Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park Reviews

Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park
Coylumbridge
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 01479 812800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Tents 17 Touring
Open: December - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rotomuk 1 review from this member

We have been holidaying at this campsite for many years now, sometimes twice in one year. The staff have made us feel more than welcome and the shower facilities have always been kept clean. The area in and around the site is outstandingly beautiful, there are plenty of walks for the fit and unfit alike from the site and the surrounding area. Peace and tranquil is the best way to describe rothiemurchus, but if you want a bit more you don't have to go far to find it! The welcoming staff and the beautiful scenery have made us come back time and time again, with and without our children who have also loved it here.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Emma in Surrey 6 reviews from this member

We arrived at the busiest time of year, and shortly after, the Camp Full sign went up.
Nevertheless, we found an excellent spot for our tent in the forest next to the stream, and not once did we have to wait for a shower or loo in the superb, new block. Absolutely spotless and completely brilliant! The site was not noisy, and although very busy, felt peaceful and pleasant. Easy walk to the local hotel which has a bar in grounds suitable for the less smartly dressed!

Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joebiz 1 review from this member

Stayed at this site 4 years ago, enjoyed it then, the site was very clean with friendly helpful staff. clean facilities, quiet, secluded camping area. Visited the site again this year, only stayed one night but enjoyed it again.
The staff are still very friendly and welcoming. They have new toilet and shower facilities (since our last stay) which I would rate 5 star, very clean and tidy, well kept. Would highly recommend this camp site to anyone. Close to the town with plenty shops and things to see and do.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callumsnona 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and one we come back to time and again. The downside though is that its a first come first served basis, no booking in advance which means you could turn up to find no room at the inn so to speak, so if travelling any distance could be quite an inconvenience. We have been lucky so far in that we have got on but it was close last time as we arrived after my sister to be told site was full despite my sister telling her we were enroute. The warden wasn't happy about it but let us stay anyway. As it was the site remained half empty so have no idea why it was claimed to be full.
The new toilet/shower block is lovely. Kept very clean though some other campers i'm afraid are quite happy to walk away leaving a mess behind them rather than make sure they have left it as they found it. The hotel a few yards down the road has a swimming pool that my nieces had great fun in.
Aviemore itself is only minutes away with plenty to do. Plenty of shops and the Cairngorm Hotel is the friendliest place in town.wonderful staff. But for me its the peace and quiet of the site itself (and the red squirrels) that keeps us coming back.

Date of Visit: October 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Billy coutts 15 reviews from this member

Got a friendly welcome here even though we arrived late on Sunday evening. Pitched up in wooded section large enough pitch but tricky to maneovre into. New toilet blocks very modern and clean but wouldnt like queing for shower in busy months as seperate room contains all shower / sink / toilet! Easy walk up to Coylumbridge Hotel with amenities including fun house and mini golf for kids and access to swimming pools but all bit pricey if non resident. Aviemore is 5minute drive with its now much improved look and facilities. Stayed for 3 nights but still enjoyed the new Aviemore so much again we stayed on nearby as this site fully booked rest of week.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baldockchris 4 reviews from this member

Fantastic new toilet block with 8 Shower/toilet and sink units, very clean with swipe card entry. Camping in the pine wood great with plenty of privacy. Staff on site very friendly and helpful, no Pub within walking distance was the only down fall. Will be back as soon as possible.

Date of Visit: September 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

Stayed here last week, Friday and Saturday night.

Superb site right on top of the Cairngorm mountain range and lovely forest, nearby shop was useful and the toilet blocks were hotel standard. But the problem was:

Last Saturday (16th Sept) was our last night of a three week Scotland tour, so we decided to pop out for a drink. The following day I admit we overslept by a few hours! I found the woman receptionist was very hostile, even though we had no problem at all with understanding our deposit was lost, all we wanted to do was hand the swipe card back and say sorry, pay and extra if necessary and leave.

Such a shame as this site is great with everything you would need, but ruined by this woman's terrible attitude, Ive never come across anyone like this at a campsite, even though I'm admin on a well known walking website and travel all over the British Isles.

Date of Visit: July 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: B16ave 1 review from this member

Just back from this campsite and it was a tourers dream site. Firstly the receptionist was FIRST CLASS and very friendly, she let us go onto the pitch and check out the area before we set up for 10 days. The site is very well laid out and there is plenty of room on each pitch(you are not in each others awnings).

The toilet block is spotless and very modern(with a swipe card entry system) We found they were always cleaned to a very high standard and the showers were just bliss. It felt like you were in a real toilet block not cubicles next to each other. I would give this a 5 star rating.

The area around the camp site is very easy to navigate around and there is lots to do within a 10 min walk.(Fishing, Pony treking, Horse riding, good cycle paths( or walking), Grass sledging, Windsurfing, Sailing and an indoor activity centre (the list can go on and on)

To sum up our 10 days here is simply to say 10 out of 10 for this camp site and we will be going back again and again !

Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pezzer01 1 review from this member

Fantastic site situated within woodland/forest. Very helpful and welcoming staff at any time of day/night. New toilet and shower unit facility on a swipe card system was a life saver from the cold damp weather especialy to warm up the children.

You might have to book in warmer weather but we just turned up on the off chance and got a good choice of pitches for our 3 man, 4 man tents and no charge for the 3*3 mtr gazzibo.

Date of Visit: August 2005
Reviewer: Strazzers 2 reviews from this member

Given the location, this should be a grat campsite. Sadly the place lacks personality and one of the two facility blocks is very poor - smelly and mouldy. In three days, I never once saw the wardens out and about.

We had a nice big hardstanding overlooking the main front green - nice location, but meant we were a long way from the new facilities. The ones beside us were simply the worst I've come across (once you got past the heavy door and combination lock).

Did meet some people who swear by the place, but I won't be going back. Shame really, as this is one of the most beautiful areas of Scotland with loads of walking, cycling and activities minutes from this campsite.

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2837 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019