Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park Reviews

The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park
Acklington
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9BP
Tel: 01670 760320  or  07553 103062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ambleby 1 review from this member

 This site is wonderfully situated within a lovely area.

Unfortunately the site itself is rather disappointing. Although previously advised of the closeness of the railway we did not realise it was the mainline to Scotland we stayed for 4 nights and not one of those was undisturbed for the night the noise was very loud.

Although the facilities were adequate, I am afraid they appeared not to have been attended or cleaned for some time, to the state we decided to find other washing facilities, my wife refused point blank to use the toilets.

Before booking this site I read the reports on this site. I am confuse as to how the site can have apparently slipped so much in such a short time.

I have also read reports after we stayed, I do not think we are super critical, so find these a little hard to understand.

It was the least clean of all the sites we visited in the UK.

The state of the shower block, toilets and washing facilities is so important.

In the last few years the sites have improved so much, this one is a shame.

As a positive the people are very nice! 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: BRITAINS GOT TALENT 2 reviews from this member

 We stopped here for 1 night

1st time here, the pitches are huge plenty of room for your van & awning plus your car

The site is small but is spotless the shower block is one of the best you will come across

It was lovely to sit in the beer garden

It is ideal for the Northumbria coast & the Scottish borders

Although we live quite close to the site we will be going back it, s a lovely place to sit & chill

The owners & staff are very helpful & polite

Well worth a visit but book in advance because it will get busy 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ianjonathan 1 review from this member

 Just can back from a lovely weekend break from the Railway Inn with my Wife, 8 year old daughter, 9 month old son and dog, The site was clean and well laid out, 22 pitches with a mixture of hard and grass pitches, with electric and some with water tap free of charge. Pitches are huge, toilet and shower block are clean and warm, they seemed to be well cared for and in good condition. The park is for under 10's is a bit small but ideal to lose the kids for 15-20 minutes while setting up.

The pub itself is great, has activities on at certain times of the week, has an outdoor drinking area, dogs are aloud in the bar area, separate from the restaurant, however food can be eaten in the bar. The food was fantastic but a little expensive for us.

The site is approximately 4 miles from the Town of Walkworth with its Castle grounds which is worth a visit, and also beach a further 3/4 mile from the castle. Amble is also about 4 miles away which has a good little shopping street and market on the harbour side on Sunday mornings. A fantastic site for the start of the season and will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Applebys 2 reviews from this member

 We had a lovely 2 night stay at this site.

Only a small site but very well kept, owners and staff in the pub really friendly.

Toilets and showers were clean and warm.

It is close to the railway line so you do hear the trains but this didn't bother us at all - our little boy loved it!

Would recommend having a meal in the Railway Inn Pub too - It was lovely. Gorgeous food!

Some lovely places nearby to visit too - we spent a day at Whitehouse Farm - brilliant!

Would stay here again - very nice site in a lovely part of the country. 


Date of Visit: February 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Steveanna 1 review from this member

 We have just had a weekend here. It was a good site for us as there was a lot of Geocaching in the local area. The staff were very polite and very helpful. People on the site were very friendly. The toilet block was very clean plenty of hot water no matter what time of the day you went. The whole campsite was really clean. There are only 22 pitches and no tents but a very very nice site.

We did hear the trains but after a while you tended not to notice then. The pitches were very large and spacious.

The food in the pub was to die for so so nice. We will definitely be revisiting. Thank you for a great Stay. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helainandpete 1 review from this member

 We have just spent 2 nights at the Railway Inn. We chose the coldest weekend we've had for ages to try out our new 1990 swift dannette, and had a lovely weekend.

The site was perfect for our needs, big hard standing sites, perfect for a quick winter caravanning weekend, there's also grassy area for caravans and tents. A nice little park that the kids enjoyed, and basic but perfectly adequate toilet and shower block, well lit and warm!

Best of all a lovely pub and restaurant, dogs allowed in the bar, we had two really tasty meals, not your usual pub fodder! Oh, also surrounded by beautiful Northumbrian countryside and three miles from the coast.

We will definitely be back! 


Date of Visit: January 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Sarsy4 1 review from this member

 If you are planning to stay around northumberland, this is a good choice. What a friendly place to stay, first night we got there (Tuesday) we got asked to enter the quiz. Didn't do so well but had a good time anyway. Great location for site seeing holy island was only thirty five miles away and well worth a visit. (a good breakfast place just near the causeway as well. )the railway served good food and good beer. The facilities were excellent, immaculate toilet and shower block. Highly recommended. I will definitely be making a return later on in the year. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nicole13 3 reviews from this member

 Lovely rural site (would highly recommend the use of rock pegs)

Has a toilet and shower block with washing up sink outside.

Pitches are a little small length wise. Our Hi Gear Zanobia 6 guides would have been too long for the pitch if we hadn't wound them shorter.

T he Railway Inn is expensive for a drink 3 for a pint of real ale.

Would recommend this site for a nice quiet time.

Is ideal for visiting Alnwick, Seahouses. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Patanddella 2 reviews from this member

 Had a great stay here, toilet block kept clean plenty of hot water,

Good sized pitches,

Some noise from the train line but failed to notice after a while, the upside to this is you can catch the train along with your bikes or hiking gear and leave your unit on site, well worth a visit -

Good value for money, beautiful beaches along the coast, my favourite Druridge bay miles and miles onfsand dunes and long beaches ideal for dogs, children, walkers, kite flyers, room for all.

We would return to this site. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Sweetpea1 8 reviews from this member

 Spent bank holiday weekend here which was very enjoyable the owners were very friendly and helpful

The pitches were huge and the site was well maintained with a new toilet block with lots of hot water

The pub was great with a live singer on on the sunday night even the area outside was well covered

It was a lovely relaxing weekend which we enjoyed

The noise from the trains was a bit disturbing at first but then you got used to it and did not even notice them going past

We will definitely pay a visit again 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1744 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement