Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Namparra Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Namparra Campsite Reviews

Namparra Campsite
Kuggar
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7LY
Tel: 01326 290040
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Eaer Until Oct 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Josephinium 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night at this campsite which was enough for us. We arrived Sunday and can only assume that it had been a busy weekend, due to the state we found the campsite.

One of the four toilets had no toilet seat and all of them had overflowing bins and wet floors (not sure if this was from when the showers had been used or was due to rain coming in as the doors were open).

I hope that this was just a minor glitch and that we just unfortunately caught them at a bad time.  


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andy Smith Rugby nu 1 review from this member

 Stayed here in the first 2 weeks of August. Very lucky with the weather.

2 Parents and 4 children aged between 4 and 19 could not have wished for a better place to stay.

Excellent site. Yes, only 4 showers but time it right and there was never a queue. Remember you are camping.

Very friendly and helpful owners/staff.

An excellent location to explore this most beautiful part of Cornwall.

All of us went home with nothing negative to say and already planning to go back in 2012.

The price was very fair and competitive and excellent value. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Autumnalgirl 2 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a lovely week at Namparra. The new toilets and showers make a huge difference and at the moment they are lovely, clean and light. The only problem is that there are only four of them so there were frequently queues. Apparently there were going to be adding to separate toilets/sinks which should help. The water was always hot, almost too hot when washing up! If washing up after dark you need a torch.

There was also a washing machine and tumble drier which we didn't test and a chest freezer which we stored our ice packs in.

The trampoline was well used and the mini sand pit outside the cow shed bar was popular with our children. We didn't get chance to test the bar, but the cocktails looked good!

If you like your camping basic but pleasant, I would recommend this site. I need a field, toilets and showers. You can choose where you pitch your tent and it's very relaxed. The beach nearby is lovely and lifeguarded.

The Cornish camels are also worth a visit, especially if you have small children. Kynance cove is beautiful. There is a tiny shop on a nearby campsite and we replaced our gas at Lizard. Helston has Lidl, Tesco's and Sainsburys.

We also visited the table table in Helston one night when is was raining too much to manage a BBQ on the beach! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Finkledinkle 3 reviews from this member

 What can I say. If you like a campsite that's chilled, hassle free (no wardens), spacious (no hedges or set places, really friendly owners and a secret little bar serving local beer and cider (strong stuff be careful!) then this is the one for you.

We stayed for a week but wished we had booked longer.

There are 4 shower/ toilets a washing machine and dryer free freezer for anything you want (food, ice freezer blocks).

A porta loo is a good idea however as if 4 people are having a shower and your bursting. !

Fires are allowed you just ask for the communal shovel. Cut out your sod of grass, make your fire. When you leave put the sod back in fantastic!

I have 3 children 4, 7 and 15 and they all loved it they made loads of friends meeting on the huge trampoline every day.

The beach is about 20 mins walk down hill, we however drove down parking was 3 for the day and there are two beach cafes the beach is really safe for the kids very calm.

We will definitely be returning asap if it wasn't 350 miles away we would go back week after week! 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SBCamper 7 reviews from this member

 Spent 3 nights here last week. It would be ideal if you had kids as there's plenty of space for them and a giant trampoline. I have to say one shower just isn't enough for the size of the site and portaloos just remind me of festivals so put me off (but you never had festival queues!). It was spoilt by the noise from nearby campsite - bands were OK but listening to others karaoke is not my bag. It did seem to be just the weekend as by Tuesday night it had quietened down.

Owners friendly and its not far from the beach although we couldn't find the footpath. Had a beer at the local pub but didn't eat out. The price quoted on the phone jumped from 10 to 19 per night which I though was very steep for the lack of facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lette16 1 review from this member

 We stayed at this campsite for just under a week and overall we enjoyed our stay. I was slightly concerned as some of the previous reviews had been quite negative. I therefore want to give a completely honest explanation of this campsite, good and bad points.

Firstly, the seaview can only been seen as you drive onto the campsite and not from your tent as the campsite is surrounded by trees and the area is also quite hilly thus obstructing any view. The beach is also a good 15 minute walk, possibly more so if you want a campsite right by the sea, this isn't it. However, it is in a really convenient spot for getting to everything and there is a good pub in the village (although it isn't much to look, the food is good as is the atmosphere so don't be put off)

There is a campsite right next to this one that has entertainment in a marquee running until approx midnight each day, ranging from karoke, disco and one night a massive bonfire. It is quite loud but it wasn't a problem for us

Namparra campsite was mainly full of families, (I guess because of the time of year) and the children had lots of space to play as most the tents are placed around the outside of the field. There was also a small trampoline that was always full of kids.

The facilities are basic and the owners did try by cleaning them twice a day, but we found them to be sufficient for our needs. There is a mobile structure that contains one shower, two wash basins and two toilets for the ladies and one shower, one toilet and 2 urinals for the men. Next to this are four portaloos, that were pretty horrible, but usable. There is one washing up sink and a washing machine and tumble dryer. Therefore, there could be a bit of a wait to wash up your pots. We found that we never had to wait that long for a shower even though there was only one. Also, the showers were really hot as was the water at the washing up sink.

There is also a small shop that sells basics and was open for about two hours in the morning and two in the afternoon. The opening hours were clearly written on the door. The site was also providing entertainment in the 'cow shed' which was really good. They had a good bar in there and the atmosphere was really friendly. We found the owners them to be really friendly and helpful. They even come round in the evening with bags of fire wood and dig you a firepit so you can have a real campfire.

This site was friendly, relaxed and safe and we did enjoy our stay. Also, we did not see any signs of any rats, or bags of rubbish lying around. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mutley007 2 reviews from this member

 A good rural simple site.

It's a bit untidy around reception and the owners over friendly dog can cause trouble.

Facilities are very basic but clean and hot.

There is a short walk to nearby beach and those adventurous enough will find a path through the back of the campsite to it.

The shop is just a hut but on the day it was open seemed to be well stocked.

Owners friendly and willing to help.

All in all basic but good. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Missmally 27 reviews from this member

 We booked this site as the prices were very reasonable and we could hire a chimnea. Luckily we borrowed parents caravan and awning, we normally camp in a tent, and this provided a bit of relief from the weather. We stayed for nearly a week and the weather was against us after the first day. This wouldn't have mattered except that we had pitched on the slope and a stream ran through our awning! On the last night we repitched at the top of the field, the view of the bay was gorgeous and there was no stream! I would recommend anyone booking asks for a pitch at the top of the field.

The site was basic and informal, which we liked a lot. The showers and toilets were good enough and I never had to wait to long for the shower. We enjoyed sitting around the chimnea in the evening.

Our 4 children loved the beach, parking is expensive but you can park on some of the verges before the car park if you don't fancy the walk.

In conclusion it's very good value, basic and with a lovely beach nearby. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JACQSZOO 6 reviews from this member

 Had a week here at the end of July. Weather wasn't to bad, although we did have two days of heavy rain.

The site is one large field and all the pitches are around the outside of the field against the hedges. This would work well except the field slopes quite a bit and is quite rutted and after heavy rain there is a chance you could have a stream running through your tent! It happened to us, twice. Not a lot we could do about it as it is designated pitches. Be careful how you park your vehicle, park it across the slope rather than down as several had to be towed out.

Toilets and showers were ok, not the cleanest and could get very busy during peak times. We were out for the day and came back to find a portaloo on our pitch! Kids thought it was great not having to walk back up the hill but I wasn't quite so impressed. If I wanted half the campsite on my pitch I would have invited them over myself, not to mention the slamming of the portaloo door all through the night.

Reception/shop was ok but could have done with a tidy up as could the drive to the campsite.

Some noise from the campsite opposite but did not disturb us too much.

Overall, a reasonable basic site that could be much improved with a little cleaning up. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Teamholmes 4 reviews from this member

 We won't need much space to cover the sites facilities. It is very basic, with 2 portakabins for male and female shower / toilets. Unfortunately not very clean, and only one shower, which was temperamental at best.

My wife had to clean out a plug full of hair before using the shower, once she'd mopped the floor.

Staff weren't very approachable, and sat with friends in the seating area near the site shop [shed] which always opened late and weren't too attentive.

The campsite is basic, but does have lots of room, and is well located for Lizard Point and has good access to the local beach which also has a small shop and some cafes and wasn't too crowded. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Namparra Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Namparra Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Namparra Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4551 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement