Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Inverness-Shire > Aviemore > Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park Reviews

Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park
Coylumbridge
Aviemore
Inverness-Shire   (Browse area)
PH22 1QU
Tel: 01479 812800
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 22 Tents 17 Touring
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 79 Reviews
                9/10 from 79 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  79 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lesley 1 review from this member

 Lovely small quiet site and nice pitches although a bit tight to fit. And water fill up is next to waste water so you have to drive to fill up.

There was drinking water closer but it needed a hose fitting which would have made it easier to fill the tank without having to move the MH.

Lots of good forest walks from the site and only a mile to the deli along a track which is very good. Ideal for cyclists. 


Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dave01282 1 review from this member

 Parked at the top of the site in a new section for motorhomes.

Very quiet, no complaints.

Site very well run and covid measures are in place.

Just a nice distance from town to stretch the legs and admire the views and get some fresh air. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Theres 1 review from this member

 Loved the setting. Very quiet and peaceful. Unfortunately toilet and shower facilities were shut due to Covid-19 but we were informed about that when we booked.

Will definitely visit again. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Other
Reviewer: Everes 1 review from this member

 For me this is by far the best campsite in cairngorm np.

If you love

Camping in the woods

Great showers/toilets

Great customer service

I was unable to stay here as date shown due to tents not being allowed due to virus. I am going on the many times i go there when able to

A stone throw from aviemore (2miles)

Bus stop right out of the site to take you to cairngorm/ loch morlich

Wildlife

This place beats the rest hands down

If you dont try this site you do not know what you are missing. If you do go then you will want to come again 
via mobile


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gkkad 19 reviews from this member

 This used to be my favourite site, but to my mind it has unfortunately gone down hill a bit over the last few years.

The main issue for me is that they have now completely closed the older toilet block at the front of the site, which makes it a bit of a trek (in the rain and snow when we were there) if you are on a pitch at the front. Add to this the fact that the only block is then closed for 2hrs daily - not ideal.

We were only given one key card, which meant we all had to go to the showers together or wait on the other coming back.

On the plus side the elsan's have thankfully been modernised. I get the feeling that the touring area is now of less importance than the statics/chalets 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: February 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Baddab 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fantastic trip to this great site.

A good reception from the staff on site with lots of info and handy hints.

We pitched up in the woods near to the toilets. The pitch was level and well sheltered. No electric hook up but the temperature was only -2C so no problems with that. The toilet facilities were spotless, well maintained and heated.

It's a great location with easy access to the mountains (weather permitting) Aviemore and the surrounding area with lots of great walks and cycling.

We had breakfast down at the estate cafe and the bacon rolls are highly recommended.

We'll be back 


Date of Visit: January 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lorfal 23 reviews from this member

 The site is in a beautiful setting. Many lovely walks for all skill levels right from the site. Tracks are fantastic for biking. Great for dogs. There is a safe, enclosed dog exercise area where dogs can run free through woodland and scrub area. Facilities clean and warm. Helpful warden.

My only gripe is the incessant gunfire from nearby clay shooting. Appreciate most folk are out and about during the day, but it does spoil the peace. It went on all day long. 


Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Danny4 9 reviews from this member

 We came to this using the postcode and the satnav. We had also looked it up on the map carefully beforehand. The satnav showed it to be up a more remote road and 3. 5 miles further on. Check the actual map if you have not been before.

The site is situated in part of a forest, and you are protected for strong winds, but you are not subject to a lot of direct sunshine. No problem for us, as the weather was wet!

The site has two toilet and washing facilities. Both were good and kept very clean.

If you feel like living it up, it, you can go down to the Hilton Hotel, less than a mile away, and have a coffee. ! A first for us, and they accept people wearing outdoor clothing.

The staff were helpful and we were very pleased with the site. 


Date of Visit: February 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Smart Family 60 reviews from this member

 Our first visit to this site for a 4 night stay. On arrival we were made very welcome by the site wardens and directed to our pitch. The site is quite large and beautifully set in the edge of the forest, our pitch was large and flat hardstanding gravel, reasonably level. We were given 2 key cards for the toilet as there were 4 of us, which was good. The toilet block is at the rear of the site in the tent camping area and is very good with large almost separate rooms with toilet sink and shower cubicle. There is also a dish wash section with 2 sinks for dishwashing. There was another dish wash come laundry room with 1 more dish washing sink, which meant there were 3 dish wash sinks in total which seemed a little inadequate for a site this size. There were plenty water service points and 2 chemical waste points which were good. We had frozen water taps during our visit but fresh water was available in the Laundry room.

As we had a dog this is a fantastic location in the Rothiemurchus forest for walking, with good paths directly from the site. We also walked into Aviemore (2 miles)on a good cycle path, where we found all the outdoor shops were dog friendly, other dog Friendly places were, Mambos cafe bar, Macdui's Restaurant and the Old Bridge Inn. The Rothiemurchas Centre where the is a Farm shop and Cafe is 10 minutes walk from the site. We also saw the Tree Zone TreeTop Adventure attraction at The Rothiemurchus Centre. A great site in a great location, We will be back. 


Date of Visit: January 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vets on tour 3 reviews from this member

 We are staying on this lovely site at the moment and find it difficult to fault. We read the previous review with some confusion as we are almost on the furthest pitch from the toilet and it takes me 2. 5 minutes to walk to the facilities (I`m 76 and due a hip replacement). The walks from the site are lovely and the forest setting encourages a vast variety of wildlife - yes it is in a forest so will be dark at night - which is a joy to watch from out van.

The waste water point is not a problem, better than most, and simply involves turning the van around, which everyone here at the moment seems to understand. I suspect the previous reviewers were not experienced campers.

Aviemore offers the basics but don`t expect to take a large motorhome into the supermarket carpark. The helpful staff will advise you where to park if you need to stock up. 


Previous     79 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rothiemurchus Camping Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Aviemore      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Inverness-Shire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4677 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement