Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Camping Epernay

Campsite Search > Europe > France > Champagne Ardenne > Epernay > Camping Epernay Reviews

Camping Epernay
Allees De Cumieres
Epernay
Champagne Ardenne   (Browse area)
51200
Tel: 0033 326 553214
Visit their website    

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 109
Open: May To September Include

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 47 Reviews
                8/10 from 47 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire On Site   No Golf   Tennis On Site 
 No Beach   Watersports On Site   Boat Launch / Mooring On Site 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 Riverside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  47 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mrsdollymixtures 4 reviews from this member

 A neat site, with efficient check-in. Vehicle barrier, plus it being locked overnight (you just have to leave your vehicle in the entrance carpark) was reassuring, in view of the fact that some campers may well have their vehicles loaded up with Champagne.

Showers were clean, and seemed to be being pressure-hose cleaned morning, noon and night.

Lovely location on the banks of the River Marne, which is a walk into Epernay, but not far. You pass the cemetery, which contains the mausoleums of the Moets, Chandons and many other famous Champagne makers - absolutely fascinating.

The 'restaurant' was very amusing, and the staff were smiling and helpful. A great holiday atmosphere and of course, much cheaper than the bars in Epernay. Fast style food with chips, but it looked perfectly good.

Yes, Wifi was charged, but there's a McDonalds 3 minutes away if you want free access.

Very reasonable price. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Gerrydcruz 1 review from this member

 We booked ahead for this site. We stayed 2 nights and were very impressed. Had a lovely site overlooking the River Marne; ideal for kayaking. Lovely cycle path into the town, and riverside path for jogging/walking. Site was well kept, showers etc of a good standard and very clean, and staff were exceptionally friendly and helpful. We thoroughly recommend it and would return. It was very easy to get up amongst the vineyards for walking, and a visit to the prety village of Haut Villers, with its many tiny champagne houses is well worth it. We also enjoyed a trip down the cellars of Mercier, one of the larger houses, followed, of course, by the obligatory tasting.

This was a good site and location for a stopover en route to other parts of Europe, or for a longer stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RubyShoesDay 21 reviews from this member

 Paid a return visit to this site ready for the start of our 'Tour de France' trip. We arrived and were dealt with promptly despite being fairly busy when we arrived. We were given a pitch at the side of the water, which the manager was very pleased to have saved for us but alas it was under cover of trees and did not allow any reception for the satellite TV. I felt really awful going back and asking if we could move but as soon as we walked back in the manager knew what the problem was and moved us to another pitch. Normally we can live without TV but really wanted to keep up to date with the cycling.

As we found on our previous visit, everything was of top standard despite the site being very reasonably priced. The showers and toilets did get very busy the next day when every school child on the region descended on the site to watch 'le Tour' as the site was perfectly located for 2 stages - Rheims & Epernay. I must confess this did spoil it for us, I was shocked by how selfish and rude some of the french campers were using communal facilities as there own personal ones and barging to the front of the queue for the showers just as a cubicle was vacated BUT I appreciate this is nothing to do with the site and I have never experienced this before on previous trips to France.

We left after a couple of days to chase the cycling down to the Alps but made a last minute decision to stop back at the site on the return leg of our trip which was easily arranged with a quick email. The site was back to it's usual self as all the hubub had died down. All in all, I think the site coped phenomenally well as I doubt everyone staying on the site at the start of our trip was actually offically booked in!

As per my previous review - I would certainly recommend this site, based on location, facilities and price. 20 to 30 minute walk into Epernay where you can get a nice quick train (timetables and help given by the staff on the site) into Rheims at a very reasonable price meaning no need to drag the motorhome into the city. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Treble 12 reviews from this member

 Stopped here 5 nights on the way home from a week of summer skiing in the Alps. The staff couldn't have been nicer or more helpful. I emailed a query before leaving the UK and got a swift and helpful response.

As the Tour de France was arriving just before we left, the site got very busy and unofficial pitches were allocated on the neighbouring sports field. It got a bit noisy Weds night but quietened down by midnight. I don't know if this just happened or whether someone patrolled. Certainly we saw the local police drive through the site a couple of times each day so felt that any bother would have swiftly been dealt with.

The site has a barrier operated by reception, open 7am to 10pm in high season. Outside those times you can park in bays the other side of reception.

Pitches:

--------

Several lines of good sized flat pitches with hedges on 3 sides and trees in the corners. Many have electric hook up - if your lead's not long enough they lend you an extension free (20Euro refundable deposit). Other pitches vary in size - there are some larger ones and some where two back onto each other with no hedge between - great for groups.

Facilities:

-----------

Laundry

3 Euros for the washer, 1 Euro for dryer. There is an iron too but no way was I ironing on holiday!

Sanitation block

The ladies had 5 loos, 5 showers and 6 cubicled washbasins plus another 4-5 open ones. More loos / showers would be better than so many basins. Loo paper not supplied, but showers are free and there was always hot water. There is also a disabled loo (key at reception) and there are electric sockets with shelf / mirror above. There are plenty of large sinks for washing up / clothes washing - but no plugs.

Although the site got very busy indeed just before we left due to the Tour de France arriving, the facilities were always clean.

'Restaurant'

As stated by others, it's a snack bar van with a limited menu. However, the food is good value and freshly cooked. You can order a takeaway and return for it 20 mins later.

Sports

There is provision for various sports, boules, volleyball, football etc. There is also canoeing & a climbing wall but we never investigated the use of these. Bike hire was good value at 5Eu for half a day incl a good quality lock to take with us.

We went into the town - about 10-15 mins on cycle paths, though when you get into town there are fewer cycle paths and the roads can be narrow and busy. A good bike ride for a full day out would be to go right out of the site and up the road to Cumieres (a bit busy & not terribly wide, but straight). Cross the river there and go left (West) along the river - a good riverside path appears to go for a good distance off road.

Shopping

---------

There is no on site shop but a baker calls around 9am. Twice they were unable to call and the site staff went out and brought supplies in instead. There is a small cheapie supermarket very close by (walking distance or an easy cycle ride) just behind McDonalds, and a Carrefour (with petrol station) only a little further. Be aware that they do NOT open on Sundays at all.

Wifi

----

Pay wifi is available and with a good strength signal. There is a single PC in reception that you can have pay use of too.

Champagne.

----------

We did the de Castellane tour and were not disappointed. It cost 8.50 Eu each and lasted 45 mins. It involved a walk right through current functioning areas of the plant as well as some historic exhibits and ended up with a full glass of Brut each. Then there was a museum to visit and also the tower to climb which is an Epernay landmark and offers fantastic views. There was no hard sell whatsoever. Bottles started around 18-20Eu.

Boating

-------

Onsite there are electric boats to hire (self-drive). We felt they were expensive (something like 20/25 an hour if I remember rightly). If you fancy a bigger boat trip go up to Cumieres (couple of miles max) where there is a 1.5 hour paddle steamer cruise for 8.50Eu a head and if you fancy splashing out they offer longer lunch and dinner cruises too. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alex middleton 3 reviews from this member

 Spent 2 days here on our way down south and had a great time. We had a big pitch next to the toilet blocks to get our 12 man tent on. When we got their the lady who we check in with couldn`t have helped us our any more, she was great. If you need to do some food shopping their is a carrefour about 10 minutes away from the campsite were you can fill the car up as well. I would use this campsite again because if you are on a budget its cheap and its only 2 and a half hours away from Calais or the tunnel. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Budrose 1 review from this member

 A nice site, private pitches surrounded by hedges. Very clean sanitary block. Friendly English speaking staff, all were very helpful. The 'restaurant' is almost a converted market stall selling allsorts, with a reasonable menu, we had a pizza which was very good, the wine was a touch pricey though, go to the supermarket! A very good base for the surrounding area. We walked into Epernay which was around 15 minutes at a casual stroll, the town is lovely, and a visit to a champagne house is a must. On the whole we were impressed with the site, and would stay again, a lot of people seemed to use it as a stopover. It was very very easy to find coming from Reims. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sam+Paul 5 reviews from this member

 Great campsite on outskirts of Epernay. It has nice spacious pitches with hedging on 3 sides for privacy. The site is very close to a river, so nice for a walk

The toilet/washing facilities cleaned twice daily and have 2 pin sockets for hairdrying just outside

There is washing machines, dryers and ironing board if required - tokens from reception

Reception team very helpful and iceblocks can be frozen for a nominal charge of 10cent

There was a children's play area and beach volleyball pitch and net

Tuesday - Sunday there was a bread delivery (very handy!) and an on-site snackbar - we used this for a beer once or twice

Would definitely recommend 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lucyuk 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed as a stopover for a few nights to tour around the champagne cellars. We're a group of youngish people, who prefer laid-back campsites with a bit of privacy and not many families and so we weren't expecting much from a municipal campsite. However, we were pleasantly surprised.

The owners were very friendly and helped me out with my rubbish french. The pitches were quite large with lovely big hedges around them, so it was nice and private.

There's a lovely river running along one side of the campsite which is very picturesque and there are some nice walks along its banks and a few picnic tables nearby.

There's an optimistically titled 'restaurant' on site. In fact it's a rather odd looking trailer with fairy lights, but they do sell food, of which we didn't partake, and they sell drinks, ice creams and beer! Things were a little expensive, but if I remember rightly after a large order of beer, the guy slipped in a few free cans, which was nice!

The facilities were excellent - nice showers and toilets and no matter which pitch you were in, there seemed to be a toilet block quite nearby. There was also a communal play area for kids with petanque pitches.

The walk into town was quite long though from the campsite and the supermarket was a drive away. The walk was possible and we did walk into town to visit the morning vegetable market in the town and to sample some champagne, but it's a fair old walk next to some dusty busy roads. It would have been nice to have been able to walk to a bar in the town at night, but surprisingly Epernay seemed quite dead past nine o'clock.

So a surprisingly pleasant campsite for a municipal site. They didn't object to us using our firepit / bbq. It's raised off the ground on little legs, so it doesn't scorch the ground. They didn't mind us using this on our pitch and we were able to sit around the campfire until late at night. Despite it being a family orientated site, I don't think we disturbed anyone by being up late at night as the high hedges do keep the sound in.

So a great site as a stop over if you're travelling further down south and useful if you want to visit the champagne cellars. The nearby town of Troyes is well worth a visit too. As is the Moet and Mercier cellar. The cellar of Castellane is a lot cheaper by comparison and a bit rough around the edges - the only good point is getting the chance to climb the big tower for a great view over Epernay. However, we were really put off by some incredibly rude people behind the counter! Moet and Mercier are very geared up for the tourists and the whole tour has a suitable gloss and pizazz!

Would recommend the site. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rjcf 14 reviews from this member

 This is a pleasant riverside site, convenient for visiting champagne houses. The pitches are a reasonable size and have thick hedges between them which is nice for privacy.

The staff were very helpful with information and recommending champagne houses to visit.

There is bread available every morning, which is useful as it is a fair walk to the nearest shop.

There is a food van on site with benches outside it, which mainly seemed to be a place for the staff's friends to gather.

We got taxis to and from Epernay, as it is a fairly long walk (especially in the rain) and driving is a really bad idea if you are sampling champagne. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bofs 70 reviews from this member

 Spent 5 nights here as a base for visiting the Champagne area and Reims. Had booked via e-mail earlier in the year and were allocated a pitch facing the river with plenty of welcome shade. What we didn't realise until after we arrived was that, according to a sign at the entrance, the site doesn't accept twin-axle caravans or caravans over 6 metres in length. Fortunately nobody noticed our 'van was 7.4 metres long and the pitch accommodated the 'van, awning and car, still with room for table, chairs etc. Without a problem!

This site caters for a mix of overnight and longer stays, so was quiet through the day but busier in the early mornings and late afternoons / early evenings. On a couple of the days the site's play areas were used by groups of French children in organised holiday play schemes, joggers / runners regularly used the path along by the river, and the site also contains the base of a canoe club and so it is not as private as we might have liked, though it did not cause any problems.

The toilet and shower facilities were modern, clean and well-maintained, though by 10am or so in the mornings and by 9pm or so at night the hot water in the sinks and showers had become decidedly cool! The best time for hot showers we found was around 5-6pm, which was also straight after they had been cleaned.

The restaurant van was open each evening and seemed fairly popular, though we did not use it, and the baker's van came to the site each morning except Monday, its arrival being announced in French and English via loudspeakers around the site.

The site is well-placed on the edge of the town, with a newish Leclerc supermarket a couple of miles away and a Carrefour slightly closer (no hills to get to this one - handy for on your bikes!). The staff in the Tourist Information Office in Epernay were very helpful and we too did the Mercier Champagne House tour - well worth the 8 euros. We also visited some of the villages on the Champagne Trail (route touristique) and loved the surrounding countryside. Reims is an easy 15 mile drive away and well worth a visit, if only for the cathedral, which we prefer to Notre-Dame in Paris. As with any French town, if you're not bothered about the shops, visit on a Sunday - all the cafes, restaurants and tourist sites are open, there is much less traffic and parking is free!

This site grew on us, the longer we stayed, and at just over 16 euros a night (incl. 5 amp electric) was excellent value for money. We would happily return. 


Previous     47 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Camping Epernay child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Camping Epernay?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Camping Epernay dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Epernay      Other sites within 30 miles   -   All Sites in Champagne Ardenne

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3679 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement