Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Dogwood Cottage Camping

Campsite Search > UK > South East England > East Sussex > Rye > Dogwood Cottage Camping > Reviews

Dogwood Cottage Camping
Cackle Street
Brede
Rye
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN31 6DY
Tel: 01424 883570
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 34 Reviews
                8/10 from 34 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports <10 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  34 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Flea63 7 reviews from this member

 A lovely, peaceful site in a beautiful area.

Stayed over the bank holiday weekend; the site was full but never seemed crowded.

It was fun to hire a fire pit - virtually every pitch had one on the Saturday night, so no escaping the smoke!

Free range chickens, guinea fowl, ducks and Pygmy goats provided entertainment.

The owners were friendly and helpful, quick to respond when made aware of any issues, eg a blocked shower drain and loo paper running out.

Facilities were well maintained and it was good to see eco-friendly products being used.

Had a really enjoyable stay at Dogwood and plan to return in the future. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: May 2021 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: WHeaps 18 reviews from this member

 We arrived after a VERY wet couple of weeks, and found the site waterlogged, but the very friendly and helpful owner had arranged for two pre booked vans to share a hardstanding (which was more than big enough for two - it would be very generous for one!).

We were very happy with the arrangement, and meant our holiday was not spoiled.

In normal times, the grass area would have been very welcoming and spacious.

Facilities were modern and clean though a little on the basic side, but fine for a short break. Good location and quiet - we enjoyed watching the farm animals walking past our van!

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Beverleyrielly 1 review from this member

 A lovely campsite, very well maintained, chickens and goats walking around freely. Some lovely walks nearby, Dogs are allowed but must be kept on a lead. We went for 2 night's with our dog and was happily surprised at how chilled the chickens and goats are.

We stayed in willow field plot 11, (it was 25 per night with EHU) it was a nice size and lovely and sunny. We pre-ordered a fire bowl which cost 5 for the first night and 2. 50 for the second night and wood which is 5 a bag and it lasts a long time.

The owners Phil and Katy left the fire bowl and wood at our plot for our arrival( do be sure to put the fire bowl or your barbecue on the breeze blocks they supply. ) The owners are

Very nice and informative they sell eggs (2 for half a dozen ) which tasted great. Didnt use the toilets or showers as we took our own toilet tent( at no extra charge) but we did look at them and they were very clean. As was the washing up area.

The site is a very quite site and does not allow radios. You can unload and load your car at your plot but then have to park it in the car park which is not to far.

We had a lovely time there and will without doubt return.  


Date of Visit: August 2019  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Trailer Tent
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: CookieMonster8 1 review from this member

 Thoroughly enjoyed our break

Katy and Phil were more than helpful

Lovely scenic site, children loved the animals although the chickens nicked the dog food AND the ducks slurped the dogs bowl lol

Hot water at washing up is available through a kettle inside

Decent pub with food just a short walk across the fields

Would of liked a more sunny spot as it was cloudy when we arrived but minor glitch 
via mobile


Date of Visit: June 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: SaffronR 1 review from this member

 Fabulous site, perfection for me. The site is secluded and surrounded by mature trees which offer shelter from the wind. Sunlight is plentiful with shade also available for the hotter weather.

The site is level with well maintained grass. You can have a barbecue using stones around the site to protect the grass and can hire a fire pit. There is a wash up area, shower and one toilet. All were clean but basic. Good recycling area. There are ducks, jaunty little goats, cheeky hens and lots of beautiful bird song in the morning, a few bunnies hopping around too.

The owners are very friendly and take good care of the facilities. You can buy fresh eggs which I heard from other campers were delicious. If you are looking for serenity this is the place to go. EHU available, water tap and good recycling facilities.

Follow the directions on the website not sat nav. It's a compact site so would think that larger units may not be suitable. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Autosleeper03 5 reviews from this member

 As described this site is in a woodland environment, very pretty probably in the summer, we were there in January, so three quarters of the site closed off, due to the grass being too wet, which left just two pitches, no problem there,

Very friendly welcome, although not allowed on site until after 2pm, originally booked for 4 nights and paid deposit of 40 which covered the cost of two nights,

After viewing the facilities we decided two nights was more than enough, for 20 per night I would expect at least hot water in the basin, and washing up area which needed a good clean, only one toilet and shower - very cold- housed in what appeared to be a brick shed,

This could be a lovely site, if a little TLC were applied, I appreciate that is was January and cold everywhere, but a little heating or hot water shouldn't be too much to ask,

We will not be going back. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FranW 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely break here last weekend. The owners were very friendly and the pitches are in a very beautiful setting, plenty of trees and hedges.

Toilet and shower facilities are basic but nice and clean (if you're looking for a concrete shower block, this site is not for you). Free range chickens and ducks added colour and an open fire (fire bowls available to hire from the owners little shop) is a real treat.

Nice rural chilled out vibe. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rose6 1 review from this member

 I had a lovely stay at Dogwood, I really enjoyed seeing the chickens and ducks roaming free, being woken by wild bird song and church bells and watching wild rabbits play in the evening.

The site was small and green, and felt wild and not too organised. I had a choice of three places to pitch in two different fields. The fire bowls were great, the owners and their children friendly, chatty and helpful and the location great.

Having access to a kettle and microwave was brilliant, the only changes I would recommend were hot water in the washing up sink and hand basins, and an outdoor shower! Thanks to Phil and Katy for a lovely stay, I'll be back! 


Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Firewater 1 review from this member

 Lovely, unassuming site ideal for exploring 1066 country. The owners were particularly friendly and helpful with lots of local knowledge to hand.

The toilet block has recently been spruced up and was absolutely fine - nice that the shower is free. The site is surrounded by a variety of trees full of birdsong - great for birdwatching!

We enjoyed the local pub and had a fun night out in Hastings, too. Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kramed 1 review from this member

 Lovely campsite - we really enjoyed our stay there and will definitely return

Owners are lovely and friendly and nothing is to much trouble for them

The toilets and showers are cleaned throughout the day - only one shower - but the wait is never to long, if you time it right

They also sell home made sourdough bread, their own eggs locally sourced honey and yoghurt plus all other provisions needed for camping.

There is a great pub up the road and its a fantastic base for exploring the area.

Fantastic for star gazing too

A lovely quiet site 


Previous     34 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Dogwood Cottage Camping?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Dogwood Cottage Camping dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Rye      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3380 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement