Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Whitesands
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: 16/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cufcbarside 68 reviews from this member

 As always the not so good bits. But first of all. Guess who didn't read the instructions on the caravan club site. Yep the Prince of Darkness Mr I don't need instructions yet again doesn't learn the hard way. Ignore at your peril. Good job he has a HGV 1 license and experience

So rant over so the not so good bits

I would strongly recommend that you follow the campsite guide on not arriving before 1200 as you will find units coming out and trust me the roads are not that good and its close quarters on this road down to White Sands.

The roads around the site are poor at best and the locals seem to blast along

The pitches get very wet and soggy and don't seem to drain very well although I will admit the weather was harsh with some of the rainfalls

Make sure you bring your storm pegs as its very windy here

Some may find the noise of the crows fine but for us not, far to noisy all day and night and had the POD up some nights with the noise

There is a play ground right in the middle which was a magnet for the kids which is fine but what part of no ball games allowed did they miss. Frustrating as the wardens didn't control or police this. Not wanting to be a kill joy but the thousands of pounds spend on caravans are not for the whacking of balls, frisbees and other missile related toys and just because insurance is available for caravans it is not an excuse for those parents who allow their kids to use your van as a potential target. The site needs to make use of the plenty of fields and make a purpose safe playground where the kids can play properly without risk of damaging units.

Good points then

Excellent take out curry house in St Davids. They don't deliver but its a 5 min drive away

Usual caravan club facilities and music whilst you shower allows for a good sing song whilst cleaning.

Shop stocks ice creams and a few bits and pieces to get you by

The wardens were pleasant enough on site and were often seen out working (not so early with the kabuta please :))

Overall summary and ultimate question

This site is very rural. The queue down to whitesands beach can be extreme on good days and its 4 to park all day if you can get a space

If you like rural and not having to travel far then this site is fine. For us it was too rural, some ideas on times

Site to Fishguard 35mins

Site to Cardigan 60mins

Site to Haverford West 30mins

St Davids is a lovely little place with everything you need including a small decently stock supermarket and the cathedral is worth a visit,

If you go for the carvary lunch at the harbour car park in Solva then make sure your there early as tables and waits could be long

Haverford West has it all with a big tescos and morrisons as well

For us we wouldn't be returning due to the location and the roads but for others it would be fine with the usual caravan club facilities

Regards 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa390 17 reviews from this member

 A very pleasant, quiet site. Yes there are a few rooks and seagulls, but they didn't give us any trouble.

We had pitch 117 which was tucked away in a corner by the road and next door to the commercial site over the hedge; water, elctric h/u and waste disposal were convenient.

Washing blocks were excellent, spotless, new (inside) and seemingly sufficient for a site with 120 pitches over a bank-holiday week-end.

There was some road noise occasionally and we had a big noisy family over the hedge but they didn't disturb much.

One criticism, if the Caravan Club ever reads these reviews: the parking area by the wardens office is not large enough. We arrived about 5.30pm to find a car and caravan checking-in in front of us. So, we had to pause in the gateway before moving to check in ourselves, meanwhile other solo car drivers were evidently displaying impatience behind us at having to wait a few minutes for us to get clear. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Scarletsfan 93 reviews from this member

 Having just returned from a stay on this site over the Jubilee weekend, I feel I must submit a review following on from my previous one submitted a few years ago which was none too complimentary about the Warden team in place at that time.

There is a new team of Wardens on site who are superb. Nice and friendly manner, whilst still doing their job properly.

Site as always was immaculate and the toilet block has just undergone a complete refurb.

I am hard of hearing, so the crows didn't bother me, but others in our group said they were very loud. Wild rabbits on site are very brave, but watch out for those borrows! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nosha 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed on pitch 5 op' crow alley - still noisy! Large site very flat and seemed well drained after all the rain we had!

Only met one of the lady wardens. One of the nicest I've ever met, superb attitude!

Toilets look old and drab from the outside but are warm and spotless inside, loads of hot water even over a busy period, two washing-up sinks plus veg prep area etc.

Spent the next day at Whitesands car park (4/day) as we didn't want another night on site, no long bays and not very level, but attendant was happy when not too busy for you to take up 2 bays or more! Great area, we'll be back! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Elfman 2 reviews from this member

 We visited 3rd week in August. As one reviewer has said, a dated site but clean. Found a nice pitch (to begin with) was fine for first few days but then we realised we 'knew' we were by the outfall for the septic tank, the sewage odour was so powerful I felt sick. Beware pitch 36 & 37 and all the pitches along, as effluent passes into the ditch they back onto.

We could have moved of course, and the warden invited us to, but we were established & having put up a difficult awning we stuck it out, but it spoiled out experience of the site.

Facilities are ok. The wash up is awkward, there are 3 sinks which are quite cramped. Ventilation in the ladies could be improved please, rather than passive (via a window) a couple of fans are needed in the toilet area. The ventilation grills in the showers could also do with a clean as dust fell on me when in the shower, other than that facilities were ok.

There is a small play area for kids with swings & a climbing frame plus grassed areas for ball games. Was reasonably quiet.

The area is just lovely, it is quite a hike to St Davids (mainly off road) if you have small kids. Whitesands beach is perfect, it has good facilities and a shop. If you take your bikes you won't have to pay the expensive parking fees but beware it's a steep climb back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Julie Taylor 5 reviews from this member

 Chose this site based on the location, only 5 min drive from Whitesands Bay (or 20 min walk) in amongst farmland. Very clean and well looked after by the wardens.

Pitches are allocated on arrival, and you're given a numbered toilet block key with your pitch number. Our biggest gripe was that after spending the day in St David's we returned to find another van on our pitch! Complained to the wardens, and were told 'we should have left something there to mark it as occupied'. It did say this in the leaflet we were given on arrival, but must admit we'd missed it, and we'd not stayed at a CC site before. Would have appreciated it if they'd made a point of highlighting this to us, as they knew we'd not stayed there before.

We were given a new pitch for our 2nd night, and had no other issues.

A pity, as otherwise it's a very good, quiet site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gwenith gwyn 3 reviews from this member

 This is in a lovely spot, convenient for Saint Davids, Fishguard, and the beautiful bays on the coast. You can join the Pembrokeshire Coast Walk at Whitesands bay which is about a twenty minute walk.

The site is of the usual standard one would expect of Caravan Club sites although not as modern as some. The facilities were good on the whole and I never had to wait for a shower although the site was full but I thought another toilet block was needed for the size of the site. I do not know how the CC calculates the ratio of shower/WC to campers. Having to enter the whole toilet block with a key was a bit awkward especially as there is one key to a caravan.

The play area is fine but more for older children. It was littered occasionally.

We did not feel the wardens were all as pleasant and helpful as CC wardens usually are.

The crows/ rooks were noisy but that's what you get in the countryside, thank goodness. Do go there, as it is a lovely situation.

Minor points: no cloths to wipe sinks in dish area; the door to toilet block slammed almost every time someone went in and out and could be heard in the night especially;'guest' car park should be near wardens not toilet block. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beattie08 24 reviews from this member

 Three nights here on tour of Pembrokeshire.

Spacious site all grass pitches. The one toilet block up to CC standards. Plenty of info in shed/hut. Basics in site shop. Shop 5 mins up the road on opposite camp site.

Friendly/helpful wardens. Pitched at far end away from the noisy crows!

Beautiful views all round, very peaceful.

30-40 mins walk into St Davids via quiet lanes. Some lovely pubs/shops eating places. Really liked the Farmers Arms, great food/beer and atmosphere. Cathedral impressive, in small surroundings!

Whitesands Bay 10 mins walk. Beautiful! even in the rain.

Coastal walk from site, Whitesands round to Porth Clais, fantastic views across to Ramsey Island. Celtic Coaster bus back to site road, 1 brilliant value and a lovey ride too!

Caught bus to Solva (lovely harbour/pubs) coastal walk back to St Davids, excellent day out.

Good walking from site, would stay again if in area. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: TNADZ 24 reviews from this member

 We arrived just in time before the office closed at 5pm. We were able to choose from lots of pitches so thanks to this site I knew about Crow alley. We were at pitch 25 which was nice and quiet. A bit further to walk to the toilets and showers but we were ok with that. All the time we were there the site wasn't overly busy so there were no problems with showers and toilets, however on leaving Saturday morning there was a queue for the showers at about 9am for both the ladies and gents. In the ladies there is 6 showers but only 4 were working due to water pressure. You might want these working in busy periods.

We did the 11 mile cycle ride from the site which was pleasant and we also walked from the beach car park along the coastal walk. Be prepared to pay 4 for the car park which off peak I think is a bit expensive. We had a lovely 4 nights at this sight. No complaints at all, we will revisit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tycroes_Two 17 reviews from this member

 Situated at the foot of Carn Llidi in the midst of fields full of highland cattle, miniature ponies and sheep, the location is just perfect. By night the remote location means star-lit skies are simply dazzling due to the lack of light pollution.

We visit Lleithyr regularly and never tire of the site or its location. It's a site where the car becomes redundant: Down the lane a useful little shop provides newspapers and provisions. A short walk will take you to Whitesands beach where there's a cafe serving decent food and, best of all, a stall selling wonderful ice cream made from local farm milk

From the site a network of footpaths will lead you up onto the coastal path and some breathtaking views. Whatever the wind there are plenty of perfect sheltered picnic spots. Wildlife is plentiful and we have never failed to spot seals (this time including three gorgeous pups) and peregrine falcons. It's equally prolific on the site - expect close encounters with foxes and badgers.

St Justinians is an easy walk if you want to take a boat trip round Ramsey. Or, as a special treat, take the car to Porth Gain on a Monday or Tuesday for the best fish and chips you will ever taste. (The fish is caught in the morning, coated in beer batter and served with chunky chips and home-made tartare sauce. The grey Mullet we had was simply wonderful!)

The site is probably one of the most dog-friendly we have ever been on. Although about a quarter of the campers have dogs, the site and the lanes are perfectly poo-free (caravan club members seem to be responsible pet owners.)

If you can I'd avoid pitching along the central tree-lined strip ('Crow Alley') unless you are a deep sleeper. The far end of the site has fabulous views of Carn Llidi but is more prone to puddles and is a longer trip to the facilities.

The wardens are friendly and welcoming and work hard to ensure the facilities are always immaculate. Now all of the showers are back in service and even when full we have rarely had to queue. When we first visited Lleithyr there were problems with people from a neighbouring site using (and abusing) the facilities - hence the need for individual access keys. But it's a minor irritation. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


42253 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement