Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of West Middlewick Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Devon (North) > Tiverton > West Middlewick Farm Reviews

West Middlewick Farm
Nomansland
Tiverton
Devon (North)   (Browse area)
EX16 8NP
Tel: 01884 861235
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 30
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 74 Reviews
                9/10 from 74 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (11)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  74 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Chris and Si 6 reviews from this member

 We spent 2 nights here on our 'road-trip' down to Cornwall in our Volkswagen Camper 'Vera'. The cost of 10 per night was the original deciding factor and it was a pleasant surprise that it was such a lovely place. Fantastic views and lovely owners.

We were met by the owner who explained that they had a newly completed toilet/wash-up block at the bottom of the main field. He offered us hook-up on hardstanding next to the block. As it was very quiet on the site, we felt like they were our own personal toilets! They are certainly a substantial and well built block. He explained that they still only had the shower block next to the house, but that he had a new block planned.

We used the showers which run on 20p pieces. 60p gave a good shower. A hairdryer is also available, again 20p. We also used the industrial sized washer and dryer. The washer was a little awkward to use, but The owner explained how to do it. 5 is needed for the wash and about the same for a full load in the dryer - comparable with launderettes. We didn't mind paying for showers etc. As the basic pitch and hook-up was so cheap.

We didn't have anything to do with the farm, but did have visits from the chickens in the afternoons! There were no children staying on the site but we could see that there was a lovely area for them to play in the middle of the field.

We checked out the lodges which look lovely and also had a look at the 2 Pods that they have in the lower field - these are like wooden tents with TV, double futon and stretcher bed.

All in all, this is a lovely site and we intend to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Weymouth 6 reviews from this member

 What a great place and an extremely warm welcome. Very child friendly with tame free range chickens and flop eared rabbits. It's a working farm as others have said and this does mean that there is everything you might expect from dairy cattle herding in and out of the milking parlour so take your wellies. It seems that children (and adults) are welcome to watch what's going on in the piggery, chicken and geese run and the dairy.

The camping area is good short grass with a very gentle slope and plenty of hardstanding pitches and hook ups around the edge. The central area is set aside with goal posts for children's ball games. There is a smallish new shop being set up for the sale of farm eggs, sausages and so on.

As for facilities, in the camping field there is a new building with toilets and a couple of hot water washing-up sinks but no showers. These are in the older building nearer the farm house.

All in all a very friendly place and at very reasonable prices. One to revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redmonds 2 reviews from this member

 This campsite is fantastic. The location is beautiful with views over the rolling hills and the farm is great for the kids. We couldn't get over how friendly the farmer's family were; incredibly busy but always ready to stop for a chat and to tell you about the farm and what is going on.

The main field has large open pitches (the majority with electric hookup) and mixes caravans with tents which is a nice touch. They leave the main area free for the kids to play games so that they never get anywhere near the tents or caravans with balls etc. But this also gives you a feeling of space. The second overflow field is huge.

The kids get free rein to investigate the farm, can go and collect eggs throughout the day, check on the pigglets and the calves etc and help out by feeding the cows when they come in for milking.

One of the nice things is that the site is not commercialised at all. There are enough showers and toilets etc. But you may have to wait for them (no big deal, just enjoy the setting). There is also a fridge freezer you can use and a useful industrial size washing machine and tumble dryer.

They also have some lovely wooden cabins and pods.

Even the drive to the supermarket (Tesco superstore in Tiverton 9 miles away) is a joy down one of the best roads I have seen in a long time. Beautiful.

Location wise you can go to Ilfracombe and the north coast in just over an hour or jump on the M5 and be in Torquay again in just over an hour.

Definitely one for our shortlist to return to in the future! 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wirralot 10 reviews from this member

 Returned to West Middlewick Farm for the second time. This time for 15 nights.

I was delighted to see that things are still exactly the same and getting better too. It was lovely to be remembered by The Gibson Family.

The site continues to build on it's already excellent facilities. The animal areas are expanding - rabbits are now more visible in large runs, there are now 2 geese.

The site is clearly becoming more popular, it was full most of the time we were there. Despite being full, the site facilities coped with the numbers. I rarely ever had to wait for a shower and only occasionally had to wait for my turn to wash up the dishes (I'm never in a hurry to get my hands dirty anyway!)

The site remains beautifully well kept. All grass is regularly cut, the paths are regularly cleared.

It's an incredible achievement that the very busy Gibson Family with only a small number of extra staff can run a busy dairy farm and other animals on different sites and still manage to given an attentive service to all their campers and keep the grounds looking good.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Conkezz 8 reviews from this member

 We arrived on an extremely wet Bank Holiday Friday - the farmer took us to our pitch which considering the weather was relatively firm. The weather improved over the weekend and the ground dried out well.

We were camping with friends, the children all enjoyed the farm and the freedom to look at the animals etc. We visited Tiverton Canal with kayaks, dogs, children and the hire of a Canadian Canoe. Lovely walks along the very pretty canal.

Showers were hot and powerful - quite muddy but to be expected considering the weather! If I could pick one thing that could have been better was the grass needed a mow around our pitching area - it was quite long. Apart from that everything else was fine.

Friendly farmer and family. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Wheatleybix 1 review from this member

 We chose West Middlewick because of its price (15 per night), its proximity to Diggerland (very important when you have a digger-mad 4 year old!) and that fact that children were allowed to help out on the farm.

We were not disappointed! We arrived 2 hours earlier than check-in and asked if we could leave our trailer tent somewhere and come back at the appropriate time.

Joanna and John were very accommodating and allowed us onto our pitch as it had been vacated early which was much appreciated after a 6 hour drive. In fact we were given a choice of pitches which was lovely.

The children loved the fact that they could play on the grassed centre area while we pitched. It gave them a bit of freedom but we could see them all the time.

Once pitched we went to investigate the farm and once again Joanna was very helpful advising on supermarkets, local shops, local pubs and good beaches.

For supermarkets Morrisons or Tescos in Tiverton were great. Dan showed the children the rabbits, the chicken and geese and was generally very helpful and good with the kids.

Basically if you want to help you can, if you want to watch, you can and if you don't want to do either, that's OK too! Our daughter is seven and had much more independence that she usually has because of the group of children that were feeding, milking and egg collecting.She would often go off for an hour or so and return mucky but happy!

We accompanied our four year old because he is not quite ready to be let loose! He fell in love with Alfie the lamb and on our last day he sat in the pen and sobbed because he was leaving. If you decide to leave the farm, Exmouth beach is nice, Saunton Sands is a good beach (7. 00 to park for the day though) and we were told that Combe Martin beach is great too. Diggerland was fab but so pleased we did the Tesco voucher thing as not sure I would have paid 68 to get in for the day.

A lovely evening walk on the farm is down the fields to the river. Please remember your wellies as it is a farm and there is a fair bit of mud and poo around the sheds etc but they are very good at trying to keep the paths clear.

The showers were excellent, always warm and only needed 60p for myself and daughter to have showers and wash hair. There is a hair dryer and we never queued for toilets or the sinks.

The boys didn't queue either. The mops are a great idea so that you can clean up after yourself. All in all we had a great time, the kids made friends and really enjoyed the animals.

We would recommend this site and will return when our son is old enough to have that freedom too. P. S you have to try the sausages, bacon, cheese and eggs available from the farm - they are great! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Vdubmum 6 reviews from this member

 We chose this site after reading reviews on here and were not disappointed. It has a main area for camping with a large grassed area in the middle for children to play etc and also a field at the back where we chose to camp.

Children (and adults!) loved feeding the cows in the evening and watching them being milked. We saw a calf being born and all were welcome to be in the shed watching this event. It was great to be involved and educational for the children.

There were also plenty of other animals to visit morning and night. The facilities were good - showers were big enough to take more than one child in with you - what a bonus!

Owners were lovely people and had time to talk even though they were busy running a farm. John has a great collection of old milk bottle with advertisements on and is grateful for any more for the collection if you have some! Good value for money and we had a great time there.

We will go back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiltoncj 5 reviews from this member

 Another wonderful visit to this site. This time with 2 15 yr olds in tow. Even they were never bored, there is plenty to look at ( piglets born on arrival day, calf born during the week, lovely walk to the river).

The site owners remembered us from the previous year and gave us a friendly welcome. The pitch was again excellent and the showers were clean and powerful.

Sausages and cheese are now on sale along with fresh eggs.

The site is in an excellent position for both the north and south coast of Devon and we spent 2 glorious days on the beach at Saunton sands, a day at Buckfast otters (well worth the trip) and a visit to Dartington Glass.

All in all a lovely holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jake369 3 reviews from this member

 After finding the site on this website the description, reviews, and price all seemed too good to be true. However, it is all true! We were welcomed and shown to our pitch (given a choice but advised to choose the one sheltered from the wind as it was a windy day). The field is in a slight hill but it is not noticeable. With a massive playing area in the middle it meant the children were able to play but always be in view. It also meant that even when 'full' there was plenty of space remaining.

The farmer and his daughter seemed to always have a stream of children following them and helping out - they seemed to never tire and always happy and good with the children. Hard to believe they were just getting on with their day-to-day farm jobs and allowing the children to help so much. Our children were shy and so did not don the overalls and help with the farm jobs, but they did love watching the cows being milked and were brave enough to bottle feed lambs a couple of times.

The site does not have a lot of toilets or showers (for gents there was two toilets and one shower) and yet I never had to wait at all, and I never saw queues from the woman's block either. The toilets and showers were both very clean and well looked after. Save up your 10pence and 20pence for the showers. 1 will give you long enough shower for yourself and two children!

For what I see as a very cheap campsite, it has first class toilets/showers, very friendly owners and is certainly a site we will be going back to. Either use as a base for day trips or if you have less shy children you could probably spend all day chilling out by the tent while the children helped on the farm. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sesg77 1 review from this member

 We have just been on our second visit and have booked to go back later in the year as we love it here! We have 2 children (7 and 12) who absolutely love being on the farm and spending so much time with the animals.

They help milk the cows in the morning and evening and it takes around 2 1/2 hours! Also, there are currently lambs that need to be fed during the day as well. The kids don't have to help the whole time, but I can't drag mine away! However, please remember that they will need some dirty clothes / overalls as they will get covered in cow mess.

However, having said that it is a proper working farm, the actual camp-site is very clean and well laid out. The pitches are lovely and big and in the top field there is a large area in the middle for the kids to play together. In the lower field there is no designated play area but it is a massive field and only a few tents at one end of it.

The facilities are very well maintained and the washing up area which is under cover and has free hot water is an absolute god send. The showers are amazing and well worth the 20p for each 2 mins.

We also take our 2 dogs and there are several fields that belong to the farm that you are allowed to let your dog off the lead in. Obviously on the farm you have to keep them on the lead as the chickens are freely walking the camp-site!

The setting is rural, but only 9 miles to Tiverton where there is a large Tesco as well as it being a lovely town to go round. Also about a mile down the road from the farm there is a village which has a small shop for basics and a pub.

I would highly recommend this camp-site for families. It is so friendly and lovely place to be. 


Previous     74 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is West Middlewick Farm child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to West Middlewick Farm?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is West Middlewick Farm dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Tiverton      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Devon (North)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, West Sussex 09/10 to 10/10
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Ardingly Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2292 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement