Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Staffordshire > Lichfield > Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park Reviews

CLOSED: Cathedral Grange Touring Caravan Park
Grange Lane
Lichfield
Staffordshire   (Browse area)



Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   No Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 No Shop   No Bar   No Restaurant   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that this campsite is currently closed.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know.

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Whatamess 32 reviews from this member

 I arranged a rally on this site for our club and was very disappointed. The pitches are very close together, especially the ones in the corner of the area we were in. We had a very disruptive family opposite us who not only allowed the children to kick balls and play hockey round the vans but the father also joined in. This upset one of our members who moved to another pitch and another couple who left a day early. When the problem was mentioned to the warden, she just shrugged and said 'well, it's a campsite'. There was a sign saying 'no ball games' and there is an unsupervised play area for children with climbing equipment etc.

As has been mentioned, the lights in the toilets and showers are on a timer and are on for a very short time, so take a torch if going there at night. The showers last 4 minutes but quite a bit of that is wasted while the hot water comes through. The shower cublicles are huge but there is only one hook on the wall. There only appear to be 2 showers for the whole site, which is quite large.

It is about a 30 minute stroll into Lichfield which is a beautiful little city. The Cathedral itself is absolutely amazing. There is a very good, but small market on Tuesday Friday and Saturday with some interesting stalls. There are a lot of cafes and restaurants with pavement seating, which is lovely if the weather is good, and there are some nice pubs, two or three of which are dog friendly. There is also a huge park (Beacon Park) which has plenty of space for exercising dogs.

The Hedgehog pub/restaurant is about a 10 minute walk from the site along a well lit road with good pavements. It's very expensive, especially for drinks, and not all of us were happy with the food.

I would definitely go back to Lichfield but not to this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: WILL-UK 3 reviews from this member

 First the good points. The site is easy to find with a good access road and the grounds are well landscaped.

First bad point is you arrive on the reception car park and find the reception itself is down a steep hill and some distance away. We were assigned to a hardstanding on area three, which not only entails reversing up a steep upward slope onto the pitches, but having to put the van onto two long concrete strips about 25 foot long, which are raised from the surrounding gravel by a good two inches and have raised railway sleepers alongside to make the manoeuvre even more difficult. Needless to say the clutch really smelt bad trying to push a caravan against its brakes to get them up onto those tracks. Really not suitable for caravans unless you want to take three months life off your clutch.

Having got parked up, pop into reception to ask about water points and grey waste disposal. Girl says there a tap in that area but not sure whether it is drinking water?? The grey waste would have entailed dragging the waste hog down a long steep service road to the toilet block and dragging it all back up again. Are they having a laugh?

This site should have had a lot of potential, but sadly not somewhere we will ever return to again, as having to maul with everything is not anyone's idea of a great break 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Diane1968 1 review from this member

 Just had 2 weeks holiday at this site and absolutely loved the peace and quiet. Busier at weekends than through the week. We chose this site as was near to drayton manor, alton towers and go ape for 16 year old son. We found the owners very pleasant they checked the site on a daily regular basis. We had our labrador with us who loved the woods 2 mins walk away and running about in field next door. Husband used facilities shower toilets etc not most up to date but what do you expect as very reasonable value for money site. I always use caravan so dont bother me what there like. Everyone we met was lovely in this area pleasure to stop here. 10 mins walk to hedgehog pub which serve very good food. You can get to litchfield in 5mins in car lovely little village. With all the shops locally you need. We were extremely lucky as weather was brilliant all fortnight. So i would defiently recommend this site. Lovely people lovely site thanks the brights. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Neil Mckay 2 reviews from this member

 The site is situated just a short car ride from a pub, the shops and the town. Despite being near the town is is a very quiet site.

The site office doesn't carry any information about places of interest locally.

The grounds are very well kept.

The shower facilities are OK, quite modern and well kept. On a previous review it is noted that one of the showers in the men's toilets was out of order, it still is. The automatic lighting system in the toilets can leave you in the unexpected dark. Showers cost 50p per 4 minutes. (Token)

The toilets need more hooks to hang your clothes on while you are washing and it could do with signs putting up asking people to leave the washing facilities in the manner they would like to find them.

There is a laundrette just a short distance away in a car as the site doesn't have clothes washing facilities at all.

We are in an American RV and the pitches sizes are good. Access for a big vehicle like ours is very good too.

The reception isn't manned all the time. There is a lady warden who is very helpful but not available all the time either. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pattyled 7 reviews from this member

 After reading earlier reviews I was worried there may not be anyone around looking after the site, but a very nice young lady has been employed who works there full time so there is no problem whatsoever obtaining tokens for the showers. Site well looked after and maintained. Only moan was that only one of the two showers in the gents was working which had a mind of its own as to the temperature of the water - hot, then suddenly turning cold! Showers in ladies were fine. Although we were in a little camper we were told to park next to the tents where no cars were allowed! However, it was a much nicer pitch, with better views, than where we probably should have been. Food in the Hedgehog pub, a short walk up the road, was lovely, but the beer was a bit pricey. Only stayed for one night and will probably stay there again. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gandry 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this well kept site with a good approach for a weekend in April with another family.

When we booked we were told it would be on hard standing and were given 2 pitch numbers. On arrival we found one of the pitches had already been taken, reception was closed so phoned the owner but answerphone on, call wasn’t returned, we decided to take the only other available pitch.

The site is split into areas, ours seemed to be mainly long stay/seasonal pitches.

And is very close to clean modern toilet facilities, the showers were 50p for 4 mins, using a token, one of our party bought some from another caravanner because the reception was still closed the following morning, 1 of the 2 showers in the gents was not in use. The 2 in the ladies were ok. 1 reviewer mentions the sensor lights, be warned!

It took 2 of us to empty the waste water container as it had to be lifted up into the elsan disposal toilet. We did not use the washing up facilities.

The grassed areas for tents and caravans was immaculate with toilet facilities.

A children's playground and sports field are well kept.

TV reception and mobile signal good.

Envelopes and forms were available to put site fees in and put through the letterbox. £14 a night for caravan and car.

A lovely area to spend time and relax!

Morrisons and LIDL nearby, Lichfield is a lovely town to wander around with a good selection of shops. And a pub withing walking distance 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mandy arj 1 review from this member

 Have stayed at this site for many years. Huge improvements have been made with the addition of new shower block. Very well priced. Site very well maintained.

However on this visit it appears that there is NO owner/ warden on site. A maintenance man told us to push payment through office door. Showers are token operated BUT with no one here to purchase them from it has meant NO showers!

Very rowdy noise from caravan next to us with party singing, loud music until 11. 40!

Husband had to ask earlier for music to be lowered. With NO one here there is no one to complain to!

Been told by fellow camper that current owner drives on site in a morning. Hoping to catch up with him as do not want a repeat tomorrow!

Have heard site is being taken over Monday (from another camper). Such a Shame to have a site left like this leaving bad impressions for any new visitor! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PEREGRINATOR 1 review from this member

 Having booked a pitch with a tap and drain 2 months in advance, on arrival we found it occupied by a large Hobby caravan. He was still there when we left and was not moved. Reception was closed so we chose an adjacent pitch. Payment had to be put through the letter box. The hardstanding pitch was of good size but the concrete strips on wrong side for English vans. There is a £4 extra fee if van is over 22foot. There were two storage vans opposite us. The toilet block is down a very steep slope, so not suitable for anyone with mobility difficulties. There were two showers in the male toilet block, one of which was out of order. The other required tokens obtainable from reception at 50p for four minutes. We were not able to try this, as at no time during our 4 day stay, did reception open.

There are some pleasant shrubs and green areas about, but this was overshadowed by caravans covered in green slime and many people who appear to go out to work from here.

The children's play area was well equipped with a variety of equipment and should please most.

If you cook in the van, be prepared to wash up in there, as well, because the sink is for tents only. There is no laundry.

The advert states that town is half a mile away. It was actually 1. 5 miles away.

The City itself is compact with a very impressive Cathedral. Food at the Causeway Restaurant in Dam street was exceptionally good. We tried roast dinner and all day breakfast.

The tourist information center could not tell us where to park a motorhome so it could be difficult.

The site is convenient for the lovely City, but has very little else in its favour. We found it expensive for the facilities offered, and with all the ambiance of a builders yard. We would not use it again. 


Date of Visit: November 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bessy525 50 reviews from this member

 Stayed on hard standing pitch with EHU, Freeview reception fine. Facilities open were toilet consisting of 2 toilets on top field and full facilities attached to house offering 2 showers 2 toilets, these were very well appointed although in need of heating but my concern would be with 65 pitches what would the wait for a shower be when the site was busy. Site is on numerous levels but the touring pitches all seem to be relatively flat. Has a field for ball games + small play area for younger children. Great location for Lichfield approx. 25 min walk to the centre, beware all down hill on the way in so be prepared for a brisk walk back!

Morrisons supermarket less than 5 mins drive Hedgehog pubs just 5 min walk with good menu. Lichfield has all that you need for food and drink. Cathedral well worth a visit. We will return to this site in the future 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


All Sites in Staffordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1738 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £160 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth up to £865

Get an email reminder on 1st December