Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Woodstock > Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bladon Road
Woodstock
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX20 1PT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 02/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Iwalani 163 reviews from this member

 This was our third time at this site - earlier visits were in May 2008 and June 2009, which we thoroughly enjoyed. This time it was a slightly less pleasant experience due to the location of our pitch.

The quietest and sunniest pitches tend to be found if you turn right after checking in. Unfortunately, we arrived at 4. 30, later than expected due to traffic problems on the M25. In addition, we were told that quite a few of the pitches were not usable, as they were very worn after heavy use during the summer and had been re-seeded. This meant there were very few pitches free, and all of them on the left side of the site, close to the very noisy main road and in the shadow of large trees. It was also a long walk to the only toilet block.

The toilet block itself is now accessed by a keypad with a code number (it used to be by an actual key). It was beautifully maintained but I had to queue for a shower in the morning, so I would imagine the facilities are pretty stretched in July and August.

Mobile phone reception is quite poor, which might bother some people. The site is also quite poorly signposted and it's easy to miss the turning - the easiest thing to look for is the 'Coach Park' sign (for visitors to Blenheim Palace. )

However, the area is lovely with lots of things to see and do. There are some very nice pubs and restaurants in Woodstock, and Oxford has something to offer all ages - kids would love the Pitt Rivers Museum with its shrunken heads, one of which was the model for the talking head on the Night Bus in the Harry Potter films! 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Turnipmeister 14 reviews from this member

 What a wonderful site. Not as large as a lot of the sites and it is a little gem. Arrived to a warm welcome from the wardens who were all to happy to help throughout our weekend stay. We were told to go and find a pitch to our liking, as we had arrived at around 2. 30pm there were still quite a few available in either bright sunny pitches or shaded pitches.

Set up on our sunny pitch, EHU had a TV hook up as well, something we class as essential these days. As it was friday, and unluckily the fish and chip van was not there that evening, we took a walk into Woodstock, about 15 minutes, passing Blenheim Palace, and found the local chippy. Then we went for a couple of beers, found a pub selling real ale, which was a bonus, and went back to get the fish and chips and ate them on the village green.

Back at the site, sat outside for a while, enjoying the warm evening, had a nice surprise when some bats flew above us through the trees around dusk.

Showers and toilets are spotless, as usual on CC site. Next morning took 5 minute walk to bus stop into Oxford, only £4. 90 return which is good when you consider how hard it is to park in Oxford.

Recommend a visit to the Ashmoleum Museum, free entry but donations accepted. We were thinking of visiting Blenheim Palace on Sunday, usually £19. 50 entry but only £11. 50 with your receipt from the site, which is a bargain.

Anyway, after talking to our neighbours, they told us that you need at least one full day, maybe two to see everything, so we decided to leave it for another time when we visit.

Will definitely be returning to this site, for the peace and quiet, local beer and Blenheim. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ladyverycherry 2 reviews from this member

 Just back from a good 2 weeks holiday at Bladon Chains. A very busy site with a lot of coming and going. Lots to watch if you are sitting around!

Normal Caravan Club features so no problems there.

The only issue we had with the site was the traffic noise. Other reviews have said that pitching on the left-hand side of the site was fine. We followed that advice and still ended up next to the main A road through to Bladon and onto Whitney, not quiet at all.

So if you want a more peaceful pitch, we suggest you aim for the middle of the site, away from both of the busy roads. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David Klyne 231 reviews from this member

 To find site:- From Oxford or Woodstock on the A44 at roundabout take the A4095 signed for Bladon/Witney. After 350 metres turn right into minor road and site is on the left in 200 metres.

Bladon Chains is open from the end of March to early November for members only. There 92 pitches, about a third are on gravel hardstandings. The site is divided into two sections either side of Reception. Pitches are set out along each side of the site roads leaving plenty of space in the middle so it does not seem crowded. Whilst the pitches are level the topography of the site is undulating. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and they also have a digital TV hook-up but you must provide your own cable. There is a single toilet block situation approximately in the middle of the site and includes a wash up area and laundry. There are also service points in each pitching area plus a single recycling point. For younger children there is a playground and a knockabout area for older ones. Reception sells milk and newspapers can be ordered. Near to Reception is an information hut with details of attractions out and about. The site does not have WiFi and I found that mobile broadband via my Vodafone dongle could only get a GPRS signal. Near the site entrance there is a late arrivals area which can take about 3 units although I could not see any hook-up points. During our stay there was a mobile Fish and Shop that called on Tuesday evenings.

This site is only a stone’s throw from Blenheim Palace where Club members get a discount on production of their payment receipt. It was the birth place of Winston Churchill and he is buried at Bladon Church which is a reasonably short walk from the campsite. Woodstock is in walking distance of the site ( alongside the busy A44) with a selection shops, pubs and restaurants. Oxford city centre is half an hour away by bus. For shopping the is a good small Co-Op supermarket in Woodstock but for a wider choice you would need to travel to Oxford. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Nelmo 23 reviews from this member

 Just spent a great week at Bladon Chains CC site.

To be honest, the site itself was nothing special; standard CC fare with good, clean facilities (although could do with an update), neat lawns, small playground and playing field, a few basics on sale in the reception.

The best aspect of the site is the surrounding area; Blenheim Palace is amazing (but expensive) and the village of Woodstock (walking distance) is very pretty, with a great selection of pubs and restaurants and even a good little museum.

Oxford is a great city (like a larger version of Woodstock) - I'd highly recommend the Natural History museum which is, in parts, better than it's London counterpart.

There is a good, 16-mile bike ride from the site (details on the CC website) which takes in the grave of the other famous resident of the area, JRR Tolkien.

Overall, a perfectly reasonable site made good by its surroundings. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Meacock 10 reviews from this member

 This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this site on our way home from Isle of Wight, it is quite a large site, in a lovely setting, and very relaxing.

Check in was easy and we could pick our own pitch, we chose one next to the play area, it has been previously mentioned that the road was noisy however we were pitched next to the road and cannot recall hearing much noise at all.

Nearby Woodstock is a quaint town to wander around, a few miles down the road is Kiddlington which is bigger and has more takeaways and supermarkets.

We had a lovely walk into Bladon and visited the grave of Winston Churchill. We only stayed here one night but we are planning to return for a longer stay, 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: NRGRAY12 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Bladon Chains for two nights as I had a hospital appointment in Oxford. We will definitely return for a leisure break. We found the site very peaceful and friendly.

The wardens could not have been nicer or more helpful. Our water pump broke, and they gave us detailed directions to a number of accessory dealers, who fixed us up.

The pitches were well spaced, and handy for water, waste disposal and electricity. The toilets and showers were very clean and well maintained and there is a dish washing area.

It is, as mentioned, a short walk to Bladon Church, which makes for a pleasant evening stroll. We had a lovely meal at the Black Prince pub, which is in nearby Woodstock. Very reasonably priced, good beer and excellent food by the river.

It is a short drive to Oxford, which is well served by its park and ride. Makes more sense than driving in and trying to park. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

 We've just spent a great weekend at this lovely Caravan Club site - it's got everything you expect from a club site. Check in is straight forward but you have to choose your pitch carefully if you want to avoid the traffic noise mentioned in other reviews!

We found that if you go to the area on the left as you drive in and choose a pitch on the grassy area everything is fine. We were on pitch 83 and if you pitch facing West (ie away from the road) you get nice views and sun into the late evening. If you go to the right, you are nearer to the A44 which is very busy during the day.

There is just one toilet/shower block which, although quite tired looking, was perfectly adequate and always very clean. As with all club sites, the wardens, who are very friendly, work hard to keep everything in A1 condition.

The shop sells basics, but there is a Co-op just down the road in Woodstock if you need more.

There is a small children's' play area - though we never saw anyone using it, a large recreation field (ditto!) and a short dog walk leading into the field opposite the site which is a great place for the dogs to let off steam - our two Irish Setters loved it.

There are lots of walks direct form the site through the Blenheim estate and just down the road in Bladon you can visit Winston Churchill's grave.

We were only there for a weekend but I guess you can easily visit Oxford and there are plenty of other attractions nearby.

We will certainly return when we visit the area again. 


Date of Visit: March 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Bigdogandbitch 9 reviews from this member

 Visited Bladon Chains on the way down to dorset/devon, first day of the season but everything was ready for new arrivals, wardens very helpful even though they had problems with the site due to rain affected areas. Stayed here before so we know the area, good local shops and places to eat in Woodstock, Bladon, very good for visit to Blenheim Palace.

Shower block up to normal caravan club standards, very clean and lots of hot water at all times.

Only bugbear is the gate lock at night, you have to undo a padlock to access site after 8/9pm.

Will return again as we like the area so much. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kargus 36 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend here, lovely hot weather, and agree with most other comments here, but you are very near Oxford airport, which is quite busy so you get some noise from here, and you are also right next to the main A44 which is very busy so wherever you are on the site you will get some noise from here too.
This site is lovely, but situated in the wrong place really. The hardstanding pitches are only long enough for a single axle, from one end to the other, you don't have any room at the back and your jockey wheel is right on the boundary of the site road.
We didn't need levelling blocks on pitch 43 it was fine. And it was a grass pitch we picked due to lack of room on the hardstanding ones. Woodstock is a lovely little place, and if you have dogs and you want a cafe/tearooms, go to Harriets Tearooms, they have 2 small table and chairs outside the front, but when we said we had the dogs with us, the lady told us to come through the tearooms to the back garden where there is shady spots, better table and chairs, which was lovely to be offered. She also offered a bowl of water for them, lovely friendly service, and the food was lovely too, so that's well worth a visit if you fancy a cuppa etc.
You get 2 keys for the toilet blocks which is good, so one for you and one for hubby.
Blenheim Palace is lovely, but its £17.50 each adult, for house and grounds, or £10.00 each just to walk in the grounds and dogs are allowed. But we came across a lovely elderly gentleman who has lived there all in life, in Bladon village whilst visiting Churchills Grave, and he said if you go up the lane the side of the White Horse pub[which is lovely], and go through the open gate, you can walk all round the grounds for free as its a public right of way and they cant charge you. We did just that and walked round the lake, picked up hundreds of conkers, and walked all round the grounds.
You can also get into the grounds from Chaucers Lane in Woodstock, again a public right of way. We thought we don't mind paying but £17.50 is a bit steep, and £10 is steep just to walk round the grounds.
Toilets and showers very clean, cant find any fault really site wise, we had a lovely weekend, but it would be better situated somewhere not so noisy.
The warden also had this fetish about cutting every grass pitch, as soon as someone had vacated, which we thought was a bit overkill. Also information we received, it seems that a lot of caravanners just use this site as an overnight stopover to somewhere else, as the female warden said she had worked on bigger sites, but had never worked on one as busy as this for overnighters. She had another 30 coming in on the Sunday just for the one night. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodstock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4192 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement