Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite Reviews

Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4NE
Tel: 07377 662852
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Steve71 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a 2 night stay here & it was great.

Having only rang on the Friday morning, the owner was very helpful & accommodating managing to fit us in at very short notice.

Having told her that we had a large tent she checked that the clearings were big enough & called me back straight away to confirm.

My daughter loved the fire in the evening with hot chocolate & marshmallows!

Lovely & clean loo's, just different!.

If your after a nice few nights with no fuss in a lovely setting this is it.

Will we be back? yes! with our friends as well! 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire c 1 review from this member

 Have just returned from a lovely bank holiday weekend camp at Evergreen Farm.

We can only echo what everyone else has said. It is a wonderful little campsite - secluded pitches with firepits. The compost toilets are fabulously clean with electric lights and plenty of ventilation.

My only observation would be that as the pitches are so secluded, you cannot always avoid pitching under trees, so will only take the cheap tent when we go back, which we most definitely will. The upside of pitching under trees is that they sheltered us from some pretty heavy rain and winds. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crayfish 2 reviews from this member

 I reviewed this site after my first visit in early 2011 and felt it deserved another one - mainly because I've been back to this place uncountable times since!

If camping slightly back-to-basics but without really roughing it appeals to you, then you'll love this place. As the profile says they offer no showers and have compost toilet facilities. Firewood and a large water container is delivered to your pitch daily.

Firstly, a note about the toilets, since I gather that this causes people some concern. These are not holes in the ground or any other delapidated set up you might be imagining. At the top of the woods there are two purpose built wooden huts with lock-doors which have been fitted with modern eco-friendly toilet systems. The huts do not smell and are kept exceptionally clean by the owners at all times. There is really no difference between using these and your facilities at home except for the lack of running water. Stop worrying :-)

The pitches range in privacy, with a couple of larger family pitches in a large wood clearing, but the rest being tucked away in their own little part of the woods - most pitches are very private and you rarely see another camper. Most of them come with fire pits and the owners sell generously sized bags of wood to burn. Optionally, they have some large heavy grills which you're welcome to borrow if you want to cook directly over your fire.

Also worth mentioning is the type of people who camp here. This is not a camp site where you'll find stag weekends and lagered up blokes having a rowdy 21st birthday - it's a mellow setting where couples and young families can relax in peace and quiet and enjoy the tranquillity of the woods.

Local amenities include a small shop and a pub within walking distance, and the town centre and train station a short drive away (or about £4. 50 in a taxi)

The owners are very friendly and approachable and always go to great lengths to ensure their guests have everything they need and that a good time is had by all.

After 2 seasons camping here regularly both with friends and on my own for solo trips, this is my go-to campsite and the owners have done a wonderful job of creating a perfect little hideaway in Sussex for the discerning camper! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The Hudees 1 review from this member

 We have been here twice now and evergreen farm is absolutely the most beautiful place to camp. Knowing about it feels like having a gorgeous secret. The people who run it have got it just right. The site is stunning, and it is very basic in terms of facilities but you don't need any more than what's there: two very clean and pleasant compost loos.

It's a wicked place for kids, families or just on your own. There is a lovely 20 min walk to the local pub.

It's all good. GO 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Flemd 1 review from this member

 I strongly recommend that people don’t go here…. Just so I can always get a pitch when I want one.

I loved this camp site. It really is back to basics which is just fine by me.

The pitch we had was one of the more secluded ones completely surrounded by woods. And although you could hear the people on other pitches it was never loud and obtrusive. We got a lift on the quad bike and where helped by two of the kids staying on the site, they were very funny and we loved the fact that the site owners were more than happy to let them help out.

As said elsewhere on here the owners were friendly and have the balance of making sure you have everything you want with leaving you in peace just right. You can tell that they have thought long and hard on how best to set up each pitch, with things like the placement of the fire pit and levelled areas for the tents. It seemed when walking about that they have pitches for couples and pitches close enough together for groups to camp near but not on top of each other.

The composting toilet was very clean and well kept and if I were to have a suggestion it would be perhaps to have two, another one at the bottom of the site might help with queuing in the morning and a bit of a shorter walk for some of the pitches.

The bags of fire wood are of a good size (I was expecting a small bag and to have to buy more than one to last a night) which was a pleasant surprise and 2 we had lasted the 2 nights just fine, in fact we had a little leftover even though we had a big fire on the second night.

Over all a lovely weekend though and we will be back for sure.  

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jontydrake 9 reviews from this member

 As a group of 6 families we stayed in the paddock over a weekend, great place, blessed with sunshine we all had a lovely time.

The paddock is a bit undulating, a little rough ground but not enough to worry about. It has 3 wooded sides and the fourth has good views, despite towny / housing in the distance. This place is near to London, and Gatwick, so its not really very rural, or wild camping, but that was no bother to our group.

Walking round the wooded site I can see the pitches in the wood are well spaced and have a good feel about them.

The staff running the place were great - right amount of concern without being intrusive or checking up on campers. They were exellent at talking our children through the animals and went out of their way to give trailer rides.

The deliveries of wood and water were right.

The lack of a shower wasn't a problem, a stand pipe would certainly be an improvement.

The compost loo was always clean- absolutely the right choice for the site- and far preferable to the horrid porta-loos so many sites think are ok. likewise the provision of bins / recycling indicate the owners have a good attitude to their guests and eco concerns.

The delivered fire-wood was better value than any other site I've stayed at.

The children had endless fun in the woods.

Plenty of do-able walks from the site.

All in all I'm struggling to find fault.

I recommend it highly ! 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyMct 2 reviews from this member

 What an excellent choice for a 'back to basics' site, which is what we were looking for.

The pitches themselves are set in woodlands and were secluded from each other. We have a very large tent and this was not a problem, the pitch we stayed at (No1) was more than big enough to accommodate us.

Water and wood were delivered upon request everyday. There is a compost toilet, which is cleaned every day and even when it was quite full, there was hardly any smell.

The only problem we had was unloading the car and trailer and having barrow all our things to the pitch, it was heavily raining and the route was up and down uneven small muddy hills, but worth the effort in the end.

We will be going back again. Over all, a quiet and relaxing getaway. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffinch 24 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely weekend at this site, helped by the glorious weather, although being in the woods we were never too hot.

The pitches are separate from each other and all within the woods - our pitch was right at the bottom of the woods, very secluded. The setting was truly beautiful, with a good view of the spires of East Grinstead (and the planes heading out of Gatwick!)

There is no running water at this site - the owners supply you with a large canister of water. And a sack of wood for which you pay £5 (no kindling provided, so find your own). So there is nowhere to wash up, but obviously you can boil your own water and do it at the pitch – or just take it home, as we did! You cannot park next to your site, you park at the top of the hill and they take your stuff to your pitch on a quad bike or Land Rover – our kids very much enjoyed the ride in the trailer!

The compost toilet is very clean and doesn't smell - well, it smells a bit like a rabbit hutch my children said, but is considerably more pleasant than most chemical toilets!

My only gripe would be that another toilet would be useful. Every pitch was full this weekend and the loo does not feel that private when there are queues outside.

A great place for a weekend but I wouldn’t stay longer than that. Mainly because it is rather expensive - £40 per night for 2 adults and 2 children (including wood). Worth paying though, and we would go back for a weekend if they install another toilet! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crayfish 2 reviews from this member

 I really want to write a scathing review to stop anyone else from finding this place, but that's unfair so I will tell the truth :)

This place is an absolute gem, we arrived and were greeted by a young lad who works on the farm (Kyle?), very friendly and helpful and after unpacking we were met with Chris who quad-biked all our gear to the pitch.

There were 4 of us in total (separate tents) and our pitch was the 'secluded' one at the back. WOW, it was an amazing pitch. A clearing towards the edge of the forest but still surrounded by trees all around, with a firepit in the middle. We couldn't see another tent from our pitch and it felt just like wild camping.

Chris bought us a large water container and some firewood. The firewood is very dry and you get through a bag very quickly, but no-one objected to us gathering up all the dead wood and branches and burning those and after walking around the more remote spots around the site we gathered a fair amount of dead wood to keep the fire going all day.

There is a pub nearby, fairly expensive at £4. 20 for a pint of Amstel, but a nice enough pub with a decent beer garden. Waitrose is also not too far away.

We stayed 3 nights and thoroughly enjoyed every second of it, I cannot recommend this place highly enough, especially for those who like the wild-camping experience but want a bit of luxury with it - camping on a boring field will never be the same now I've been here.

I really hope the owners don't change too much, it's so perfect the way it is. I'm contemplating returning in a few weeks for a quiet solo trip 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bussoli 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a two night visit to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite. We went with our two children (9 years and 6 years) and another family with two children (2 years and 5 years).

All the pitches are in the woods apart from the pitch that we had which was in a large paddock. There was ample room for our tents (could have taken three easily!) and this spot was perfect for the smaller children as there was lots of space to run around in as well as stroking the horses in the adjacent field. The older kids explored the woods and we went on a number of local walks. This campsite is fantastic particularly for young children and for those who want to get away from it all.

The short drive from London also made this site an excellent weekend retreat for us, although the owners directions on their information sheet are a bit confusing at the final stages.

In the evenings the other campers were all very quiet which meant that our younger children could sleep. There was some distant noise from a nearby pub but not enough to disturb us.

The compost-able toilet was very clean and not too smelly. The lack of showers did not bother us for the three days that we were there but, personally, I could not stay longer than this without shower facilities.

The owners of the site are very friendly and even took our kids for a ride on their quad bike as we were packing away. Would definitely return. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Grinstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2423 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement