Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of White Mark Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > Oxfordshire > Watlington > White Mark Farm Campsite > Reviews

White Mark Farm Campsite
82 Hill Road
Watlington
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX49 5AF
Tel: 01491 612295
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Pitches: 50
Open: 05/03/2024 to 30/10/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews


Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <10 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zenon 8 reviews from this member

 Wow. This really is a hidden gem. Less than 60minutes from out front door we will most definitely be returning.

We were shown to a large field which we would be sharing with another group. We had a group of 10 tents and the other party was of a similar number and there was still space for another 2 similar sized groups. We rounders and cricket matches without interfering with the other group.

It was wonderful to walk the local countryside and watch the kites in there natural habitat.

There is a spot for an open fire in the Campsite and the local town has a coop, Chip shop, butchers and cafes and is just half a mile from the site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Paulkimcox 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night break at White Mark Farm and have had a wonderful time. The site is well kept by a very friendly Ken and Debbie and is beautifully placed. There are amazing views over the valley from a marked footpath, and superb pubs within easy walking distance. The local Fish and Chip Shop is fabulous, and offers considerably more than just F&C.

The biggest attraction for us by far was the visiting Red Kites, which are in abundance over the site. To see and feed this fabulous bird up close was an experience that we will be repeating.

The site itself is slightly sloping, but not so much as to be an issue. There is plenty of dappled shade or direct sun, so the choice is yours if you arrive early enough.

Facilities are on the whole very good. During our stay the site was probably at capacity, which we think was too much for the limited toilet arrangement. Queuing was quite a regular occurrence and could be quite frustrating when there are just 4 identical wc's with 2 marked as either 'Ladies' or 'Gents'.

This was awkward when, for instance, the identical 'Gents' cubicle was free, but the queue was full of women - and vice versa. On numerous occasions the signs were ignored for common sense reasons. Perhaps the owners could consider marking all four units as unisex to avoid any possible altercations? Separate toilets and washrooms might also be a plus as a loo is effectively removed for a long time when a bloke is, for instance, having a shave.

That said we would highly recommend this site and we will definitely be visiting it again. The 'facilities' criticism is primarily for feedback reasons to Ken and Debbie. My apologies if you feel it is unfounded. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Coopers 3 reviews from this member

 Good simple campsite. We visited on Late May Bank Holiday it was busy but not crowded. The site was well kept, the grass was short, the field flat, tents were very well spread out with plenty of space to play.

Facilities were of an older style,but clean, 3 showers all with great power and constant hot water, 4 toilets, washing up sinks plus washing up stuff including liquid, microwave, toaster kettle, fridge, freezer and plug sockets.

The red kites over head are amazing, great experience for kids to watch them swoop down for food.

Fab fish and chip shop in town, good walks up Watlington Hill just behind the site. Excellent children's park in the town. Well stocked Co-Op.

We would visit this site again. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rach+Lauryn 3 reviews from this member

 Just packed up from a rather wet weekend at the campsite. Despite the rain we had a great time here. The camping field was flat and really good for pitching the tent. The owners very friendly and helpful.

The washing up/shower/toilet facilities were excellent and really clean, especially important during the wet weather! I wont say too much about the types of facilities as they are already described accurately in previous reviews.

A real bonus is having a shared fridge which is great for storing the odd pint of milk. The farm shop sells eggs, homemade cakes and ice creams.

One of the highlights of the farm was seeing the regular flypasts of the kite birds of prey. They were wonderful to watch.

Will definitely be staying here again, its close to home, quiet and very clean for our quick weekend getaway from London. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rogerzilla 5 reviews from this member

 The listing for this is inaccurate; you don't have to be a CCC member to book a pitch, although there is a discount if you do.

This is a well laid out, slightly-sloping site adjacent to the Ridgeway. Access is easy and it's well-drained. There are no hookups of any description, just a water tap in the main field and the separate rally field. There are four toilets and three showers, which shouldn't get busy except if a rally has made special arrangements to use the facilities (this isn't normally allowed; rally caravans are supposed to use their own sanitation). Toilet paper is provided and hot water is included in the price. Children need to be supervised on site and especially in the toilet block; apparently they have been known to lock themselves in the loo.

It's very quiet at night and the loudest things are usually the red kites overhead - up to 12 of them. They'll quickly swoop down for your leftover burgers and sausages if you throw them to an empty part of the field.

There is a Co-op in the village about half a mile away (a bike is useful to fetch stuff). It's open very long hours. There's a good chippy and a not-so-good Indian restaurant near the Co-op. The on site shop doesn't sell much, just postcards, a few chocolate bars and jams.

Highly recommended if you don't need all the facilities. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dottycamper 1 review from this member

 We stayed here during the bank holiday weekend, and enjoyed it so much we stayed for the rest of the week.

The owners are very welcoming, it is kept very clean and tidy. It was a very busy weekend and to be honest we where concerned whether there would be enough facilities, (there are 4 toilets and 3 showers, 4 covered washing up areas, microwave, kettle and fridge / freezer), there was no need to be concerned there where no problems at all.

It is worth visiting the site to see the red kites, the kids even fed them!

Despite there being a meet in the next field and the main field being busy it was very quiet.

There is a co-op in the village within walking distance and pharmacy and well stocked hardware store that sold camping gas.

Lovely walks in the local area, we walked up to Christmas Common which was fine with young children.

We will definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Sherry1 1 review from this member

 We spent the bank holiday weekend here and were very pleased with the whole experience. We were welcomed by the owner and her husband who were very friendly and always polite to us and everyone who came on site.

The site was very clean, the toilets / showers were clean and welcoming and there was even washing up liquid supplied. You can also purchase home made crafts fresh eggs and flowers all very reasonably priced.

We will definitely be going back there as soon as we can even though we only live about 20 mins away. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jazzamber 5 reviews from this member

 I do a fair bit of cycle touring. This site is around 70 miles from home and so use it for training runs. I have visited this site several times over the last few years and found it perfect.

The campsite itself is approx 1 mile from the shops and pubs.

There is a lovely separate area for cycle / walking tourers, which is secluded but close to the shower blocks, toilets, fresh water etc.

The facilities are spotlessly clean, the owners are very friendly and there is a lovely, welcoming atmosphere about the place.

From a light touring point of view, there is everything you need - even down to the washing up liquid! I'll be there again this month and again in the future. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hewers 2 reviews from this member

 Great site with good facilities. They had the cloths and washing up liquid at the sinks and free use of kettle and microwave (very handy when your gas runs out first thing in the morning).

We were worried about being squashed as we booked last minute for the bank hol weekend,but that was not the case. We have loads of room and were put in a side field just for adults.

Would fully recommend this as a good quality site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debhill 28 reviews from this member

 A great location for exploring the Chilterns and gaining access to the Ridgeway. The site managers are friendly and welcoming. There are red kites flying around the site - wonderful.

Although a CL site that takes 5 caravans/motohomes and then tents (space permitting) it had 17 tents there when we went! There were constant queues for the 3 toilets and 2 showers.

I'm sure it would be ok in a week during the school terms. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is White Mark Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to White Mark Farm Campsite?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is White Mark Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Watlington      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2616 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement