Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Morpeth > The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park Reviews

The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park
Acklington
Morpeth
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE65 9BP
Tel: 01670 760320  or  07553 103062
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 22
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 65 Reviews
                8/10 from 65 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  65 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Terryk2000 1 review from this member

 Positives. Excellent pitches with EHU and water, great pub with good food, entertainment on selected nights (70's 80's rock night when we were there (-: ), friendly owners who really go out of their way to make you feel welcome.

Negatives. Trains running close by on a regular basis through the day, but they didn't really impact that much on our stay.

Overall a great little site which we will be visiting again sometime in the future. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hutchinsonfamily 5 reviews from this member

 First visit to this site and couldn't fault it. Excellent value for money. Came for a weekend and ended up staying all week. With 4 young daughters the lovely park kept them entertained.

We had a hard standing pitch with electric hook up, the pitch size was huge, with plenty of room between pitches. Toilet blocks not as good as cc standard but still clean.

On site pub railway inn very nice, had lovely meal sat by log burning stove. They do entertainment on certain nights.

No dog walk on site. We ventured to warkworth few miles down the road, lovely little walks by the river. Lovely village, well worth a look.

It is right next to railway station, I never found it a problem and you soon get used to the noise.

My only small criticism would be no signed waste water point, we used small drain at side of toilet block and also fresh water taps not signed Had taps on odd pitches but some people had connected them to van. Seen people filling water, where others were emptying waste water.

Overall excellent site, well worth the money and will definitely return soon. 


Date of Visit: February 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bryoak1958 35 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this little site to be close to Amble and visit friends and what a lovely little site it is. It's next to the railway inn pub obviously, which is a very nice country pub with very nice helpful staff (DOGGY FRIENDLY ALSO). The meals here are very nice, fish was spot on and the steak was really lovely, nice wine £11 per bottle, not too bad. Three course meal, two bottles of wine £50, not bad

Hardstanding ok. People complained about showers but plenty water, nice and hot, very warm inside, cant complain. No dog walking facilities on site, but go over rail bridge down to the right 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Les and Jenny 24 reviews from this member

 Having read the reviews, we booked here for four nights whilst visiting the area to see old friends. A telephone call just before setting out confirmed the site hadn't suffered from the floods and on arrival, we had the choice of several hard standing pitches.

The railway didn't bother us in the least and in fact, I walked onto the Acklington station platform for some shots of the electrics pounding through the village.

Facilities: more than adequate and perfectly in order for a small site. A large hard standing was allocated for the van and as the site was not busy, I was grateful to have my very own water hookup which saved the effort of humping water barrels about the site.

Pub: a most delightful country pub and restaurant with a variety of freshly cooked meals at reasonable prices.

We'll certainly consider booking again if we visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisw4266 3 reviews from this member

 We used this as a base for exploring Northumberland it's an ideal location for Alnwick castle, holy island and there is many castles in the area if that's your thing. It's also close to some lovely seaside towns.

The site is basically two fields either side of the pub, with the toilet/shower block next to the pub. The block was always clean on the 6 days we were there and we had some bad weather so I was quietly impressed. Pitches are a good size and had no drainage problems. Even though it is only a small site and was busy it never felt crowded or noisy.

Food from the pub was good and well priced, one night we wanted a meal but the kids where tired and complained about getting changed and going out, so the staff at the pub wrapped our meals in foil and we took them back to the tent to eat, this was a nice touch I thought.

To sum up a good reasonably priced site clean hot showers, good size pitches in a great location for exploring Northumberland. Please bear on mind it's called the railway in for a reason there are regular trains passing but this wasn't intrusive and didn't disturb is at all. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dieseldonkey 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for a 3 days in July 2012 as it is 10 miles from Alnwick.

The site is quite small but has has a play park for younger children and a nice pub for adults. The pitch area is surrounded by trees preventing any real views but beyond to the south, there are fields full of sheep and cattle. I didn't mind the 'moo-ing' and 'baa-ing' as its sounds of the countryside but some may want to ask for a pitch on the north side of the park away from the livestock.

Having an interest in railways I didn't mind the trains going by. Its right next door to Acklington railway station on the east cost mainline but only two trains stop each way here on a daily basis for either Newcastle or Alnmouth.

Its well placed to visit Alnwick, Amble, Warkworth and Alnmouth. It would also make a good overnight stop if travelling on the A1. There are some local shops in surrounding villages for supplies but nothing on site other than good pub food.

Toilets are dated but provide everything you need them to. TV reception was also good. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hank B Skank 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a lovely area. Great beaches nearby. Entertainment in the pub Friday night was very entertaining! Beer not bad (Guinness very good!), friendly staff.

Toilets could have been better cleaned but not too bad (not as spotless as previous reviews have indicated, but not the worst). Did see someone using the single washing up sink for clothes washing! Not very hygienic! (Used a plastic bowl after that!). More of a problem with the customers and general ignorance than an issue with the site or staff.

Trains not really a problem, but no dog walking on site was more of a problem, there is no direct access to a dog walking area from the site so you have to walk along the edge of a road (not very busy usually) and over the railway bridge (walking inthe road here) if you turn left out of the gates. Turning right, there is another footpath with safer access (paths at the side of the road). On the plus side, this means there is not a dog mess problem on the site as you have to take your dog elsewhere for exercise.

Very reasonably priced though, good TV reception was a bonus as the Olympic thing was happening at the time of our visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JMW101 1 review from this member

 Great! friendly welcome, large pitches, excellent toilet facilities.

The pub is lovely, fantastic meals.

Park is great for under 10's.

Definitely recommend this site.

It is next to the train line and you do hear the trains passing, but not very noticeable and certainly doesn't spoil your stay.

Amble only 3 miles away, car boot sale Saturday, market on Sunday. Boat trips, beach, super chip shop, Tesco, ice cream parlour, take aways. 3 miles to warkworth and it's castle, lovely shops and traditional pubs. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Spriteeyes 8 reviews from this member

 Friendly welcome, large pitches, excellent toilet facilities and the pub does fantastic meals

Amble only 3 miles away, car boot sale Saturday, market on Sunday. Castles within an hours drive as is Alwick Gardens and Castle (do not allow dogs). Also Seahouses was a nice day out too!

I would recommend this site. Just a tip when pithcing up make sure you get a sunny pitch as it gets cold in the shade. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ClaireyH 1 review from this member

 We have just spent the Jubilee weekend at the Railway Inn campsite and will certainly use it as a base for our next Northumbrian adventure.

The owners are very welcoming and the bar staff super helpful. On the Sunday they had a hog roast and party along with a great live band and even though the restaurant was closed they still sorted out a sticky toffee pudding especially for my little boy.

The food is excellent and the menu very different from your typical pub fodder – we ate at a different pub one night which, whilst it was very pleasant, was not a patch on the Railway.

On the way into Warkworth there is the Morwick Farm Ice Cream Parlour which you must visit – probably don’t do it the 1st day you arrive because you will be back everyday to sample more flavours!

The area for tents is small but that makes the site so much friendlier, it is advisable to book ahead. The site is very clean and the facilities great, the only thing I would suggest would be wooden boards in the shower area.

This trip goes down as one of our best camping experiences we’ve visited beaches, seen castles galore and even got up close and personal with the puffins and seals.

We will definitely be back. 


Previous     65 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is The Railway Inn Country Cottages And Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Morpeth      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2104 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement