Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - White Mark Farm

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Watlington > White Mark Farm Reviews

White Mark Farm
82 Hill Road
Watlington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX49 5AF
Tel: 01491 612295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: March To December

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 45 Reviews
                9/10 from 45 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  45 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mobileadam 2 reviews from this member

A well priced site with reasonable facilities but which are a bit dated and very popular as we stayed August BH.

The only issue we had was that our designated location was in a corner with a group of 25 people that had more cars than tents so at times it seemed like I was staying in a NCP car park as there were rows of cars lined up next to our tent. Owners were friendly but never in the field when we were there and they could have easily asked the big group to organise their cars to other areas around the site as there were a few options.

Enjoyable trek to Christmas Common and good town 10 minutes as everyone else has said. Nice to have washing up liquid provided.

Note the site has a slope as so pitching was ideal as we had to set up in a certain area (although exact location wasn’t prescribed).

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: PeppermintCreams 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a small group of friends on the 'Outdoor Groups' field. Some of our party had stayed here before and thought it would be great for a group trip, and it was! The adults mostly put the world to rights around our firepit, and the kids were happy playing together in the centre of the large field. The kids enjoyed watching the rabbits in the neighbouring field, the (owners?) chickens, the red kites and the occasional military aircraft passing overhead. There is no children's playground but there is one a short drive away at Watlington Recreation Ground.

We had lots of small children with us so the use of a fridge, microwave and kettle was amazing. The rest of the faculties - toilets, showers, and washing up sinks were spot on too. Washing up liquid, drainers, cloths/spongers were provided. The water from the taps was lovely a cool during the heatwave.

Nearby we visited the Chequers Pub for lunch which has a shady beer garden with a small play area for children which we all enjoyed. The town has a free car park and a Co-Op Supermarket a very short drive away. At the top of the hill is a free National Trust car park and a 200m walk away from a lovely view of the area. (These are all within a short walking distance too but sometimes it's easier to drive when small children and a heatwave are involved!)

All in all we loved the site and will be returning.

Date of Visit: October 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Inneseaton 7 reviews from this member

Lovely secluded site, handy for Oxford. Very warm welcome and all the facilities that you could ask for (spotless).

Loved the fact that I could have a campfire!

This will definitely become a regular haunt for me - I can't wait to go back!

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tony Lodge 1 review from this member

I have stayed at this campsite before with my family. I enjoyed it before but thought it was even better this time around.

Pros - quiet, relaxed and unpretentious

- clean and efficiently run

- good facilities re washing up, showers etc

- good location for a short walk to the attractive local village of Watlington. This has some nice pubs and a tremendous rustic cafe

-good walk uphill to lovely views

Cons - None I can think of. But not for you if you want a busy, buzzing campsite

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Justinwilliams2 5 reviews from this member

Cracking campsite sited just off The Ridgeway. Lovely grass pitches and sheltered from the wind. Facilities were great with lovely warm showers and a fridge and sinks with washing up liquid was a real plus especially for lightweight camping on The Ridgeway.

The red kites are a real spectacle, but you just need to be wary because they do tend to swoop for food.

Watlington, the home of midsomer murders is lovely, but the nearest pub The Carriers does not accept cards. Lovely beer and food though.

Top site and look forward to returning to explore more of the Ridgeway and the surrounding area.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Suzie2poos 10 reviews from this member

This is a really lovely relaxed site at the base of the Chiltern Hills within walking distance of the small town of Watlington. It is very easy to find being not far from the M40.

On arrival we rang the bell and were greeted by one of the two owners who are both naturally pleasant and happy to help. Payment (which by the way is VERY reasonable for the area) is made in the little shop area which also sells souvenirs and one or two essentials you might have forgotten such as matches and gas canisters.

We were shown through a gate into a reasonably flat field and told we could pitch wherever we liked and offered some helpful advice on wind direction, sunset and sunrise. We chose a corner close to the Ridgeway long distance trail and had no problems pitching our tent once we had swept lots of twigs out of the way!

The campsite is well resourced and for us it was a novelty to have a fridge, kettle and microwave available because we are used to more basic sites so that was a nice treat. The washing up area and toilets were always spotless and well stocked with washing up liquid, sponges, fresh towels and loo roll.

The site is very pretty, the trees around the edge of the site are home to lots of wildlife including squirrels, robins, buzzards, pigeons and of course the red kites that the area is famous for. Throughout the day you can have easily half a dozen kites circling the site often directly overhead. No need for a TV here!

Watlington is a pleasant little town - and when I say little I mean very little! There are three pubs, The closest is the Carriers Arms which is an average local boozer for regulars around ten minutes walk down the road from the camping field. The Fat Fox is much posher with price tags to match and The Chequers on the other side of town is a cosier pub with a nice looking menu. We also enjoyed eating at The Fox and Hounds in Christmas Common - well worth the trek up Watlington Hill for. The Granary - a deli and cafe - in Watlington is also gorgeous for lunch, I would wholeheartedly recommend it.

The only two negatives I can find are the noise (from both the M40 which sometimes carries on the wind overnight and from military aircraft) and the timers on the lights in the toilets - thirty seconds is not always long enough to do what you need to do!

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Bricklayer 22 reviews from this member

at short notice we decided to get away for may bank holiday weekend, - this site is only an hour from home and we took a ' punt' on it, - we hoped it would be ' ok '.

A quick trip up the M40 and then several miles once off the motorway and into the village of watlington, be aware there is a tight left hand bend ( and I mean its a 90 degree turn )

so if you have a large twin axle unit be aware !

We arrived after work on the friday evening, and the welcome was warm, we were shown to a field (maybe a rally field ? )and it was suggested where we should pitch up, we had booked a place without EHU which was fine for the weekend, the site is very well maintained with views of rolling countryside red kites/ birds of prey literaly swooping over the site, - the nice bit was we were not frog marched to an exact marked out pitch, once shown an area on the field we were left to pitch up where we wanted quite relaxed and laid back, and really appreciated.

The site owners are friendly and nothing is too much trouble, although we chose no EHU the site owners will charge phones or whatever for a small fee 50p / £1 for laptop

The little site shop sells cakes, eggs, books, icecreams etc,

the owners will also recommend places to go - local shops/ services and places to eat

The village has some nice shops, / boutiques, a great butcher/ deli a small co op shop, a fish and chip shop and some lovely thatched pubs !- its all about a 15 min walk

Its a good location to explore the national trust properties in henley upon thames ( 10 miles away ) or a base for legoland about 30 mins drive away or the hell fire caves near high wycombe, ( 10 miles )

but the best bit is to enjoy the hills and the ridgeway. A great site and we are glad we took a 'punt' its a site we will definitely go back to

Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: StampinUp 1 review from this member

This site is local to me so I know the area well and it is an ideal location for exploring Oxford, Aylesbury, High Wycombe, Thame and surrounding areas, just minutes from the M40 and bordering the Ridgeway.

There are a number of areas for campers including a secluded and sheltered area for adult only tents. Ideal for hikers walking the Ridgeway.

Watlington is a charming, small market town with limited amenities but not far from anywhere so the owners can direct you to whatever it is you need.

It is a quiet site - unless you find the sounds of nature a disturbance - I find the owls and kites just amazing to hear so they don't bother me at all.

The site is immaculate and clean and the facilities are well maintained (Showers/Toilets/Washing Up/Microwave/Kettle) and the owners cannot do enough for you and are absolutely lovely.

There is a little reception/shop with a small selection of sweets, fresh eggs from their own chickens, fresh cakes. Second hand books.

When I stayed I sat and watched a pair of Bullfinches - just feet from my caravan.

My only criticism? I would like to stay longer than a weekend but would need EHU - so if the owners are reading this. :-)

Highly recommend it!

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jdean71 1 review from this member

We have just spent 5 nights at White Mark Farm.

We received a nice warm friendly welcome on arrival, and pitch allocation is quite laid back. (no strict tent size guidelines like you get on some sites)

Overall, the site is nice and clean. The camping field was spacious and is well drained.

The downside is the toilet and shower block. It was fairly clean, but it a little far to walk in the dead of night for a child who needs to use the loo. Water pressure was also an issue if both showers (I say both as only 2 of the 3 showers were working at the time) and the sinks were in use at the same time. Having said that, water was always hot and there was always a good supply of toilet paper. HHnd towels were also changed regularly! Washing up items such as washing up liquid and pan scrubbers were also provided at the 3 washing up stations!

Watlington town centre is not too far away, and there is a decent size co-op to stock up on any needed essentials!

The spectacle of the red kites flying overhead was a bonus, although their screeching at first light was a bit eerie! there is an abundance of night time wildlife making noises in the trees (owls and such like) so if you are a light sleeper, take some ear plugs!

I would certainly use the site again if I was visiting that area of the country, but would choose a pitch nearer to washing block next time.

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Youngslinger 2 reviews from this member

I agree with some of the comments below, especially about cleaning BUT I must point out that for the fees charged, we paid £5 each per night, anything other than water and CDP is a bonus, we paid more for just that at another site! They also supplied hand towels, a fridge and a microwave and a generous washing up area. Luxury!

Very nice owners, very helpful, a nice grassy site with a slight slope, separate back packer area and rally area.

The Kites were amazing, flying over at tree top height and occasionally swooping to grab something off the ground.

Overall, extremely good value, showing some of the greedier sites how it could be done.

Previous     45 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3961 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019