Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park Reviews

The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park
Acklington
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9BP
Tel: 01670 760320  or  07553 103062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Dieseldoris 6 reviews from this member

 Next to Acklington railway station in the grounds of the Railway Inn which also has accommodation available. The location is ideal if you do not want to drive and wish to visit Newcastle or Berwick by train.

There are both grass and hard standing pitches. All pitches are spacious and sectioned off with EHU. There are plenty of dog walks near by. There is some train noise with trains running after 10. 30 pm, but you soon become accustomed to the noise. Waste disposal was clean and well maintained.

Did not use the toilet block so unable to comment.

We had a meal in the restaurant which was quite busy and the food was excellent. Would recommend this site for a short stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Johnnyroy 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent little campsite, owners very friendly. Toilets, never ran out of toilet roll, showers were very clean. Good lighting on an evening. Pub food was good.

Children enjoyed playing on the wooden train alongside the pub. Lots to do in the surrounding area, Amble market on a Wednesday. Trawler gave us some fish for our tea and the local pub landlord prepared it for us.

Cragside National Trust house is local and brilliant for children and adults alike. Beautiful beaches and castles. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Global8six 6 reviews from this member

 Stayed for a weekend in our caravan. Small site with generous pitches. We stayed on a grass pitch as we prefer it but there were also hard standings available. Our pitch had its own water supply which we could have used as a 'permanent' supply as you would on a Club Super Pitch. Site is nicely laid out with flowers and shrubs. Everyone we spoke to said they loved staying here!

It is part of the Railway Inn pub so there's lovely beer and great quality food available (see Trip Advisor for that bit).

Susan, who greeted us and showed us where to pitch, is lovely and made us very welcome. There is a road that passes close by and also the East Coast main line but genuinely, this did not bother us at all. The site is just so well laid out and relaxing that we forgot about any (occasional) background noise.

We didn't use the washing block as we use the onboard facilities so I can't comment.

So, if you want a relaxing and fun weekend in a great pub/restaurant garden, with access to Warkworth and the beautiful Northumberland coast and countryside; with good beer and super service at a very reasonable price, you'll certainly achieve it here.

We absolutely loved it and will be back as soon as we can! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ChrissieT 16 reviews from this member

 A beautiful area of the country, with the site an ideal central location.

Flat site, with level pitch and trees surrounding. Was probably a goods yard as some pegs were difficult to get in.

Facilities reasonable, though outside sink for dishwashing was unplumbed so we had to use deep sink in Ladies. (Good excuse for husband! He said there wasn't one in Gents. ) But plenty of hot water, and clean.

Pub served lovely food; so nice that we ate there both nights.

Some train noise, but not a problem.

Happy to return. 


Date of Visit: February 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 605 reviews from this member

 Spent one night here as a last minute trip. It's close to the A1 but set in an isolated location near Acklington.

The site is located at The Railway pub. It serves excellent food and is a really welcoming country pub. Locally, Warkworth is worth a visit - great castle and beach. Also, Amble is handy for facilities. Both are about 3 miles from the site.

Facilities on site are fine. They are a bit dated but they do the job more than adequately.

18 per night for camper with EHU.

Great spot - will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Ganderson888 21 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this excellent level site for one night while passing on the A1. It's based in the front grounds of a great pub. The area to the right as you enter has individual gravel pitches with EHU, an adjacent grassed area and a picnic bench. The left side appeared to be all grass so is ideal for tents. Pub has an large covered seating area outside so is ideal for families. They served excellent, well presented food even if portions were a tad on the small side for me. Real ale (Hobgoblin) was spot on but had to try a second to make sure it was okay! The Facilities block is well situated for all pitches but are a bit on the small side but wasn't a major concern. It's a great site if you're a trainspotter as it's right next to the East Cast mainline but you have to walk 100 yards into the station to see the trains.

We'll definitely go back if passing by again. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Missteree 27 reviews from this member

 Well laid out site with very spacious pitches. Hard standing was very chunky? Not quite sure how else to describe it!

Toilets and showers were clean but a bit dated and the shower cubicles are on the small side. Plenty of hot water, soap etc.

Sadly didn't get to try pub food (which looked fantastic) as we didn't realise we would have to book in advance.

Probably would not return to the site because of the noise. Even though you do get used to them, the trains are very loud and the weekend we stayed there was also noise from some kind of generator at a nearby industrial unit. Other reviewers have played the train noise down, hence why we booked in the first place. Obviously none of this is the fault of the owner but this was not quite the restful weekend we had planned. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Afortunado 12 reviews from this member

 This camp site is level, very clean and well looked after. The family that run the site are very pleasant and helpful. The toilet block is small for the site if it was full. The food in the restaurant is good and value for money.

There are no amenities in the village, you would need to travel 3 miles to Warkworth.

You can take the train from the station next to the site to Newcastle or Berwick but there is only about 2 trains per day and none on a Sunday.

I enjoyed my stay here and would gladly come back. 


Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tommy golf 1 review from this member

 Just spent a week at the Railway Inn whilst playing the golf courses round about. We had a lovely time, food was excellent (steak night brilliant). Service great and staff very friendly.

Pitches were very spacious, with plenty of Ron for awnings and cars. There is even a little wooden table and bench at each pitch, very handy.

Will definitely go back, hopefully very soon.

Only one small gripe, there is no wifi on site, but managed to survive.

Thank you for a very relaxing week. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vicky young 3 reviews from this member

 Thankyou, we've had a fantastic weekend at the railway inn. This is a lovely little site, nice pub and restaurant with really good food! Only wish there had of been a little shop on site or a bit closer by as you have to drive to the nearest shop which is about 3 miles away. Nevertheless, thanks again for the great hospitality, we had a great time. We will be back! 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1681 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement