Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park Reviews

The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park
Acklington
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9BP
Tel: 01670 760320  or  07553 103062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: November 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Krach 2 reviews from this member

 Took a last minute camping trip and found this place on the way! Call at about 8pm to see about space. The gentleman that answered the phone was nice and kind and said they had plenty of space. Took my card details as we were arriving around midnight and pub would be closed. Quoted 10 for the night. Arrived around 11:30, really easy to find and picked a pitch near the toilet block.

Really easy to get set up, not a lot of people as its off season. There was some late night music but was fine as it wasn't loud and we were setting up anyway. Really enjoyable visit and toilet block was decent. The water was hot and really nice. On the way out we paid and the lady said it was 20 since we were on a electric pitch. As we didn't know she only charged us 10.

Wish we could have stayed longer. Got some excellent recommendations on where to visit and things to see. Was an overall enjoyable experience. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 Second visit this year ! enough said then. But in more depth great little/smallish site easy to find ( I did find it a lot easier travelling up the A1 north past the site), to come back down the B road for 4 mile, rather than negotiating the roundabouts and A roads from the south.

I stand by all I said before, great well kept MASSIVE pitches loads of room to manoeuvre, new owners are easy and very well mannered to get on with, with a lot of common sense, it was bank hol monday stayed another night and asked when we had to leave, when you are ready was the answer but don't stay til teatime ! was great for us no pressure to rush off of site, we left at 1pm.

21 per night for us full serviced 2 x adults 1 x child and for the site I think this was spot on, it meant we could go and have a meal in the pub, which was very VERY nice.

To all new staff keep up the great work it does show and is really appreciated. I don't hope, I know we will see you again.

Many thanks for a great weekend. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: SSForster 4 reviews from this member

 Easy to find site, good size pitched, mainly hardstanding - a few grass ones for tents.

Pitch suitable to fit a caravan, awning, car and a picnic table on with room to spare. You will need hardstanding pegs for awnings though and take a thick mat/carpet for the awning.

Despite the fact the East Cost railway is across the road you hardly notice it. Acklington railway station is a 2 minute walk away and the kids loved going down to watch the trains whizz through (they're really fast as don't stop) and were rather excited to get the drivers to beep the train horn!

We used the site primarily as a base for a wedding as it has no restriction on arrival back at site, but then decided to extend our stay. 3 miles from Warkworth, not far from Amble.

The park is small and is the play area for the pub, my 4yo wasn't interested in it, but liked the grass area to play. Both kids a little disappointed as no where flat to ride bikes/scooters.

The facilities are basic although kept clean and in a little need of repair to toilet seats.

They are in a porta-cabin which is reminiscent of the 70's. Showers are intermittent, I had a lovely shower (push button one) and was really hot with good water pressure. My husband complained the mens were cold, low pressure and just like a trickle. The showers are dark and enclosed, could do with a little light and more roomier cubicles. The problem I had was that you couldn't regulate the water temperature and I found it rather hot and didn't like that I felt that it was too hot for giving the children showers.

I feel that this site would benefit from more updated facilities, and definitely a family room with a bath in.

All in all despite the weather we had a good time and cannot complain for 20 a night with electric included. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: RonLou 1 review from this member

 Had a lovely stay at the Railway Inn Acklington, all hard standing small but that is not a problem, and being Railway Inn there was of course the trains but after a while you don't notice them so much.

Bar meals couldn't falter one bit the service and friendliness was superb.

When we stayed the owner ship changed so wish the new owners all the very best from us. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dixter 25 reviews from this member

 Good size pitches mostly with hard-standing. Alongside a quiet road and fairly busy but unobtrusive railway line.

It was a nice site and the owner was friendly. The toilet block however was not very clean on our visit and appeared to have been cobbled-together from old bits and pieces.

The toilet seat was not fixed to the basin and I fell off hitting my hip on the side. Some aspects were excellent and others poor. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kev_mach 3 reviews from this member

 We really liked this small campsite. Nice quiet pub on-site. Small number of pitches and very well spaced out. Nice clean toilet block. You can't complain with regards to the train noise; as the east coat mainline is only a few feet away, the clue is in the name of the site.

Anyway, it was the birds dawn chorus that woke us up at 4:30 and not the trains!

Another thing is the camping fees are very reasonable. We will return again soon. 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrmotorx 89 reviews from this member

 We have just spent Easter weekend/week here at the railway, we all really enjoyed our stayed and are really glad we booked for this site. All pitches are fully serviced which is a real bonus. Toilets, although are a porta cabin, was always very clean and more than respectable. Pitches are huge ! more than enough room for caravan + awning + car and are spaced so that getting on and off is really easy. Supermarket less than 5 min drive just down road and round the corner, otherwise AMBLE is 10mins at most drive away and really easy to get. Owners let us use THERE pizza takeaway menu to order some food and they delivered to the site.

Site is great, not huge, but big enough not to be small. Pitches are great size and spec, access is great very easy with no obstructions. Locally there is Alnwick castle which was great for us, also Holy Island ! check times though, we arrived ( 45mins from site) to find out we had 1 hour before the tide came in so we opted for a quick cuppa and then stand and watched the road disappear.

Staff are more than helpful, and are only too pleased to help. I booked for sat onwards, owner informed me there was only electric hook available from monday onwards, but then offered for us to be plugged in if we diddnt mind being in the corner until a pitch became vacant monday. I didn't mind at all and was really pleased we did, monday morning came and the owner came to our caravan with a list of pitches available from that day and was informed just to take our pick.
Great site, great location and great food. Many thanks 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: FluffyUK 1 review from this member

 A great site, with decent facilities and a nice pub and restaurant.

We spent a few nights over the Easter weekend at the southern end of the site, which is split over two parts. The half we were on is all gravel hard-standing with grass sections and newly planted hedges between most of the pitches. Most pitches have their own water supply and I am sure all have 16A electric hookup. The gravel (dolomite) is very messy/dusty with being new, so there was a lot of muck over our shoes and therefore the car mats etc. The site is located right next to a railway line, but it wasn't too much of an issue being in a caravan.

There is a small play area for kids but it only consists of a wooden play train now (there used to be swings I was told). The toilet block is okay. The showers and sinks were kept clean but the toilets and cubicles could do with a more thorough clean, as dirty marks persisted on the back of the toilet door and cubicle walls all through our stay. The chemical toilet disposal point is situated out of sight, behind the ladies end of the toilet block.

The pub/restaurant was great. Very welcoming and we all had great meals with no complaints. Prices were reasonable and staff were friendly.

Shopping-wise, there is little in the immediate area unless you travel a few miles in to Amble (3 miles) where we did our food shopping at a Tesco Express. Lots of places to visit within a few miles as far as tourist attractions are concerned (Druridge Bay, Alnmouth, Amble, Alnwick, Warkworth to name a few).

All in all, we had a good time, and our only grumble revolved around the 'no dog-walking on site' rule not being enforced/followed. Although a number of responsible fellow visitors kept their dogs on leads, others did not and allowed their dogs to wander the site. We saw owners allowing their dogs to urinate and defecate on the grass and gravel in front of pitches, which was the only space in which kids could play. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Krismcewan 12 reviews from this member

 This site is what you call great value for money. Hard Standing pitches 16A hookup, Water on tap pitch, you even get a picnic table. Pitches are huge and well spaced and separated form each other by a small hedge. That on top of the Bar/Restaurant which has good food and lovely atmosphere. Booking a table is advisable at the weekend. Toilet block was adequate and showers were warm. Small play park for under 10's and outdoor seating for those summer evenings. Plenty of space for Tents and tourers alike. Great location in the middle between Alnwick and Morpeth. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: I8blades 48 reviews from this member

 We were on one of the hard standings which was massive, and had its own water supply.

The site is next to the east coast mainline and there is on occasions quite a lot of train noise but it wasn't a prob. There are only a couple of trains a day that actually stop at Acklington station with is right by the site. There are 3 toilets and showers in both the mens and ladies. The toilet block is a porta cabin but its quite large although dated. The pub is nice with real ales, the food wasn't fantastic but it was ok. As others have said the owners are very friendly and welcoming, with plenty of advise of places to visit.

There isn't actually a dog walk on site but just over the railway bridge is a wood with plenty of paths.

The nearest shops are in Amble about three mile away, a bustling town with boat trips to see the puffins and seals.

There are plenty of beaches within easy reach.

We were there for just over a week with our grand daughter and were never at loose end. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1922 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement