Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Highlands > Thurso > Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Dunnet
Thurso
Highlands   (Browse area)
KW14 8XD
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 56
Open: 23/03/2021 to 08/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 65 Reviews
                9/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Smjenk 1 review from this member

 Very well managed with the COVID situation, lady and gentleman are very friendly but professional.

Lovely area to pitch my tent overlooking the sea. Map given to show where to pitch. Plenty of space between neighbours who were lovely.

The shower/toilet area always lovely and warm and although restricted use in numbers, people understood and at the end of the day we all want to keep safe. Good washing up area, again warm.

Lovely situation by the sea and would happily stay again on my next visit. Dog friendly also, all good doggy behaviour!

Great situation for castle of Men and Dunnet Head Lighthouse, also not far to drive to Scrabster, ate a Captains Galley, please book ahead. Good fishy food. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 8 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Tcthel 1 review from this member

 Extremely friendly and informative staff - Sharon and Simon.

Very good compliance with Covid cleaning on a regular daily basis. Including all PPE worn. Thorough risk assessments undertaken

Lovely location

Lots of available space per tent/car

One dislike - due to the variable weather - lots of rain and wind, it would have been helpful to have had an option of an undercover area to be able to use own cooker for breakfast/dinner etc etc. This was not available or an area that could be used, offered.

It was very windy during this week and perhaps some advice or alternative location on the site could have been offered as clearly the motorhomes were coping with the seafront positions, but it was difficult being in the tent in this area.

Good price.

Lots of good facilities.

Good access to local gin distillery, castle of Mey, Dunnet Head walking and all areas along the North coast 500.

I did not have any children and therefore only scored the review 1/10 


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Romastone 11 reviews from this member

 I'll start with the positives. The site is situated next to a huge beach and the standard of the site would be up to the normal CMC standards if it weren't for Covid (see note below on Covid). Great access to the surrounding area and there's a lovely forest walk behind the site. There's a Tesco in Thurso around 10 mins drive, plus a Lidl a little further on the other side of Thurso. There's also a small corner shop in castletown which is closer. The Northern Sands hotel is just 10 mins away and does food and drink.

Now for the downsides. Having already visited a CMC site during Covid, I was expecting similar arrangements to be in place. On arrival, you are required to call a number and the warden takes payment over the phone and asks you to pick your pitch and return to confirm the pitch number, so far, so good. On returning to the reception area, I was spoken to by an extremely rude member of staff who instructed me to stay behind 'the line'. I was trying to read the information of the office window and to be fair, there was more signage there than window. After being barked at by 'sergeant major', we thankfully had no more dealings with the wardens. I can only assume he thought I was a random customer looking to use the facilities or he was trying to be the boss-man thinking we were newbies to campervans. A complaint has been made to CMC regarding this individual.

The toilet and shower situation was terrible. At other CMC sites, they allow up to two or three guests access to the toilet area. The toilet block at Dunnet Bay are quite small and don't allow the same set up as other sites. They do allow for the same family group to enter the toilet and showers, but as there is only one shower or one toilet available, it meant large queues forming to use the facilities. It would be better to have two showers and two toilets available, but, to one group at at time. As a consequence, other guests appeared to have unlocked the remaining facilities.

I also found the site quite noisy, being near a fairly busy road. It was quite quiet over night though. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bekchops 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful but exposed to the wind and weather. I'm sure if the weather was lovely it would be exceptional.

The beach is literally next to the site, and they are dog friendly.

We planned to stay for 4 nights initially but we were so concerned about losing our awning in the wind (with the forecast of wind and rain for the entire week), we left after one night and headed to the west cost to find better weather. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Dot P 607 reviews from this member

 Typical C&MC site, well run with a spotless facilities block, a laundry and a motorhome service point.

No shops in the village- there is a small Spa in castletown. If coming from the East then Tesco in Wick is the last good sized food shop, from the West it would be Lidl or Tesco in Thurso.

As well as the beautiful beach its worth visiting Dunnet Woodland Trust, just across from the site with miles of walks and cycle tracks through the woods.

Its well placed for visiting John O'Groats, castle of Mey and even for day trips to Orkney.

This is a busy site but we called a day ahead and got a pitch, might need to book further in advance if you want more than a couple of days. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: LouLiz 15 reviews from this member

 We were touring the NC500 route round the Highlands and were originally only going to stay at this site for one night but ended up staying for three. Everything about this site is brilliant.

Itís on the beach with sea views. The wardens are so friendly and helpful. The facilities were impeccable. We stayed at about ten sites during our three weeks and this was definitely the best.

We drove into town and were able to park our large motorhome by the river car park. 


Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BeachDog 26 reviews from this member

 Usual Caravan & Motorhome Club standards. Spotless facilities, good information point. Hotel 5 mins walk up the road for meals but we didn't visit. Situated next to big sandy bay with gate access through dunes to dog friendly beach, good for surfing, kitesurfing and SUPing (when calmer).

£21 for members was reasonable but expensive £30 for non members. Was busy both times we stayed, lots of campers travelling the NC500. Friendly, helpful wardens. 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Stokewalker 15 reviews from this member

 A nice site up to the usual CC standards which is effectively sat in the middle of a sand dune. It makes you feel like your camping in the middle of a links golf course. Consequently you'll need your levelling chocks.

A bid wide open sandy beach is all of 50 yards away which will be great for kids and pets.

The Orkney islands are clearly visible in decent weather.

Other than that there is not that much there - there's a decent pub about 10 minutes walk away, and you can go up to Dunnet Head about 5 miles away which is the most northerly point in Mainland Britain

Day trips are available to Orkney via passenger ferry from John O'Groats nearby which I can personally recommend having done that a couple of years ago - or you can take car ferry's from Scrabster.  


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WeLoveScotland 2 reviews from this member

 Great site right at the beach. Perfect for the kids and means the lack of any specific site facilities doesn't matter. Good sized pitches, all grass. Spotless modern showers, toilet, washing area etc.

Typically we'll run club site with friendly wardens. First time on this site but will happily make the long drive to the north coast again. The chippy at nearby Castletown is worth a visit (closes at 7:30). Went to the cinema in Thurso and it was a nice wee modern picture house. 


Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Barracudafish 7 reviews from this member

 We have stayed at this site many many times over the past 10 years both with children and without and we will no doubt stay many times more. The site is impeccable as are the facilities and the beach is superb. There is direct access to the beach via a gate and some wide wooden steps.

We normally take our bikes so that we can go to the castle of Mey and Castletown but this year the Castle was closed for the whole 10 days we were there so it's worth checking their website before you go. Without bikes we made use of the bus to take us to Thurso.

This means walking about 5 mins into Dunnet village and waiting for the bus. It cost us about £7. 40 for a return ticket for both of us and the same bus continues onto John O' Groats as well. We had a quick look around, bought some shopping, had lunch and got the bus back and the driver was kind enough to drop us off outside the campsite.

Dunnet itself has a hotel, newly renovated and called The Northern Sands Hotel. It has Wifi which the site does not. We went there for lunch and got a ham & tomato paninni which was awful, it tasted like a sandwich full of tomato puree and the tea had to be sent back as it was cold! We decided to give it another go later that week in the evening but there was a wedding on and they weren't serving food at all so not a great experience there. The wifi is patchy too.

Please be aware that there is is no Wifi at Dunnet campsite at that the phone signal (ours was vodafone) was not great either. To us that part the delight in the place but to others this may be a problem.

The warden were fabulous and didn't start the tractors up at 8am like they do on so many C & C sites. The weather was great too which helps and the Orkney ice cream sold in reception is a must! 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Dunnet Bay Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Thurso      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Highlands

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement