Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Advent Calendar

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments Reviews

The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments
North Lonsdale Road
Hawkshead
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NX
Tel: 01539 436 374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charlie178 1 review from this member

 Stayed twice at the his campsite, one in July 2011 in the glorious sun, and again in March when we had that really bad rain! We had pre-booked the site and decided we'd try our luck. The site was very muddy due to all the rain, so we picked the slightly less muddy patch! It was pouring when we got there so the lady in reception kindly let us get set up and then come back to book in etc.

We don't normally visit the same place twice, but this site had everything we could ask for with no frills. Good facilities which are clean and well kept, including the washing up area. The site isn't too large so you are only ever a short walk away from the toilet block. The village of Hawkshead is practically over the road with a co-op, a few shops and good pubs.

For us as a young couple with a dog, this site ticks all the boxes, a great location for exploring the lakes. And we will certainly be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Markp200 1 review from this member

 We arrived at the site without a booking after being badly let down at the Miller Field Site in Ambleside, great location very close to village and some great walks from the site.

We didn't use the showers or other facilities but they looked fine.

Hardstanding is essential for a motorhome as the grass areas got very muddy after rain. We stayed from 1230 Saturday until 1530 Sunday for £15. 75, which seemed pretty good value considering the fantastic location. Despite being busy, the site was quiet at night.

Very warm welcome from reception. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Doiane 4 reviews from this member

 This site is literally just across the road from the town. It's probably one of the best-placed sites I've ever stayed at.

The toilets and showers were clean but are probably due now for an overhaul. The dishwashing area is also clean with plenty of sinks.

We liked that there are no set pitches and you can camp where you like. There are resident ducks who like to come and share your breakfast with you!

Hawkshead is just lovely. There are 5 really nice pubs all serving great food.

We'll definitely stay here again mainly due to its great location. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kpartingtron 4 reviews from this member

 We have just had a four day stay at this site. The location of this site is perfect. Just across the road from Hawkshead Village which is a beautiful lakeland village with a range of shops. Pubs and tea rooms.

There is a lovely stream running along the back of the site which is safe enough for the kids to play in and there's a little playground across the road which we used most evenings so the children could run about.

The site itself is relatively basic. There are only a limited number of sinks to wash the pots so we did have to wait sometimes and the same with the showers. They were clean and had plenty of hot water but as it was the height of the season probably four isn't enough.

The staff are very friendly and helpful and we did see them warning a group of boys (they don't normally accept groups but I think these were visiting family)that they would be sent packing if they made too much noise.

The ground was muddy which is typical of the lakes so you definitely need your wellies. However, despite this we did have a good break and will go back.

It would be nice to see some money spent on the washing up and shower facilities but I've seen a lot worse.

A fantastic location which is enough for us. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shelll 2 reviews from this member

 Great basic campsite, central to lovely villages. Great base for the surrounding areas

Lovely owner, and the chickens were added bonus the kids loved them. Shower block could do with an update but its a farm at the end of the day and cheap to stay.

Definitely will be staying again. We had plenty of room too and the field was not crammed.

Cars were parked down the bottom in sight but this freed up space for the kids to place.

Very natural campsite great for young kids who had a den in the trees next to us. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Prosserand lodge 19 reviews from this member

 We spent 5 nights here, overlapping with the start of the school holidays, the site getting noticeably busier at this time! Despite this the washroom facilities are large and ample, so no queuing and no shortage of hot water etc.

The site has a couple of rows on statics (maybe a dozen or so in total), these lying between the motorhome/ caravan/ trailer tents area and the much larger tent field (though a few of the largest family tents were allocated pitches alongside the tourers).

Each touring pitch had plenty of space, with hook-ups, mainly hard standing (but with an adjoining grassy area for awnings).

The site is just a few minutes walk from the centre of the village of Hawkshead, which has a collection of tourist shops, small supermarket and several pubs and cafes.

There is a bus service that runs to Windermere and Ambleside (Top Tip! Buy a day mega-rider (£6. 50) which allows unlimited travel on this route, plus the open top bus (service 599)and a further service to Dungeon Ghyll, below the Langdale Pikes).

The cheapest option but also a great day out in its own right. Plenty of good walks from the site - for a short introductory route head to the top of the nearby Latterbarrow for good views over Windermere. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toni786 9 reviews from this member

 We booked this campsite for a special weekend with all the family. There were 12 of us altogether in 5 units. We arrived separately, but the owners, who were very friendly, told us to pitch where ever we liked and that we could save spaces for when the others arrived, which we thought was really helpful and considerate.

The site itself has really nice level pitches. One area is around the perimeter of the site and then there is a main grass area in the centre. I think if there was space available you could just turn up and pitch but booking would be advisable in busy times.

The facilities were kept really clean. I got up early one morning around 6:00 to find that they had already started to clean them in preparation for the morning onslaught. The water was always hot and the showers are free. There are plenty of toilets, wash basins and mirrors.

There is a small shop in reception selling basics and there is also a small games room and tv. The site is only 2 - 3 minutes walk into Hawkshead, so is ideal for a break away where you can just park the car and leave it there until you go home.

There is a park about 5 minutes walk away with swings, climbing frames etc. Hawkshead itself provides a good choice of pubs to eat and there are some lovely shops to browse around.

All in all this is an excellent site to stay at for Hawkshead and nearby Ambleside. We would definitely return there. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: P+SShaw 5 reviews from this member

 We stayed at The Croft campsite for 4 nights. The site is very well organised and the staff were friendly and helpful.

The facilities are clean and well thought out - with more than enough toilets, sinks, mirrors and hot water in abundance.

The showers are clean and had plenty of hot water. Laundry room was clean and easy to use.

The scenery wasn't fantastic on the pitch we had but that didn't spoil our stay. The site is 3 mins walk from the main street with lovely country pubs and shops/cafes.

We would definitely recommend this site and will be staying there again. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jackieuk 3 reviews from this member

 The toilets/showers/washup etc were great. Also great location - right next to Hawkshead village. Children were disappointed at first about lack of playground but after a paddle in the stream they were happier!

It was very busy when we arrived and we did struggle a bit to find space where we didn't feel we were too close to others already there.

Great location for visiting south lakes - grizedale very near,no too far from ambleside and grasemere etc.

Well maintained site. Friendly staff. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joolstwentyfour 2 reviews from this member

 Hubby and I have just returned from our first camping trip in a couple of decades! The site is easy to find, travelling through some fabulous landscape whichever direction you travel from.

There is a telephone box on site, which you may need if you have Virgin Network as we couldn't get any reception until we climbed 200 feet! Lady on reception was friendly and told us to drive round the camping field until we found something suitable. We arrived about 3.30 and luckily found a superb pitch, if you want more choice it would be better to arrive at 12pm. On the camping field there were some hard stands with grassy area adjacent, so campers parked the car on the hard stand and camped on the grass.

The site is right next to the main road around the village and this may be a bit noisy at rush hour. There is a stream running to the back of the site, there didn't appear to be any problem with midgees however. The toilet block was practical and clean. The ladies (digilock broken but they said it wasn't worth fixing again, as was broken frequently by the ladies!) There were about 7 cubicles in the ladies, 5 sinks, 4 showers, 2 hand dryers, a couple of electric points for hairdryers/straighteners etc, 3 big mirrors with benches for doing beauty routines etc! There was also a baby changing drop down bench. Apparently the mens were also clean with 1 long urinal and 6 cubicles, 4 showers. There digilock was working. The Washup area just adjacent had 4 sinks each with a drainer and bench - there was even a microwave, altough I didn't use it - someone else was.

There was also a laundry room with dryers and washers - a couple of which are so new they weren't yet in use. There was also an ironing board and if you wanted to use the iron you handed your key or camping ticket into reception.

I think it was 20p for 15 mins in the dryer, not sure about the washers. Water was hot every time we used it

Next door to this was a small games room, with pool table - I think 50p a time - tv and a couple of games machines and soft chairs.

The rest of the site was for statics (which appeared to be well appointed and in good condition) tourers and EHU's with space for larger tents if required.

There is direct access to the footpath which will eventually take you up to Latterbarrow, which has views over Windermere.

2 minute walk to the village, with co-op, post office, chemist etc. If you have forgotten any essential camping gear, clothing there are 3 useful shops - Stewardsons opposite the TI Centre, very friendly and youl will find a bargain, Hawkshead clothing, which has all the camping gear - and a more upmarket shop near to the post office. Try Poppi-Red cafe, the food is lovely!

There is loads to do in the area, walking, grizedale forest is great especially for kids, with adventure playground amongst loads of other activities. All in all a great experience and would recommend this site - we will definitely return. 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Scottish Caravan / Motorhome Show 03/02 to 06/02
Compare and contrast the latest caravans and motorhomes from the country’s leading manufacturers ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2815 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar


Advent Calendar

24 Daily Prizes worth up to £599 each PLUS a Christmas Day Star Prize worth £1,999

Get a Reminder