Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Monturpie Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Fife > By St Andrews > Monturpie Caravan Park Reviews

Monturpie Caravan Park
St Andrews Road
Upper Largo
By St Andrews
Fife   (Browse area)
KY8 5QS
Tel: 01333 360254
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 28
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 55 Reviews
                9/10 from 55 Reviews

Photos (15)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <5 miles 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  55 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jim Begg 3 reviews from this member

 Spent another week down at Monturpie and it was as usual brilliant and very relaxing. As it was my wife's birthday we had friends come down and had a meal in the restaurant and it was first class as usual.

I was very pleased to see that Jack and Alistair was back as wardens to keep us all in order.

Looking forward to spring and getting back 


Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Johnt780 10 reviews from this member

 One of the best sites I have been to large pitches all with wonderful views of the forth and stayed there for a week.

Staff were very friendly and helpful even to the extent of finding a walking stick for my wife who had left hers at home. I must mention Jack who was always there and willing to help with any problems that might arise.

Will certainly be going back again next year 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lizzie120464 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 2 nights and booked another 4 night stay before we left. Owners Duncan & Linda are very friendly and helpful, Duncan recommended, and booked 'The Upper Largo Hotel' for us for dinner and insisted on dropping us of at the door, very kind and the food there was very good. The site is Picturesque and Peaceful with amazing views over the Forth estuary.

The on-site restaurant wasn't open on the Friday night (hence the reason for the trip out to the Upper Largo Hotel) but was on the Saturday night and what a treat it was. We opted for the 'High Tea' menu and we were not disappointed, the food is fantastic and not expensive.

Our non-caravaning friends stayed in the on-site Guest House and were very impressed.

Facilities could be better, only 2 showers for Gents, only 1 shower for Ladies plus 1 in disabled room.

Duncan is having new Self Catering apartments added and they look fantastic. All in all this is a Great site with great owners, and is most likely to become our weekend hideaway. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Rolling Stones 1 review from this member

 We booked for one week, and stayed for two!. This is a repeat of what happens to us at Monturpie every year!

It is such a peaceful (being an adult only site helps!) and relaxing location with magnificent views, but there is also so much to see and do within easy reach.

Facilities are good and there is always a friendly welcome.

As usual we like to attend the annual Pittenweem Arts festival about 20mins. Drive.

This year we visited the Secret Bunker near Crail and the Botanic Gardens with a Butterfly House in St. Andrews for the first time, both well worth a visit.

There is an excellent bus service to St Andrews, Leven and further afield to Edinburgh and Glasgow from the site entrance.

Monturpie is the perfect location for visiting the scenic villages of the East Neuk, whether by car or by foot on the superb coastal paths.

Monturpie Farmhouse has also a bed & breakfast with an excellent restaurant. We had a celebration there last October with ten friends. The meal and service was excellent!

Thank you again for another lovely stay. Hope to be back soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paddyvan 7 reviews from this member

 Good bits. Quite a nice little site with staff throughout who are friendly and helpful enough allowing us to pick our pitch, quite well placed for exploring Fife, toilets while old are very clean and well kept, although never ate in the restaurant it looked nice and well attended by locals and caravan owners alike. ( but closes at 6pm )

Not so good bits. Site while tidy enough could do with a gardener to cut the grass and maybe add some flower beds, the views suggested on the website are only visible from pitches 1 to 6, there are partial views from other pitches towards Leven etc.

The chunky stone paths quite difficult to walk on especially for someone who has difficulty walking / disabled, their website is out of date and still quoting 2015 prices at 16-18 when it is actually 20 a night. Whist this site did not suit me it could suit others.

Overall still a nice little site. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Llady 1 review from this member

 Just back from ten days at Monturpie Adult Only Caravan site at Upper Largo. So peaceful and relaxing with superb views over the Firth of Forth. Quality and quantity of food served at the restaurant on site is excellent. Toilets clean and tidy. Ten minute walk to Upper Largo, though no shops there. Have to jump in car or take local bus to shops. Will definitely be returning, the views are amazing. 


Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jim Begg 3 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend at the beginning of July and as usual had a pleasant weekend, but alas it was not up to the usual standard as there was no warden on site. I am sorry but this does not go down well for two reasons, (1) As I am a dog owner and this campsite has a lovely walk be it small but adequate, we all expect dog owners to clean up after there dogs as we mostly all do, but the couple with the Hobby caravan with the two black Labradors that let them rum loose with no leads and refused to pick up the mess the dogs left. And (2) It is a site policy that if you book with the caravan club you get it at a considerable bit cheaper but have no access to the toilets or facilities as there was no warden it was a free for all. Lovely site and owners but need to get Jack and Alistair back to keep them all in line. I hope this gives the urge to other campers to name and shame those that spoil the break for the rest of us 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Alan Ross 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first real holiday visit to Fife in around 25 years and we were delighted to have found Monturpie Caravan Site, just outside Upper Largo.

On arrival we were met by the owner, Duncan, who made us feel very welcome. He gave us the opportunity to have a walk around the site and select the pitch of our choice, which we did. Lots of space around all the pitches with fantastic views out across the Firth of Forth.

Good hook up facilities and water points close at hand with waste disposal very convenient. The toilet facilities were very clean with good, hot showers and even music on in the mornings! A nice dog walk, albeit short, is very handy for pet owners.

You have to sample the on site conservatory restauarant. We went for lunch - 2 courses and a large drink each for about 35 which was good value given the excellent quality of food and service.

Monturpie is a great base to explore all the Fife fishing villages and beautiful walks on the Fife Coastal Path, eg Lower Largo to Shell Bay.

Don't forget to visit top quality farm produce shops at Ardross Farm near St Monans and Blacketyside Farm near Lundin Links.

We had originally booked into Monturpie for 5 nights but stayed for 10! Thanks very much Duncan for your hospitality. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: ProfessorB 8 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 2 weeks end of June just into July at this adults only site which has a reasonable, though not too long dog walk. The large pitches made life easy to pitch the van, awning and car - some hardstanding but most are on grass. The small toilet block was always clean, and the free hairdryer, and handcream were a nice touch for us ladies, and perhaps even men! Similarly the pot wash area was always clean. We used the laundry machines, but unfortunately could not use the laundry sink due to some doors being stored across that space. There is building work to make flats ongoing adjacent to the toilet block though noise from this was never a problem. One improvement could be to make a proper new arrivals area so that campers who do not know the site do not drive too far without knowing they have to take quick left turn to get to most of the pitches. Signage could be improved, e. G. How to reach the farmhouse when the reception office is closed. There is a restaurant on site which always seemed busy but we did not use it this time. The views across the Firth of Forth were superb and there is plenty to do within short driving distances. The East Neuk villages are charming as is St Andrews. We were brave and drove the short distance to the Park and Ride facility at the north end of the Forth Road Bridge and enjoyed a day in Edinburgh. We are returning to this site again in August. 


Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: MrEasom 1 review from this member

 Visited this wonderful campsite on the edge of upper largo overlooking largo bay. Greeted by the camp warden who gave us choice of pitches - very helpful and polite.

The facilities were very clean - spotless.

Will definitely come again.

The weather whilst we were there was great so helped to make the holiday so successful.

If you come here do visit St Andrews - only 10miles away. 


Previous     55 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Monturpie Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Monturpie Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Monturpie Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near By St Andrews      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Fife

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5332 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement