Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Namparra Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (West) > Helston > Namparra Campsite Reviews

Namparra Campsite
Kuggar
Helston
Cornwall (West)   (Browse area)
TR12 7LY
Tel: 01326 290040
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 50
Open: Eaer Until Oct 31

Rating: Average Review Score: 7/10 from 43 Reviews
                7/10 from 43 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  43 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Pendleton_girl 21 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a two night stay over the bank holiday, and would make the following observations:

A very friendly welcome from the young lady I had spoken to on the phone, she was very helpful too and happy for us to pick a different pitch to the one she suggested, as we had just been to a festival and didn't really fancy being parked up right beside a portaloo.

Nice view from the top of the field. We stayed along the far side of the field, in a little dip, so no view but it was more sheltered from the wind. We had to take care driving off the pitch as it had got a bit muddy and one wheel did spin a bit, but we got out OK. In fairness the owner commented on the weather and had the forecast been less favourable, I think she would have put us somewhere else.

Short walk (15 mins) to a cracking little beach at Kennack Sands West which has a couple of accessible quiet coves attached, two shops / cafes and a lifeguard station that was manned by two people when we were there, one even looked like Pamela Anderson! Dogs were forbidden on the beach while we were there, but they could go on Kennack Sands East further along the cliff path (another 10-15 minute walk?)

The little shop on the site seemed well stocked with essentials such as milk and there were chimineas for hire. There is also a Costcutter at the first Holiday Park up the hill from the beach; the amusement arcade there has a cash machine which is handy but it will charge you for withdrawals.

Back on site, apart from a couple of portaloos dotted here and there, the only other facilities were in a portacabin type structure and contained two loos and one shower per gender. They were clean enough but for the size of the site didn't seem sufficient. That said if you have your own facilities and prefer to use them, like me, then it's not an issue.

The entrance to the site isn't very attractive, you have to pass a rather rundown looking garage / storage area, but don't let this put you off as the site itself is OK. I should add that it you camp in the field behind the hut you get a better view of the bay although the ground is quite rough - though again in a campervan this wouldn't be a problem. This second field does back onto a small lake so I would imagine either children are banned from that part or have to be under strict supervision.

We didn't try the local pub so can't comment about it, but it was right next door to a large derelict hotel-type structure which is indicative of the times I guess; Kuggar village did have a rather shabby feel to it although there was some building in progress too.

Didn't notice any particular night noise apart from that of neighbouring campers but I use ear plugs in any case.

To conclude if you don't mind basic facilities but want a very good position with nice views and close to an excellent beach, this should suffice. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kate+lee 5 reviews from this member

 Namparra is in a lovely rural area with great views, lovely walks and laid back feel. The staff were friendly and helpful although the area that they sat in around reception was a little untidy and got very muddy when it rained.
The shop is well stocked but opening times were a little varied! The toilets were basic and left a bit muddy and without loo roll quite often. The showers (one per sex) were far too hot especially for children, had no temp control and always had a queue. A great site for basic camping but would recommend booking electric as these pitches were on flatter ground and even basic campers like to dry their hair! Only one washing up sink but it is indoors and spacious.

The surrounding area was fabulous with a local pub within walking distance (potters bar) selling local cider, great pizza and has live music etc. The beach is lovely but very steep walk back up the hill!
There is a large caravan site on the way to the beach with a shop and club etc which seems to be open to non residents. The walks along the coastal path are gorgeous with wild ponies, breathtaking scenery and leading to Cadgwith cove which is well worth the walk.
Picture postcard fishing village with great pub selling local seafood etc. From there you can continue all the way to Lizard point but quite a strenuous walk. There is a good bus service to bring you back!

We didn't find the noise from next site mentioned in other reviews a problem at all, wasn't too loud or go on too late. We did occasionally smell a horrid stench. Site is dog friendly and safe for children. No play area but lots of open space for ball games.

A basic site in a fantastic location. You can live with the basic facilities when in these surroundings. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beccimills 1 review from this member

 We recently stayed at namparra and we had a great time, we stayed in the adult field the ground is very uneven but it didn't really bother us, the only thing that really lets the site down is the noise from the campsite opposite it goes on most nights and lasts for hours but other than that we had lots of fun.
We were told that this is a recently new site and that's clear to see, we had a few people ask us where reception is and whether we were staying in the 'overflow' field. I think that you have the beginnings of a brilliant campsite however things around the little hut you have could be a bit cleaner.
I like the simple factors ie shower, 2 toilets and believe you should keep it that way it also keep your prices good. Over all this is a excellent campsite with simple but fine toilets etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: John+ros 1 review from this member

 The campsite is near the beach, only 20min walk/5min drive, and is in a nice rural setting. However we had hoped for a quiet, secluded campsite but next door to Namparra is a very loud noisy site with evening entertainment until at least 11pm.

Also there is only one shower in a portacabin so you can have a long wait and when it's rainy weather the floor gets muddy etc.

Luckily we have a 4x4 and so we were able to tow someone out of the marshy field after rain!

On the plus side the shop was well stocked and the staff were friendly 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Camper444 3 reviews from this member

 This was our third stay at this site, we love it, we come all different times of there year and there is always a warm welcome. The pitch rates are very reasonable, the facilities are basic but always clean and the showers are always warm. Its quite a rural site with no local shops apart from a pub but that doesn't matter to us as helstone is only a 10 minute drive away and its full of local amenities.

We have just booked again for august just a week but I think we may end up staying 2 as the kids love it there and so do we and the owners always accommodate a longer stay usually on a daily basis which is great. So all in all a lovely site with beautiful views very highly recommended. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chr1sbean 1 review from this member

 Bit of a mixed review here!

We booked three nights at this site on the strength of the reviews previously, and we wanted somewhere fairly quiet!

The facilities were as expected so there were no problems there, however the shop that they advertise as opening at 9.30 wasn't opening until at least an hour later and even then was usually empty of all of the basics like bacon, bread and milk! This wouldn't have been a problem if we had been warned about this in advanced but it isn't great waiting until 10.30 for breakfast and then finding out that!

That aside though, the owners are friendly and the campsite is very nice with loads of room in the middle for children to run and play. It's in a nice quiet location, although it is a bit of a trek to the beach which took us about 30 minutes (although we did have 2 little children in tow!) and the beach was great and was busy without feeling overcrowded!

There is a pub nearby which does a basic pub grub menu, and they also do takeaway pizza's. There is not much else in facilities, there was a shop on the Sea Acres site that we (had to) used, and there are 2 beach cafe's and toilets at the beach. And you are only about 3 or 4 miles from Lizard, and it would also be worth visiting the fantastic Kynance Cove - but unless you are a National trust member, or you walk using the coastal path you will be paying 3.50 to park there! I would also think you would have to be able bodied to visit here as access was not at all suitable for wheelchairs or prams / buggies!

Something to bear in mind though, which unfortunately the owners have no control over, is that the site has a larger campsite overlooking it nearby and the amount of noise and obscenities coming from it was a little frustrating!

Overall it was a fairly enjoyable stay, with just a few little things that detracted from the experience a little bit. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sleepycat 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights over the may bank holiday, what an absolute pleasure!

The toilets and shower block were warm and clean however only 1 cubicle and 1 shower for the men can mean a bit of a wait if the site is busy. The owners are very helpful, nothing is too much trouble for them. If you don't need an electric hook up then pitch near the bottom of the field as it can be quite breezy on the top edge.
We will certainly be returning to this site in the future, but more showers and another toilet cubicle please! Would have got 10 out of 10 if there had been more showers etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jlh22 4 reviews from this member

 We booked for six nights but stayed for 10 as we loved the area so much. The staff were happy for us to continue our stay on a day by day basis which was brilliant. The site was quiet for our stay with only usually about eight tents at one time.

The site is basic but that was why we choose it. The site is really just one field but pitches are wide apart and all are against a hedge. The grass was a bit long and the ground uneven in places but the sea views make up for that. The site is windy and we had to cook inside our tent most of the time.

The toilet block was always clean and the shower is excellent. The facilities may not be enough at busy times but we rarely had to queue. There is a small shop on site but we mainly used the nearby town of Helston.

The area is lovely for coastal walks. We also visited the Minack Theatre and Goonhilly.

We would love to go back to the campsite and I would highly recommended the site for a quiet and easy going holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiredparents 1 review from this member

 I cannot rate this campsite highly enough from the warm and fantastic owners to the very warm showers, beautiful views, short walk to the beach, sitting at night with chimneas (1 a night hire) Very reasonable prices for 5 people 2 dogs, 2 cars and a large khyam 8 berth tent 15 per night. As I said the owners are very friendly and helpful, very laid back only around if you need them. Fantastic little shop at the top of the field that sells the necessaries if you run short. Shall be back again. We had the unfortunate circumstances of my Husbands appendix deciding to burst while we were away and jo and Andrew were there straight away to help in ever yway they could 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mamfa 4 reviews from this member

 Well, its ok. I guess being the only unit on the entire field did not help, felt slightly spooky but that's not the owners fault! They still came down to open the reception and were helpful and friendly

Toilets and showers were clean and basic though, I'm not small and found it very difficult to wash myself as the enclosure is rather small. Would not want to be there when at full capacity as I don't think they would cope very well.

I like to walk everywhere when I go away and the lack of a village meant no local shops within a reasonable walking distance.

The closest beach was lovely and it has a dog area which our Lolly loved.

Wonderful views if you get a pitch at the top of the field and fairly level at the top too. Not so good for the extreme winds encountered 3 days into trip.

Overall for 12 per night it was ok, owners did pop down to make sure we were ok after gales and if we needed anything. 


Previous     43 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Namparra Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Namparra Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Namparra Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Helston      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (West)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4461 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement