Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

Really loved it here. The pitches are smallish and if you arrive late, you will be most likely to find only the uneven pitches left. The wind can be ferocious and we didn't put up awning up. The long day trip to the Orkneys from John O' Groats seems costly, but we found it to be well worth the money. Choosing a sunny day is essential though.

The bay itself is stunning, just a handful of people and acres of white sand. Walking late at night in the perpetual twilight is amazing. Superb area for wildlife enthusiasts.

If, like us, you have become reliant on all things dongly and internet, be warned, dongles don't work. We could only find internet services available at Thurso library, but it is worth a visit anyway.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Beulah 4 reviews from this member

A very pleasant place to stay, directly adjoining a most beautiful bay and beach near Dunnet Head, the most northerly point in mainland Britain. Great birdwatching with puffin, razorbills, guillemots etc all over the place. Just 12 miles from John O'Groats it's the ideal spot for a day-trip to the Orkneys as well.

Nice level pitches, all facilities very clean and comprehensive and the wardens friendly and efficient.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Lisajk 6 reviews from this member

Friendly staff, nice site right on the beach and of all the campsites we stayed at on our trip, all of which were amazingly clean, this must take the prize for the cleanest of all - the toilets and showers were positively gleaming.

Wildlife centre on site very worth a visit as of course is Dunnet Head - other than that though this part of Scotland doesn't appeal to me as much as other areas - not hilly enough!

As a result although the beach and cliffs are lovely I probably wouldn't want to stay here for an extended period. Not much in the local village other than a seedy-looking pub, which we didn't risk! But overall it is a good site.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kennyboy2831 31 reviews from this member

Arrived at dunnet bay and as expected from a caravan club site the facilities were excellent the views over the bay were superb. Next to road which I would imagine in peak season could be a problem for the pitches close to it, but we didn't have a problem on the pitch we selected.

Next door is the visitor centre which is well worth a visit, Tesco is fairly close in Thurso. Walks in the forest opposite are a must also walking along the beach was a real pleasure.

Would we return the answer is yes

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Copta 15 reviews from this member

We arrived at this site mid-afternoon to find that the office was closed and there was a sign on the door advising us to pitch and call back at 4pm which we did.

The site was full when we were there and so we pitched on the last remaining pitch, which was fortunately quite nice.

The site is situated just above the beach and it was nice to walk down there at sunset and enjoy the view.

The shop sells very little, so you need to stock up but it's not too far to drive to Thurso.

The toilets/shower block were immaculately clean as they usually are in Caravan Club sites.

Sadly the weather was awful most of the time we were there, but in good weather, this would be a lovely little site.

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Hulltrucker 14 reviews from this member

When I rang one afternoon about bringing forward the booking I already had I was surprised to be greeted by an answerphone. I managed to get booked by ringing the Caravan Club direct, but this would be a problem for non members.

After towing about 150 miles from Inverness through some beautiful scenery (the roads are pretty good despite what other reviewers have said) I was amazed at how impressed I still was by the view out over the bay and up to Dunnet Head.

However, the site office was closed and instructions are left on the door to take your pitch and then come back at 4pm when they open - hence the answerphone when I rang! What a strange time of day to open!

The wardens turned out to be helpful and friendly (even if they do open the office at strange times) and when I joked that they must be relief wardens they said that they were! (I still havnt worked out why the permanent wardens at Club sites are so unhappy!) They were also flexible about my stay enabling me to decide as I went along how long I wanted to be there - I ended up staying 5 days!

There is some road noise as the main road runs accross the back of the site, but to be honest I didn't really notice it after dark. I did however notice that the tranquility of the beach is often spoiled by quad bikes riding up and down.

The site is quite exposed and you certainly know when it's a windy day! It is also all grass, but even on a day of very heavy rain when other places were flooding, the site remained unaffected which I guess is because it sits on top of a sand dune.

John O Groats is worth a visit and I can highly recommend the coach trip rond the Orkney's - some say at 44 per person, it was expensive, but honestly by the time you have taken the ferry and paid for petrol to drive around the coach is far better value, and takes in Skara Brae, Scapa Flow, Stromness and Kirkwall. I am not a fan of coach tours at all, and usually prefer to travel alone, but it really is worth doing.

Wick is about 20 miles away and has a large Tesco and pretty much everything else you could need (even an Argos so I could get a replacement hoover!) Thurso is the nearest town and has smaller shops etc and I think a Tesco as well.

The site shop sells basics, and some excellent local produce (try the smoked salmon!)

Dunnet Head is certainly worth the short drive (or long walk) and has to be seen

Only thing I would add to the site is Wifi, however I understand that getting broadband there is an issue Otherwise a very enjoyable stay here.

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Seade 8 reviews from this member

The plus side to this site is its proximity to the huge beach of Dunnet Bay. A trip to Dunnet Head is a must for the wonderful views. You can follow the road to Thurso and beyond to explore the far north of Scotland and of course there are day trips to Orkney. There is a Tescos in Thurso and a superstore in Wick. The fish and chips from Castletown were very good.

We found it strange that the office wasn't open during the middle of the day. There was a list of instructions about pitching on the office door indicating that outfits have to be aligned to markers front and back. In our opinion this was because the site was cramped.
Only a few pitches have a good view of the bay and many are uneven. One side of the site is adjacent to the main road, which seemed to attract boy racers at night and is quite busy at other times. Another side is adjacent to a public car park.

The shower block is the older Caravan Club style, but kept spotless and made homely with the addition of flowers and pictures. It is key operated, so can't be used until you've booked in. Luckily there are public toilets in the car park. Excellent dog walking forest near the site, but there is nothing for children on site.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Carousel 25 reviews from this member

What a fantastic place for a caravan site! We experienced no problems with towing on the way and never experienced the steep inclines of the previous reviewer. The approach road gives wonderful views and the site lives up to expectations. Although quite small this grass only site must have one of the best positions in the UK. We were lucky to visit in beautiful weather and made full use of the beach - hardly a pebble in sight and wonderful for the dog or for children. The toilet block was super clean and the showers some of the best on CC sites. Above the office is a wildlife exhibition - open most days with a ranger to answer questions and give advice on what to see

There is a small supermarket just a couple of miles away for essentials and Thurso is not far away. A trip to Jon O'Groats is a must and it's not tacky like Lands End. Also a guided tour round a typical croft in Dunnet itself was very good value. However a ride up to Dunnet Head must take the prize for the views it gives on a lovely clear day.It's a pity we live so far away or I would be a regular visitor to this site.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jack_igm 30 reviews from this member

Stayed here over the Easter break and had a great time. Weather was a bit windy but it is stunning here during the summer seasons.

Site is immaculate and toilets are spotlessly clean. The site is quite cramped when full though and it is right next to a road which can generate a bit of traffic noise if you are pitched next to it.

The facilities are excellent although there are no shops for several miles and the closest is in the town of Castletown. Local pubs serves good food and the staff are friendly.

There is a huge spectacular beach right at the site and also a lovely forest walk to the other side of the site. Not much else to do there, no playing facilities for children except for the beach

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Buttercupw 12 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Very clean toilets etc - the highest standard we have ever seen. Staff helpful and friendly. Site is just a little back from the sandy beach. Excellent site if you have a dog. Very good dog walks. Will return to this site. The beach is ideal for a lovely morning and evening walk. Journey to the site was a bit scary at times - some very steep inclines to negotiate - but we made it and we had a fantastic time. Well worth the effort.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6611 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019