Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite Reviews

Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4NE
Tel: 07377 662852
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 11
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 52 Reviews
                9/10 from 52 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  52 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

To find out if we're taking bookings please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Loiraarnold 1 review from this member

 I don't have enough good words to say about our camping trip at Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite! We traveled as a group (3 families) and 2 of us came in a car and another on train from London.

It's a really easy 5 min drive/taxi (or bus!) from East Grinstead Station. The owner of the campsite, Chris, was so helpful and available before and during our stay. When you arrive and park, he has a trailer where you put all your things and drives you to your campsite.

We had a lovely pitch at the bottom of the hill and even though it was a busy night, we felt completely secluded (couldn't hear anyone even after 10pm when it was dark -- although you could see other campfires going on in the distance).

Great for kids (we had 3 toddlers and 2 babies with us). The firewood is only £7. 50 for a big bag. Every pitch has a campfire set up too. This is only a tent only campsite but it was perfect for what we were looking for.

There are no showers, but the compost toilets were clean and you are provided with a big tank of clean, drinkable water for your stay (we didn't even get half way through it).

Also close enough to a National Trust, Ashdown Forest, and East Grinstead for kids' playgrounds, activities, a nice meal at a pub, or a quick food shop.

We'll definitely be back for a longer stay next time! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to advise that this campsite will be reopening from the 2018 season, following a period closed since Dec 2015

It once again offers tent woodland pitches ( no caravans or motorhomes )

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruders 1 review from this member

 Great camping experience, best one in a long time. We had a lovely peaceful weekend at this small woodland campsite.

Pitches spacious no one nearby and the best part of all the campfire. Location lovely. Compost toilets best I have used. Did not smell. Owners helpful.

Cannot wait to go back next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Family Brown 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful site, extremely friendly and helpful hosts, our visit was only marred by the very loud music coming from off site both nights.

We stayed at Evergreen Farm for two nights over the bank holiday weekend, with our two children aged 6 and 4.

The site is beautiful, with lovely views and nice places to visit nearby. Even with little ones in tow we managed the walk to the local pub for some delicious food. The pitches are very well spaced through the oak woodland, on the edge of a large field, and in a couple of small paddocks. We were given a paddock to ourselves, which was wonderful! We had a firepit with tree stump seats, under a huge old oak tree. Logs were delivered to the pitch, as was a large container of water.

With no running water, no showers, and no washing up facilities, the site attracts more back to basics campers. We found it a pleasant, relaxing place. The composting toilets were always clean, and we never had to wait to use one even though the site was almost full.

The children enjoyed being able to go up to the barn and meet the animals - dogs, goats, horses, a pig, ducks and chickens. They absolutely loved the trailer rides each day too. It felt like a safe place for children, though we wouldn't have been comfortable to let ours roam about without us.

The owners were so helpful and friendly, we really can't fault them or their site at all.

Unfortunately our visit was somewhat spoilt by very loud music coming from off site. This started about 7pm and went on until 1. 30am the first night. We were then woken by Gatwick planes passing directly overhead, very frequently, from 6am. After such a bad night's sleep we were considering not staying a second night, but the owner assured us it was unlikely to happen again. Sadly it did, we had loud music the second night too. Both nights, the owners responded really quickly and drove round in the dark to locate the source of the noise. They were not able to do anything about it, but the owner kept us updated and was planning to make a formal complaint. They also gave us a free bag of logs to make up for it.

It is really such a shame about the noise, as the owners have no control over what other people off site do. I'm sure it doesn't happen often, it's just that we were camping on the bank holiday weekend. But it really was loud, even though it was coming from a mile or so away, we could hear what the DJ was saying, and we felt as if we were at a festival, not a peaceful rural campsite.

Because the site was quite expensive (cost us twice as much as we've usually paid elsewhere) I don't think we'd go back again and risk having the same experience with the noise disturbance. And that's why I can only give 7/10 as the overall rating. But we really, really loved the campsite and would give it 10/10 for lovely pitches and amazing friendly owners! 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Feekofamily 2 reviews from this member

 If you're looking for a non-nonsense campsite without any of the all too common bells-and-whistles, this is it. No caravans, no electric hook ups, no games/television room, no club room/bar, no playground, just good old fashioned woods and fields to play in - hurray. Set in beautiful oak woods, with some grass pitches, it is next to the wonderful Arts & Craft Standen National Trust house, a short 20 mins walk to Weir Wood Reservoir and 15 mins walk (off-road) to Old Dunnets Mill, a Harvey’s gastro pub.

On arrival you park up at the top of the hill, and are transported, camping gear and all, to your pitch in the woods up to 150m away by mini-tractor – great fun for kids of all ages!

There are no showers, and the toilets are composting, but the cleanest toilet you could hope to use – certainly cleaner than most public or café ones. There are only two, but we always found one free, even though the site was nearly full for the weekend. They are located near the cars, so you need to plan ahead as it’s a good 5 mins wall uphill. There are no water taps, but 25-litre containers of fresh mains water are delivered to your pitch, refilled whenever required.

The pitches are of various sizes, but all generous for all sizes and numbers of tents. They are exceptionally well spaced throughout the woods, at worst with just a glimpse of other happy campers. There are a small number of pitches on the edge of a hay field, and in two small paddocks near the cars and toilets. Each pitch has a fire pit; a large bag of logs is £6. 50, again delivered to your pitch.

East Grinstead is about 1. 5miles away, with large Waitrose and Sainsbury’s stores for groceries.

At £12. 50 per adult, it is a little expensive, but we had a wonderful, very relaxing weekend, and would definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Camping dee 1 review from this member

 What a fantastic campsite. Thank you for really looking after us. Nothing was too much trouble.

Run out of wood after the 6 pm order time. No problem.

Dogs dinner burgled by the wildlife. No problem have some of ours

Composting toilets immaculate, almost to good to use. Cleaned twice daily. Complimentry toilet roll, hand wash and disposal bins.

Free tractor ride to site and even just for fun for the children on the site.

11 families on site yet we couldn't see anyone from our pitch Pitch 2, A little clearing in the woods populated by mr Robin and a small family of blue tits nesting in a box at the start of the ' drive '.

Dog was very happy rummaging around in the wood land. Lovely walk around site proved many different, individual pitches. Small by a pond for a small tent, to open wide paddock for large family bell tent.

Every person we met here was lovely and the owners and staff impeccable in their assistance.

Centrally placed for visits to the coast or inland.

Dulcet tones of the steam engines could be heard occasionally wafting across the valley, dawn chorus was fantastic and it was occasionally joined in by a nearby peacock from Standen house gardens that were next door.

Cant wait to return

Book now, don't be frightened by the ' composting toilets ' I've been to worse in London or at festivals by a million miles. ( just don't book when we are going cos we like it quiet, :)) 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nukes67 10 reviews from this member

 Having returned from 'Evergreen' from a 3 night stay, we can thoroughly recommend this site. It is rural, no EHU and compost toilets, which all add to the wild camping feel. Under the tree canopy (which in May has only just began to thicken out) you truly feel like a proper camper. The site has a safe and easy walk to a local pub called Dunnings Mill which serves Harveys Olympia (one of my new fave beers). Anyway, back on track. I cannot say enough about Evergreen, this must be THE best campsite (off-grid) that I have been to in around 35 years. We chose the pitch called 'secluded' with it's own pond. You literally cannot see your neighbour which suits me just fine. The owners run a very friendly campsite. The quad bike ride to and from your car - pitch and back just adds a nice touch. The firepit's are generous, without becoming dangerous. We have now bookmarked this in for end of May Bank Hols, and hope to return many more times from now on. 10/10 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sarahlou1 1 review from this member

 Just returned from this lovely friendly campsite. The tent pitch we stayed in was in the woodland area, and the pitches are nice and big, with plenty of room to spread out, surrounded by oak trees and away from other campers. The campsite is situated on the farm and you and your gear are transported to it on a trailer - there are no cars about so you can feel like you are camping in the wilderness, which is great.

There are composting toilets which were always very clean but no showers or hot water. Personally I do not consider this a disadvantage as that's what hotels are for. Not campsites. I'm just adding it for information. You get more than enough water delivered to your pitch and can easily buy more wood for the fire(especially if the person in charge of your fire gets so carried away they burn up all the wood too fast, despite the wood coming in very large sacks!)

There is a pub nearby but do be prepared for an adventurous walk through the woods to get there and back if you go on foot. East Grinstead is also pleasant to visit and close by. As is the Bluebell Railway, and Winnie The Pooh Country is not really far away either.

The best thing was how beautiful and tranquil the area was. The owners were also very friendly and welcoming. There was just the two of us but this campsite is also ideal for those with kids and/or dogs. Very highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carlmyhill 1 review from this member

 I am a bit of a reviewer of things but I was going to skip reviewing Evergreen Farm Campsite and keep it to myself as a secret. But that seems a bit unfair, especially on those that work hard to make it such a special place.

The campsite is a deliberately designed back-to-basics site with only 11 pitches. Some in the trees and some in open meadow/grass, each has a proper fire pit with bricks around. The site has been carefully designed to make sure the pitches are all pretty secluded.

There are 2 fabulous compost toilets inside 2 log style buildings and they get cleaned twice a day. No smells, nicely painted inside, very hygienic but no running water, just hand sanitiser and toilet rolls supplied.

There are no showers at this campsite. This is one of my favourite features since I think this puts some people off leaving it for the more Ray Mears minded (there is a pool at East Grinstead should anyone have a desperate need for a shower, or you could bring yourself a solar shower - we just got over ourselves!).

Water is supplied in a water drum for each pitch. You can buy wood, very very dry wood, for £6. 50 a bag. The dryness of the wood is a really big deal because however hopeless you are at lighting a fire, if you have very dry wood you are transformed into an outdoor god (you can also get a bit of kindling and sometimes fire lighters from the farm too - though we made our own from tumble drier lint rubbed in vaseline).

I'm just back from my second visit to the site with my 2 boys, aged 3 and 5. Just a 'Dad and boys' trip, this one was for 5 nights. I had considered CentreParcs for a summer holiday since I especially like the way you park away from the accommodation and the whole place is car free. It also has a gate so the kids cannot escape. That would have cost me £1000 for a week. The owners have got the same system in place at Evergreen Farm only it's better because you all get a tractor ride down to your campsite with all of your glamping gear (kids love tractor rides of course). The site is also gated so older kids can safely roam about.

Some of the pitches are big enough for big Bell Tents, which is lucky because I just bought a Super Tripstein (Tourareg) from Obelink. Nl. Pretty nice tent!

I was a bit surprised at what I was able to cook on the campfire. Knowing I would be there for 5 days I was pretty frugal with the wood and made the fire up specifically for cooking. My favourite thing was making bread! I mixed in a load of self raising flour with some sugar and water and rolled it up a bit. Then tore off balls and flattened them into my frying pan and cooked them as gently as I could - the end result was fresh scone quality, you could have knocked me down with a feather! I'm told this is sometimes called 'Damper'.

We also cooked:

- corn on the cob (in foil)

- macaroni and pesto

- beanfeast (much improved it seems) and pasta

- boiled spuds, beans, veg sausages

- Jacket spuds in foil (worked well)

- toast (on bbq forks)

- eggy bread ('french toast' if you are posh)

- popcorn (not brilliant, burned through the foil, I have a new tip that using 2 metal sieves joined together is the correct approach)

Actually I've never done so much with a camp fire. I realised in the end that if I left a pot of water on there I could have a tea when I wanted and could wash up with hot water. I did bring a small wire grill to place over the fire which helped a bit with control of temperature and my frying pan has proved more versatile than expected. I also took a gardening glove with a leather palm and fingers - wow was that useful for re-arranging the fire and for picking up hot pots. I didn't get burnt once and nor did the kids thank goodness, actually they were quite sensible about the fire (this was perhaps the only thing they were sensible with).

What I noticed with my boys is that just hanging out on the campsite gives them lots to do and helping with things like banging the pegs in or washing up was also quite fun for them. They entertained themselves very easily being just outside and away from electronics.

There is also tons to in the vicinity too. I would never have guess this from a summer holiday in East Grinstead! As well as the fun stuff, you can park in Sainsburys in East Grinstead for 3 hours, and this is less than 3 miles from the site. Interesting things we did (or planned) included:

- we walk to Forest Row (OS Map is helpful for this but we eventually found the Sussex Border Path and the Forest Way Cycle Track). We got a cab back from Forest Row, there and back was a bit much for my 3 year old.

- Forest Row is great for food. We ate at the brilliant Swan, were told Java and Jazz is also brilliant for Pizza.

- ride the incredible BlueBell Railway. I think you can walk to this from the campsite. We didn't do it on this trip but we did drive to Sheffield Park the last time (better parking there and lots of engines, like 20 odd!). The Bluebell line runs North-South a couple of miles to the West of the campsite and you can hear the steam trains from time to time, which my boys loved.

- the Forest Way Cycle Track is splendid, we didn't explore the length of it but we will. It goes from East Grinstead to Forest Row and then on to Hartfield (the Pooh village where you can do authentic Pooh Sticks) and then on the Groombridge. I think next time I will drive with the bikes to Forest Row, where there is free parking, and cycle on the Forest Way from there.

- I made a separate trip to Groombridge Place and found it excellent for the kids - absolutely tons of things to do, including a little boat ride.

- we went to Diggerland in Kent, which is an hour away by car and is totally amazing, though a bit expensive.

- I had also planned to check out Druzillas Zoo (brilliant I am told) and Herstmonceaux observatory, both a bit of a drive

- and I had my eye on Lewes Castle but was also told about Hever but didn't do these either.

All in all it was a brilliant second trip with brilliant hosts. I think the kids can go and have a look around at the farm animals if things are not too busy but we haven't done that yet. There are also sometimes extra trips around on the tractor for the kids, which are very popular (think how much you pay for fairground rides!). 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jamiem 1 review from this member

 We just spent a wonderful weekend camping at our favourite campsite. As two families with three adults and four children (aged 3-11years) this campsite gives us everything we need. The facilities are basic with 2 compost loos and no running water. However, the toilets are spotless and odour free! The children love arriving and getting their first quad bike trailer ride to the pitch. The pitches are spread out allowing privacy from other campers. The farm is set in lovely countryside and the majority of pitches are in the woodland. The owners are very informative and welcoming. The children love the freedom, playing in the woods, trailer rides and making friends with the farm animals. The only problem is getting them to return at meal times. They haven't stopped talking about the animals since we left and can't wait to return. 


Previous     52 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Grinstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Camping Exhibition, Wokingham 26/06 to 26/07
Approximately 100 different tents on display, and a range of camping accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6261 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement