Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Middlewick Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Tiverton > West Middlewick Farm Reviews

West Middlewick Farm
Nomansland
Tiverton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX16 8NP
Tel: 01884 861235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Marie rogers 1 review from this member

 What can I say, roll on August when we go back. This was our second visit - only for 3 nights this time. Lovely people, lovely scenery, lovely toilets and showers(always clean), lovely cows!

Massive field with the pitches round the edge, perfect for the kids to play on - football, kite flying whilst the grown up sit back, relax and keep an eye on them - within 20 minutes of getting there our 12 year old had managed to find a friend he had made when we were there last year. People go back to this place year after year and we will be joining them.

The shop sells a few farm produced items - sausages, burgers and such and off course eggs from the free range chickens which come twelve midday you can go and help collect for the Farmer. Wellies are a must as this is a working farm and you really can get stuck in if you want to, if you don't you can just enjoy this wonderful campsite for the wonderful place it is. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DEBORAH KENT 1 review from this member

 Small, peaceful, friendly family site. Toilet blocks and showers very clean with good hot running water. Basic campsite but children love the friendly working farm atmosphere. Open space for children to play. Devon scenery beautiful with lovely local pubs. Town not far away but transport needed. My only suggestion would be to have a seat in the shower area when drying off - otherwise could not fault the place. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team Archie 2 reviews from this member

 Thank you once again for another brilliant, extended, holiday. It was great to see all the new calves and Ellie enjoyed looking after her 'little herd', whilst I enjoyed hugging Snowdrops bottom! ! It was also good to see Daniel getting to grips with the milking techniques. The whole of the Gibson family, and those who pop in to help (Grandad, Jim, Mo & Dave, and the cleaners) make the farm and everyone's holiday a treasured memory, keep up the good work and we all look forward to returning to make more memories xxxx

The site is a working farm and as such wellies are essential. If you want entertainment then you make your own, watching the children (and adults) playing on the middle green or on the hay bales, whilst watching the brilliant sunsets is grand. The little shop sells local ice cream, crisps, drinks, biscuits, honey, jam, fudge, sausages and burgers, as well as the Cheese! !

The toilets and showers are always clean, and if it does get muddy (British weather) you can always see Jo or Abby checking that all is clean.

The walks around the farm and in the village of Witheridge are good, as are the 2 local pubs- would recommend taking the car as the road can be a little busy, or alternatively wear high visibility jacket. Plenty of cyclists use this site too. , , ,

There are log cabins, camping pods, plenty of space for tents and caravans, , overall this is the best kept secret in mid Devon 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hanham1982 3 reviews from this member

 A lovely campsite that we have visited numerous times. Very friendly owners who always seem to remember a face. Very happy for the kids to get involved with the animals. Bonus of this stay was jo taking both children to hold baby chicks. Whilst the facilities are basic I can honestly say this is a site we will return to again and again! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fernsider 9 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from 2 night stay at this site. Amazing 2 nights. Its a traditional working farm with camp field at the back, lovely large play area in the centre goal posts were present but no swings etc. Great space for group ball games etc or for kids to just run around. The pitches are generous sizes around the outside with electric hook up at most. There is a large field at the back to exercise your dog of the lead as well as a field across the road with access to the river. There are a couple of toilet blocks very clean and shower blocks at the top, with a laundrette. Again all very clean. Washing up facilities were down the bottom of the camping field, not sure if there are any up the top. The owners work very hard and are proud of what they do, there is a small farm shop selling there yummy meat delicious ice cream! cheese and a few other basics. The biggest plus is you can help with the feeding of the animals collect the eggs bring the cows in for milking. Traditional in every way. We will be returning hopefully in a couple of months. Thankyou for a lovely break. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Jamesiai 2 reviews from this member

 Nice and quiet site, well it was November! Some level hard standing pitches with hook up in the top field, slightly sloping in the lower field. This is a working farm and the owners welcome your interest in the various goings on on the farm. There are chickens, geese and even turkeys, as well as a herd of about 60 milking cows. Nice showers that take 20p coins, but overall this site is very good value for money.

2 good pubs that serve food less than 1 mile away. In the summer this would be a nice walk.

If only it had rained a bit less when we were there! 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kiesel 6 reviews from this member

 Just got back from 3 nights at this site. Wet, windy and muddy, but great fun. Don't forget your wellies. Kids thoroughly enjoyed it and want to know when we can go back! Beautiful views, well maintained toilet blocks with nice hot showers, polite and friendly welcome from all there. Kids loved the farm animals, especially the calves and thought it was great that the collected the eggs that they then bought. 1. 25 for 1/2 dozen eggs, money well spent. We had a friendly cat in the awning rather than chickens, which was brave as we took the dog! Would certainly recommend this site and would love to go back next year, maybe around lambing time. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClanEvans 1 review from this member

 Well as this is my first time camping as a mum and my daughters first camping ever, I am very impressed! The site itself it well laid out with plenty of space for everyone. We managed to be near the new toilet block at the bottom of the main field and they were well looked after.

We participated in every milking and all who were there had time for you and didn't worry too much about answering my barrage of questions (inquiring minds!) the cows have some fantastic personalities and are so adorable. The milking sessions can be enjoyable (if you like to muck in!) with expert guidance you can feed them and herd them to there field once done.

Whilst we visited a calf had been recently born and was a bubbly little thing! Hens roam freely most of the afternoon so be prepared for tents/caravan visitors like it or not!

The owners have a nice little shop selling the cheese which their milk is used to make! Also they have frozen meats and if the chickens are not too traumatised by the children playing near them then you can get some fresh eggs! There are two turkeys, some geese and a couple of rabbits that you can see and if the son is around you may be able to get a closer look.

The cost of our stay was extremely reasonable and I won't hesitate in coming again and again or as often as I can 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Inkspot6 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 4 night stop at West Middlewick Farm and had a thoroughly enjoyable time. The owners are very friendly and helpful and do all they can to make visitors feel involved in what goes on at the farm. Young children will have a wonderful time here helping to feed the animals, collect eggs and even helping to herd the cattle from the milking shed back to their field - it's a million miles away from tv and computer games. I would recommend this site whether or not you have kids, just for the friendly relaxed experience. You have to remember it's a working farm so don't expect fancy holiday-park facilities. The toilet blocks were kept clean all the time we were there but of course kids are going to trample mud from the farmyard around in poor weather - nothing the owners can do about that. Can't really comment on the surrounding area as we only left the site once and that was to go to the shop in the village of Witheridge about a mile up the road, pleasant village with picturesque pub. We are already looking forward to a return visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Loolou 2 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a very cold 3 nights at middlewick and cannot wait to go back. Our 10 year old loved it. It is a working farm so if you don't like getting dirty and don't like the smell of cow poo this isn't for you, but for us it was excellent. Our son got to see the cows being milked and the farmer's wife let my son feed the cows before they were milked. Then they showed him how to feed the calves who were very cute and like to suck on your coat pockets. There are free range chickens all around.

There is a new toilet block in the camping field which is great also has washing up area. Further up by the farm is the shower blocks. Women's takes 20p and 40p was enough for a good shower.

We went to the pub up in nomansland called mount pleasant inn really nice food. There is a local shop in witheridge for basic bit and bobs. Can't wait for a return visit in the summer when hopefully the weather will be warmer. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Middlewick Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Middlewick Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is West Middlewick Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tiverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2357 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement