Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WOBBLE 22 reviews from this member

The usual standard of caravan site facilities, pitches are all grass some you will need chocks. The site is very open, awnings if used will need good tie downs. The site is next to the beach that is good for long walks. Thurso is the nearest town to the site, a Tesco and lidl are in thurso as well as other shops. And garages. The sun sets were great while we were there.

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Man on the Move 13 reviews from this member

Four friends and I arrived at the site unannounced on motorcycles and were initially concerned the site would be unable to accommodate us due to a posted notice advising very limited pitch availability. However once the manager returned to the office, we were pleasantly surprised to be told we could stay overnight and we were then directed to the lower end of the site where we found some well kept and reasonable level pitches.

The fees were very fair for the facilities on offer and the only negative aspect was the proximity of the main road and the resulting traffic which seemed surprisingly heavy given the area we were in.

We only saw one other tent on the site as the rest of the occupants were in either in caravans or RVs.

The facilities on site were both clean and well maintained and it was clear the site overall was kept to a very high standard.

Having previously stocked up on supplies in Wick, we had no need to seek provisions or refreshments on site and therefore I cannot comment on the local amenities.

Overall though, I have no hesitation in recommending this site to others with the proviso that if in a tent, you negotiate to be pitched further back from the road.

Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Smitgla 6 reviews from this member

We didn't plan on staying here but having come across it in our tour- we couldn't resist. The location is superb- right next to a huge sandy beach with big waves! There were some surfing happening which was great to watch. Pitch size was great - enabling lots of privacy. Facilities were all clean and warm. Standard was high in line with other caravan club sites. Check in was friendly. No play park for the kids - but all they needed was the beach.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lelly1512 4 reviews from this member

An immaculately kept campsite, the facilities were lovely and clean, each unit had their own key to the toilet/shower block, staff were very polite and welcoming. You couldn't ask for a better location right at the beach, absolutely stunning. Didn't use the local shops as Thurso and John O'Groats are not that far away. The only drawback is that there was no shop or restaurant on the site but they are not that far away in the nearby town. Would recommend this campsite highly and will definitely be back.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Mrshlowe 3 reviews from this member

Fab. Fantastic site, good space between units, clean modern facilities. Impressed with the view, but on a windy evening, van was covered in seaspray. Not a complaint- it was lovely.

Surprisingly good. No playground so more adult orientated- which is great. Surfers were out. Not much on site- but great places to visit nearby- Castle of Mey, Orkney, Thurso, John O groats. Nice meal in restaurant along the road.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

A great site in the far north of Scotland where the Caravan Club is noticable for its absence!

The site is alongside a main road (not heavily used) and has all grass pitches, few of which appear to be level. The pitches nearest to and directly overlooking the dunes and beach were the most popular and we were surprised that one of them (No 7) had been reserved in advance, as we were not aware of this option when we booked online. The direct beach access is ideal for dog walkers. The facilities were spotlessly clean and despite there being only 3 female showers we did not experience queues. Overall, good value at the Caravan Club outpost, although the scenery might be described as tame after the Highlands. The Castle of Mey and the Caithness Horizons museum in Thurso are 'must go' suggestions.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: No1aussie 1 review from this member

Excellent site, area well maintained, toilet/showerblock very clean and warm. 6 meter rule applies allowing plenty room between campers. Pitches all grass with a well kept one way road around the site. Hook ups plentiful, waste bins available, fresh water and chemical toilet disposal area easy to find. Site beside main road but does not intrude. Lovely bay to walk plus forest walk across the road. Highly recommend this site and will certainly visit again.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

Cracking site. Just what you would expect from Caravan Club site really.

You are only a few minute walk from a huge stunning white sandy beach.

Facilities are excellent, clean and all in working order.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Pitches are a good size.

Can really recommend this site if you are up North visiting and want to stay in a lovely scenic area which is only about 20 miles from John O'Groats.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Trubytribute 16 reviews from this member

Wow! Okay its an awful long way to travel to the far north of Scotland but what a lovely site this is. Small and quiet despite the major John O Groats to Thurso road running beside it.

Friendly staff, dog friendly and the most wonderful beach anywhere in the British Iles. You can walk for miles along it with wonderful views and just have the whole beach to yourself. Firm sand too.

For a relaxing holiday this has to be as good as anywhere.

Ive given it 8 out of 10 but that's because of being practical with it being so far north. Best site to our way of thinking North of Inverness.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dargy 34 reviews from this member

Travelling from the south coast, we booked Dunnet Bay and were glad we did as it was pretty full when we arrived. We booked in and found a corner pitch with a good view of the beach and settled into three days of exploring the area. The site is not huge but has plenty of water points with power to each pitch of course and the facilities are absolutely fine.

We toured quite a bit up there and the highlights included a drive down to Cape Wrath (too windy to get over on the day), the Castle of Mey which is superb with guided tours and Dunnet Head - actually the most northerly part of the British Mainland. Oh yes, and John O'Groats. Well you just have to chalk it up - a bit like Lands End - and we did actually get a decent cup of coffee there! We also stopped at the Castle Arms in Mey for a great breakfast one morning and had a really nice evening meal there the following day. It's about 5 mins from the site and worth a look.

There is Tesco in Thurso and Wick (better) for supplies and smaller Co-Ops scattered around the area. It's certainly wild up there but we loved it and would recommend the area and Dunnet Bay. From here, we caught the ferry at Gills Bay to the Orkneys - very convenient!

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5690 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019