Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Lichfield > Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park
Grange Lane
Lichfield
Staffordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Itsyum 110 reviews from this member

 We had a very enjoyable weekend at Cathedral Grange ! We wanted to visit the caravan show at the NEC but we couldn't find any sites we had previously stayed on with Vacancies ! However this place is an ideal base for visiting the West Midlands ! It's a small site split on different levels mainly hardstandings with a grass field at the top! There are a lot of permanent (workers caravans) situated on site but this did not cause any problems however with all the old caravans this made the place look a bit dated! the toilet block is very nice spacious and clean (a fairly new build at the rear of the owners property) however during our stay there was only 1 shower in working order in the gents (you need to obtain a token 50p from the owners for the showers)

There is a lovely kids play area on site and the grounds are well maintained

The site is situated on the outskirts of Lichfield in a very quiet area ! it took us about 40 minutes to walk into the city centre (downhill all the way) and about 4 in a taxi back (uphill lol). There's a train service into Birmingham every 20 minutes so its ideal for anywhere in the Midlands

There is also a Morrisons supermarket 5 minutes from the site

All in all this is a nice enough site ideally situated for visiting the Midlands we will use it again 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: IC12 1 review from this member

 Cathedral Grange is quiet and peaceful site which I would definitely recommend to anyone with or without children. I have been coming to this site for the past two years and will continue when the chance arises.

The owners are very friendly and approachable if you have any questions. Shower facilities are good and I have been told they are having a make over again.

Please ignore negative comments from certain people regards these facilities. Plenty of space available for tents and caravans.

I have used several camp sites throughout the UK and this has to be in the top three. Thanks again for a great time at this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: K1fmp 4 reviews from this member

 Pleasant welcome on arrival. Beautiful mowed grass pitches but as the weather was wet we staved on one of the many hard standing pitches.

Toilet and showers seemed a bit antiquated but very clean and well kept.

We have no children but the play area would amuse young children for many an hour.

There seem to be quite a few semi permanent caravans but they didn't affect us.

Over all we had a very pleasant stay visiting The National War Memorial Arboretum just seven and half miles away and Lichfield Cathedral

We will be back. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hmv4u 43 reviews from this member

 Like most sites there was good and not so good things about it

Good things were reasonable cost=14 per night with EHU and +1 for porch awning, the top field was well kept and there were some nice touchs including a nice play area, CG spelt out with low hedges, nice views etc

Not so good-we elected to use the top field on the left, mainly because there were more spaces, what I don't understand is why the EHU was literally 4 inches from the ground meaning you have to scramble on your knees to get the plug in

The large mast full of antennas was a bit off putting, the playing courts behind the hedge I took to be school ones and assumed would be unoccupied- not so 6. 30pm Friday the kids hockey teams arrived and friendly though they were, whacking the balls into wooden practise targets made us jump, as it did on Saturday and started again 8. 45am Sunday morning. The players also had use of the site toilet facilities, which I was disappointed to find didn't have a shower.

As said you need a token to use the only gents one and it is several hundred yards away down a hill. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julieclare27 1 review from this member

 We spent a long weekend at Cathedral Grange, and found it a nice well kept site with a good view over Lichfield and reasonably priced at 13per night, no extra for our 2 year old. One of the reasons for choosing this site was because of the play area which I have to say was better than expected.

Unfortunately we obviously turned up on a very busy weekend as the top field, where we were, had a caravan & camping club rally on one side and a large family group on the other. The family group were friendly and celebrating a birthday but when friends started turning up on the saturday it soon got even busier with cars parking in front of our van instead of in the car park provided which was only a short walk away. Apart from this it was a nice site but I will definitely request a certain pitch before going again.

I wouldn't want to have been on the hard standing as there appears to be quite a few long term vans there and there are no good views. Tents are on a separate field with nice views. Showers are near the hard standing pitches but there is a small toilet pitch on the top field.

The pitches marked out on the top field are quite close together but then arent they all nowadays. Most pitches have enough room for caravan, awning and car, some pitches you have to park your car at the front of your van, unless its not busy. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dewsburyem 3 reviews from this member

 When we arrived we thought it seemed like a nice quiet site. The grounds were well maintained and surroundings seemed pleasant.

Tents and caravans were kept separate on this site. We weren't happy at having to leave the car in a car park as the field was for tents only and no vehicles allowed. This would be a better site if you let tents go up in the top area, which was caravans only. There were nice grassy pitches here and hardly any were being used. The ground in the tent field was not good to pitch on as it was solid in several places so lots of pegs got bent some we couldn't even get in at all! It had good drainage though but could have done with some softer ground! Also the tent field was susceptible to wind as it blew down the hill and across the field so was quite cold when sat out at night.

When we booked we were advised we would need 50p's for the showers! However when we went to the showers we found you actually had to purchase a token for 50p from the reception and one of these lasted for 4mins. These showers weren't even worth paying for as all that came out was a dribble, not enough to have a proper shower and it wasn't even very warm! If people flushed a toilet or ran water elsewhere then there was nothing left for the shower.

Another let down for this campsite was that there was nowhere designated to washing your pots. There was a dirty sink outside, with only a cold tap, which is what we had to use. It was either use this sink or wash up in the toilet sinks! Luckily we had a washing up bowl with us that we could fill with warm water from the toilets!

Location was ok as was close to Lichfield. Not far to get to Fradley Junction either, which was a short drive away. We went for a nice walk along the canal and in the surrounding area. There is a Large Tesco and an Aldi in Lichfield centre.

We wouldn't return to this campsite as not happy with the set up and the facilities which could do with some updating, especially the showers which were rather dated. Suitable site if you're in a caravan and have your own facilities but I wouldn't recommend it for tents. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Skippy 750 3 reviews from this member

 Perfect site,ground person told us to pitch were ever we wanted, went to top field, lovely grass pitches + elec. Toilets just a very short walk away,which were very clean. Views all around,central for Lichfield, about 20/30 walk.

Site owner came for site fees,had a long chat to her and her boy, very friendly person.

All previous reports are out of date,these people have have done a lot in the last 12 months to bring the site up to 4+ rating.

All so you have the Hedgehog pub 10min walk by traffic lights good food and real ales.

All in all a very good family site small new play area, very safe.

We will be back later in the year.

One negative, Top Field could do with their own shower block, to save the long walk down to the bottom field 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tricia2753 2 reviews from this member

 The man in the Rv at the entrance to the site is a warden I guess and he is very helpful, told us where we could go. I chose hardstanding but the hard standing is a bit stony with lots of white gravel which felt like a quarry, so we changed our minds and went up the hill to the grassy site which was much better and had lovely views

Didn't use the toilets and showers as we used our own facilities, would have been quite a walk to them though because they were at the bottom of the site. The site is in 3 parts really, one with the gravel as mentioned one which was like a car park, marked out and quite a few vans there, bit like seasonal regular ones and the grassy site which we preferred.

Bins and water easy access too at either site but the elsan on the top site a little rudimentary with just a soil pipe sticking out of the ground with a lid on no water to rinse with

Very close to Litchfield with a bus stop near the entrance but the town is easily walkable but look out for the hill coming back. it's a very gentle uphill slope but a bit difficult if you suffer from bad back, otherwise ok. About a mile from Litchfield

Would visit again, still only 12 a night 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shaneandamanda 5 reviews from this member

 We arrived at the campsite to find that the gentleman who takes the money told us nothing about the campsite. You have to have tokens for the showers to use them and these last approx 4 mins. There are only 3 showers in the ladies block and 1 in the gents, and I ended up not taking my shoes off, if you get my meaning!

No facilities to speak of except the toilets and the shower. And those are a good five minute walk away past a stinky skip. No children's play areas or shop, but that's not always a problem. Quiet site, but quite a lot of contractors staying on site.

Lichfield itself isn't that far away, but I wouldn't like to try to walk there, it's about 45 mins to an hour, but only five mins in car. There is a morrisons not far from the site and good for provisions.

All in all a basic but relatively clean site. 


Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thetaylors 9 reviews from this member

 Just spent a long weekend at Cathedral Grange on a 10 'van rally. This was our second visit. Although a small and fairly basic site it is well placed for visiting Cannock Chase and The National Memorial Arboretum which some of our fellow campers did. Visiting the cathedral was really easy as it's only 20 minutes walk away. There is a large Morrisons supermarket and filling station on the way there, very convenient. There are also at least 4 pubs within 15 minutes walk, most of which serve food and Lichfield centre is awash with eating establishments with cuisines from all over the world.

The views from the picnic area at the top of the site are spectacular.

The toilet and showers are a little rudimentary and 50p per shower is a little bit excessive, but the site fees (10 inc elec per night) are reasonable. Importantly the facilities were kept clean at all times. Builders were on-site at the time extending the building in readiness for new showers and toilets. The grass was well mown and there was no litter anywhere on site.

We found the staff (Alec & Phil) very helpful and friendly.

There is a little road noise during 'rush hour' morning and evening on weekdays but this soon disappears and all we heard overnight was an owl hooting.

We've been before and we'll be going again even though we live less than 15 minutes away. 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan and Motorhome VIRTUAL Show 03/02 to 06/02
Browse the latest models, research purchases and watch expert webinars, all from the comfort of your sofa ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2446 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement