Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Feeblecat 41 reviews from this member

Was there during a howling gale, possibly the worst weather I have ever encountered camping. Awning was well pegged down though so no casualties there! No fault of the campsite however and didn't detract from us enjoying our trip.
Very well maintained site beside a lovely beach. Toilets the cleanest I have came across on a campsite and very helpful staff. Would definitely go back if in the area again, hopefully to see it at its full potential in good weather.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Simonleeann17 22 reviews from this member

We booked ahead and even for this time of year it was busy.

It is a beautiful setting, backing on to a long sandy beach and the site and facilities were very well kept. Pretty much level for all pitches and the toilets, showers etc were very clean. Though the staff were friendly we did find the site rather officious - lots of signs and regulations and we were given instruction on dos and don'ts.

We stored our pram in the laundry room to avoid dampness as we only stayed a night and did not erect our awning. In the morning we were reprimanded like school children! We are members of the caravan club and have yet to come across any other site quite as regulated and uptight and we were quite glad to be only staying one night having evoked the wrath of the staff!

We went onto Orkney and Shetland via the Scrabster-Stromness sailing and would thoroughly recommend this. The ferry sailed close to the Old man of Hoy and sailing into Stromness was only surpassed by a ferry arrival into Castlebay - very pretty.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Neil and lena 50 reviews from this member

We booked on to this site for two nights on are trip around the north of Scotland .

The site is approximately 7 miles from Thurso and situated right next to a fantastic beach with easy access down through the sand dunes .

The site wardens were very helpful and friendly and the site facilities were up to the usual Caravan club standards .

Because the site is quite exposed it can be quite windy at times but was not a problem as long as you kept your awning well pegged down

Dunnet head is worth a visit as is the furthest northerly point on UK mainland

Will return again later in the year

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Globetrotter72 5 reviews from this member

It is a relatively small site, some pitches have a beautiful view of the bay. Our children loved playing on the beach and in the sea. There are steps down to the beach from the site. The wind was a bit of a problem as the site is so high up, but our awning survived!

The toilet block was always clean, as you would expect from the Caravan Club. The warden insisted that the pitching rules were exactly followed, we saw quite a few people being asked to move their caravan or motorhome a couple of feet to the side. So it is worth while checking that you are lined up with the centre of the post.

You can drive to Dunnet Head just a few miles away, well worth a visit for the panoramic views.

We took a fantastic day trip to Orkney from Gill's Bay, which is between the site and John O'Groats.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Capt Lightning 41 reviews from this member

Although it was August, the site was very quiet and the wardens said that 2008 had been a disappointing year. So, no problem cloosing a good pitch with great views over Dunnet bay. All the pitches are on grass and can be a bit uneven in places. No problems for a caravan, but might be a bit bumpy for a tent.

Apart from that, the site is of the high standard you would expect from the Caravan Club. There is also a small natural history exhibition above the reception block.

I was recommended the North Sands hotel, about 1/2 mile away. The menu looks OK, but the beer wasn't great. I do thoroughly recommend visiting the late Queen Mother's home, the Castle of Mey - about 6 miles, and a trip up the single track road to Dunnet Head - the most northerly point on the GB mainland.

There are a few shops, carry-outs etc. In Castletown, 2 1/2 miles towards Thurso.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: CarrandHazel 5 reviews from this member

One of the Caravan Club's little gems set between the expanse of Dunnet Bay and the John O'Groat to Thurso Road. The road is not busy but the noise can be intrusive for some people.

There are no play facilities for children but the bay has a huge beach and shallow bathing right next door.

The toilet and showers are adequate for the size of the site and kept clean. There is a hotel in Dunnet for meals and a drink just a few minutes walk away. There is also a well stocked shop in Castletown just a five minute drive in the opposite direction.

The weather is reputed to be be very changeable at this end of the country and we had torrential rain, a stiff breeze and glorious sunshine all in one afternoon.

There are beaches along this north coast of Scotland that would match any in the world just don't tell too many people about them.

Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oaksoft 5 reviews from this member

I recently visited this campsite with my son and was hugely impressed.

Although the office is closed for most of the day, arrivals are welcome to pick a pitch and use the public toilets at the rear of the shower block. This public toilet block is fantastically well looked after and is spotless.

The main shower block requires a key and is again absolutely spotless throughout and is precisely what you'd expect from the Caravan Club.

The site itself is well laid out and is sandwiched between the main John O' Groats to Thurso road and the beach. Having said that, the road is very quiet and you don't notice it.

It can be very windy though so awnings might prefer to stay tucked up safely and snugly in their covers.

The view is superb with a large beach spreading out for miles in both directions.

Pitches are grass and it's the sort of grass you expect on a Links golf course fairway so it's pretty hard wearing.

Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jennifernn 17 reviews from this member

Hardly recognised this site from the previous reviews! The site has been completely upgraded for this season and is well laid out with plenty of hardstandings, numerous water/waste points, motorhome service point, and refitted toilet block. Obviously a popular site as it was fully occupied, so essential to book at busy times.

A fairly open site so quite windy. Next to the main road, but it's not exactly a busy road so noise was not an issue. We were only there 1 night (having visited the area before) but there is plenty to see in the area.
Nearest supermarket is in Thurso (8 miles) but there are smaller shops a bit nearer and you can order bread, milk and newspapers on site. Beautiful beach adjacent.

Date of Visit: September 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KatherineE 10 reviews from this member

Not often are the tents allowed on CC club sites and this was the first. We happened on it after visiting Castle of Mey and Dunnet Head nearby and found it too late to start back down the E Coast. The site was fine but we hit a dry period so not sure what it is like in rain. Site smallish, relatively quite, showers and toilets clean - fine for the odd night - We pitched down near the dunes with listened to the waves crashing onto Dunnet Bay the otherside - wonderful - lovely beach for a stroll in the evening and morning - if you like sleeping that close to the sea then you will love this site.

Saying this and seeing the other review would give it a miss if the weather was very wet. I found the staff nice and helpful - but I am aware of the reputation that CC club sites & staff have.

Date of Visit: July 2005
Reviewer: Niblue 22 reviews from this member

This site is not typical of the Caravan Club as they run it on behalf of the council and aren't responsible for the provision of facilites, but only for providing wardens etc. I wasn't surprised to hear that as the site doesn't look like a caravan club site and the facilities are no-where near their usual standards. To get to our pitch we had to reverse our motorhome between two caravans with very little clearance on either side, which wasn't the ideal start to our visit. It's a small site so the limited washroom facilities were adequate, and it also has a reasonable laundry. There is a motorhome service point but it's useless as there is no way a reasonable size vehicle could get close enough to dump waste.

The location is excellent however, set in the dunes behind a lovely long beach and with a ranger service place right beside. We were only overnighting on the way to the nearby Gills Bay ferry to Orkney, however I would consider visiting the site again especially as we were told that the facilities would be upgraded to Caravan Club standards next year.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2054 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019