Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite Reviews

Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4NE
Tel: 07377 662852
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 54 Reviews
                9/10 from 54 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  54 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. We don't have showers. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Griffiths_clan 4 reviews from this member

 What a great weekend, even with all the rain! The site was beautiful, our pitch was perfect we had a lovely view over the fields whilst being very cosy in the woods. Chris brought us all the wood and water we needed.

When we did finally have to leave the rain had taken it's toll on the mud but every effort was made to keep our kit clean on the journey back up the track on the trailer and they even washed down our ground sheet.

The new compost loo was great and very well thought out. Will be going back but hopefully without the rain. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: OOHGETYOU! 3 reviews from this member

 Just got back from Easter weekend at this fab woodland site. Great pitches and very accommodating couple, both the owners made our stay as pleasant as could be and were willing to spend time with us and our kids as we explored around the farm. Horses, sheep, chickens, goats, dogs and a heavily pregnant pig made the kids weekend, not to mention the extremely muddy trailer ride to and from pitches (best bit for the 3yr old boy. And his dad!)

Can not recommend this site strongly enough if you want to get away from it all and 'rough it' on the nearest you can get to wild camping & with a pub down the road. What more could you ask for eh!

Will be heading back in summer and look forwards to exploring more of the surrounding countryside. Weir wood res great for wildlife and sailing but just be warned only try to walk round if you've got 4hrs and plenty of energy to spare, otherwise a very pleasant walk along north shore on well defined and newly resurfaced paths. Standen house is great if you like houses and gardens, both very beautiful and literally next door, with a very nice (if a little expensive) cafe/restaurant. 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stevedh1967 14 reviews from this member

 Spent the Easter weekend at Evergreen Farm as a family group of 7 adults / 4 tents / 3 cars! The site and the owners are great, if you're looking for a 'near wild camping' experience then this is it. I say 'near wild' because you're not too far from civilisation and there's one compost toilet (which was found to be faultlessly clean at every visit). There are no other facilities on site other than fresh water and fire wood (small, very reasonable charge) supplied as required.

The pitches are in woodland and very sheltered and drain very well - despite a week of constant rain the woodland pitches weren't at all boggy although the pathways were! Upon arrival your equipment is collected and taken to your pitch in a trailer towed by quad bike and at the end, when you strike camp everything is collected and transported back to the secure parking area - easy!

The woodland is sloping but our pitch (P6) was generally flat and from what we saw of the other pitches they were all quite flat. The thing that makes a really great camp is the ability to have a real camp fire - no problem here. The site is peaceful and the morning bird song undisturbed.

At night time you can hear owls and by day a woodpecker. Site owners gave good advice on how to find a local pub and some great walks. This site is a rare find, enjoy it but don't tell too many others about it! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Crocksandfamily 1 review from this member

 What a gem - I hope this doesn't become too popular. We spent 3 nights in mid/late August this year and loved it so much, went back a week later for 2 more nights. Well done for keeping this as a basic 'do it yourself' campsite - a few acres of woodland, you are sharing their land and home to their animals (horses, sheep, dogs, hens and two delightful pigs). If you need comforts, this is not the place, but the water arrives in a bottle and the wood in a bag and the rest is up to you (oh, a clean portaloo at the top of the hill). We learned how to spend time roughing it again; not done so since scouts, and both Chris (who must love this as a break from his real job) and the owner (who is 'living out her hobbies' are accommodating, friendly and rule-shy to rekindle your love of outdoors. Well done to both of them! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hogans 1 review from this member

 What a find. Easily within an hours drive of London, with a great camping store en route (SK camping). Relaxing, tidy, unique and perfectly priced. The children loved riding down the hill in the trailer pulled by the quad, we enjoyed sitting by the fire listening to the girls snoring after chasing themselves tired in the woods. Even after a night of rain, the canopy of the trees provided some protection while we packed up. If you're looking for shower blocks and corner shops you're looking at wrong place. If you want perfect peace and quiet, and want to escape from London for a night or two, give them a ring. You wont regret it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BlueMolly 1 review from this member

 This is a great campsite if you like the outdoor life as I do. Situated in the grounds of a beautiful farm, the woodlands are nicely secluded with only a handful of pitches. They are all spread out throughout the woods so you never feel on top of each other and crammed in as you can on some other sites.

Free roaming animals, beautiful walks and a wonderful setting with the added bonus of campfires. They also provide you with a free bag of wood per day and drinking water container.

If you like your modcons you may find this isnt the campsite for you - with only one portaloo at the top of the hill at the car parking area and no showers.

I would highly recommend this site and can't wait to go back again. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Prettyrose 3 reviews from this member

 My boyfriend and I spend a night at the Evergreen farm campsite and absolutely loved it! It provided the perfect escape from the city, even though it was only a 1 hour drive from London. The campsite is in the heart of the country, surrounded by fields and animals, and the actual pitches are like little clearings within a small forest. We absolutely loved the calm, relaxed atmosphere of people chilling out in the trees, sitting around their campfires on logs! This isnít like modern campsites and the facilities are basic, consisting of just a portaloo, but itís clean and family friendly. Youíre also provided with wood for your fire and an unlimited supply of water in plasic tanks. Itís back-to-basics camping which we prefer to modern campsites! There were quite a few families there and the children looked like they were having a brilliant time, running around in the trees and collecting sticks for their fire. The pitches are within sight of one another but are far enough apart to give you your own space and privacy. The couple who run it are friendly and welcoming, and generally itís relaxed, friendly and stress-free! If you donít mind roughing it and surviving without a shower, Iíd definitely recommend it. We werenít there long enough to go exploring, but weíre already planning a longer trip there so that we can take advantage of all the surrounding places it has to offer. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mattlon 1 review from this member

 We spent 4 days here in early August and had a great time. We camped in the paddock backing onto the woods which meant we could explore the woods but also had a huge flat open space as well. In our party were teenagers and a small child who all really enjoyed roaming around the woods and collecting wood for the fire. The amenities are basic, but you can shower when you get home, so all you need is a toilet. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jaytheman 1 review from this member

 This was mine and my 10year old son's 2nd visit to Evergreen farm, having had our first visit in May 09. What a great camp site, the wood land was perfect for my son and his friends who came along, how nice it was to just let them roam around the woods all in view of our pitch, even in the evenings. The owners could not have made us feel more welcome and the boys loved riding on the back of the quad bike with Chris. Dont be put off by the toilet we always found it clean and fresh, but I must admit I went with nature and headed into the woods. If your looking to really get it touch with nature this is the perfect place. One last thing, try the eggs fresh from the farm you wont taste better. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sheris 1 review from this member

 This campsite was great fun offering a not so traditional campsite feel. With secluded plots and a fire pit it offered a lot more than most traditional campsites making us feel like we really were out in the middle of the woods. However, the owner was very accommodating (as were her animals, especially Fredrick the horse), and kept us topped up with wood and drinking water.

We've already booked our return visit. 


Previous     54 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Grinstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1328 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement