Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park Reviews

Rothiemurchus Camp & Caravan Park
Coylumbridge
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 01479 812800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Tents 17 Touring
Open: December - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 75 Reviews
                9/10 from 75 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 1 mile 
 Beach 5 miles   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  75 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gkkad 16 reviews from this member

This used to be my favourite site, but to my mind it has unfortunately gone down hill a bit over the last few years.

The main issue for me is that they have now completely closed the older toilet block at the front of the site, which makes it a bit of a trek (in the rain and snow when we were there) if you are on a pitch at the front. Add to this the fact that the only block is then closed for 2hrs daily - not ideal.

We were only given one key card, which meant we all had to go to the showers together or wait on the other coming back.

On the plus side the elsan's have thankfully been modernised. I get the feeling that the touring area is now of less importance than the statics/chalets

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Baddab 2 reviews from this member

Just back from a fantastic trip to this great site.

A good reception from the staff on site with lots of info and handy hints.

We pitched up in the woods near to the toilets. The pitch was level and well sheltered. No electric hook up but the temperature was only -2C so no problems with that. The toilet facilities were spotless, well maintained and heated.

It's a great location with easy access to the mountains (weather permitting) Aviemore and the surrounding area with lots of great walks and cycling.

We had breakfast down at the estate cafe and the bacon rolls are highly recommended.

We'll be back

Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lorfal 21 reviews from this member

The site is in a beautiful setting. Many lovely walks for all skill levels right from the site. Tracks are fantastic for biking. Great for dogs. There is a safe, enclosed dog exercise area where dogs can run free through woodland and scrub area. Facilities clean and warm. Helpful warden.

My only gripe is the incessant gunfire from nearby clay shooting. Appreciate most folk are out and about during the day, but it does spoil the peace. It went on all day long.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Danny4 9 reviews from this member

We came to this using the postcode and the satnav. We had also looked it up on the map carefully beforehand. The satnav showed it to be up a more remote road and 3. 5 miles further on. Check the actual map if you have not been before.

The site is situated in part of a forest, and you are protected for strong winds, but you are not subject to a lot of direct sunshine. No problem for us, as the weather was wet!

The site has two toilet and washing facilities. Both were good and kept very clean.

If you feel like living it up, it, you can go down to the Hilton Hotel, less than a mile away, and have a coffee. ! A first for us, and they accept people wearing outdoor clothing.

The staff were helpful and we were very pleased with the site.

Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smart Family 43 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site for a 4 night stay. On arrival we were made very welcome by the site wardens and directed to our pitch. The site is quite large and beautifully set in the edge of the forest, our pitch was large and flat hardstanding gravel, reasonably level. We were given 2 key cards for the toilet as there were 4 of us, which was good. The toilet block is at the rear of the site in the tent camping area and is very good with large almost separate rooms with toilet sink and shower cubicle. There is also a dish wash section with 2 sinks for dishwashing. There was another dish wash come laundry room with 1 more dish washing sink, which meant there were 3 dish wash sinks in total which seemed a little inadequate for a site this size. There were plenty water service points and 2 chemical waste points which were good. We had frozen water taps during our visit but fresh water was available in the Laundry room.

As we had a dog this is a fantastic location in the Rothiemurchus forest for walking, with good paths directly from the site. We also walked into Aviemore (2 miles)on a good cycle path, where we found all the outdoor shops were dog friendly, other dog Friendly places were, Mambos cafe bar, Macdui's Restaurant and the Old Bridge Inn. The Rothiemurchas Centre where the is a Farm shop and Cafe is 10 minutes walk from the site. We also saw the Tree Zone TreeTop Adventure attraction at The Rothiemurchus Centre. A great site in a great location, We will be back.

Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Vets on tour 3 reviews from this member

We are staying on this lovely site at the moment and find it difficult to fault. We read the previous review with some confusion as we are almost on the furthest pitch from the toilet and it takes me 2. 5 minutes to walk to the facilities (I`m 76 and due a hip replacement). The walks from the site are lovely and the forest setting encourages a vast variety of wildlife - yes it is in a forest so will be dark at night - which is a joy to watch from out van.

The waste water point is not a problem, better than most, and simply involves turning the van around, which everyone here at the moment seems to understand. I suspect the previous reviewers were not experienced campers.

Aviemore offers the basics but don`t expect to take a large motorhome into the supermarket carpark. The helpful staff will advise you where to park if you need to stock up.

Date of Visit: December 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wraggy121 5 reviews from this member

A great site for christmas.

Pros - secluded well spaced pitches and very clean shower and toilet facilities

Cons- 4 minute walk to shower, toilet facilities through the dark woods. This is not acceptable for women and children to walk alone at night to use the loo through the secluded camping area. Motorhome disposal grate not suitable as its not wide enough and was on the wrong side for my uk unit.

I would strongly suggest a shower / loo unit actually next to the touring site where everyone is parked

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scotsbob 8 reviews from this member

Just spent a night at this great forest site just a short distance from Aviemore ( 40 mins walk or 15 mins by cycle). A very pleasant friendly welcome from the warden who is a fountain of local info, also gives out a handful of leaflets etc for the local area. We had a sizable pitch for our m/home complete with water tap & EHU. The only 'gripe' is the toilet/shower chalet is fair walk from the reception through' the wood past all the other pitches and could be a bit of a walk for the 'oldies'. The facilities are all self contained with sink/shower & toilet in the cubicle & plenty of hot water. Poss for future a small toilet block located near the reception end of the site for people. No WIFI on site but avail at the Hilton just up the road, TV depending on aerial.

All in all a great site, many forest/woodland walks. Easy bike trails, plenty of wild life to see. Another visit will be on the cards. P. S. There is a bus service which runs hourly and passes the site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Gerry Gaffney 3 reviews from this member

Stunning site, situated on the edge of a lovely river and right on the doorstep for walks and cycle tracks.

Less than a mile to the Rothiemurchus centre, where a weeks worth of activities could be booked, with something to suit everyone.

2 mile pleasant walk or cycle into the centre of Aviemore.

Just a short walk (500M) to the hilton where you can use the facilities as a day guest or just have a drink or bite to eat.

The toilets were unisex style with each being a combined toilet, wash basin, shower unit with lots of space, bunkers and hooks and were spotless, all controlled by swipe card.

Our kids made use of the large green near the entrance to play with other kids.

Very well maintained and clean, excellent facilities including a well stocked info/notice board, very pleasant wardens also.

Would visit again and recommend to others.

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nxnleon123 7 reviews from this member

The most beautiful campsite I have ever seen. Got to choose where to pitch our site out of a few places. Set up right next to a picturesque stream which runs through the campsite under beautiful trees. Also experienced no midges whilst on the site, which is always good! The site is very well managed with clean showers. Each shower is in its own locked room with a wash basin and toilet, and you have a key card to get into the building.

Not far to walk to Aviemore either if you come on the train and I think there was also a bus service.

Aviemore in itself isn't what I expected (I was expecting a little village/town). There are many chain stores including Tesco, Mountain Warehouse, Blacks, and I think even a New Look amongst others. It was useful to have the Tesco though so I can't really complain too much. Had a lovely walk up to Craigellachie and there are some paths through the forest with lovely forest scenery. Loch an Eilean is also nearby.

Expensive at £11 per person per night, but well worth the money in my opinion.

Previous     75 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019