Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite Reviews

Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4NE
Tel: 07377 662852
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev A 1 review from this member

 Found this site on line as I was looking for a semi-wild campsite to introduce my grandson to wild camping (he is 6.

The site was perfect - easy to find, well laid out pitches giving impression of being isolated but with the basic amenities available.

Firepit was a real bonus as not many sites allow real fires. Firewood ordered and delivered each day and water delivered to the pitch.

The composting toilet in the woods was considerably less smelly than the loos on other sites I have stayed at.

The owners and staff were really friendly and helpful, checking intermittently if everything was ok and did we need anything.

Good (but expensive) pub (the old mill) a few minutes walk away across two fields and along public footpath (turn left through the gate when you have crossed second field). Shops are about 1/2 a mile up the hill from the pub.

The site is very child friendly.

An excellent site that I would use again, and can heartily recommend if you want a taste of wild camping with some basic amenities provided.

P.S. - the little lad loved it and took over the fire-making each day. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChloeBrighton 1 review from this member

 A group of us camped at Evergreen Farm over the Easter weekend (2011).

We had been slightly apprehensive about the reception we might get as we were a group of 14 people (and had not been allowed to book with other campsites). From our arrival everyone was friendly and helpful.

We were given a gorgeous little field to ourselves complete with firepit which was great being a group of us. They also brought a grill for us so that we could barbecue over the open fire! On the first night we got through our firewood and wanted some more although we were concerned as it was by now late into the evening. However they were very accommodating and we were able to get another sack of firewood.

The compost toilet worked fantastically well. It was always clean and with no smell - quite an achievement given the exceptionally hot weather over the weekend. All I would advise is to bring a torch (yes I know this may be obvious!) as it is quite dark in there.

Over the weekend we were left to our own devices which really suited us. As everyone was purely wanting to relax with the sunshine we stayed at the site during the day playing games etc. Which was really nice.

In the future everyone agreed that as well as wanting to repeat the experience individual couples would like to return to camp in one of the spots in the wood. Having taken a quick look, they are really nicely set out with plenty of space and privacy from other campers. There are enough walks etc. In the area which would be great to explore on another occasion.

The only negative, if you see it as one is not having a shower. However there are plenty of portable solar shower bags that you can buy in a camping shop if you're that bothered.

Would not hesitate to recommend to groups and couples alike! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fandango733 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this camp site for a weekend break away, and it was perfect. Our pitch was a good size and could have fitted 3 tents in. The pitch was level, however a few tree roots were present, but this is to be expected in a woodland camp site!

We were only sleeping on roll mats and didn't find the roots to be a problem. When we arrived you drive slowly through their working farm and are greeted by the owners on quad bike, where we were taken in the trailer with our bags to our pitch (although all pitches you can walk to easily from your car).

Each pitch is very secluded and all have their own fire pits, with a large sack of wood delivered each night at a small extra cost. The facilities are very limited on this camp site, however this is not necessarily a draw back. A large container of water is delivered to your pitch which is changed daily.

There is one compost toilet, but don't let this put you off. It is cleaned and emptied regularly and it doesn't smell at all. It has a polystyrene seat, like a regular toilet, the only difference is that instead of flushing, you sprinkle some sawdust! There aren't any showers, or washing up facilities, so it is more of a weekend break - but this is still ample time to enjoy the surroundings.

We enjoyed sitting around the fire, toasting sausages, marshmallows and making toast! We also walked down to the reservoir across fields, although we couldn't actually walk beside the reservoir which was a bit disappointing.

Overall we were very impressed with the camp site and the owners gave us their mobile number if we ever needed anything. Definitely a brilliant site to get back to basics for a weekend escape. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Poshcamper48 9 reviews from this member

 I visited Evergreen Farm in September with my young son for a short 'back to basics' weekend.

Situated just outside East Grinsted and therefore within easy reach of London, we found the site easily, parked the car and were soon met by the friendly owners who took us and our kit the short distance to our pitch by quad bike and trailer.

Provided with a sack of firewood and a container of water, we found that the pitch was a small clearing in a wood, with other pitches close by but not visible. The ground was well drained, slightly sloping but with the all important firepit.

The single compost toilet we saw was clean and fresh, well stocked and maintained. Other campers were quiet, friendly and pleasant - everyone seemed drawn to the site as a quiet, basic alternative to other noisier options! In addition to the woodland pitches there is a small field for groups or those preferring open space but I gather that noisy groups are not welcome - which suits me fine.

We walked across fields to the local pub which offered good food and found a children's playground on the way. We also visited the local steam railway - The Bluebell Line.

We paid 23 for 1 adult, 1 child and 1 sack of firewood. It was a great site for those that like it basic. Best to book well in advance given the publicity it is getting. I'll be returning in 2011 for sure. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rajw 1 review from this member

 Well, who'd have thought a weekend in a tent with just a composting toilet as facilities could still make for a romantic weekend away?!

A relatively last minute and impulsive decision to go camping was made perfect decision by the site. On what was a hot weekend, I really feared the tent would be suffocating, but in the woods we were the perfect temperature throughout the night.

Being taken to the site by quad bike immediately transports you to a place that seems much further than just an hour from London. The pitch was great - a secluded spot that had a firepit and plenty of room for the tent. Sitting by the fire, you couldn't see another tent and you really felt as if you were there alone. The supply of logs for the fire is supplemented by a ready supply of free kindling.

The site itself is secure. In fact, the only 'break-in' we had was by a squirrel which managed to get at a bagel inside our cool-bag!

The nearby pub is just a 5 minute walk away. We got a bit lost walking back at night (lesson #1, don't try and walk back a different route at night when you just have an iPhone to navigate with!). Similarly, if you want a longer walk, the reservoir has a nice forest walk too (and a small cafe for an ice cream if its hot!). Waitrose is an easy walk if you need to stock up (and you walk past the pub on the way so even better!)

This is the first time I'd been camping in the UK and the first time my girlfriend and I had been together. The fact that she has visited a lot of campsite in the past and her reaction to my choice of site when we arrived was 'wow, this is awesome!' perhaps says all you need to know.

I've already recommended the site to friends and will continue to do so. It really makes for a complete and amazing break from London life. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Horsey 4 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite on short notice, we wanted to try out our new tent relatively close to home.

This site is a little different from the average, for a start you can't get you car next to your pitch but this is a positive. After you park up you are taken to your pitch (you may be given a choice) by quad bike with a trailer which our 3 year old absolutely loved.

All pitches are in the trees and very well spread out with your neighbour a long way off. Each pitch also contains a brick-walled fireplace.

The site itself is in farmland but very close to East Grinstead which can only be safely accessed by car or by footpath, the road is dangerous to walk along but this isn't a big issue.

If you decide to have a fire at night the staff/owners will bring you firewood each day and water is provided in a large container on the first day (there are no standpipes).

There is a single composting toilet for the 12 pitches which may be an issue if busy (we visited during the world cup - England game so very quiet!). The toilet itself is very clean with soap and smells less than almost every other campsite toilet I know.

There are no showers which may prevent long stays but that isn't an issue for a quick weekend.

We walked to the Bluebell Railway via the many footpaths in the area (Kingscote) which are well signed and clear.

Overall a great experience if you want a wonderfully calm weekend without the frills - the spread out pitches give space and tranquillity as well as space for the kids to run around.

The owners are incredibly friendly and helpful - would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dotcomplex 9 reviews from this member

 Evergreen was the second test for Adrian, myself and our sons of our camping skills having visited the Wood at Harmony the previous year. Our wives certainly wouldn't have agreed to such back to basics camping with only a composting toilet to meet those personal requirements. They don't know what they missed!

As the only visitors the owner gave us freedom to chose our pitch. The pitches are spread across a hillside copse and we opted for the biggest one half way up. Being April it was still slightly exposed and a bit chilly at night but the kids had the run of the place and thoroughly enjoyed themselves.

Courtesy of the owner and her quad water was always available and piles of felled wood were never too far away. Would definitely return when the weather improves. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pat Allosaurs 1 review from this member

 We needed a quick taste of the outdoors, somewhere that would be quick and easy to reach from London using public transport. Oh, and a firepit and a sense of being in the middle of nowhere. A tall order? I would have said so, but this campsite is all of that and more.

We actually discovered Evergreen Farm through this very website, and while it sounded idyllic we were not prepared for how beautiful the site and indeed our actual pitch was.

Arriving on foot we were met by the family, who walked us to our secluded pitch, ensured that we had everything we needed and told us about the best walks, the nearest pub and other useful bits of knowledge. The owners are terrific hosts, genuinely welcoming and incredibly helpful; they even lent us some camping chairs and a table, luxuries that we as backpackers can never carry with us! We felt thoroughly looked after.

But although the compost loo was comfortable and clean, the water and wood plentiful, the welcome warm, and the proximity of East Grinstead convenient, the real clincher here is the woodland setting. Our pitch was the most secluded on site, and from were we were you would never have guessed that there were any other campers at all. Despite it being a very busy weekend! The woodland in early May meant bluebells and fresh new leaves and birds singing just outside your porch, and a well placed fire pit meant a cosy evening round the fire watching the shadows playing on the woodland canopy and bright stars peeking through the treetops.

The only possible problem I could ever see with this site is that there are two ponds, so come high summer those who are attractive to mosquitoes might suffer, but during a cool spring weekend we didn't find this a problem. I'd still recommend bringing insect repellent, just in case.

All the pitches on the site were beautiful and well thought out, with lovely views to be had from all. While the whole has obviously been very well planned out for people with children, it has been equally well thought out for couples like us looking for a quiet intimate getaway and this level of considerate organisation makes the whole stay really special. We can't wait to go back. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ex6161 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic 'back to nature' campsite, quite small yet pitches are very secluded so you get your privacy. You will love the peace and quiet but no doubt be awakened in the early hours of the morning by the resident woodpecker. The owners are so welcoming and Steve is up rather early tending to the animals and any campers in need of help. Our four-year-old loved the campfire (wood available on site), animals and the trailer ride to and from the pitch. Also have to mention the immaculately clean and fresh smelling composting loo with cabin large enough to fit your washing bowl and get yourself ready for another fun day ahead. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Naomiceri 1 review from this member

 What a great campsite! I must say, I don't camp often and really don't have a clue what I'm doing! But me and my boyfriend were desperate to get out of the city and were both so glad we did.

We don't have a car so we got the train to East Grinstead and took our bikes. Its a bit of a hilly up and down ride from the station, but my bike is falling apart, so we would have been better with a newer one. If you use public transport to get there, its only 10 pound a night instead of 12!

The pitches are all lovely, couldn't see one which wasn't as good as another, in a really lovely wooded area away from the farm. The first pitch we were in was a little windy, so we moved for our second night and the owners didn't mind at all. All are fairly far away from each other and we only saw one couple the whole weekend we were there.

It definitely gives you a 'real' back to basics camping experience. It may not seem so quiet if all the pitches are full, although the owners seem to have the balance really well and were telling us how they try to keep families not so close to groups without children. They plan things well!

The owners are great, really helpful, without being overbearing. They provide you with wood for a fire, which kept us entertained for both nights, prodding and building.

Two other good features are a waitrose which is just up the road, providing delicious sausages for cooking, and if you get a bit chilly, there's a great pub 5 mins walk away through the field. Food was delicious, although not cheap.

The only bad thing about this campsite, is I think its going to get so popular, it will be fully booked or the summer, and being the disorganised person I am, I'll probably never get to go again! Enjoy. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Grinstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5959 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement