Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dogwood Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Rye > Dogwood Cottage Camping > Reviews

Dogwood Cottage Camping
Cackle Street
Brede
Rye
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 6DY
Tel: 01424 883570
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Agata 2 reviews from this member

 I spent very nice four days with my family on this campsite.

It is small but very good organized place to stay. Clean toilets and shower, wash point with hot water and recycling bins.

The householders were always very nice, friendly and helpful.

There were lot of free space between trees and grass.

There were two pubs near by with very good food. Also on Friday morning there was a village market with lots of local products like f. E. Meat, apple juice, fish, cakes and free range eggs.

There were many walking trails and good communication to Rye, Canterbury and Birds Reservoir Rye Harbour.

I can recommend this campsite as perfect place for holiday stay for family with kids and dogs as well. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Yeti-van 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed there on the first weekend of March. It was quite muddy. Campsite is ideally located for getting about in Sussex. It was also easy to find. There was only one other campervan and us (blame the time of year) so the two toilets and one shower were sufficient. Friendly helpful owners with them having been very helpful over email prior to our arrival. For a down to earth, back to basics camping experience this hits the nail. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Hellnbacsbitch 1 review from this member

 Stayed on the camp site and enjoyed it though could do with some updating. Only one shower could do with a few more. The only hot water was in the shower 2 small washbasins in toilet cubicles to wash in with no hot water though did supply a kettle to use for the hot water. Friendly site though met some great people. Suitable for caravans and tents that have access to a car as we have a motor home found it a problem getting anywhere as the buses are far and few between to get to anywhere. Even so would recommend this site for a relaxing weekend. No play park for the children but safe for them to explore. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Blottie66 1 review from this member

 A little gem in the countryside! I stayed here for a couple of nights with my dog in a tent. The ground soft to peg and flat for comfort, ideal for camping. Katy was very welcoming and helpful. The facilities for showering and wc and chemical waste are spotless and a very well stocked information room for local activities and attractions. Brede is a beautiful village with a lovely bakery and homemade sausage shop. There is a pub in the village which serves good food. Highly recommended and I will definitely return as I loved it! 


Date of Visit: November 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Planetmalthus 4 reviews from this member

 This really is a beautiful little site, allowing camping in one of 3 separate grassy areas surrounded by trees. Access is down a long drive, so although you come in from the centre of the village the site has fields on every side. Loo and shower are basic, but perfectly adequate. Easy access to lovely walks, nice country pub nearby and the beach with easy reach. What more could you want.

And yes, the owner is the most laid back site owner you could imagine, but keeps the site clean and is on hand to help with anything you need. A lovely and humorous man. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Davidoff87 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely little site in the middle Brede. We were lucky to have the field mostly to ourselves as the kids had gone back to school, plus have lovely weather.

The new owners had installed a nice hot shower recently and there are two toilets which were all kept clean. The owners themselves were very friendly and helpful. The village pub is a nice ten minute walk through the fields and serves good food!

Also due to there being no street lights around, you get some lovely starlit nights if the skies are clear.

Will definitely be going back as there is a lot to do in the area, the site is in a good central location in Sussex, Hastings, Rye, Battle and Camber Sands were all only short drives away. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Paul@Bank 138 reviews from this member

 Very friendly and accommodating new young owners run this small site set in the wooded grounds of their house. Mature hedges provide both shelter and screening for the flat grass pitches in this quiet rural location.

Good setting for touring the area with quaint Rye and more commercial Hastings only 6 miles from the site. Two pubs are within walking distance, which I am informed have good food with locally sourced products.

The toilet/wash up facilities are however very basic - with no hot water at either the (exposed) sink for dishwashing or the two WC’s! The single shower does have an electric water heater. This is a minor problem for motorhomers or caravanners with on-board facilities and an ample supply of hot water, but maybe an issue for those under canvas.

All in all: - a good peaceful location with a lovely helpful enthusiastic couple owning the site. Good luck to them on the success of this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Purplehat 30 reviews from this member

 The campsite is beatifully situated with a host of places to visit in all directions. You are spoilt for choice in pubs, restuarants and cafes. There is little or no light pollution so the stars at night were amazing. The fields were well mown and level. We did not experience any traffic noise.

Access is via a narrow unlit lane and the 5 barred gate has to be opened and shut each time you go in or out. As the heavy gate dragged on the ground, it was quite heavy going.

The site seems to attract dog lovers and at one point there were more dogs than humans. The owners let their elderly dog roam freely and some campers seemed to think that they could do this as well so we had to contend with dog poo and dogs weeing up our awning which we did not appreciate.

There are two toilets and one shower in a rather ramshackle wooden unheated structure. Unfortunately we found them to be rather dirty and very poorly maintained. One toilet has largish gaps in the door woodwork, so at night, people could see you on the loo. Hand Towels were provided, but they quickly got very wet and grubby.

The outside sink was similarly mucky and the plug was attached to a bit of fraying string. Two campers seemed to think that this washing up sink was ideal for cleaning their teeth and rinsing out their dog foot cloths.

This could be an idyllic site but we did feel that the young owners do need to up their game, both in the provision of clean facilities and enforcing a few basic rules. They were away for a few days so maybe it is different when they are resident. When they were on site, they were very welcoming and friendly. But overall, we have no desire to return which is a pity. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BazR 1 review from this member

 Excellent small site in a lovely setting and close to pubs, shops etc. Owner was always available, which was really surprising as they had given birth only 3 days prior to our arrival! Every where clean and tidy, facilities a bit rustic (two loos, one shower)

In a wooden shed, but no long waits. Would benefit from a solid (brick or other) construction, with separate male/female facilities, there appears to be

Plenty of room for this. Only real downside was traffic noise at night, nothing the owners can do about this as the site is quite a distance from the road, but it is a very busy road.

My wife and I spent four nights here and will definitely return at sometime. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sally HG 1 review from this member

 We have recently returned from a trip to Dogwood Cottage campsite. Despite the weather we had a lovely time here. We will definitely be returning and have already recommended to family and friends - A great site where we were made to feel welcome as a family which includes our dog Tubs.

It seems this site has been recently been taken over by a great family with plans of improvement including what looks to be a glamping yurt and tweeks on the 'facilities'.

The set up of the site as it stands worked really well for us and we hope to see this stay.

The advice given on the site for local attractions was spot on.

We enjoyed Sunday Paella in the Red Lion Pub (either a 2 minute walk direct or you can work up an appetite by strolling through the fields leading behind - great for the dog!)

We also had a tipsy wonder and tasting around the Carr Taylor vineyard where our dog was welcome too.

Of course the obligatory beach trip to Hastings was part of our action plan and is a well ‘guestimated’ 10 min drive.

Can’t wait to visit in the sun! 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dogwood Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save £15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4180 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement