Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Woodstock > Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bladon Road
Woodstock
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX20 1PT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 02/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           02/03/2022 to 05/11/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 57 Reviews
                8/10 from 57 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Rolipooki 1 review from this member

 Great location to Woodstock and some really nice pitches.

We were lucky enough to be sited at the back where pitches seemed very generous

Staff were welcoming and polite 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Marclewis 25 reviews from this member

 We stayed at the Blenheim Palace pop up site attached to this main one. It was the weekend of a super car event at Blenheim. The weather was superb too. The campsite is well run and clean.

We walked to see Sir Winston Churchill's grave in Bladon to pay our respects. The walk is on a busy road, but it was worth it.

We also walked to Woodstock and had meals in 2 dog friendly pubs. (The Black Prince and The Crown Inn). Again a busy road that passes one of the main gates into Blenheim Palace.

The pop up site was quiet as it was away from the road, but with some of the pitches on the main site closer to the road, I expect there could be some noise. Although there are lots of trees that could break it up.

A walk in the grounds of Blenheim Palace is a must. Recommended! 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Oxfordeagle 8 reviews from this member

 A great stop off in delightful settings en route from Yorkshire to Portsmouth.

Have used it many times and will continue to do so but only hope it will not close (as the rumour currently is) 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Netti2 1 review from this member

 We stayed on bladen pop up site in sept 2020.

We found it very good indeed.

Staff friendly site clean and toilet/shower block spotless.

Volunteers who give their time couldn't do anymore.

Scores 10 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2020 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 76 reviews from this member

 I have reviewed Bladon Chains before but thought I would add a brief Covid19 review. We regularly use this site as a stop over on our way down south. It is extremely handy if you are going down the A34 from Oxford to Portsmouth which is our preferred route when we leave the M40 from the North.

The site is ideal for a short stop as it is easily accessible from the motorway. There are a mixture of hard standing and grass pitches but when we were there, there had been a period of heavy rain and the grass pitches were very boggy. Luckily we got a hard standing which was a good size and flat.

It is a short walk on a footpath alongside the busy road into Woodstock and about a 1km walk to Blenheim Palace. You can get discounted tickets to the Palace with a code they give you on site.

Due to Covid19 they had a number of rules in place. Only 1 person in reception at a time made checking in a bit of a longer process but it was fine. Only 3 people in the toilet block at a time was not as bad as I expected. A lot of people must have been using their own facilities so there were no queues.

They were operating a system where there was a small bucket on the wall outside the toilet containing a solution of Milton sterilising liquid and 3 bands. When you want to go in, you fish a band from the bucket and hang it on a hook. If there are no bands in the bucket, you have to wait for someone to come out.

I really dislike having to fish the band out of the Milton but this is the method this site has chosen to use so we just had to accept it. Be careful though as Milton is a bleach and if you splash the solution on dark clothes you will end up with bleach marks!

Everyone on site seemed to be following the guidelines and observing social distancing so we felt quite happy on site. The wardens were friendly and helpful and were doing a great job under difficult circumstances.

The only thing that puts us off staying here for longer than just a single night stopover is the road noise which can be pretty intrusive as the main road beside the site is a very busy major route. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Mcamp3 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. We were there during Covid time. This made no difference to our visit. We enjoyed every minute. Very clean and managed very well.

Great location, easy to find and we felt at home there. Thank you 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Daveto 1 review from this member

 Nothing to dislike, both site and staff amazing.

Showers and toilets lovely and clean, social distancing well thought out.

Information boards up to date and accurate. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2020 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Extended family
Reviewer: Pca1958 26 reviews from this member

 So, with our last trip away being in Feb 2020, it was great to head out and arrive at Bladon Chains.

First time here, but met up with family who had also travelled for the 4 nights stay.

Check in was good and we chose a grass pitch with a downward slope.

Many pitches were hardstanding and flat, but had got caught in M6 traffic so were late arriving, and this was the best that was left, without being under trees.

Toilet block was clean, which we used a couple of times with the two band system explained in an earlier review.

Close enough to walk to Blenheim Palace, which for us as it was our first time cost £25, (remember to use the CMC discount for entry) and also caught the bus into Oxford. We will have to come back again, as in both cases due to COvid 19, some areas were still closed which meant only viewing from outside.

Nevertheless, the site was friendly and quiet, and a mobile Fish & Chip van turned up on Weds, would certainly recommend that.

Only point to mention is the wifi, there isn't any unless you sit next to the hotspot at the info hut. Would recommend site 


Date of Visit: December 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: David Klyne 233 reviews from this member

 To find site:- From Oxford or Woodstock on the A44 at roundabout take the A4095 signed for Bladon/Witney. After 350 metres turn right into minor road and site is on the left in 200 metres.

Bladon Chains is a memberís only site on the edge of the Blenheim Palace Estate. The site is generally open from the end of March to early November, but from the 2019 season the opening has been extended to New Year to allow members to visit the seasonal attractions at Blenheim Palace which was the main purpose of our latest visit.

There 92 pitches, about a third are on gravel hardstandings and the rest on grass. Only the hardstandings were in use during our stay. The site is divided into two sections either side of Reception. Pitches are set out along each side of the site roads leaving plenty of space in the middle so it does not seem crowded.

The hardstanding pitches vary in size and most seem to require some fore to aft levelling. Some of these pitches are not over large and have a length limit and as a result reception may allocate pitches according to length. Electric points are convenient to all pitches and rated at 16 amps using CEE17 blue connectors some of which are of the twist and lock variety.

The electric bollards also have a digital TV hook-up which is free to use but you must provide your own cable. There is a single toilet block situated approximately in the middle of the site and includes a small laundry room and a washing up area which is exposed to the elements. From the furthest pitches it is quite a walk to the toilet block.

There are a few service points dotted around the site but again from some pitches these facilities are quite a walk. The motorhome service point is in front of Reception near the site entrance. Unfortunately it is of the older type which requires a heavy drain cover to be lifted. For younger children there is a playground and a knockabout area for older ones.

There is no site wide WiFi, only a hotspot near the reception area. There are some seats provided and in bad weather you could use the Information Room. Mobile data availability varies from network to network and the time of day. Reception sells milk and newspapers can be ordered. Mobile food retailers call at the site, see reception for details.

Some pitches closer to the road may experience some traffic noise. My impression of the site is that it requires a major upgrade. The site roads are rutted in places. There are not enough hardstandings and of the existing ones, many of them too small. If winter touring is going to be encouraged then a fully covered washing up area is also required.

This site is not far from Blenheim Palace where Club members get a worthwhile discount on production of their payment receipt. At no added cost you can convert the entrance fee into an annual pass. Some events at the Palace demand an additional payment but with the annual pass these are also discounted.

Blenheim was the birth place of Winston Churchill and he is buried at Bladon Church which is a reasonably short walk from the campsite, via a gate in the corner of the site. The White House pub is near the church so a good place to stop for a coffee or a pint.

Woodstock is about a mile and a half in walking distance from the site (alongside the busy A44). There is a good selection of shops, pubs and restaurants. The campsite is well served by public transport and there are numerous bus services from near to the site, details in the Information Room. Oxford City Centre is half an hour away by bus.

For shopping there is a good small Co-Op supermarket in Woodstock but for a wider choice of supermarkets you would need to travel to Oxford or Whitney, details in the Information Room. 


Date of Visit: September 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Madasaman 50 reviews from this member

 We stayed last weekend for two nights.

We had a hardstanding pitch just opposite the only toilet block, and very handy it was to. Only four showers, but we didn't have to wait.

Facilities were spotless, water pressure and temps were fine. Easy walk to Bladon or Woodstock from site.

Arranged a tour at Blenheim, only to have it cancelled due to the theft of the gold toilet.

Booked site again for December for the Christmas market. 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodstock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park, Kent 18/09 to 19/09
UK's largest outside dog show for working, trained and pet dogs held at the Kent Showground. Weekend camping available on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3309 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement