Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Woodstock > Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bladon Road
Woodstock
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX20 1PT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 89
Open: 02/03 To 05/11

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 46 Reviews
                8/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (6)

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <5 miles   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  With friends
Reviewer: Learoy 4 reviews from this member

Lovely little site well placed for exploring the Cotswolds.

Right next to Blenheim palace.

Currently you can use your caravan Park receipt to get 20 percent off your entry to Blenheim and upgrade for free for a yearly pass.

Pitches mostly level. We where with pals with dogs so pitched on grass. However the hardstanding pitches where flat.

Loo disposal easy; I'm five foot tall and managed.

Site kept spotless by wardens Morgan; Suz; Andrea & Steve.

Arrival was busy everyone arriving at the same time; however Andrea kept her cool and managed to get through everyone quickly and still with a sense of humour.

The showers spotless. Both male and female. Adjustable risers.

Lots of hot pressured water.

I'm not going to moan about them they are kept clean and they do the job.

Churchill's grave is near the White House pub; there's a crossing opposite the pub and a wide alleyway it's worth a visit and the church is open. Avoid school run times as it's very busy.

Snowshill Manor is definitely worth a visit. It's a house full of curiosities collected by Charles Paget Wade. WR12 7JU it's £12. 50 each however national trust. The road is narrow with passing places. The lavender farm is close by too.

The volunteers in each room are friendly and knowledgeable about the artifacts. I won't say anymore other than it's fab.

We found a lovely circular walk starting from St Mary's Church Kidlington. It passes a old Manor house. Lots of open fields and Annies tea room by the canal. Cakes are home made like your granny used to make.

The walk is flat and about 4 miles However there are lots of stiles and you may have to lift your dog over some.

We stopped at a pub "the Star"

In Woodstock. Staff polite and beer and cider good. £8. 40 for two pints there is a courtyard at the back again dog friendly.

Would we visit again yes.
via mobile

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 1 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Pixie_Hez 48 reviews from this member

We stay at Bladon Chains quite regularly as it is a very convenient stopover location for us on our way further south. The site itself is very nice.

There are a mixture of hardstanding and grass pitches and the toilet block is of the usual high caravan club standard. It takes about 15 minutes to walk into Woodstock and about 10 minutes to walk to the entrance of Blenheim Palace.

I can’t really comment much further on the surrounding area as we usually only stay for one night as a stopover, however a further reason why we wouldn’t stay for longer is because of the road noise.

There is a very busy road running along one side of the site and another busy road running along the other side, so no matter where you pitch you cannot get away from the road noise. We will continue to use this site as a stopover but I doubt very much we would go for a longer stay.

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Solo traveller
Reviewer: Kateandjames 52 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site, a good selection of grass and hardstanding pitches dotted around the site and broken up by trees.

There's a small children's playground and big run around field.

Off site there is a field next door with footpath into Woodstock, great for letting the dog run around (assuming no sheep).

Downside is road noise & light aircraft noise. If you have a dog and want to go into Blenheim Palace, dog allowed areas are minimal and much of the walking is on the Estates roads, at £14 I thought it a bit of a rip off!

Plenty of shops, eateries etc in Woodstock

Date of Visit: March 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Rslsys 4 reviews from this member

Dated site with poor lighting. Preference given to Motorhomes when it comes to hard standings. No security barrier, WiFi restricted to a bench outside the Information Hut. Don’t know how showers/toilets would cope when the site is full. Walking distance to Blenheim Palace is the only redeeming feature.
via mobile

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Scilly Boy 14 reviews from this member

We visited this site for the Battle Proms event at Blenheim Palace. We stayed for 5 nights. The site is well laid out and pitches are nicely spaced. Blenheim Palace, Bladon Village (for Churchills grave)and Woodstock are all within walkable distance. There is a very good co-op store in Woodstock, and plenty of eateries and pubs.

There is a local bus which stops right outside the site which will take you to Woodstock, we found it quicker to walk.

Walk out to the roundabout on the main road and there is a very good bus service (half hourly) running between Burford and Oxford.

Wardens here were a lot of fun and really helpful.

Site was immaculately maintained.

Amenities were in very good order. No queues.

Fish & Chip van visits (recommended) also a Steak and frites van visits (not tried).

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kensingtongreen 49 reviews from this member

Enjoyed our stay but the pitches in the middle of the field on grass were a bit haphazard. The walk to Woodstock is on the main road with heavy traffic.

Staff were helpful and friendly. Shower block a bit small for this size site.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Brown2368 6 reviews from this member

Perfect to visit Blenheim. Main gripe and we discussed this with other campers that the shower and toilets are inadequate for the number of people.

My wife went for a shower at 8. 30 am and had to wait for 30 minutes.

The showers and toilets are clean but because of the amount of usage in the mens toilets there was an unpleasant smell

Date of Visit: June 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kaut0Bill 17 reviews from this member

This was our second stay at this site having visited exactly one year ago.

Excellent site for a motor home, short walk to bus stop where there are frequent buses to and from the city centre. Also good cycle routes in to city. Also short walk to village of Woodstock for good sized co-op and plenty of pubs and restaurants.

Numerous reviewers on here complain about road and aircraft noise. I know everyone is different but personally I think this is a beautiful, peaceful site. Certainly there is some road noise especially at peak times but on the whole I would say it is pretty innocuous.

Also there are quite a few light aircraft in the sky during the day but again nothing to make a great fuss about and any larger jet aircraft are few and far between.

In my view this is a great site. My biggest niggle would be that they could do with a slightly larger amenities block.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: JayneBerry 24 reviews from this member

Don't come here expecting peace and quiet, the site sits between 2 horrendously busy roads that thunder with traffic all day and most of the night! also the runway of Oxford airport is just a short distance away so what sounds like heavy lorries may actually be jets. Who knew Oxford even had an airport? not us! there are some quiet pitches to be had, these are the ones that adjoin the field facing you as you enter the site but they were all taken when we arrived.

We received a very friendly and informative welcome from the warden. There are no laundry facilities on site but the toilet block is very clean as is the norm with the Caravan Club. It's a couple of years since we stayed on a CC site but I don't remember them being as poorly lit at night as this one is, you need a torch to visit the loo unless you're pitched close to it.

If you fancy a classy takeaway there is a 'steak and frites' van that calls a couple of times a week, and we'd definitely recommend that. Woodstock is a very cute Cotswold-esque town about 20 minutes' walk away and has a disproportionately large choice of pubs and eateries for such a small place.

In the other direction lies Bladon which doesn't seem to have much going for it other than Churchill's grave in St Martin's churchyard, definitely take a look but it's not a pleasant walk being along said horrendously busy main road. We visited the nearby Cotswold towns including Burford, Moreton-in-Marsh, Stow on the Wold and Chipping Norton and that made a nice day out.

Bletchley Park, the home of the Enigma code-breakers, is just south of Milton Keynes and is easily reachable, this is an absolute must if you like 20th-century history, it is fascinating.

We enjoyed our stay but probably won't be back, no reflection on the site but we've now been there, done that.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Keefysher 16 reviews from this member

We had stayed here earlier in the season and taken the annual pass upgrade at Blenheim. We had booked to see James Bond in Spectre at the Luna Cinema on the south lawn of Blenheim Palace, where a screen is set up using the palace as backdrop.

Take the chairs from the caravan, small table, wine, gin & snacks and make a fantastic evening. Then return to the caravan pitched at Bladon, on a grass pitch front in to wake up to the sheep in front of you; what more perfect a way to spend a weekend. The site is lovely, well kept by the friendly wardens, and appears well used over the season, but to no detriment.

We walked to Churchill's grave and around a different part of the grounds of Blenheim than on previous visits. The CC discount on the admission and upgrade to annual pass, combined with events advised is making this one of our favourite CC sites.

Would be even better if open over the winter to enjoy the Xmas events at Blenheim and to wake to snow and walk round the grounds, if it comes.

Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5462 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019