Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > West Sussex > East Grinstead > Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite > Reviews

Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite
West Hoathly Road
East Grinstead
West Sussex   (Browse area)
RH19 4NE
Tel: 07377 662852
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 31
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   No Showers   No Washing Up Area   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2024  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Matthe 1 review from this member

 Lovely Campsite, very quiet.

Fires allowed.

Child friendly.

Staff are great.

We have been a few times and will go again.

There's a shop close by for supplies and most of the pitches are very private. 


Date of Visit: August 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Angush 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely campsite with a beautiful setting and a wild, wooded feel to it - great introduction to no-frills "wild" camping for our group of 3x dads & 3x 8 year olds.

It's very easily accessible from London, only about 20 minutes from the M25 (Junction 6). The town of East Grinstead is nearby (close enough to walk, if you wanted to), with good choice of shops pubs etc. , but because of the hilly terrain, the site has a lovely remote and rural feel to it - no traffic noise, minimal light pollution for SE England, the occasional plane in the distance heading in to Gatwick.

The pitches are large and secluded, we had plenty of room for our three tents & couldn't hear any of the other families.

Toilets and other facilities are on the "natural" side - composting toilets with sawdust. We wanted wild camping and we got it. Fine for us, everything was clean and well maintained, but might not be your cup of tea. There's no campsite shop but the site operators provide fresh water and sell fire logs.

Only down sides of the woodland setting is that the floor is leaf mould rather than grass (it gets everywhere), they do have some grass pitches elsewhere in the site & you could likely get one on request. And a few tree roots in the soil, you'd definitely want a floor mat for a comfortable night's sleep.

Great value, friendly management, lots to explore nearby, all good. 


Date of Visit: January 2022  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Josieb 1 review from this member

 Camping in the woods at its best. A small and cosy campsite that makes you feel truly lost in the woods.

A variety of pitches so you can find the perfect spot.

Good compost toilets that were clean.

We would come and camp here again.

You can just about hear the road at times, but that didn't bother us. You can choose a pitch with views over the town or countryside or get right into the woods. 


Date of Visit: June 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Stu9000 3 reviews from this member

 It isn't often you get to camp in the midst of genuine oak wood.

It was a hot weekend so it was nice to take the edge off with a bit of dappled shading. You cannot drive to the pitch but don't discount just yet (as I usually do). We pack heavy and I mean kitchen sink heavy. They chuck everything into a giant box trailer so it isn't the nightmare multi portage with a wheelbarrow that some sites offer.

As well as a car load of stuff I had my own box trailer and they were happy to take that to the pitch. Our friends moved everything from car boot to their trailer to campsite without issue.

Plenty of space for us and another family at the pitch as well as the camp kitchen Coleman shelter. Fire is on the ground with a makeshift brick surround.

Some nice walks but we didn't go far as only staying two nights. Water provided to the pitch in two large containers. No standing tap but we didn't run out and they replenish daily or more if you phone. Wood sold on site was nice and dry and dense.

Some pitches slope a bit. One of the main reasons we keep coming back is the pitches are 100 yards apart or more so a nice solitary experience even though they were almost fully booked.

They had portaloos as part of the covid distance measures but having cooked in the sun for two days they were pretty toxic. Younger kids could roam in the woods without us fretting as within shouting distance and no roads or machinery to worry about.

The compost toilets were fine, albeit a 3 minute walk from the pitch. This caused some grumbles from teen daughters but I was glad to see the kids stretch their legs and experience camping rather than too cushy everything on your doorstep glamping.

We were not exactly roughing it though and all enjoyed the nice views, peaceful ambience and the hammock slung between two oaks. 40 minutes away from M25 means the homeward bound journey was a doddle. 


Date of Visit: April 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Skimad 2 reviews from this member

 Beautiful place. Proper camping.

Huge private pitches in the woodland.

Clean compost toilets.

One recommendation I would make is that it is so hard to find. If it were me I'd put a sign on the road 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Nathansantino 1 review from this member

 Brilliant! Had the best couple of nights with my family and friends. Prices was really good and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Beautiful grounds, we camped in the woods and we had our own private pitch.

Will definitely be coming back in the near future as a regular. Strongly recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Nicse1 1 review from this member

 What a fabulous place, we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay here, we stayed on a pitch in the woodlands with friends and all experienced a fabulous stay.

The owners deliver wood and water to you, they r on hand if you need anything.

The compost toilets are not something I have experienced before and they were ok, clean and plenty of paper/ antibacterial gel. My only criticism is there are only 4 toilets at the top of the woods, so a bit of a trek when staying at the bottom,

However we will definitely be returning here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Group
Reviewer: Loiraarnold 1 review from this member

 I don't have enough good words to say about our camping trip at Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite! We traveled as a group (3 families) and 2 of us came in a car and another on train from London.

It's a really easy 5 min drive/taxi (or bus!) from East Grinstead Station. The owner of the campsite, Chris, was so helpful and available before and during our stay. When you arrive and park, he has a trailer where you put all your things and drives you to your campsite.

We had a lovely pitch at the bottom of the hill and even though it was a busy night, we felt completely secluded (couldn't hear anyone even after 10pm when it was dark -- although you could see other campfires going on in the distance).

Great for kids (we had 3 toddlers and 2 babies with us). The firewood is only 7. 50 for a big bag. Every pitch has a campfire set up too. This is only a tent only campsite but it was perfect for what we were looking for.

There are no showers, but the compost toilets were clean and you are provided with a big tank of clean, drinkable water for your stay (we didn't even get half way through it).

Also close enough to a National Trust, Ashdown Forest, and East Grinstead for kids' playgrounds, activities, a nice meal at a pub, or a quick food shop.

We'll definitely be back for a longer stay next time! 


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We're delighted to advise that this campsite will be opening under new management from the 2018 season 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruders 1 review from this member

 Great camping experience, best one in a long time. We had a lovely peaceful weekend at this small woodland campsite.

Pitches spacious no one nearby and the best part of all the campfire. Location lovely. Compost toilets best I have used. Did not smell. Owners helpful.

Cannot wait to go back next year. 


Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Evergreen Farm Woodland Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near East Grinstead      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in West Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2910 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement


Advertisement


Advertisement