Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03/2024 to 08/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 73 Reviews
                9/10 from 73 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  73 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: August 2023 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Thegibbo4 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site on our return from a two-week tour of Orkney, specifically to bodyboard at Dunnet Beach. This was the most expensive site we stayed at in our three weeks in Scotland, however it's all about the location - literally camping in the dunes behind the beach with direct pedestrian access. Pitches are large and grassy but free-draining.

Facilities are tired but kept spotlessly clean. There is a small on-site shop - supermarkets are available in Thurso (20 minutes drive) if needed.

Site management recommended the food from the Northern Sands Hotel, an easy walk away. We had takeaway from there and can only agree - great food at a great price.

The weather was perfect for two days of bodyboarding - our teenagers said it was better than Cornwall and without the crowds, what a recommendation! 


Date of Visit: July 2022 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Alronald 11 reviews from this member

 It's all about location!

Stopped off here for a night on way back from Orkney. Multiple pitches free so chose one close to beah access (those at the back a bit close to the road but didn't seem busy).

Pretty flat site albeit exposed. Bet it gets pretty windy here. Site wardens very helpful and small on-site shop. Facilities looking slightly tired - as many CAMC sites are at the moment but perhaps we'd just been spoilt by Orkney.

Only there for one night stopover so didn't explore too much. Drove up to Dunnet Head for a bit of puffin-watching.

Main attraction for us was beach which was absolutely stunning 


Date of Visit: September 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Lorfal 27 reviews from this member

 Booked for 2 stayed for 4! Staff helpful, check in easy. Clean well maintained site.

Good size pitches, good distance between neighbours.

Great beach, good dog walking.

Worthwhile exploring dunnet Forest across the road.

No shop in dunnet, small site shop but doesnt really stock much.

Good info posted daily on what to see in the night sky.

Sand dunes fairly large and so sea views limited from pitches, the front row near the dunes have best views.

Rear pitches rather close to main road, but quiet at night.

Levelling blocks required for many pitches. Only slight corrections needed if you are that fussy.

Good motorhome service points which cater for both sides of vans and motorhomes.

Im a new CAMC member. Im learning that most of their sites have similar layouts and standards. Not a bad thing really

It would be nice to have a better stocked shop. For the emergency wine and chocolate lol 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Shirle 1 review from this member

 Lovely clean site in an ideal location for the ferry to Orkney.

We did not eat in the cafe but on any future visit we would as the food looked lovely.

Check in girl was helpful and bubbly.

Would recommend to anyone 


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Barracudafish 11 reviews from this member

 We stay at this site every year in August. It has become busier and busier especially since the invention of the NC500, the once nearly empty beach is now more populated BUT it is still a beautiful place with a superb long beach.

The site is always well maintained. There is a bus service to Thurso but I prefer to take everything I need with me and have a quiet week.

Be aware that the castle of Mey is usually closed at the beginning of August for Prince Charles' annual stay. The local hotel in Dunnet does good meals and has a bar. This is a 5 minute walk from the site.

The Wifi is only available near the office but the TV signal is good and I take a MIFI to broadcast our own wifi. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 636 reviews from this member

 Excellent site right above the beach at Dunnet Bay, with access to the dunes from the site.

Great base for north coast, Dunnet Head and John O Groats.

Northern Sands hotel is a short walk and does good food.

Faculties are excellent.

Lovely site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Glunar68 10 reviews from this member

 Revisited this site having stayed in September 2020.

Absolutely wonderful location with fantastic facilities.

A very quiet site despite being situated next to the main road. The main road is fairly quiet in any case.

Very pleasant staff on site and absolutely immaculate facilities.

Located yards away from a beautiful beach with miles of golden sands. I would also add that this area seems to have its own microclimate being right in the coast.

Great approach roads.

The site is very handy for Thurso, Wick and John OGroats with day trips to neighbouring islands.

There are also a number of visitor attractions within a few miles and there are very many beautiful bays to discover.

This site is definitely worth a visit and give yourself sometime to discover the surrounding area and stay a few nights. There are a large number of people who use it as a stopover when doing the NC500 but Im sure it will be in their list to revisit. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Smjenk 2 reviews from this member

 Very well managed with the COVID situation, lady and gentleman are very friendly but professional.

Lovely area to pitch my tent overlooking the sea. Map given to show where to pitch. Plenty of space between neighbours who were lovely.

The shower/toilet area always lovely and warm and although restricted use in numbers, people understood and at the end of the day we all want to keep safe. Good washing up area, again warm.

Lovely situation by the sea and would happily stay again on my next visit. Dog friendly also, all good doggy behaviour!

Great situation for castle of Men and Dunnet Head Lighthouse, also not far to drive to Scrabster, ate a Captains Galley, please book ahead. Good fishy food. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tcthel 1 review from this member

 Extremely friendly and informative staff - Sharon and Simon.

Very good compliance with Covid cleaning on a regular daily basis. Including all PPE worn. Thorough risk assessments undertaken

Lovely location

Lots of available space per tent/car

One dislike - due to the variable weather - lots of rain and wind, it would have been helpful to have had an option of an undercover area to be able to use own cooker for breakfast/dinner etc etc. This was not available or an area that could be used, offered.

It was very windy during this week and perhaps some advice or alternative location on the site could have been offered as clearly the motorhomes were coping with the seafront positions, but it was difficult being in the tent in this area.

Good price.

Lots of good facilities.

Good access to local gin distillery, castle of Mey, Dunnet Head walking and all areas along the North coast 500.

I did not have any children and therefore only scored the review 1/10 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 45 reviews from this member

 I'll start with the positives. The site is situated next to a huge beach and the standard of the site would be up to the normal CMC standards if it weren't for Covid (see note below on Covid). Great access to the surrounding area and there's a lovely forest walk behind the site. There's a Tesco in Thurso around 10 mins drive, plus a Lidl a little further on the other side of Thurso. There's also a small corner shop in castletown which is closer. The Northern Sands hotel is just 10 mins away and does food and drink.

Now for the downsides. Having already visited a CMC site during Covid, I was expecting similar arrangements to be in place. On arrival, you are required to call a number and the warden takes payment over the phone and asks you to pick your pitch and return to confirm the pitch number, so far, so good. On returning to the reception area, I was spoken to by an extremely rude member of staff who instructed me to stay behind 'the line'. I was trying to read the information of the office window and to be fair, there was more signage there than window. After being barked at by 'sergeant major', we thankfully had no more dealings with the wardens. I can only assume he thought I was a random customer looking to use the facilities or he was trying to be the boss-man thinking we were newbies to campervans. A complaint has been made to CMC regarding this individual.

The toilet and shower situation was terrible. At other CMC sites, they allow up to two or three guests access to the toilet area. The toilet block at Dunnet Bay are quite small and don't allow the same set up as other sites. They do allow for the same family group to enter the toilet and showers, but as there is only one shower or one toilet available, it meant large queues forming to use the facilities. It would be better to have two showers and two toilets available, but, to one group at at time. As a consequence, other guests appeared to have unlocked the remaining facilities.

I also found the site quite noisy, being near a fairly busy road. It was quite quiet over night though. 


Previous     73 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


47639 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement