Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments Reviews

The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments
North Lonsdale Road
Hawkshead
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NX
Tel: 01539 436 374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alex75 2 reviews from this member

 Brilliant campsite have tried others in the lakes but loved this one. Not much for kids to do but the stream at the bottom of the site more than compensates. Toilets/showers very clean, hawkshead village 3 mins walk away. Will be visiting again, as it happens my better half has just booked a week with her mum and sister (plus kids) next week. The milk van that comes around in the morning is a must if not loud when he beeps the horn. 10 out 10 for me. See you there soon! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Madm00se 3 reviews from this member

 This is the first time I've reviewed this site, however we have been stopping here on and off over a period of about 10 years! We stayed in the right hand side (non electrics) This is a great family friendly campsite, the staff have always greeted us warmly, we have always found a good pitch.

There is no 'playground' facilities for the children (although there is a public one across the road-about 4 mins walk), HOWEVER there is a stream, which is shallow enough for damming! My girls have spent HOURS in there! There is a games room, with a tv, pool table & a few arcade games, but my girls (7 & 3 last year) never bothered about it.

The toilet facilities are cleaned on a regular basis (certainly seen them twice a day). Washing up facilities are under cover, with a microwave. The washing facilities (clothes) are great, alhough I personally feel a little on the pricey side, esp when you have a family of four (I don't like taking home dirty washing!) But that's my problem!

We found last year that the ground was boggy, but hey, it's the Lakes & it had rained most of the 2 weeks we stayed there! So the tent stank & there was a massive boggy patch under the tent (it was like walking on a water bed!)

4 minutes walk into the main part of the village, with good pubs, shops and nice shops.

We did experience noise on one night & the owners dealt with the offenders quickly and they weren't seen the next day! When we've had noise problems in the past, this has always been dealt with quickly (they ask for no noise after 11pm). With a family campsite, I do think this is a bit late.

Great access to various different attractions. Hopefully will be back this year! 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: TheHs 4 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely relaxed site. Two fields. One with hook up and one without. We hadn't booked but it was quite quiet and we were able to pick our own spot. There are several wooden tables dotted around. Toilet facilities were great and very clean. Laundry looked good too.

The kids liked the games room which had a TV (didn't try it) and a pool table (tried and liked!). There's no play park but the local one is just across the road. The kids didn't need it as they spent all their time playing in the stream at the back of the site.

There are great walks right from the campsite and Hawkshead with lots of pubs and a good wee co-op is 5 minutes walk.

I would definitely recommend this site although I think you'd need to book at the weekend. We left on the Friday and it was filling up rapidly. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Freewheelwinnie 3 reviews from this member

 Was very disappointed with this particular site. I was charged £25 per night which I felt was expensive particularly when considering the lack of facilities and the generally poor management.

The pitches were not identified with any coding system which can be a problem for campervans that are often taken off site and when I queried this I receive a rather blunt and unhelpful response that didn't in fact make any sense.

There's no shop and the site doesn't provide simple things like washing powder for the washing machines. When I inquired about this I was told that they could not buy washing powder at a low enough cost to sell on to the campers, which I thought was yet another unhelpful response. I had to beg to borrow an iron and ironing board in order to press my clothes.

The owners of the site were unfriendly there were no smiles or warm welcomes and the whole experience has meant that I will look for something else when next mountain biking in Grisedale Forest.

Not worth the money when compared to other sites in the area. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gtxgaza 2 reviews from this member

 Getting on to the site can be a bit tight coming through the lanes; A huge sigh when reaching the other end. Once in Hawkshead the village is very pretty. The site itself was very clean. Only meet the staff once at checking in, but had no problems so didn't need to see them again. Shower/toilet block was very clean, water was always hot taking a shower. Would definitely be going again.

Hawkshead is very nicely situated central to all. We did think about taking the bus in to nearby Coniston but the last bus back would have been just before 5pm. (Too early, as wanting to stay for meal + drink). But overall we had a marvellous week, 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, really enjoyed ours stay, 4th visit and will be back. Hawks head is small but beautiful and is in easy reach of Bowness, Windermere, Ambleside and many more. Showers are warm and clean as are the loos, there's no campsite shop but a local co op is a 5 min walk away. There's loads of little shops, cafes and pubs that serve excellent food. We had awful weather but still loved every minute. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Theoccupier 2 reviews from this member

 Perfect campsite for our needs. We did not pre book but this was not a problem as we were not wanting electric hook up. Plenty of hard standing/car parking spaces around the edge of the main field which was perfect for our camper van. £17 for one night, 1 camper, 2 adults and 4 large dogs. This site do not charge extra for dogs.

Great setting, right next door (2 mins walk) to Hawkshead which has places to eat/shop/browse. I noticed a milk float going around the campsite in the morning too which was a nice little added extra.

Toilet blocks were the best I have seen on this kind of campsite. Plenty of toilets and 4 shower cubicles. No extra charge for the showers which were plenty warm enough without being too hot.

Will definitely stay here again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

 Booked in February for this site, they had no hard standings with hook up but because we were with friends in a tent we took the standard pitch, we were a little worried about a grass pitch in case the weather was bad, but went anyway.

On arrival we were told to go right and pitch anywhere we wanted to, we found a space on the grass and then spotted several vacant hardstandings at the rear, we asked if we were allowed to park on one of these she said yes, we were not told that there were hardstandings when we booked even though I had asked.They were level and large, so it must be on a first come first served basis.

The female toilet blocks were okay with about 7 toilets 4 showers and 4 sinks there are 3 power points that cost 20p. There is a games room with pool table, TV and 2 video games. The chemical disposal point is over the other side of the campsite where the hook up pitches are, so its quite a walk with a full loo, this is also where the water fill up for motorhomes is. The covered wash up area has 3 sinks and a microwave for campers, there is also another room with fridge freezer (which you can use), washing machine and drier. Hawkshead village is just over the road and has a variety of pubs and quaint shops, a small co-op, cafes, Post office and chemist and is a lovely place to visit.

Overall this is a lovely campsite with beautiful views even though the road is just next to it, the noise is not to bad and would return if in the area again. 


Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Caddonav 3 reviews from this member

 We spent an excellent week at The Croft and would definitely recommend it to anyone with a love of camping. The facilities are second to none and are always clean and tidy with hot water always available.

We were impressed with the location being only a 2 min walk into the village. We have a dog (Oscar)and all four pubs in the village allow dogs which is really great.

The Queens Head serves excellent food and the Kings Head serves excellent beer!

We didn't use the car at all during our stay as there are numerous walks from the doorstep and there is a really nice deli and a coop in the village.

Will definitely be returning in the summer. 


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JimCall 12 reviews from this member

 I stayed here for one night at the end of March. The site looked very nice and the girl at the reception was very pleasant and helpful. For 2 adults, 2 tents and a car we were charged just under £20 which I felt was reasonable given the location. My experience of the Lake District is that prices can be over inflated esp in high season.

The ground was flat and dry and we could pitch anywhere we liked in the tent field. There were signs of previous muddy ruts however and I think care would have to be taken if the weather was bad.

The facilities were good - toilets and showers clean with plenty hot water with key code access. There is a lean to at the side with sinks for washing up, again with hot water. I could see the queues forming in the summer tho!

The picturesque village of Hawkshead is over the other side of the road with some nice pubs and plenty shops. Even though we were pitched near the road, there was little traffic noise. The site was very quiet and we were told that the night warden does enforce the no noise rule after 11pm so if you tend to come back late, make sure you are quiet!

All in all, a very nice site in a very nice location. I would be wary about staying in the high season though - From all accounts, the place is heaving with tourists. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3066 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder