - absolutely gorgeous - very very impressed with the train, the journey and the meal - would highly recommend this. (Total cost of 90 for family of 4)

Another 2 attractions we'd recomment are Landmark Activity Centre and the Highland Wildlife Park - both venues can be paid for again in Tesco Days Out Vouchers - but otherwise approx 44 each venue for a family of 4.

Also worth checking out is the working sheepdog display at Leault Farm - about 8 miles south of Aviemore. Fascinating to see how the shepherd works the dogs and there's orphan lambs the kids can feed - but beware. There are very very cute puppies there too! Almost came away with one! Display costs 14 for family of 4. Good value.

You may want to take a trip into Inverness - we took the train from Aviemore to make it more relaxing - 21. 50 for family of 4 using our Family & Friends Railcard. Just have to watch the train times as there aren't very many trains in the day so if you miss one you may have a long wait for the next one.

As you may gather from my review - we've thoroughly enjoyed our time in the Aviemore area and the site at Rothiemurchus was absolutely perfect for us. Can't recommend it highly enough!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Alis0n 12 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week leading up to the Jubilee Bank holiday and had a fantastic time.

The tent pitches have a 'back to basics' feel, you pitch between the trees or next to streams running through the campsite. There were a range of pitch sizes, and the campsite specifically ask the dimensions of your tent so that they can accomodate bigger tents.

The campsite is not overbooked, so there is no issue of overcrowding.

Toilet facilities were excellent, there were 7 different small bathrooms, two with toilet and hand basin and 5 with shower, toilet and handbasin, meaning that you can have a bit of privacy! The facilities were cleaned daily, the showers were hot, and the block itself was heated meaning you don't step from a hot shower to a freezing bathroom! There were also two washing up sinks, and a laundry room (this was located by the caravan pitches).

The facilities seemed adequate and there was never a queue, even over the bank holiday.

Only downside was there is nowhere to plug in a hairdryer and just one hand-dryer outside of the cubicles that you can flip up and dry your hair.

There wasn't a designated children's play area, and children were mostly playing alongside pitches. The staff were friendly and approachable when we needed information.

The area itself was lovely, there is no pub in walking distance, but the Cairngorm Hotel in Aviemore did great food. Also the cafe at Rothiemurcus visit centre was great for coffee.

Well worth a visit are the Cairngorm Reindeer Herd, the Ospreys at RSPB Loch Garten and Loch an Eilein.

We did not enjoy the Cairngorm furnicular, was rather overpriced for the amount of time we spent at the top (you cannot leave the visitor centre).

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3405 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!