Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > Oxfordshire > Woodstock > Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site Reviews

Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site
Bladon Road
Woodstock
Oxfordshire   (Browse area)
OX20 1PT
Tel: 01342 327 490
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 89
Open: 02/03/2021 to 05/11/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 56 Reviews
                8/10 from 56 Reviews

 No Tents   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

This is a club member only site - you may be able to join on site - please check direct with the site

Reviews:  56 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: EribaTaffy 21 reviews from this member

 If you want to see the ‘Dreaming Spires of Oxford’ this could be the site for you. It is located on the Blenheim Estate just outside Woodstock about 7 miles from Oxford. A short trip by car will take you to the Park & Ride or a service bus is about five minutes walking from the site.

The site is owned by the Caravan Club. It is open from April to November for members only. There are 95 touring pitches of which 31 are hardstandings. Pitches are in two separate areas and are part sloping so you may need levelling blocks.

Welcome on arrival was very good and we found the wardens very helpful throughout our stay.

There is a single heated toilet block with showers, WCs and privacy cubicles. Also a disabled bathroom, washing up/vegetable preparation area and laundry facilities. The shower cubicles are on the small side and the water pressure isn’t great but is adequate and the facilities were very clean.

There are service points around the site for water and rubbish disposal including chemical disposal facilities. The recycling facilities are close to the toilet block. Short dog walk on site but plenty of longer walks in this country area.

In Woodstock (about ten minutes walk) there is a Coop supermarket plus a baker and butcher and lots of small independent stores. In Bladon (again about 10 minutes walk) there is a public house The White House which does food all day.

We paid £17.75 per night for standard hardstanding pitch with 16amp electrical hook-up, caravan, awning and two adults.

Local attractions include:

• Oxford which is worth exploring by open top bus

• Blenheim Palace the birthplace of Sir Winston Churchill which adjoins the site. Your Caravan Club site receipt will get you a discount into the Palace as will membership of the National Trust. During our stay the Blenheim Battle Proms took place and we could listen to the concert and had a great view of the firework display all for free. The concert was preceded by an amazing acrobatic display by a lady in a Spitfire and she did a victory roll over the site.

• Bladon village where Sir Winston Churchill is buried in the churchyard of St Martin’s Church.

• Bicester Village for your discount designer needs

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though the weather was very mixed and there is plenty to see locally that would make us return. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: The Virginias 4 reviews from this member

 Lovely site. Very friendly staff and nice quiet location. In hindsight we would have pitched down the bottom of the field away from the road. It did not cause us any problems but it could prove a nuisance to some. The toilets and showers were very clean and never full. Would recommend a visit to Thrupp for a walk along the canal and then a visit to the lovely tea rooms by the car park. Woodstock is also worth a visit.

We would definitely re visit as the journey for us was very hassle free on a Friday evening. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mig2k_uk 16 reviews from this member

 Fist visit to this site and to Oxford.

Stayed for 2nights on our way to Dorset and then for 3 nights on the way home.

The site has very high standards and the wardens take great pride in there job.

We were on a grass pitch and turned the van so we over looked the field in the middle .Then had the front of the awning open most of the time as the weather was so good.

The showers on this site need a little attention as they have no power at all but they are clean .

We have two dogs and they loved the walk through the trees to bladen were there is a nice pub with good grub. In all a pleasant stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: H.Brooks 7 reviews from this member

 Lovely quiet site with lots of room between pitches. Plenty of trees around the site and open grass areas. Small play area within site and extra play area off one end of the site for ball games.

Wardens were really friendly and helpful.

Toilet block usual high standard with washing up facilities and chemical disposal.

Pitches nearest the toilet block are designated disabled with plenty of room within each pitch.

Site shop sells limited supplies but you can walk into Woodstock in about 15 mins, where there are all kinds of shops and plenty of eating places.

If you drive into Woodstock be careful of the traffic flow as it's a bit unusual in the middle of town regarding traffic direction.

Bladon village is quite small and peaceful but worth a trip to see Churchills grave. We didn't get time to visit Blenhiem Palace but you do get admission at a reduced rate with the Caravan Club. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sandle 13 reviews from this member

 Toilets were locked which caused a bit of a panic for our two young children who were desperate to go! Given the keys -which you need to carry with you in order to unlock the toilet facilities & bombarded with a long list of rules.

Despite this dubious start, we found the site pleasant & clean.

Having to remember the keys is a complete pain- especially as there were four of us but only 2 keys.

We stayed during a dry sunny spell so enjoyed the dog walk and stroll through the field to Woodstock.

Woodstock nice with quaint little antique shops. Saw Churchill's grave at Bladon. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Beattie08 22 reviews from this member

 Nicely laid out site with trees and plenty of space. Good clean toilet block.

Road noise could be a problem, we pitched at the back plot 60 (nice and quiet!).

Within walking distance to Woodstock, with plenty of pubs and places to eat, also Bladon where Churchill and his family are buried.

Well worth spending a full day at Blenhiem Palace and gardens. (£12 instead of £16.50 with your site receipt).

Friendly site would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vickireek 2 reviews from this member

 Reading the reviews of previous visitors we decided to give this site a try. We weren't disappointed at the usual high standards of this Caravan Club site. However, our hardstanding pitch which backed up onto the access road was extremely noisy. This road is used from before 6.00am as a rat run to the A44 and throughout the day (nicknamed by us after 2 days as the 'Bladon Races'). Also there is a long layby which doubles as a coach park, but is used by articulated lorries as a lorry park. Being wakened by these starting off between 5.00 and 6.00am most mornings is not a good start to the day. Our final morning (saturday) we thought would not be disturbed as there would be less traffic, not so at 5.50am a dustbin lorry came to empty the rubbish bin in the layby!

The site itself is well laid out but definitely needs more lighting, the only lights around the site were from the hook up bollards, but most of these were not visible as they were behind the pitches.

Toilet/shower block was of good standard and well heated. Enjoyed the walk to Woodstock and the long walk back to the site via the public footpath through Blenheim Palace. Used park and ride at Peartree to visit Oxford, good value and parking ticket also gave us 2p of a litre of fuel at the local garage. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Anita Jane 15 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to a CC site and how impressed we were. The entrance was inviting and well signposted and the wardens on site were very pleasent and helpful. We took with us our two small dogs who were made to feel most welcome and the walks around the site were beautiful, although we were blessed on our visit by glorious sunshine possible the dog walk could become muddy. Showering and toilet faclities were good and were always very clean. Local attractions surrounding the site include St Martins church in Bladon village where Sir Winston Churchill and family are buried and not forgetting Blenheim Palace and grounds which is a must when staying on the site. This so far is our number one site and will return in the new touring season. 


Date of Visit: June 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ssmith1 5 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from a weekend at this site.
It is a very pleasant site with friendly wardens. A lot of the pitches are on a slight slope and there is also a bit of noise from the roads, nearby ambulance station and light aircraft.
There is a reasonable dog walk in a wooded area, but I would think it could get quite muddy in wet weather. There is a very large field next to the site, but the only access is over a stile so no good if, like us, you have a large elderly dog.
The toilet block is adequate but a bit dated and could do with refurbishing.  


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alvan 31 reviews from this member

 The site is easy to find just 7 miles from Oxford. The entrance has a large Late Arrivals area with a spacious Motorhome service point. The staff are friendly and booking in no problem. Once you have selected your pitch, keys to the toilet block are provided.T he site is in effect divided into two parks, intersected by the large and well maintained toilet block.
There are Grass or Gravel hardstandings. The upper section is slightly sloping so levellers may be required, but both sections seem private with mature trees, hedges and a wall. Reception provides the essentials. Try the Free Range eggs (delicious) and newspapers can be ordered. There is a well stocked information room,with local places to eat & sample menus.
Turn right outside the main gate and its a 10 minute walk to Bladon, the delightful churchyard has Churchills Grave,surrounded by his parents and son. There are souvenir postcards and small exhibition in the church.
Turn left outside the maingate and the foot/cycle path takes you into the village of Woodstock (10 min walk) it has  very well stocked Supermarket. Further afield, two minutes  from the site on Bladon roundabout is a bus stop to Oxford (every 30 mins, Bus no 20 or 20a) return ticket cost me £4.50p to city centre.
Blenheim Palace is a must, don't forget your site receipt as you can get a substantial discount (we used the woodstock church entrance). Kids and adults will like the Blenheim untold story, waxwork animatronics with interactive displays. Could spend a few hours there.
A great site,will probably return. Weather during our visit was very poor though, got soaked. 


Previous     56 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Bladon Chains Caravan And Motorhome Club Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Woodstock      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Oxfordshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5396 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement