Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Mark Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Watlington > White Mark Farm Campsite > Reviews

White Mark Farm Campsite
82 Hill Road
Watlington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX49 5AF
Tel: 01491 612295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 05/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fivenun 2 reviews from this member

 Nice location, close to the Ridgeway and Watlington hill. Also nice pub nearby within easy walking distance.

Plenty of toilets, but they didn't appear to be cleaned during our stay of 3 nights, they always appeared to have dirty floors, cobwebs in some etc. Although toilet roll and handsoap were provided. More regular cleaning of the facilities would have been nice.

Showers were adequate, although a total of 3 showers for a site full of people was a bit disappointing. First time I've had to queue up for a shower on a campsite! Had to queue outside too, though the weather was good (fortunately!)

This site seems to be popular with families with young children, I would advise if you want a bit of peace and quiet (without kids) then don't visit this site, especially during the summer holidays! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jack77 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first camping trip to England, my husband and I stayed here with our 1 and 7 year old boys, we chose the area because we wanted to visit Lego Land and Windsor Castle. We mainly went on the reviews on this site, and we were not disappointed. Very clean, tidy and quiet site, with good facilities for campers. The ground was very well maintained, the best I've seen, just a gentle slope that you would hardly notice. We ate in ate in 3 of the local pubs, would recommend the Fat Fox Inn, good food and not very expensive. This is a very homely site, not manicured or modern, but I would highly recommend it, no games machines, parks etc just peace and quiet for the whole family. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Vicb 2 reviews from this member

 Great site. Clean and tidy with lovely short grass and well drained. The small areas of trees help to break the site up.

Very quiet when we were there with hardly any noise after 9. 30pm.

The facilities are basic but clean with handsoap, toilet paper and even washing up liquid provided. The red kites are amazing.

It did not take long to get to Windsor (45mins) or Oxford (30 mins). Great village with shop, butchers, deli, petrol and pubs all within 10-15 minute walk. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JimmyK 2 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for the 3rd time this summer with my two daughters who love White Mark Farm. The campsite is always well maintained and tidy, the toilets and showers are clean and the ground is even and well drained.

Very little noise after about 10pm and silent after 11 - just what you need if you're with small children. Watlington town centre is 10-15 minutes walk away and has a Co-Op plus petrol station, pubs etc. The Ridgeway trail passes next to the campsite and there is a great view from the top of Watlington Hill. If you're looking for a well run, quiet, but friendly campsite this is highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Katelharris 8 reviews from this member

 Absolutely stunning sight of red kite birds of prey circling the site continuously. It was unbelievable!

Booking was simple. We filled in an online form and they emailed us back very quickly to say that they had availability as asking us to confirm the booking. It was 12 per night for non-C&CC members (2 adults), which we thought was great value.

Great location. Not too far from the M40, which is handy. But far enough that you can't hear it. The setting is lovely. It's a beautiful part of the country.

Arrival was very quick and efficient. All of the facilities were pointed out and we were shown into the field. We decided roughly where we wanted to be and the lady told us where to position our tent. We were test running a new large tent, so I was a bit worried that we were a bit too close to our neighbours, but they didn't seem to mind. We were told to be at least 6m from our neighbours.

The toilet and shower block is tucked away from the camping field, but it's not far away at all. The toilets were nice large rooms and had a very homely feel. Plenty of room for getting dressed etc. The showers were ok. There are 3 of them. If they're all being used at the same time the one on the left just ends up with a trickle of water, which was the one I was in unfortunately. My husband used the middle shower and he said it was lovely. The water was nice and hot, so I didn't mind the trickle too much.

They have a little kitchen area with a kettle and microwave oven that you can use. We didn't use them, but we thought it was a nice touch for campers.

All in all, a great site. We will definitely recommend it to family and friends, mainly because of the amazing red kites flying around. The only downside to it, is that the birds were very nosey as soon as it got light in the morning. We didn't mind though. I'm sure we'll be back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gevans 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site as a group of two families - kids ages ranged 9-14.

On Arrival: efficient, friendly check in and guided to our pitch.

Pitches: The grounds are well maintained with short grass, level pitches, well sheltered with trees. I liked the fact that the site provides an area for those without kids who prefer a quieter camping experience - this at least enabled us with noisier kids to have fun without the fear of wrecking the experience for others.

Site rules: The site has clear guidelines on noise, fires and general etiquette - nothing draconian and well observed by all campers.

Facilities: We stayed at possibly the furthest location from the water tap, recycling area and washing facilities - this was still only a matter of 100 yards or so away.

The site has 3 showers, and three mixed sex toilet / changing areas. Additionally there are separate male and female toilets. These were well maintained and clean. The washing up area was also well maintained, clean and tidy.

I only used the shop to buy some drinks, but it looked to have a few bits and pieces along with a book share area and loads of local info to hand.

Local area: The site is a ten min straight walk to a lovely little pub and then 2 mins on from this is the town of Watlington, which has a number of shops including a chippy and a well stocked co-op.

As others have mentioned, the site is fantastic if you are looking to get out and do a bit of walking along the Ridgeway or just some local circular walks. We spent our Sunday walking up the hill to the White Mark and then took in a circular walk which included a half way stop off at the fox and hounds another lovely local pub with a great selection of ales and a garden to sit out in.

The one aspect of this site which makes it unique but also something to consider is the wildlife - the red kite activity in the area is stunning, with the birds circling the camp site and diving for food (but only when its being thrown out to them). The dawn chorus can be a little loud as the local cockerels like to join in - as do the sheep next door - but for me that's all part of the experience and didn't detract from the overall positive experience of this site. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rwsaller 3 reviews from this member

 Extremely friendly and helpful at registration! Site is large, level and setup for tents or caravans. The showers and toilets were well appointed, clean and even had a kettle for tea so no need for a stove on a morning with rain/snow!

There is a lovely pub and store only a short walk down into town (short for me that is - maybe 1km). The pub was serving the most aromatic Sunday roast. Too bad they do not deliver.

The Ridgeway is just next to the site - you can walk for miles and use the site as your base. If fact, there are several circular walks from the town - the registration centre has maps and they were helpful 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ColnMand 9 reviews from this member

 We paid 20 for two nights for two adults which we think is amazing value for money.

We love this site. This is our third visit in as many years.

Its just like camping in your own back garden. The site itself is gently sloping towards the far top and generally flatter near the entrance. The grass is always cut very short, it is sheltered on all sides by tall trees, it is lovely and peaceful and the Red Kytes are just amazing to watch.

Have to say though these delightful birds do get up VERY early and are very noisy in the morning.

The visibility of the stars at night is just breath taking and well worth staying up for.

The showers (free) and toilets are kept clean and the water is always hot and plentiful. There is a small fridge with a freezer compartment for freezer packs.

There is also a small shop on site that sells eggs, homemade cake, icecreams etc.

The short walk into the village is well worth the effort (uphill coming back) - the chip shop is excllent and the local post office sells a large selection of local maps and walks for the surrounding area.

Definitely a site we love returning to time and again.  


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for one night as a stop-over on the way to France. Ideal situation. Very pretty site - the red kites are amazing.

Lovely and tranquil and peaceful which was just what we needed after a busy motorway.

Toilets were reasonably clean and showers were good. Shower compartments hot in the sun due to the plastic roof. Lots of insects and spiders!

Great value site and we would have liked to explore the local area. We had a pint at the very friendly local pub. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Manncampers 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights during the last rainy weekend in June. The site was very nice, slightly sloping - but generally had a lot of space for ourselves and the 6 other families with children with whom we were camping.

The bathrooms and showers were well-kept and organized with the added benefit of a fridge and kettle near the dish sinks. Overnight it was quiet.

We walked to the local pub with 15 or so children and played outside while waiting for sandwiches.

All in all this was a nice campsite for a good price in a beautiful part of the country. I'd definitely stay again. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is White Mark Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Mark Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is White Mark Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Watlington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3896 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement