Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dogwood Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Rye > Dogwood Cottage Camping > Reviews

Dogwood Cottage Camping
Cackle Street
Brede
Rye
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 6DY
Tel: 01424 883570
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 36 Reviews
                8/10 from 36 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  36 in total, now showing 31 to 36                 Previous 10         Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TJ007 1 review from this member

 Despite a clearly rainy lead-up to our stay and forewarning from Phil (the Site's Owner - and probably the most laid back guy you could meet!) that the grounds were pretty soggy, we were offered the opportunity to pull up on the hardstanding car park if necessary!

Myself and my family received a warm welcome on our first outing in our new campervan! We managed to get pitched up to the side of the main path and were honored to be the first to use the newly installed electric hook ups!

Nice local walks and a gentle 15 minute walk to the nearest shop; a fab pub doing yummy grub within a very short walk from the site, at reasonable prices, with a friendly welcome!

We will most certainly be returning to Dogwood Cottage to appreciate it's glory in finer weather!

And thank you for making us feel very welcome! 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Minibird 1 review from this member

 Nice campsite and pleasant owners but the owners should give serious consideration as to whether a single shared shower/toilet is really sufficient for 10 tent pitches (ie one bathroom shared between up to 40 people).

There was always a queue for the loo, which is separate from the camping field by a short lane, and at least one person hopping on one leg outside if you took a shower.

We found this awkward with our young kids and will not return.

Facilities were clean and well kept however 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Kas Sussex 2 reviews from this member

 We were delighted to find this site is open all year. Our weekend stay was easily booked direct by phone - no pre-payment or deposit was required (may be different in high season). When we pulled in the owners immediately appeared and showed us our pitching options (plenty as there was only us and one caravan). The owners took over last Sept and have already added a shower (untried by us), toilet was super clean and owners very helpful. We ate at The Red Lion (5-10 minutes walk), excellent food and dog friendly, also visited The Rainbow Trout which has just reopened but ws not doing food until following week. All in all a great weekend, very quiet, good walks and great pub. It rained heavily on Sat which caused us some issues getting off site but again help was on hand and action is planned to prevent this happening again. We'll be back. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Gmls 13 reviews from this member

 A great little site nestled quietly behind Dogwood Cottage. The facilities are very basic, just one toilet and one wash hand basin, and no EHU, but this caused us no problem at all.

A nice level site, fenced all around, giving the children a safe place to play.

The bus stop is at the top of the drive from which one can get a bus to Hastings or Rye. There's a couple of pubs within walking/cycling distance.

We had a lovely couple of nights there, it's great value for money, and we hope to return very soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: English56 1 review from this member

 Had a 1 nighter with our tent to explore the area on the spur of the moment. Setting was beautiful and sheltered. Surrounded by trees and hedges. The site owner made us very welcome and even brought us out a kettle of boiling water to make a coffee in the morning as our gas cannister had run out. You turn off the road down a tarmac drive, through a 5 bar gate and down a grassy track to the smallish field. Couldn't hear much traffic from the road - just the birds singing as the sun came up. Fantastic base to explore the area as was only 7 miles from Rye and 15 from Camber Sands. There was 1 toilet with a wash basin which was fine for our 1 night. There was a sports centre in Rye that could be used to shower etc. If planning to spend a few days. Brilliant site with nothing negative to say at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zombie camper 1 review from this member

 What a lovely find this site was. It was a last minute booking and on arrival we was able to pitch wherever we wanted as the site was practically empty this time of year. The site is a fair size and if you pitch around the edge of the site you will have all the privacy you need!

Apart from when paying we were left in peace. Please be aware this is a very basic site so maybe only good for 2 nights as no showers or hot water but toilets facilities are proper toilets (no portaloos) and were very clean. Perhaps the toilets could have been better signposted as I didn't see any signs. The house does have basic supplies for sale.

There is a local shop about 10 mins walk away (turn right outside the gate) and is only about a 15 minute drive away from Rye which is a always lovely.

The site is only 7 per night which is fantastic value. It's very quite at night and is safe. I would recommend this site and will definitely go back 


Previous     36 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 36     Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dogwood Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2858 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement