Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Mark Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Watlington > White Mark Farm Campsite > Reviews

White Mark Farm Campsite
82 Hill Road
Watlington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX49 5AF
Tel: 01491 612295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 05/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Merryways 9 reviews from this member

 I love this site! The owners are very friendly and easy going. You pick your own place to pitch (no marked pitches) but as the field is fairly level all over there are no bad places. There is also a rally field and a small adult only / backpackers area.

The facilities are brilliant and all in one block which includes a fully covered washing-up area with 3 well spaced sinks which all have bowls and drainers, as well as washing up liquid and sponges/scourers etc. There is a also a fridge for campers as well as a microwave and kettle (great for the backpackers) and we found a toaster in the cupboard too. There are recycling bins here and at the edge of the camping field.

There are 3 showers which all have plenty of hooks hooks for clothes and towels, and they all have a mop to use afterwards. There are also 2 ladies, 1 mens and 1 unisex toilet - which all have sinks, mirrors, soap and a towel - and flowers!

You can buy eggs and home-made cakes in reception.

The only thing I could possibly want to see as extra would be electric hook-up, but at 5 per adult per night it is brilliant value.

The site is right next to the Ridgeway and several circular walks are available. Watlington is walkable, and the Carriers Arms pub is worth a visit as they make you very welcome. We watched an England match there and were provided with hot nibbles, then got to watch the locals playing an Aunt Sally game outside. They also have a children's play area.

Fish & Chips, Chinese, Indian, a Butchers, Post Office and a co-op mean everything you could need is a 2 minute drive or 10-15 minute walk away.

We have been twice when there are has been terrible rain beforehand but the chalk soil on site never floods or gets waterlogged. The red kites swoop really low and will pick up any food you leave or throw out for them which is a spectacular site. We counted over 20 swirling overhead together.

We will definitely keep going back here. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amber46 13 reviews from this member

 What a find! This site is fantastic. A delightful haven in a beautiful area. We went over Easter as snow prevented us from going to Derbyshire and were very pleased we did. The area is gorgeous and the local town of Watlington is lovely with a good choice of pubs and restaurants and all within a 10 minute walk. The walking around here is really good too. The site itself is in a great spot with lovely views. It is really well kept and the facilities are very good. There are 3 good showers and 3 toilets each for both sexes. All are clean and we didn't ever have to queue. There is an area for washing up which includes a fridge and microwave and also supplies washing up liquid and sponges etc. All little things that make a difference. The couple that run the site are friendly and helpful and obviously care.

We loved it here and would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JaymeNWUK 2 reviews from this member

 A good little site if you do not have children. The facilities are quite nice and kept clean. There are 4 washrooms with toilets and 3 showers.

The local village is a nice walk away and has a couple of pubs which both serve food and a good sized Co-op.

My only problem with the site is that whilst pitching my tent I sent the kids off to play on the empty campsite, after sitting in the car for several hours they were running round laughing and shouting. It was then that the owner came up and told us that the children were too loud. This was on an empty site at 5 in the afternoon. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzamber 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed at White Mark Farm again, earlier this week in the back packers light touring area.

I have stayed here many times over the years and pleased to say that the campsite has not changed at all.

It is clean, tidy, well run, friendly and very reasonably priced.

There is a shop within a mile and a great pub even closer.

If anyone was cycle-touring or back-packing in the area, I would certainly recommend this campsite to you as there is a separate area.

Also worth a visit if you simply enjoy sitting down watching the red kites circling around on the thermals, above you. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevedh1967 14 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a spur of the moment solo camp at White Mark Farm near Watlington in Oxfordshire. The previous recent reviews do paint an accurate picture of the site and I endorse those fully.

The site is in a very quiet location below Watlington Hill and within walking distance of Watlington itself. I was the only one to camp in the general area (reserved for those with vehicles) and as such had pick of the pitches.

The site was level, well kept and well drained - it did rain! I was kept company by many red kites, several rabbits and a hedgehog that crept into the front area of my tent on both nights! With the change of the season the leaves are starting to change colour and this is a great spot to see that.

The facilities appeared to be well kept but might struggle if the site was full to capacity.

This was a great find and with easy access from Junction 6 of the M40 ideal for an overnight stop or for exploring the surrounding areas. Watlington itself is a very nice town and provides all the facilities that a camper could want.

This site is good and I'm intending to return when I next get the urge to camp at short notice - only 20 miles from home but a complete change from the norm. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jessie1 1 review from this member

 We have been to WMF twice now and love camping there.

It is green, tranquil and well managed. Some of the pitches are on a bit of a slope but nothing too severe.

The site is secure and well run and has clean spacious showers and toilets. It also has a microwave and kettle which are really handy if you are low on gas.

There are great walks up to the chilterns and red kites circle over the site regularly. The pub and town is 10 mins walk away and has a lovely butchers and Deli + a Co-op, fish and chip shop (great) and 2 x Indian restaurants.

Fires and BBQ's are allowed if raised off the ground and there are bricks available if needed.

If you have visitors just make sure they are checked in !

Recommend this site highly and we will definitely be back regularly. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: LlewB 14 reviews from this member

 Recently returned from a 5 night stay on this site.

Location is beautiful. Allowed us to explore Oxford (easy access to M40 and outer park and rides into the town) and the Thames area in general. However, didn't need to go that far and spent a lovely day walking up the nearby hill (with great panoramic views of the area) and the village of Wattlington (great little pubs and fantastic play ground for the kids).

Facilities not your usual toilet block, but actually 4 small bathrooms, and 3 shower rooms. Doesn't sound like much, but we never had to queue. Dishwashing area also had a kettle and microwave which was a nice touch. Fridge was too full for our ice blocks, but we suspect this was due to people leaving items in the freezer after departure.

Shop was small, but sold homemade cakes and eggs from the chickens in the next door field.

Although there wasn't a playground on site (nearest one 15 mins walk in the village), I would consider this a family friendly site. Kids had a great time, and would have been happy to stay and play with the other children rather than go out during the day. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silverleaf 1 review from this member

 We camped here for our first family camp with a 3 year old and a 7 month old baby, and though we only stayed one night, we had a great time.

The campsite is beautifully situated beneath the Chilterns, with kites overhead at all times, and views over rolling fields. The fields are mostly flat, grassy and with thoughtful hedge and tree planting, and free range chickens in an enclosed area.

There are separate areas for backpackers which looked very peaceful. You are allowed to use disposable BBQs and there is a disposal point and stack of bricks by the recycling bins and tap.

The facilities struck me as clean and well-maintained, though there were only a handful of tents so demand wasn't high for the loos/showers!

There were a group of men and highway maintenance vehicles who were (presumably) working on the nearby M40 who looked as if they were staying there longer-term, but in a different area from most of the camping.

Will stay again, and have already recommended the site to several families. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JimmyK 2 reviews from this member

 I visited this site with my 5-yr old daughter recently during the school holidays and found it to be friendly and well run.

We made a booking through their website and although we only stayed 1 night (no reflection on the site!) we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. We were met on arrival and shown where we could pitch as well as the toilet/washing facilities.

During the morning it had rained very heavily, but the site is well drained with no sign of standing water at all - tent pegs went into the sandy soil easily enough too.

There are 3 sinks for washing up in an undercover area which also includes the showers and toilets - all were kept clean during our stay and we never had to queue.

My daughter enjoyed exploring the site which always felt safe and secure. We also walked into Watlington (only 10 minutes) and found the Co-Op to be well stocked with most essentials.

We climbed up Watlington Hill the next day - there is a footpath up from the road right outside the campsite and the views from the top are well worth it.

All in all, highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lornad 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic site and the owners were very friendly and helpful. I agree with all other comments made about the facilities.

Only a couple of points worth noting. We have a twin axle caravan and access when entering/leaving the site was a bit tight!

Also, the amount of ball games got rather annoying. Most C & CC club sites do not allow ball games unless there is a designated area.

All this said, we would definitely stay at this site again, providing the issue with the ball games is sorted out. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is White Mark Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Mark Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is White Mark Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Watlington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3907 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement