Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Atherstone > Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park Reviews

Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park
Atherstone Road
Atherstone
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV9 3QW
Tel: 01827 717393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54 Caravans
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 41 Reviews
                8/10 from 41 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  41 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: October 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Janine1947 43 reviews from this member

 This site was quite difficult to find, the entrance gate is set back from the Atherstone road, it identifies a stables and accommodation but gives no indication that there is a caravan site there. The access is by coded gate. You are encouraged to book online and pay by bank transfer. I was asked to predetermine which pitch I chose from an online map, which shows the pitches availble I tried ringing but got mainly an answer machine. I tried booking online and received an email confirming my PRELIMINARY booking. I Tried several times unsuccessfully to contact the site by phone. We arrived at the gate and I rang again to get the access code which I then got.

The pitches are large, flat, hardstanding and well spaced with water and electricity. There are two pitching areas adjacent to each other. The site is quiet and surrounded by fields with large grass centre areas.

The two toilet/showers are very clean and housed in the stables. These are quite a walk from some of the pitches. The nearby attractive market town of Atherstone is approximatly 2 miles away with markets Tuesday and Saturday. A couple of walks are identified in the information hut. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paullong 30 reviews from this member

 Welcome – non-existent – this is like a CL – it is an ‘unattended’ site. There wasn’t even a sign from the road and it was only because I had spotted online that there were stables on site that I guessed “Atherstone Stables” was the place to go. There are no signs to tell you what to do when you arrive and if you do need help then it’s a case of waiting for the owner to respond hours later to voicemail. However, once you’ve got used to the site, it is a very pleasant site to stay on with no silly rules and a good community atmosphere with plenty of space.

Pitch – we had pitch 8 which had a south facing piece of grass and was fully serviced – plenty of space.

Environment – the area is quiet and well maintained.

Facilities – there are only 2 toilets and 2 showers but we never had to wait as this was plenty for the site. The problem was that it’s quite a walk to the toilet block. There is a laundry but other than this there are no other facilities.

Conclusion – we will come again now we have got familiar with the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigm2 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here to test drive our new caravan. The site is tidy and well maintained. The children enjoyed playing on the green area in the middle of the site. There was plenty of space for them to kick a ball about. The gravel was quite hard under foot, and my dogs struggled to walk on it. I haven't come across such an unforgiving gravel surface before and I've used plenty of sites with hard standing pitches.

The pitches are a good size and having a tap and drain at each pitch was handy.

We didn't use the on site facilities, so I can't comment on them.

The absence of a warden could be a problem if any issues arise. The loud music from another caravan and a straying dog were our only gripes.

It was nice being able to hear the farm animals on neighbouring fields, and I noticed that eggs can be ordered and delivered to your pitch.

Would I return? Probably not, although it's a decent enough site. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Knightspa 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights to try out our caravan. It is a lovely site with plenty of space for van, awning and car. In centre is large green area. We had electric hook up and water tap at pitch. The 2 showers and toilets are very clean and we did not have to wait to use them. Only criticism is I paid for the Wi-Fi but could not get connected.

Walk to Atherstone was enjoyable and the walk to local pub across fields was fun. The Bull Inn do very good meals and very friendly.

Our dog loved the river as is easy accessible and gradually deepens.

Overall a lovely peaceful site and recommend to anyone who wants a relaxing time. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skyblueman 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 2 nights to test our new caravan and what a lovely place. You are left to your own devices which is great and the pitches were extremely large and well marked with a coded security gate being the access. We had a pitch with water, electric and drainage so didn't experience the previous reviewers issues but I totally agree with them that having to empty a waste hog would be a bit of a struggle as I did empty my chemical waste there. The toilet cubicles (x2) and shower rooms (x2) were spotless and individual areas and very roomy. A nice big grass area for kids to play in in the centre and as long as you have considerate fellow campers will not cause an issue. Didn't go to the local pub but spent a couple of hours in Atherstone which is a lovely market town. A wonderful site in the countryside away from the hustle and bustle. We even had a visit from the ice cream van which on a sunny hot day (Yes we did have one) was a lovely touch. The only thing I would suggest is maybe a drive round or contact from the owner to check there are no issues during your stay. Already booked for another trip. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Oatlea 5 reviews from this member

 Just stayed here for 3 nights and loved the peace and quiet of the site and surrounding area. The site is only accessible by means of a security coded gate. The pitches are well laid out and clearly numbered which is helpful as there is no warden on site. There were one or two small criticisms though, the toilet facilities which although were totally spotless day and night were quite a walk from the campsite and the road leading to them was not very well lit at night. The only other criticism would be the lack of a warden on site meant we were unable to ask any questions such as where the waste water should be emptied. After asking a fellow caravanner we were told it should be emptied into the toilet waste, this turned out to be a toilet bowl next to the tourist information hut, that's fine but difficult to lift a 40lt waste water container onto. Some pitches had their own waste drains but not all. All in all a pleasant stay and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Themogs 19 reviews from this member

 This site has moved on from the previous review. The showers/toilets are now FREE, with plenty of hot water, mirrors etc.

Lovely surrounding countryside, although you have to be careful when walking, as there are few pavements.

Had a quiet tipple at 'THE GATE', and the meals there seemed good value for money.

All pitches were excellent. Level with individual water facilities & plenty of room.

Would return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Atherstone Stables is (as its name suggests) located in a pleasant equestrian setting on the Leicestershire/Warwickshire border, barely a mile out of town and yet cast in amidst a wide expanse of farms and fields.

Access is via keypad-operated electric gates - although more prominent signage outside on the main Atherstone Road would be helpful because it is too easy to sail past the site, with few places to turn around. In addition, if towing a caravan it is better to access Atherstone Stables via the B4116 and Pinwall Lane, rather than through the village of Witherley (where one can inadvertently take a wrong turn and end up a dead end).

The camping field has two dozen large hard-standing plots with plenty of room for car, caravan and awning, each plot with individual taps and 16-amp hook-ups (and many with individual drainage points). Horses roam the surrounding fields, their stable block playing host to the toilets, a coin-operated shower and a laundry room (inquisitive equine heads meanwhile observing folk going about their ablutions!).

While the facilities are heated, they are also rather basic (for example, the toilets lack essential touches like mirrors and towels/hand driers). In addition, £1. 00 for a shower seems a bit steep. The stable block is also quite a trek from the further recesses of the camping field. These niggles are the only thing that let the site down, fuelling the sense that the facilities appear to be intended more for the convenience of riders than campers. More centrally located is the elsan point, waste bins and a summer house in which can be found tourist information.

By and large, once you booked (and the owners were quite prompt in replying to my online enquiry) campers are left to their own devices, the owners patrolling around the camp twice a day in their 4x4 to keep an eye on things. Some of the caravans (including those occupying the plots with the individual drainage points) appear to belong to semi-permanent campers.

Once in possession of the gate keycode you can come and go as you please, and there are plenty of footpaths criss-crossing adjacent farmland to link the campsite to the neighbouring villages of Ratcliffe Culey and Sheepy Magna (although exploring these trails will require wellies to be worn in anything but the driest weather).

Out and about, Atherstone is a charming little market town, with plenty of pubs and eateries. There is a Co-op and an Aldi supermarket, as well as lots of small, independent shops. A Dobbies garden centre/retail outlet park is also nearby. Other shopping destinations within easy reach include Nuneaton, Hinckley and Tamworth. Birmingham, Coventry and Leicester are also within an hour's drive should the need arise for a more intensive retail therapy expedition. The site is also handy for Drayton Manor Theme Park, Bosworth Field and Mallory Park race circuit.

Atherstone Stables is good value for money at £15. 00 per night including hook-up (and with no 'additional adult' charges) in a part of the Midlands where there are plenty to things to see and do - ideal for that weekend break; or for an overnight stop if heading from the north-east to the south-west, being just over fifteen minutes away from the M42 Junction 10. With its ample hard-standing and high-ampage hook-ups it is also a superb winter camping destination. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Modenalee 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from staying here for a couple of nights with our 2 children aged 3 and 6. We stayed here as we were visiting nearby Drayton Manor. The site is very nice and quiet, well kept and a good price at £15 per night with electric, water and drainage on pitch.

There is nothing for kids here other than a place to kick the ball about etc but that suited us fine as we wanted it quiet.

The toilet and showers were clean.

We would stay here again if we were to visit the area again! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for three nights and found it the most peaceful and relaxing site we have probably ever stayed on. Each pitch is hard standing many with there own water supply. The grounds were also well kept and the grass short. The toilets were a small walk from our pitch and although basic were clean. The walk into the local town took 20 minutes, here you will find an array of small shops and eateries. The cobbled market square is delightful to sit and watch the world go by why drinking a pint or two of local cask ale from one of the hostelries. Would return to one day. 


Previous     41 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Atherstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1322 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement