Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments

Campsite Search > UK > England > North West > Lake District & Cumbria > Ambleside > The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments Reviews

The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments
North Lonsdale Road
Hawkshead
Ambleside
Cumbria   (Browse area)
LA22 0NX
Tel: 01539 436 374
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 54
Open: 01/01/2022 to 31/12/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 115 Reviews
                9/10 from 115 Reviews

 No Tents   No Caravans   No Motorhomes   No Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 No Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  115 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wcpasman 4 reviews from this member

 What a fantastic site. The location right next to Hawkshead couldn’t have been better.

Had a 4 night / 5 day stay. We setup in the poring rain on the Monday (great fun playing in the mud and that was just me). Thankfully it stopped by Tuesday morning in time for the Hawkshead show (2 min walk on the public footpath). No getting stuck in the muddy car park for us.

The ground is stony - this was definitely the case a few inches down - metal pegs recommended. Not a lot of space for the kids to kick a ball, but the stream at the back made up for this. Even had a paddle myself. And with the lake district as you back garden space is all around you.

Staff were very friendly and the toilets, showers and washing up area were clean. Plenty of hot water day and night, but with only 4 showers timing is everything. Everyone we met here seemed to be enjoying themselves too. There is a games and TV room for those who do not wish to spend their time getting out in the fresh air. There are washing machine’s and dryers also.

Hawkshead is typical Lake District - loads of tea shops a few pubs and specialist shops, one general store a co-op, not bad but a bit limited in stocks as it is small and you have to time it right for milk and bread. But a lovely walk early morning and in the evening who cares there’s no milk, will just have to walk around the village again.

Will certainly been returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MrsBriggers 1 review from this member

 I absolutely adore hawkshead and the croft. For some reason I feel more comfortable at the croft than at any other campsite, we went to keswick for 4 nights then here for 3 and I felt so much better here, not sure why.

The only bugbear is the showers, 10 second bursts is annoying, I just try to keep my hand on it, would look quite funny when I'm trying to wash my hair with 1 hand.

The village is gorgeous and relish is a must, they sell such gorgeous we ended up with about 6 jars of stuff.

We are going back for 6 nights next week, says it all really 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: BlackpoolFan 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a short camping holiday with my wife and 12 year old. Booked the site at very short-notice (24 hours) and was very pleased we did!

Staff were very friendly and helpful. Site was busy but there seemed to be plenty of room for everyone and you can park your car next to your tent which is handy for unloading.

Try and park in the 'middle' of the site (not under the trees), and you'll get the sun all day.

Toilets and showers were fine and relatively clean. They have a 'Quiet Rule' between 11.00 and 07.00 which was more or less observed

It was nice being so close to the village (just across the road) but be warned, the village shop is quite small and expensive and stock goes as fast as it arrives. You may wish to pick up food and stuff when you're out and about.

Overall, a good site! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dmsjlloyd 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from this site and its a beautiful sleepy family site. It has a little stream at the back that the kids loved paddling in.

The shops and pubs were within 2mins walking distance.

Would definitely visit again although the two night min booking would put us off if we were just going for one night as it cost us £36 for one night in the end as we didn't stay for two due to the bad weather. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JUSSI75 6 reviews from this member

 This was our first time camping and we really landed lucky with fantastic weather. Campsite was pretty much empty when we arrived so had the whole place to choose from. Chose a spot near to the toilets and washing up facilities under a big tree thinking that this would give us some shade from the baking sun.

This was a bit of a mistake at 4am due to the dawn chorus which went on forever. No fault of the campsite but next time I'll remember to take some earplugs.

Great site and facilities, nice friendly face at reception. Only 2 minute walk to Hawkshead centre were there are plenty of little shops and pubs. We had a fantastic time and would definitely return to The Croft.

No complaints whatsoever. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Janietee 3 reviews from this member

 Had a 6 day stay here just as the dry weather finished (normal for us in the Lakes!). We stayed on the caravan pitch site as we had requested electric - no roughing it here.

Other reviews have mentioned the ground is stony - this was definitely the case a few inches down - metal pegs recommended. Otherwise no complaints, the pitches are large as you are asked to leave 6 metres between tents / caravans.

Staff were friendly (and we nearly bumped into some of them on the local and typically narrow roads during our stay)and the toilets and showers etc were clean. The only moan I would have is the need to continually hold the hot water button on the taps and showers or it cuts out after a few seconds - hardly a great problem. Everyone we met here seemed to be enjoying themselves too. There is a games and TV room for those who do not wish to spend their time getting out in the fresh air

Local area - shops are a bit limited. Hawkshead is a typical Lake District honeypot village - loads of tea shops, one general store (co-op, not bad but a bit limited in stocks as it is small) and a few pubs and specialist shops. If you want something special try the Queens Head - the food is not just wonderful but beautifully presented, the chef's deserve everything they are paid and probably more.Definitely worth a visit for a treat.

Everything in the village is a few minutes walk from the campsite. There is a milkvan delivery that travels around the campsite in the morning with a very noticeable horn if you don't need the shops. For anything major, Ambleside is ten minutes drive away and Booth's supermarket in Windermere is highly recommended - great choice as most northern supermarkets are (am I biased in this if we come from Lincs?). The main local draw is Grizedale forest. Wonderful for easy walks or cycling and with a recently revamped visitors centre. The scenery is typical Lakeland - stunning.

The only thing that spoilt the week for us was the arrival of a particularly noisy group (including several from the adjoining tent field) at the weekend. While everything is supposed to quieten down at 11 pm, on their first night they were still going strong at 11:30 (we are nearly 50 and it was cup final weekend, but be reasonable - watching them clear up the following morning did provide some entertainment though!).

Despite this we did enjoy our stay and met some great people - a Dutch couple provided us with some nice info for a planned trip to the Netherlands next year. We would certainly go back for another stay. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a great weekend at the Croft.

Toilets / Showers tidy and clean, although pressing the button in the shower every 10 secs was slightly annoying.

We arrived last thing Friday and had electric booked, so got the last pitch remaining. On slight slope and ground very hard, resulting in pegs not getting good hold. Thankfully, there was little wind, so wasn't really an issue.

Games room was good for kids. Milk van comes around each morning, but not until after 10, which was too late for us.

2 min walk to hawkshead which is ideal for pubs / co-op / cash etc. 10 mins drive to Ambleside.

Grizedale Forest is a great day out and only 3 miles or so from site. Need car to get there though.

All in all a great site, my only criticisms being the pitches are too close together (in both fields), ground very hard and crows in trees which make a lot of noise at 4 AM! 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RJB1973 4 reviews from this member

 We were very pleased with this site. The staff were friendly and helpful and the field we were in (no electrical hook up) was lovely.

We pitched our tent to face the stream at the foot of the field so were greeted by ducks each morning and even had a robin that popped into the tent for a visit each day!

The site is very close to the centre of Hawkshead, which can be accessed via a nearby footpath. The town is very picturesque and is a good base for setting off on walks to nearby villages plus Windermere and Coniston lakes. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jango62 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 3 day visit that was worth every penny of the £45 for myself, the wife, car and tent.

On arrival the very pleasant receptionist told us to pitch wherever we liked before registering. We stayed Tuesday through Friday after the Bank Holiday rush so there was only a handful of campers left. In fact, by Thursday afternoon we had the whole field to ourselves. The ground is generally flat with slightly 'bumpy' areas and is well maintained. The toilet block is clean and the showers are free (though pressing the button every 7 seconds is a bit tedious). The site is a couple of minutes walk into beautiful Hawkshead where you will find the usual Lakeland tea shops, galleries, souvenir shops etc and 4 pubs. The Kings Arms is very 'olde-worlde' but with very modern prices! A small white wine and a pint of San Miguel is £7.20! All-in-all, a good place to be and we wouldn't hesitate to return.

9½/10

(would have been 10, but was sent 10 miles to Windermere to get a punctured tyre fixed when I later found out from a business card in the TV room that there was a tyre & exhaust place in the village!) 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bettyb 3 reviews from this member

 Very friendly staff and shower and toilet facilities very clean and tidy. Showers have obviously been updated since the last reviews as they were free when we got their but there is only four in both the ladies and the gents, which was ok for us as the site was pretty empty when we got there. There is a 20p charge for electricity points in the toilets for hairdryers etc which is quite reasonable plus the driers are 20p for 7 mins, which dries a couple of damp towels.

The main field was waterlogged as it was raining all day when we arrived so their was no tents pitched there, but the surrounding individual pitches where pitchable but had just been re turfed so it was very soft under foot and ended up quite muddy by the time we left (4 days).

Hawkshead itself is wonderful! it has dog friendly pubs, shops and tea rooms. It is quite expensive in the village but the camp site charges where very reasonable in my experience.

There is no play areas for children but there is a games room / tv room which has a portable telly and a pool table with two gaming machines which all cost 50p. I will return in the 6 weeks school hols and hope to have just as good and peaceful time! 


Previous     115 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is The Croft: Caravans Lodges & Apartments dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ambleside      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cumbria

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show - Exeter 28/01 to 30/01
Come along to Westpoint Exeter for a day of all things motorhome & campervan. The show is held both in the main indoor arena and across the ground ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2608 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement