Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Durham Heifer Certificated Site

Campsite Search > UK > North West England > Cheshire > Chester > The Durham Heifer Certificated Site > Reviews

The Durham Heifer Certificated Site
Nantwich Road
Broxton
Chester
Cheshire   (Browse area)
CH3 9JH
Tel: 01829 782050  or  07929 933991
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 15
Open: 01/01/2024 to 31/12/2024
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 39 Reviews
                9/10 from 39 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics for Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

This is a Camping and Caravanning Club Certificated Site, which accept caravans or motorhomes and usually tents.

Reviews:  39 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4  

Write your own Review to win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 and £150!

If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Leave as many reviews as you can for more chances - it only takes a few minutes



Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sam Francis 1 review from this member

 Our 3rd visit to this site and another great stay. It is basic but so it the price so you get what you pay for. Rebecca could not be more friendly or helpful and we will back back again.

The ground is pretty flat and quite scenic. Although quite close to the road, it did not bother our sleep.

We have used this site for car fest North as it is only a 20 minute walk to the venue and it means a peaceful night's sleep. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Seagoe1 2 reviews from this member

 Friendly people lovely little site road very busy we got tailgated coming down the road with a big lorry

He got a scare when I had to brake pulling into the site think it put the wind up him served him right

A couple of points there was no signal on our mobile phones or TV the worst one the shower at first I thought it said 15 minutes but it only stayed on for 1. 5minutes three minutes would be better wouldn't stay again because of poor reception and the shower didn't last long enough 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RESTLESS 16 reviews from this member

 Easy roads to get here and lovely flat pitches, hard standings to park on then generous amounts of grass to set up. Electricity at 3 per night was reliable. I had no phone signal at all, my husband a fluctuating one bar. We don't use the tv but another couple were struggling with the signal. Perhaps a stack of books or dvd's for the evenings?

There are two toilets and a pay shower. Clean water and toilet emptying.

A very peaceful site, lots of bird life to watch. There's quite a lot of road noise at peak times but it doesn't bother us. It's located amongst good attractions but you really do need a car or bike to see anything. There are no footpaths within walking distance 


Date of Visit: March 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Glasses 1 review from this member

 This is a really lovely, scenic, relaxing campsite.

The owners are so welcoming and friendly, nothings too much trouble if you need assistance with anything.

Toilets and shower block always immaculate and there's always hot water. It's an electric shower which is always a bonus in our book, rather than have to keep pressing a button.

The site has fields surrounding it with one next to the site which we loved watching the Sheep graze everyday.

The site is very child and Pet friendly. Our children loved riding their bikes and playing on the grass and sitting at the picnic tables.

Access is really easy no winding country lines to navigate.

Great access to local towns and Chester.

All round a little gem I would recommend to anyone! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: PhillyWilly 1 review from this member

 Visited this site at the weekend for the kids Birthday Party with a few outdoors activities planned too. Site is in a great location for walks (ask the owners about the batwalk to be done at dusk!). This is some of the best walking in the Cheshire countryside and is on the Sandstone Trail.

The site itself is a small relaxed site with a great pub in walking distance. Owners are very helpful and always make you feel welcome as well as Dog and Child friendly. Facilities are clean.

We were pleased that we were allowed to use our firepit as we like to sit out around the fire in the evenings. All in all, a great weekend. Will definitely be going back this year! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016
Reviewer: Webmaster

 We have been advised that in February 2015 the pub and campsite closed. However the campsite has now reopened from 2016, although the pub is now a private home.

If you know that this situation has changed in the future, please could you let us know.

Many thanks 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tubby 8 reviews from this member

 Went to this site over the bank holiday weekend and what a lovely time we had, the chap who owns it is one of the most friendly, helpful person I have met, he's not rushing for your money or throwing you off when you are leaving, there seems to be no set arriving or leaving times, which is a great help when you are packing to leave,

the pub on the site is also run by this chap, there is a good food selection on offer at very reasonable prices, the pub has a great selection of beers and some light entertainment on in the evening also you can take your dog in the bar area of the pub !

The site isnt too big but you are not all crammed in together again a bonus, this site is so not over run, and the prices are unbelievable cheap,

I will without a doubt be returning, all the above makes a change to how campsites are now being managed, this owner cares about his campers and wants to make it an enjoyable stay on his site. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Quixall 12 reviews from this member

 Great little site for a couple of nights & reasonable too 12 inc electric. Showers & loos immaculate. Pub friendly with large beer garden & reasonably priced. Offer on at moment 2 meals for 1 price. Eaten there before & food was good. Please note we last stayed here about 18 months ago & struggled to find it after booking. Reason - it has now changed its name to the Durham Heifer, phone number stayed same.  


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Indian 2 reviews from this member

 Visited this excellent site for new year. Dave and his wife have now taken over the pub and the kind and helpful service couldn't be better. As my grandson is in a wheelchair they went out of their way to accommodate him in the pub which is 100% wheelchair friendly.

The meals are as good as anywhere we have visited and are reasonably priced, 2 for 10

Would definitely go back and can recommend this site to anyone who wants a nice peaceful stay in Cheshire.

Plus an excellent pub with reasonably priced drinks and meals 


Date of Visit: November 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Bazbazbaz59 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for the Saturday Night with my wife in mid November in our Mazda Bongo Campervan. This small campsite is situated to the rear of the Olive Grove pub and has some electric hook ups.

There were only two caravans on the site during our stay so we didn't have any trouble using the communal shower, toilet block (1 toilet and 1 shower).

The site is set in beautiful countryside and being next to a busy main road didn't present a problem for us.

The Pub itself was fantastic, it had been recently modified but had retained its lovely warm log/coal fire.

We were welcomed by the manager and we ordered some food which was very reasonably priced, delicious and the portions were more than generous.

All in all we had a very pleasant stay 


Previous     39 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Post on X / Twitter  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win an Outdoor Revolution Prize and £150

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win an Outdoor Revolution Screenhouse 4 worth £299 AND £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances - submit your review here!

Outdoor Revolution strive to facilitate precious family leisure time by creating the most reliable, practical and exceptional value for money Family Tents, Caravan & Driveaway Awnings on the market, together with our endless vision for innovation and quality! Therefore, there has never been a better time to rediscover camping and caravanning with Outdoor Revolution!

Common Questions

Is The Durham Heifer Certificated Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Durham Heifer Certificated Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Durham Heifer Certificated Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Chester      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cheshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...













Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 06/07 to 07/07

An amazing fun weekend in July for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday. Children's entertainment, old steam engines, classic car displays, market stalls, and full catering and bar. Find out More and save 15 by booking in advance

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily.

Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2663 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend  -  Add a Missing Campsite

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2024


Advertisement



Advertisement



Advertisement