Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments Reviews

The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments
North Lonsdale Road
Hawkshead
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NX
Tel: 01539 436 374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

 Yet another fantastic stay at this lovely campsite. Showers/loos were spotless and warm Cleaned early every morning.

Perfect location being right across the road from Hawkshead village. Good well stocked co op and pubs selling brilliant food, all in the village.

Also lovely interesting shops.Campsite consists of 2 fields one large one without EHU and a smaller one with hard standing for motorhomes / caravans with some EHU pitches for tents.

There are also statics for hire which I can also recommend as my parents stayed in one whilst we were there.

Cant wait to return again next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Smiffs2 1 review from this member

 We had a great time on this campsite, but I wanted to write this review as someone with two young children.

Although this campsite was very clean and friendly I had concerns about the safety of my and other's children's safety. The only area on this site for children to play on their bikes or scooters was next to the entrance/exit which went straight onto the main through road (there was no room for error as there was no pavement between the entrance/exit and busy road).

My 3 and 5 year old wanted to ride on their scooters and so I had to go with them to supervise and on many occasions I had to scoop up my three year old before she was possibly hit by a car coming in from the road. It was hair raising!

I would not return to this campsite for that reason, but I would definitely go back once my children were older (or had left home)!

Be warned also that the Co-Op had absolutely nothing in it, apart from sweets. Speaking to the locals, it was a standing joke, that come half term, seasonal holidays the co-op does not pre-empt the increased level of tourism, but the week after that they have so much stuff they sell it all off cheap! But go prepared! 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MARC1974 6 reviews from this member

 We have stayed here twice at this site mainly for the location.

The facilities are very dated and need updating, there were many taps in the ladies toilets which did not work and some toilets which did not flush.

The grounds are not well maintained with many areas having pot holes and bald patches of grass.

However we had a great time with the location being the best part and I believe this is what you pay for in the price of the pitch.

There is a good bus route from hawkshead and many pubs to enjoy. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gareths1980 4 reviews from this member

 We started our 5 day camping trip at the Croft on a Tuesday. We didnít have the EHU so were put in the field next to the toilet/shower block and washing facilities which is very handy.

You select your own pitch, so we chose the outer edge of the inner field, so to get full use of the sun day and night and to keep an eye on the kids playing. This position was fine Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday as the field was quite empty.

However when the weekend campers turned up there were tents all over the field so the kids had very little play area. So personally I think the Croft should invest in a small play area or tree house in the middle of the field where the two giant trees are, so the kids have somewhere to play safely without tripping over guy ropes or hitting tents/cars with footballs, etc.

The toilet block is a bit dated but very clean day and night. The shower curtains were replaced every day whilst we were there, the mixer button to control the water is at a perfect temperature and good pressure however you do only get 5 seconds bursts which can be very annoying.

There is a room where you can do your laundry and there is also a freezer in there so freeze your ice packs, there is even some packs provided by the Croft for you to borrow if you need some urgently. We learnt though that when youíve opened the door of the freezer you may need to push the button on the top right to set the temp down again, even though it did say -17 it wasnít freezing very fast until I pressed the button then it went to something like -23.

The village shops within a few minutesí walk have some nice quirky things in them. There is a co-op in the village so you donít need to travel too far if you run out of things. Plus there is a milkman that comes round the site about 10am. There are plenty of pubs to choose from which all have a friendly atmosphere. With it being a small village you do pay a premium for the food and drink in the pubs. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 We drove up to the Lakes on Sunday morning of the bank Holiday expecting to be turned away from most places but were surprised to find room at the first place we tried!

The site is split into two areas the camping field with no hookups on grass with some hard standings and the other side of the reception block with the statics and electric touring pitches.

We set up camp in the camping field next to the river with views of Hawkshead church and Grizedale in the distance.

The toilet / washing up facilities are better than most camp sites we usually stay at. We put this down to the static and touring caravaners who like things more home from home! They were always clean and more than enough to go round. There was also a laundry room for longer stays or for drying typical Lake District weather clothes!

Hawkshead village is a pretty much on the other side of the road where there are plenty of pubs, cafes and the co op (cash machine).

We paid £18.75 for a campervan for the one night. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gclem 1 review from this member

 Just returned from my very first camping trip and can honestly say I thoroughly enjoyed it. The Croft is such a lovely campsite with everything you could ever need: free showers, clean toilets with power points, laundry, washing up area and drinking water, not to mention the close proximity of the picturesque Hawkshead Village.

We pitched up in the far corner of the site with the stream running behind us- the best spot I think. Whilst it was the furthest away from the facilities it was by no means far to walk- 30 seconds at the most. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful, and the price per night is such good value for money, especially when you can pay more than £60 a night in a B&B.

During the three days we were there we travelled to Grasmere (for the gingerbread), Ambleside (for the fudge and the waterfalls) and Bowness (for the fish and chips) and all were no more than a twenty minute drive away. We ate in the Queens Head in Hawkshead which was lovely and fairly reasonable. Everyone in the village was lovely and there were lots of nice little shops to walk around including Relish which makes jams and chutneys and is sold all over the Lake District. Poppi-Red is a gorgeous little gift shop/cafe with outdoor seating with blankets provided for the chillier days. We had a scone and caramel shortbread with tea, highly recommended. The views from the church are also worth a walk.

Would definitely come back here, I'm definitely a camping convert now. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: BevDaz+Dogs 1 review from this member

 Stayed here for 2 nights and had a lovely time. Toilet block clean and plenty of hot water. Could have a trek to get to toilets, depending on where you are pitched. Great for walks and the dogs loved it. We were lucky with the weather, which obviously makes a difference. 2 mins from the centre of Hawkshead. Childrens playground close by. Such a beautiful part of the country. Had a bad experience at the Sun Inn. A rowdy crowd (obviously drunk), came in after we had ordered and paid for our meal, they were eventually asked to leave and the police were called, but not until they had been served more beer and chips. Would not go to this pub again but all the other local pubs were lovely and very friendly.

I would recommend Grisedale forest, with its Go Ape activity course. Looks like great fun, although I wasn't brave enough to try myself. Plenty to do and lots of facilities. Will definitely go back to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Cat the Dog Lover 5 reviews from this member

 Its in a great location, in Hawkshead itself which has 4 pubs and they all do food. You can do several walks from the site to Latterbarrow and Claife Heights to get a view of Windermere.

You can bike straight from the site to Grizedale Forest for a pootle on wide forest fire tracks or on the technical trail.

Toilet and shower facilities are fine now you don't have to use 20p for a shower. There are sockets that take 20p for hairdryers / straighteners.

We've never had a problem with noise on this site. Theres a covered washing up area.

The electric hook up pitches are completely separate from the main tent field. We've stayed in both.

No quibbles about coming back to this site, in fact we book up early to make sure we can get in. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milo18 3 reviews from this member

 Absolutely fabulous campsite. Have been twice this year, once in July and again last weekend (mid October).

We had been stuck on the M6 in Friday traffic for a long period, and so we didn't arrive at the site until 10pm. However, the lady in reception waited for us to arrive (we phoned ahead) and was very friendly despite the late hour.

The site is split into two areas, one with electric hook up and the other with standard pitches. Both areas are flat with large pitches.

In July it was fairly busy, almost full so we were given a pitch with electric hook up even though we only paid for a standard pitch. This area is smaller and located a short walk from the facilities block.

The standard pitch area is bigger and more open. We camped in this area in October and there were only 5 other tents in the field all weekend. The pitch was flat and large, plenty of room for 6 man tent and car with space to sit outside too. We preferred this area and camped on the far side in the corner which gave us a great view across the site and of the surrounding hills.

The toilets and showers are very clean, not particularly modern but the cleaners do a really good job. They even wash the shower curtains daily. One downside is that the showers are the type you need to push every 5 seconds to keep the water flowing. Only a small point, but quite tricky as you only have one hand to try and wash your hair with!

The site is also very dog friendly, our little Jack Russel had a fab time meeting lots of new friends.

Hawkshead is a lovely village, and the campsite is right in the centre so no need to get in the car or pay for parking. The Sun Inn pub offers great food, although the drinks were quite expensive, £5.25 for a glass of white wine! Can recommend the steak and veg pie though. There is a co-op nearby, although as others have said, this is quite expensive. Ambleside is a short drive away and the food from the chinese takeaway there is delicious, and was still hot by the time we drove back to the campsite.

Would thoroughly recommend the site, we intend to return next year. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chrisbk 1 review from this member

 Stayed three nights for our annual 'dads and daughters' trip. The site was pleasant and well spaced, we arrived late - but this was not a problem for the staff or us. The kids were happy to skip about, but a play area may have given a focus (this is good and bad!).

The facilities were up to the job, but I did smile as I took a shower and remembered the warnings of the timer on the shower tap from reviews read on here. It really is quick, with about five seconds of water before a re-press is needed. Whilst not life threatening, it was annoying - especially as I found myself distracted trying to think of cunning ways to 'sort it'. I didn't bother, just kept pressing!

One point to note is the church clock. I'm a light sleeper and on the first night heard it chime every hour on the hour! This is either quaint or frustrating.

Hawkshead itself is OK for a few nights, but it is very touristy and the pub food we had was barely acceptable. In fact we ate in the next time!

Would visit again. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2233 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement