Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03 To 08/10

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 61 Reviews
                9/10 from 61 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis 5 miles 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  61 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 597 reviews from this member

Typical C&MC site, well run with a spotless facilities block, a laundry and a motorhome service point.

No shops in the village- there is a small Spa in castletown. If coming from the East then Tesco in Wick is the last good sized food shop, from the West it would be Lidl or Tesco in Thurso.

As well as the beautiful beach its worth visiting Dunnet Woodland Trust, just across from the site with miles of walks and cycle tracks through the woods.

Its well placed for visiting John O'Groats, castle of Mey and even for day trips to Orkney.

This is a busy site but we called a day ahead and got a pitch, might need to book further in advance if you want more than a couple of days.
via mobile

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

We were touring the NC500 route round the Highlands and were originally only going to stay at this site for one night but ended up staying for three. Everything about this site is brilliant.

Itís on the beach with sea views. The wardens are so friendly and helpful. The facilities were impeccable. We stayed at about ten sites during our three weeks and this was definitely the best.

We drove into town and were able to park our large motorhome by the river car park.

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

Usual Caravan & Motorhome Club standards. Spotless facilities, good information point. Hotel 5 mins walk up the road for meals but we didn't visit. Situated next to big sandy bay with gate access through dunes to dog friendly beach, good for surfing, kitesurfing and SUPing (when calmer).

£21 for members was reasonable but expensive £30 for non members. Was busy both times we stayed, lots of campers travelling the NC500. Friendly, helpful wardens.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

A nice site up to the usual CC standards which is effectively sat in the middle of a sand dune. It makes you feel like your camping in the middle of a links golf course. Consequently you'll need your levelling chocks.

A bid wide open sandy beach is all of 50 yards away which will be great for kids and pets.

The Orkney islands are clearly visible in decent weather.

Other than that there is not that much there - there's a decent pub about 10 minutes walk away, and you can go up to Dunnet Head about 5 miles away which is the most northerly point in Mainland Britain

Day trips are available to Orkney via passenger ferry from John O'Groats nearby which I can personally recommend having done that a couple of years ago - or you can take car ferry's from Scrabster.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: WeLoveScotland 1 review from this member

Great site right at the beach. Perfect for the kids and means the lack of any specific site facilities doesn't matter. Good sized pitches, all grass. Spotless modern showers, toilet, washing area etc.

Typically we'll run club site with friendly wardens. First time on this site but will happily make the long drive to the north coast again. The chippy at nearby Castletown is worth a visit (closes at 7:30). Went to the cinema in Thurso and it was a nice wee modern picture house.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

We have stayed at this site many many times over the past 10 years both with children and without and we will no doubt stay many times more. The site is impeccable as are the facilities and the beach is superb. There is direct access to the beach via a gate and some wide wooden steps.

We normally take our bikes so that we can go to the castle of Mey and Castletown but this year the Castle was closed for the whole 10 days we were there so it's worth checking their website before you go. Without bikes we made use of the bus to take us to Thurso.

This means walking about 5 mins into Dunnet village and waiting for the bus. It cost us about £7. 40 for a return ticket for both of us and the same bus continues onto John O' Groats as well. We had a quick look around, bought some shopping, had lunch and got the bus back and the driver was kind enough to drop us off outside the campsite.

Dunnet itself has a hotel, newly renovated and called The Northern Sands Hotel. It has Wifi which the site does not. We went there for lunch and got a ham & tomato paninni which was awful, it tasted like a sandwich full of tomato puree and the tea had to be sent back as it was cold! We decided to give it another go later that week in the evening but there was a wedding on and they weren't serving food at all so not a great experience there. The wifi is patchy too.

Please be aware that there is is no Wifi at Dunnet campsite at that the phone signal (ours was vodafone) was not great either. To us that part the delight in the place but to others this may be a problem.

The warden were fabulous and didn't start the tractors up at 8am like they do on so many C & C sites. The weather was great too which helps and the Orkney ice cream sold in reception is a must!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Caravanjojo 3 reviews from this member

Wow! You wont get a site much closer to a beautiful sandy bay than this one. Literally walk from your caravan, through a small wooden gate, down a handfull of wooden steps and there it is. About three miles of glorious sand sheltered by Dunnet Head.

A few pitches look directly on to the beach and dunes and obviously these are very rarely empty for long but most pitches can see the sea. All grass pitches but with solid ground and well kept grass so even in rain these are not a problem.

Can be very windy at times so remember your awning tie down straps! Very good information room and absolutely spotless facilities, can't fault this wonderful smaller site. Can get busy due to being on the NC500 route but in my opinion never feels busy as well spaced and well laid out.

No children's play area on site but not needed with the beautiful beach literally on your doorstep and visitor centre above the loo block with free entry. Glorious!

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Haz053 5 reviews from this member

Lovely clean site with excellent facilities as you would expect fro a c and m site. Very easy walk to an amazing beach however what made this site great were the wardens. They were both efficient and it was busy in reception but also both so friendly and warm, just the welcome you need after a long journey. I would return here again purely for the wardens!

We weren't members of the c and m club so obviously had to pay the surcharge hence the drop in star rating however for members, good value for money.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Bodiddly 29 reviews from this member

Excellent site right next door to a wonderful dog friendly beach, that is so easy to access in less than 2 minutes. (When approaching the site look out for the Seadrift Centre, which is the same building as reception, we nearly drove past, just spotting the tiny Caravan & Motorhome sign at the last minute).

Grass pitches, but very firm and well drained, some are a bit uneven so you may need leveling blocks. The showers and toilets are spotlessly clean, very good laundry room and indoor washing up area.

The wardens are extremely friendly and welcoming and have a really good knowledge of the local area. There is dining pub just a short walk away, unfortunately not dog friendly, plus the Rock Rose Gin distillery.

The on site shop has the basics. No site wifi as yet, but coming soon, not a problem as we found the phone signal (and TV signal) excellent. We pitched on the beach side of the site and did not have any problem with road noise. Worth booking ahead as it is a very popular site, we would certainly use it again.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Gracesett 17 reviews from this member

A good site, fantastic beach location and with facilities as to be expected for CC. Great wardens. Best site in the area and very good value. I was lucky to be there during the annual Orca week up at Duncansby head.

Some may miss having no site IT access but it is no great hardship. No designated child play area but with 2 miles of sandy beach on the door step again it should not be a deterrent.

Previous     61 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code ďtribukcampsiteĒ to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4493 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019