Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Warwickshire > Atherstone > Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park Reviews

Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park
Atherstone Road
Atherstone
Warwickshire   (Browse area)
CV9 3QW
Tel: 01827 717393
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 54 Caravans
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 44 Reviews
                8/10 from 44 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  44 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Percy on tour 49 reviews from this member

 Atherstone Stables is (as its name suggests) located in a pleasant equestrian setting on the Leicestershire/Warwickshire border, barely a mile out of town and yet cast in amidst a wide expanse of farms and fields.

Access is via keypad-operated electric gates - although more prominent signage outside on the main Atherstone Road would be helpful because it is too easy to sail past the site, with few places to turn around. In addition, if towing a caravan it is better to access Atherstone Stables via the B4116 and Pinwall Lane, rather than through the village of Witherley (where one can inadvertently take a wrong turn and end up a dead end).

The camping field has two dozen large hard-standing plots with plenty of room for car, caravan and awning, each plot with individual taps and 16-amp hook-ups (and many with individual drainage points). Horses roam the surrounding fields, their stable block playing host to the toilets, a coin-operated shower and a laundry room (inquisitive equine heads meanwhile observing folk going about their ablutions!).

While the facilities are heated, they are also rather basic (for example, the toilets lack essential touches like mirrors and towels/hand driers). In addition, 1. 00 for a shower seems a bit steep. The stable block is also quite a trek from the further recesses of the camping field. These niggles are the only thing that let the site down, fuelling the sense that the facilities appear to be intended more for the convenience of riders than campers. More centrally located is the elsan point, waste bins and a summer house in which can be found tourist information.

By and large, once you booked (and the owners were quite prompt in replying to my online enquiry) campers are left to their own devices, the owners patrolling around the camp twice a day in their 4x4 to keep an eye on things. Some of the caravans (including those occupying the plots with the individual drainage points) appear to belong to semi-permanent campers.

Once in possession of the gate keycode you can come and go as you please, and there are plenty of footpaths criss-crossing adjacent farmland to link the campsite to the neighbouring villages of Ratcliffe Culey and Sheepy Magna (although exploring these trails will require wellies to be worn in anything but the driest weather).

Out and about, Atherstone is a charming little market town, with plenty of pubs and eateries. There is a Co-op and an Aldi supermarket, as well as lots of small, independent shops. A Dobbies garden centre/retail outlet park is also nearby. Other shopping destinations within easy reach include Nuneaton, Hinckley and Tamworth. Birmingham, Coventry and Leicester are also within an hour's drive should the need arise for a more intensive retail therapy expedition. The site is also handy for Drayton Manor Theme Park, Bosworth Field and Mallory Park race circuit.

Atherstone Stables is good value for money at 15. 00 per night including hook-up (and with no 'additional adult' charges) in a part of the Midlands where there are plenty to things to see and do - ideal for that weekend break; or for an overnight stop if heading from the north-east to the south-west, being just over fifteen minutes away from the M42 Junction 10. With its ample hard-standing and high-ampage hook-ups it is also a superb winter camping destination. 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Modenalee 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from staying here for a couple of nights with our 2 children aged 3 and 6. We stayed here as we were visiting nearby Drayton Manor. The site is very nice and quiet, well kept and a good price at 15 per night with electric, water and drainage on pitch.

There is nothing for kids here other than a place to kick the ball about etc but that suited us fine as we wanted it quiet.

The toilet and showers were clean.

We would stay here again if we were to visit the area again! 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BigMona 97 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for three nights and found it the most peaceful and relaxing site we have probably ever stayed on. Each pitch is hard standing many with there own water supply. The grounds were also well kept and the grass short. The toilets were a small walk from our pitch and although basic were clean. The walk into the local town took 20 minutes, here you will find an array of small shops and eateries. The cobbled market square is delightful to sit and watch the world go by why drinking a pint or two of local cask ale from one of the hostelries. Would return to one day. 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nescafe84 3 reviews from this member

 This has the potential to be a very nice campsite! We only stayed one night but it's very peaceful and the pitches are mostly level and hard standing with individual electric hook up (16 amp) and water supply. There are electric gates to which they give you the code for entry and exit so it's very secure. It's a bit strange not having anyone on site to deal with direct, instead you are provided with a mobile number to call if you have any problems.

The showers are in the stable block and are 1 which gives you plenty long enough. When approaching be careful not to overshoot the entrance as its only a little sign.

Atherstone is a small town with a good size co-op and other little shops, being their only one night we never got to explore that much but the fish and chips were nice from the chip shop on the main road at the edge of the town.

It looked like most of the pitches were used by seasonal people. With someone on site to help if needed and give a friendly welcome this would be a lovely quiet little site. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

 Not been here for a little while we were pleasantly surprised to see that more hardstandings had been added, hopefully we will stand a chance of getting onto this site now.

It is small basic but very peaceful, and yes the grass is a little long but considering the rain and the laying water it would be difficult to cut.

At least the pitches are well spaced and offer plenty of room, I like it here but yes, children do not have the usual climbing frames and swinging ropes, but lets face it, what's wrong with that.

There's a nice piece of grass, some pleasant walks, fresh air and 'imagination' ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Woodlander 15 reviews from this member

 Having used this site in the past I was a bit disappointed when we pitched up to find other vans that had obviously been there for some time by the length of grass around the vans and another obvious sign, large gas bottles stored outside the vehicles.

Although it is a gated site the van next to us appeared to have visitors coming in and out all evening and a further caravan's occupant kept driving by until quite late with his radio on at full blast.
nother visitor put a wheel clamp on his car which was a bit unsettling!

The site itself was mostly clean and tidy with flower baskets hanging on the visitors information building. Taps and waste disposal all within easy reach.

We didn't use the site facilities as our onboard ones were adequate. It was nice to watch the horses in the adjacent paddocks. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MrWhippet 8 reviews from this member

 We used this site as an experiment as we had just bought our caravan and it wasn't far from home!

We were both pleasantly surprised. We didn't get a hard standing pitch but the field was level so we didn't mind. Our view looked out onto paddocks and across out to the dog walking field and trees beyond which was great.

The caravans were nicely spaced out and the water tap wasn't too far from our pitch.

The toilet block was a short walk but nothing unusual compared to camp sites we have visited in the past with a tent. If you like horses then there are plenty to pat on the way!

I didn't use the shower but the toilets were clean with paper and soap.

Places to visit in the area would be Twycross Zoo, Bosworth Battlefield and Whitemoors Antiques Centre. It is also near to Coventry and Birmingham.

I don't know if children would enjoy the site, there is certainly nothing there for them to do other than pat horses, so you would have to bring your own entertainment.

Not sure what to put about the customer service as we corresponded by email, although this was very good and the people at the stables were friendly.

I think this site would be good for first timers getting used to their new van, those passing through the area as a short break or stop over and those visiting the area for events at the NEC such as Crufts. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lejan 4 reviews from this member

 Well what to say about this site,beautiful and quiet,very clean and tidy although some work is being carried out to improve it. We stayed on the field and the grass was cut on a regular basis with no inconvenience to ourselves. The toilets are spotlessly clean although I think 1 is a little bit to much on top of the site fees 50p should be about right.EHUs and water are plentiful and the toilet disposal is clean and adequate for the size of the site.

Atherstone town is ok with several shops and pubs where you can get most things you need and is within walking distance from the site. There are no amusements for kids but plenty of room for games on the field away from the caravans and loads of wildlife to look out for, as I write this there is a fox about 3 mtr away from our van and you can see the rabbits across the other side of the field. Don`t all come at once I need some space to get here again. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kwen 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here while visiting the NEC about 30mins away, very secure site, easy to find and with good access from all the major routes.

Our first time on a CL site and we were impressed very clean and tidy good sized level pitches, very peaceful location. Warm and clean showers 1 via slot on wall for about 4/5mins.

A dog walking field on site which led to the river.

Didn't meet the owners but good communication via email for booking requirements.

Will be staying again when we next visit the area - a nice site. 


Date of Visit: January 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Busterpot33 42 reviews from this member

 This site is local to us, an excellent site, very quiet and peaceful. A 'chill out' site! Security is great with coded gates, toilets and showers adequate, clean and tidy. Staff at the stables are very friendly, owner is also very pleasant and helpful.
Would we go again? Yes, yes, yes although don't all rush, I'd like a weekend or two there. Another good point - well spaced, no looking out of your window and seeing what colour socks they are wearing next door! No swings, roundabouts etc for children, but good spaces to play footie and watch the horses. 


Previous     44 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Atherstone Stables Caravan & Glamping Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Atherstone      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Warwickshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3736 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement