Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Pembrokeshire > St Davids > St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site > Reviews

St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Whitesands
St Davids
Pembrokeshire   (Browse area)
SA62 6PR
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 115
Open: 16/03/2024 to 01/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 45 Reviews
                8/10 from 45 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant  
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weltidave 1 review from this member

 Noted a recent review of the site had certain discrepancies. The toilet/shower block is closed daily for cleaning between 11am and 12-30pm.

On certain days when there is only 1 warden couple on duty, the reception/office is closed whilst the wardens are cleaning the toilet/shower block, then between 1pm and 2pm whilst they take their well earned lunch break.

They present the site in a very well kept manner, and we found them to be extremely pleasant and helpful. Keep up the good work, well appreciated by the majority. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Stiperstones 2 reviews from this member

 Rooks make a lot of noise early AM. Keep to open pitches at bottom of site to avoid noise. Toilet facility adequate but are closed from 11:30 to 13:30 for cleaning, wardens office closed from what appears from 11:30 until 14:00. Only basic provisions provided at booking office, we used the shop at the adjacent site which has all available provisions.

Closest beach about 1/2 mile away, very steep incline to get to it, but car park at bottom costs 3.50 to park. Very nice beach blue flag award.

Electric hook-up, water fill point, waste disposal and elsan disposal points and rubbish 3 areas in all Bottle bank behind toilet block.

Toilet block facility also contain washing and ironing area and place to wash crockery.

Small play area for children climbing frame and swing. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rose-marie 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely site, fabulous views all around. Wardens were very friendly and helpful. Maybe the shower,s are a little dated, but they are clean. There's a nice little play area for the children. A 15 minute walk down to the beach, quite steep walk back up the hill. But worth the walk. The best sunset I have ever seen.

The shop on site has not much to offer, but the usual (bread, milk). The worse thing about this site,are the crows squawking all day. I love to here the birds, but these crows were annoying. One couple even moved their van from under the trees, after one night stay. These birds were so loud (That's nobody,s fault though). It's the most Beautiful area to tour. Looking forward to going back.  


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lynndilooloo 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this beautiful location for 7 nights. The site was full but everything was well maintained. We had a badger visit us in our awning every night. The beach, Whitesands Bay is lovely. The costal walk is breathtaking but unsuitable for infants. St David's cathedral is amazing. We had wall to wall sunshine for the whole stay which makes such a difference to any place. We would use this campsite again. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Felix27 1 review from this member

 We have visited many Caravan Club sites in recent years, all of which have had immaculate facilities. This site is in a lovely though exposed setting, not far from a sandy beach (though a steep walk). We were disappointed at St David's to find that several showers were locked (owing to 'low water pressure'). In the ladies toilets 2 were locked as they had been 'deliberately blocked' and the hairdryer had been 'vandalised'. In the 5 days we were there these were not repaired. Part of the site was about to close for remedial work as it floods. The facility for motorhomes to discharge waste water was so awkwardly placed we had to turn round against the one way system to use it!

A warden told me that there are plans to upgrade the toilet block, it can't come too soon. Maybe they will also add some hardstandings as they are easier for motorhomes, especially in wet Wales! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Viggo 15 reviews from this member

 For the first time we found a Caravan Club that was below what we've come to expect as 'Club Class'. Lleithyr Meadow is a site with problems, especially at peak times.

An all-grass (no hardstanding) site, it suffers in wet weather - and this part of Wales gets plenty of wet weather - even though the ground drains freely.

The facilities block is simply too small for the site when it is full, with just eight showers (four each for male and female) for 120 pitches (an average of 360 people).

As many people visit the beach whenever possible for surfing etc, the showers are even busier than on other sites and queues were the norm at peak times. Also, some toilet cubicals were closed due to blockage problems - and remained closed for weeks rather than being fixed.

Very low water pressure was another problem. At the service points (and there are only four for the entire site) it took 10 minutes to fill a 40 litre Aquaroll, which led to queues at the taps, too.

The site was jam full when we were there at the height of the summer season, and as such felt overcrowded and too busy. I expected a remote and quiet area, but with the surfing beach very close by there was a constant movement of people and cars coming and going, which made it far from restful.

We were told that the CC only owns a third of the site, with the rest leased from a local landowner and that the lease is up soon, so maybe something will be done to improve facilities and landscaping (the open nature of the site makes it windswept and a bit bleak, with little in the way of planting or flowers) once the long-term future of the site is settled.

Another problem was a large and very noisy campsite set up by a religious group in the next field, with drumming workshops, singing and the blowing of car horns a speciality. That field is regularly rented to other groups, apparently, some of whom have caused noise problems late into the night. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Blatchatter 7 reviews from this member

 This is a nice site if a little exposed. While we were there we had quite a lot of rain and many of the pitches became rather water logged and there are no hard standings. The Caravan Club really need to do something about the drainage but the facilities are up to the usual Club standards. Within easy walking distance is a well stocked shop.

The area is great for walking the coastal paths and climbing Carn Llidi which overlooks the site. St Davids is about a 35 minute walk from the site or you can Celtic Coaster bus that runs from Whitesands Beach into the city.

The cathedral is worth a visit and the refectory food is excellent. We had nice meals in the Farmers Arms and the Old Cross Hotel but drinks are expensive.

There are wonderful boat trips to and around Ramsey Island and also to islands further afield (that should be asea!). I can certainly recommend the guided walk on Ramsey Island led by an RSPB warden which can be booked through Thousand Islands Expeditions' office. I can also recommend one of their jet boat trips. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Corpy 5 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site perched on the top of the cliffs between St Davids and Whitesands Bay. Facilities second to none - as you would expect from a CC Club site. There is no shop on site but there is a well stocked convenience store situated on the private site next door.

Scenery is breathtaking especially around the coastal path which is only a short walk away. Turn right out of the site, walk to the crossroads, a few hundred yards away, go straight on across the main road, down the lane and your there. Once on the coastal path turn right for Whitesands Bay with its wonderful beach and small cafe (5 - 10 mins) or turn left and enjoy the rugged coastline around to St Davids and beyond (this is quite a long walk and sometimes dangerous, it is not suitable for young children and pushchairs).

St Davids is a 45 ~ 60 min gentle walk down country lanes but is well worth it. The Cathedral is impressive and free to enter (although they do expect a small donation, but this is optional). St Davids has a variety of shops, banks cafe's and gift stores as well as a few good pubs (we liked the Farmers Arms which serves good food and is Dog friendly, but there is another good one further up the high street as if you are walking out towards Solva).

Places to visit:- to the South East - Solva, Newdale and the Havens (Broad, Little and Milford). To the north/ west - St Davids Head, Porth-gain and Fishguard to name just a few. The area is set in the Pembrokeshire National Park and is more for relaxing and taking in the wonderful scenery (which is much better done on foot). We liked it so much we have booked our main summer holiday in the same area a few miles North in Parrog, Newport, which I have been told is equally impressive. 


Date of Visit: April 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Moogler 8 reviews from this member

 We really liked this site - lovely and peaceful, beautiful location and the seaside and cliff paths very close by.

Pitches (with EHU) were all grass and it did get a bit wet at times, but we had a fair bit of rain for a couple of days we were here for at the end of April beginning of May.

You can easily walk down to Whitesands Bay, next door field had highland cows (and the cutest baby calves) and there was a lovely herd of Welsh Cobb ponies in the other field. There is a shop with all the usual basics in the caravan site over the road.

Showers etc. Great - typical CC standard.

Whitesands beach is open for dogs until end April after that you can walk further along the cliff path to other coves which do allow dogs after 1st May.

St Davids is a really nice little town -there's the cathedral to visit which is interesting. It has a supermarket, some nice shops and places to have coffees. The Farmers Arms does great food and it's dog friendly.

You can get a bus to and from St Davids to the campsite. We spent a lovely (hot!) day walking the cliff path from Whitesands to St Justinians and then into St Davids and then got the bus back to the campsite (with the dog) from there.

Tenby is very quaint and we took a boat trip (with the dog) to Caldey Island to spend a very peaceful day there.

The Harbour Inn in Solva does nice Sunday lunch and it's dog friendly too.

Nice site - great area to explore. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vz70 14 reviews from this member

 Stunning scenery, although without sea view.

This campsite seems to attract mostly an older audience with mainly huge & luxurious motorhomes.

The reception closes at 5.30pm - but this is the place, where you get the key for the 24/7 locked toilet/shower-block. I found that a bit odd and inconvenient, as we arrived at 7pm. The other day we've been told, that we should have rang them up - just for the key.

The facilities are exemplary and very clean, the pitch was just perfect. But the atmosphere overall is somewhat overdone with perfectionism. 


Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is St Davids Lleithyr Meadow Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near St Davids      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Pembrokeshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet East Anglian Game and Country Fair 27/04 to 28/04
All the fun of the Game and Country Fair taking place at Euston Estate near Thetford - you can even camp over for the weekend - enter our competition to win tickets Find out More

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


44961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement