Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park Reviews

Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park
Coylumbridge
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 01479 812800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Tents 17 Touring
Open: December - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: GriffReed 4 reviews from this member

This was a lovely site and the freedom of pitch choices was excellent. With good spaces set aside for larger tents.

Shower/toilet facilities were a dream. Warm at night which makes the run across the campsite worthwhile! Cubicles tricky to shower small children in so we used the easy access bathroom as a whole family affair which worked well. But would have been nice if the signage said that this was ok so that we didn't have to feel guilty!

The laundry room was a great hiding place from very wet cold conditions!

Improvements to an already great facility could be boot drying space and charging points in the toilet block.

Lots to do in the area and the Visitor Centre had nice farm shop and lovely cafe / restaurant.

Kids could have an adventure and explore the site.Although no dedicated facilities as such.

Owner's response:

We are pleased that the visitor enjoyed his stay at Rothiemurchus and are grateful for his comments. We would, however, like to point out that we offer charging of electrical items free of charge at reception, and we have both a laundry and drying room on site. We also have the ability to dry a limited number of boots, available on request.

Date of Visit: February 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sarahholroyd 2 reviews from this member

We had a great weekend at Rothiemurchus caravan park. The site itself is hidden in the trees of the road at Coylumbridge. The area is beautiful and ideal for dog walking. We used the electric hook up, and kept nice and warm despite the cold temperatures. There are two toilet blocks. The old one is clean and warm, toilets, and a laundry and dishwashing. The new block is the best I have seen. It's like going in to your own en-suite. There is a heater, shower, toilet and sink in the same room so plenty of space to leave your clothes while you shower. Showers are lovely and warm, with a proper sealer cubicle (no plastic shower curtains or cold drafts!) We'll definitely be back.

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tobyranger 1 review from this member

Just back from a weekend in Aviemore.

Have to say that this is one of the nicest sites I have been on in a long time.

Upon arriving there at approx 13.30 on the saturday was met by dave who manages the site with his wife gill, the seem a very nice couple.

Most of the pitches are serviced with there own water tap, drainage and tv aerial point. All of this is a saviour as I hate filling and emptying water barrels, just connect up the mains adaptor and drainage and your away. Most of the pitches are of reasonable size with type one down, and mostly level.

The site itself is clean and well maintained, I do have to say that its a pretty basic site, no shop, not really much for kids to do unless they bring there own stuff to play with. However the site is amazing if you have a dog, as its is right at the start of some of the areas best walks in the hills etc.

There is two toilet blocks, one old one new, I believe the old one is ok, however there is no showers in it. We never used that block. The new block with the showers in it is very modern and up to date, very clean, tidy, odour free. Water is roasting!, Also has dishing washing facilities, with two chemical toilet emptying points around the campsite.

There is loads to do in and around the Rothiemurchus estate of which the campsite forms part of. For instance, Fishing, Archery, Biking, Tennis, Walking, Canoeing, Bat Walks, River raiders, Clay shooting, Sleddog tours, Pony trekking, Safaris on foot, Indoor climbing, Family activities, Wildlife watching, Safaris by landrover, Quad bike trekking, Wildlife photography, 4x4 Off road driving, Gorge swimming the list goes on.

Aviemore itself is only a 5 - 10 minute drive at most, There is a lot of shops, a couple of decent pubs, one club I think also plenty of places to eat. We ate in the scottish pub one night, excellent food, excellent night.

If you drive up into the cairngorms you can get the Cairngorm funicular railway up to the top of the mountain. Highly recommended.

All in all this campsite although basic is an excellent base for a holiday to this part of scotland. I have already booked a couple of dates for next year. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Orkney Fire 2 reviews from this member

Absolutely my favourite campsite, I've been here almost every year since I was 17, and it really is wonderful (especially since the new toilet block was built, and you now get your own bathroom!) you can camp on the top level and look into the trees if you have a dog, and the rest of it is dog free (hooray!).

There are some islands in the river you can pitch a tent on, or you can pitch nearer the toilets, but wherever you go the location is gorgeous, among the ancient forest, and the red squirrels and birds will be all around you! I have composed many tunes on the riverbank and find Rothiemurchus to be one of the most relaxing places I've ever found. Perfect for walking into the mountains, or into Aviemore, and close to Glenmore and Loch Morlich too. Always peaceful and never any noise problems. Midgies can be bad - take repellent!

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Macleod 2 reviews from this member

Would like to say we all enjoyed our stay here over the weekend and the toilet block was better than I have ever seen in a campsite. The owner was very helpful on our arrival and friendly. The site it's self is very clean tidy plenty of room to move about the camping areas was great we had a great spot and at night very peaceful the kids really enjoyed there stay too plenty to do in Aviemore will be back soon and will recommend this site thanks again to the owners.

Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Papercorn2000 6 reviews from this member

Stayed here for seven nights. Our pitch was a little tight although some of the other pitches were a little larger. Nicely sheltered site in woodland, loads of birds around.

Great base for walks, cycling and the mountains. There's a soft play and a pool at the Coylumbridge Hotel (5 min walk down the road) if the weather turns bad. Largely safe for the kids to wander about and play (just watch the river that runs down one side of the site).

Toilet block was very clean, showers were hot with plenty of water. Staff were very helpful - couldn't do enough to help.

No shop, but try the Rothiemurchus Visitor centre for locally produced meat and other produce.

We will be back here sometime.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy75 45 reviews from this member

Spent Easter break here, my third visit.

What can I say, superb site in every way possible with great facilities, which by the sounds of it are set to improve even more shortly with the construction of a drying room etc.

The site is now under new ownership as from September 2007, the new couple Dave & Gill couldn't do enough for myself and friends considering we only stayed a few nights. It has to be said that we were made to feel more welcome than on prevous occasions and I wish them all the best.

A great site for all the family looking for a quality touring site, in the meantime walkers like myself can pick just about anywhere in the forest to set up camp giving it a truly 'wild feel' and out the way.

I travel all over the UK camping for my website, so far this would be my favorite site. Roll on my next trip.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IlkleyOwl 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here for about 5 days at the end of Sept. The site is under new management (just taken over in Sept) so you can ignore all previous references to the unfriendly owners - the new managers were extremely helpful and friendly.
The site is lovely and there were lots of pitches for caravans under the trees at the back of the site, but also more open ones and fully serviced ones at the front. Shower block was average - think they are making lots of repairs - but this was fine but not great but certainly not a reason to put you off.
Set in great scenery and loads to do on the Rothiemurchus Estate around and about. Will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: EE25 3 reviews from this member

Just got back from a few days at this lovely camp site – would have stayed longer if we could have done. Camping in the forest was wonderful – red squirrels, owls at night the only sound was the burn. As it was September we were grateful for the shelter the trees gave. We opted to camp in the lower ground nearer the facilities in case of wind; there is low level lighting here which I prefer not to have (personal preference I like the stars uninterrupted) but it is very low level so is not too intrusive. You can opt to camp on the higher bit just a few feet up which has no light and is still quite sheltered.

Facilities were very good too accessed by swipe card - we got one between two of us - would recommend you get one each (£10 depsit per card)

- the number of times I went to the loo only to discover my partner had the card!

New toilet/shower/washing up block, with individual shower and toilet facilities which gave plenty of room to change and shower. Was a bit startled that they were unisex but the arrangements – individual private cubicles – meant that modesty of all is well preserved. Spotlessly clean as well. Please note that there is also an accessible shower / toilet cublicle (ramp to block) for people with disabilties or who need extra assistance.

It was very quite it being September - I suspect it would be busier in the season. There are holiday chalets and hard stands for camper vans but these are in a separate area to the camping which is small and secluded.

The welcome at reception was warm, friendly and helpful. Didn’t try out any local activities was there mainly for the walking which was on your door step and all around - but would imagine there is lots to do in the local area and especially in Aviemore.

In fact I can’t find fault with this site and I am sure we will be back.

One sad thing was that the local shops (butchers, green grocers and bakers) that I remember in the area have all closed down because of the opening of a Tescos since I was last there. Remember use those local shops or loose them….

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dollyannie 2 reviews from this member

If you like red squirrels in a natural environment, this is the place for you. The whole site is in a large forest and is absolutely superb. Not much for kids to do though but my little grandson was happy to go on a bug hunt. Bring a bird feeder and some peanuts for the squirrels and they will very soon appear!
lovely clean facilities and helpful warden. Very near Coylumbridge where there are excellent facilities for children - great swimming pool at the Hilton nearby.

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1456 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!