Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Epernay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Epernay > Camping Epernay Reviews

Camping Epernay
Allees De Cumieres
Epernay
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51200
Tel: 0033 326 553214
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 109
Open: May To September Include

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Seacrest 11 reviews from this member

 Large pitches well maintained and with privacy. Easy access to water, electric etc. Toilet block kept clean. 20 minute walk into Epernay and a 2 minute drive to a large Carrefour (with fuel). Staff at reception very helpful and friendly. Really nice cafe/bistro on site alongside the river. Boat and canoe hire on site too. Really good site with loads to see in the local area being in the heart of Champagne producing country. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Ceriannesman 6 reviews from this member

 We had decided not to book sites (except for our first night) of a tour of Champagne and Burgundy regions and just go with the flow. We wanted a location that would mean a shorter drive to Calais. We found the site from an internet search and just turned up. The site was very busy but the english speaking man in reception was very friendly and found us a pitch. The pitch was well maintained and plenty big enough for our van and daughter's pup tent. The electric hook up units were not in each pitch but on power units scattered about the site. Unfortunately our lead was not long enough to reach, but the reception man was kind enough to lend us an extension. The facilities were very clean. The cost per night was very reasonable at €27 including EHU. Would certainly stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Geraldinerocks 17 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights in total at this campsite in July. 2 on the way down to the Alps and 2 on the way back.

Very nice site with very helpful staff. We booked in advance but people were coming and going all the time so may not be necessary.

Big, pivate pitches with some having a lovely view of the river. Plenty of trees for shade.

Adequate toilets (take your own toilet roll) and free showers. We went at a very busy time of year but never had to queue for the facilities. Big play area for children.

On site bakery for croissants, bread etc. Also a snack bar, although we never used it.

Cycle path from the campsite along the river to either a big Carrefour or carry on into Epernay which was a lovely town with plenty to see.

Can highly recommend this site :) 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Suzie sue 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for an overnight stopover on the way to Burgundy. We booked by email. We were allocated a pitch - all very similar, grass with hedge borders and a few trees, by a river. The toilets are clean with seats, but no toilet paper or soap. We had a meal at the cafe which was much better than expected - roast chicken and frites, with a view of the water. Staff friendly and helpful. There's a large playground too. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Nomadyane 6 reviews from this member

 I identified the site in advance but didn't book, as I was out of the main holiday season. I was lucky to squeeze in as it was very busy - so DO book if you want to be certain of a pitch. I wanted only a quick overnight on my way south and this is a convenient hop from Calais. Very friendly reception (English and many other languages spoken!) Good loos and showers. Site was a little muddy after lots of rain, but my pitch was carpeted in pink petals from the adjacent tree! (So was my van in the morning. ) Beside the River Marne - picturesque views from the little café. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jkingscott 2 reviews from this member

 Great site, great location, EXTREMELY helpful staff.

Was a bit noisy with groups when we were there - no reflection on the site, but a little annoying.

20 min walk to a large supermarket, 10 more into Epernay. Pitches small, but fine for a large tent. Loos were fine. Only possible niggle was the route to the loos - if you are near the river you either have to walk miles or sneak through someone's pitch!

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nigel and family 3 reviews from this member

 We've now used this site three times over the last few years. Since our last visit (2010) they have increased site security (fence and gates) but without compromising the relaxed feel of the site once you are in. Pitches are a good size, the back of the campsite borders the river, and there are play areas on the opposite side. The loo facilities are good and the price is reasonable. Fresh bread is available on site at 9ish each morning; the staff are friendly; and there's lots to do in the region.

We'll be back next time we're passing through Champagne en-route to Switzerland or the South of France. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bouzoukigirl 18 reviews from this member

 We arrived early September. The receptionist was very helpful and spoke good English (better than my French!).

The campsite was well signposted. It was, however very full and we were allocated very nearly the last pitch although no electricity was available.

It was grape picking time and it was absolutely packed at one side of the camp with visiting grape pickers. No problem with that except, unfortunately, the women's toilet/shower area because the site did not pay enough attention to regular maintenance (I can't comment on the men's area). It was running with condensation because of the pressure on the showers when the workers returned from the vineyards. The toilets themselves were wet and dirty.

We only stayed for one night and probably will not return to this site although I accept that the time of year was problematic. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Blongs 49 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in August 2011 and enjoyed our time. I had stayed here about 4 years ago and nothing much seems to have changed.

I e-mailed the site a few months before to let them know we were coming and it was a good job as the site was going to be full over the time we were there.

We had a pitch opposite the playpark so our daughter could play as much as she wanted within sight.

Reception staff were excellent and very helpful, we were given a plan of the town and suggested walking/cycling routes and where the supermarkets are.

We did the tour in town of Castellane this time, I have done Mercier before. The Castellane tour shows the upto date bottling and process they go through compared to the tour at Mercier.

The Leclerc up the road we drove to on arrival was large and had cheap fuel, I used the bike along the river to get to the Carrefour in town.

We walked to the champagne tours which didn't take long and also gave us chance to have an ice cream on the way back.

Epernay is a very nice town. We then used the D roads to get to Troyes through a few towns/villages like Oger (a 4 flower town).

The toilets etc on the site were all fine, not perfect but they were clean and all worked. There are police patrols of the site for safety, I guess if tourism is your business you keep the customers feeling safe. There are a few bad reviews on trip advisor for this site but I have enjoyed my 2 visits here and would visit again if in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hortonjjj 3 reviews from this member

 This is the third campsite of our French holiday and our favourite by far. We wish we could stay longer but alas we have to leave for Calais tomorrow.

This is a beautiful place, friendly with fantastic views over the river and boating lake up to the Champagne vineyards. Upon arrival, without a booking, the guy who spoke fluent English allowed us to wander the site with a list of pitches not already booked so we could choose our perfect spot. We did and booked in happily, he then gave us a fantastic tourist intro to the region and town and his recommendations have proven great.

We have used the Wifi and launderette facilities, both reasonably priced considering the 16 Euro a night bargain price tag.

Sanitary facility floors are always muddy but the toilets and showers (all seats) are fine. I wear Crocs to shower though so it makes it easier! It is quite a walk from our pitch to the toilets but our view over the water more than justifies it.

The restaurant does really nice pizzas which we have enjoyed on a lazy night. The guy running it seems really friendly. Bread on site is convenient but very expensive.

Previous reviews have mentioned champagne tours. We have been to three different places. One was just a tasting in a beautiful village of Hautvillers - champagne was 16 Euros a bottle but tastings were free. We tasted about 6 different wines before choosing our purchases. Next was the Mercier tour which we paid 18 Euro for to include 3 glasses of champagne. The three glasses were a rip off because they were nowhere near full glasses. We wish we'd paid the 10 Euro tour which included one taste and got the same cave tour by train. Prices were from 20 Euro a bottle. It was interesting but compared to our last visit it paled. The guy at the campsite had recommended we go local and we were given a flyer by the woman in the bread shop for a house which accepts visits without appointment. It is called Richard-Fliniaux in Ay where we met the lovely Madame Richard-Fliniaux herself, got to stand next to the tiny production line to see them freezing and removing the sediment before corking and storing the champagne and finally had a lovely tasting session of 3 different champagnes, rose biscuits and the champagne confit amongst the pictures of the Fliniaux familt going back generations. Prices were from 14, 90 a bottle. It knocks spots of those big places and I can't recommend going local enough. It made our holiday. We will definitely be coming back to this region and avoiding the larger houses for the smaller ones. No glitz, just fab.

Epernay seems a very quiet town - we really struggled on Monday to find somewhere to get lunch. That said we are here in French holiday season! We ended up in Reims and that is beautiful, well worth a visit.

Overall this is wonderful. There are frequent police visits due to previous problems so a due level of caution is required re valuables.

Cannot recommend enough! 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Epernay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Epernay?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Epernay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Epernay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3971 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement