Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park
Upper Lynstone
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0LP
Tel: 01288 352017
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2021 to 30/09/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 42 Reviews
                9/10 from 42 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  42 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hstandish 1 review from this member

 Lovely quiet and well maintained site. Despite quite a lot of rain, site was well drained and not at all muddy. Great size EHU pitch for out tent, had loads of space and reasonably flat.

Facilities were always clean and lots of hot water. Didn't find the separate toilet / showers and issue. Great location for walking the coast path and short walk into Bude either on coast path, road or by the canal.

Would definitely recommend for a quiet holiday but within easy reach of amenities. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Stuee 12 reviews from this member

 One of the best run sites ever visited.

Lovely, friendly welcome. No booking for non EHU pitches so relieved to find plenty of space even on Whitsun bank holiday. Advised to pick any vacant pitch and where to find things.

Nice to see lack of signage with Do's and Dont's everywhere which can plague other sites. Everyone was very considerate and relaxed. Children's area positioned away from campers area and seemed very popular.

There were two tent pitching fields, we chose the one beyond the statics in a sort of cul de sac and found it very quiet, well mown and almost child free (perhaps a tip to make it an adult only end?)

Hi hedges for shelter but also great views all around site and only a 10 min walk to edge of Bude town even less to the coast path.

The laundry and amenity blocks were well thought out, perfectly clean and very adequate. The showers and washing up sinks always had free piping hot water and seldom had queues.

The shop at reception was very handy and unusually reasonable. The pitch prices were slightly dearer than most but good value when considering the high standards and free hot water. Recycling was not evident but was available if bagged separately and left by the general bins (emptied every morning)

NB-Hill top site so peg down securely against the wind! Would definitely recommend. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Squirrelchops 17 reviews from this member

 We arrived later than expected at just before 7pm as the van had a breakdown enroute.

The owner was helpful and efficient and book in was speedy.

We were able to choose a pitch as was quiet so getting a flat one was no problem. The site had a mix of people who were friendly.

The facilities were acceptable. The separate toilet/shower block was of no problem to us. The facilities were a bit dated. The laundry and dish washing area was good though and I liked the small touch of having a proper draining rack on which to place the dishes!

The camp site was within easy reach of town and we had a drink at the Brandon Arms I think it is at the bottom of the hill. We then had an Indian meal at a restaurant up by the Co-op. The name escapes me at present but was a recommendation from the chap in the pub and it was a good meal.

The site had excellent views over the countryside and its high position meant that on clear nights like the one we had the view of the stars was amazing with minimal light pollution.

The site met our needs but at £13.50 we felt it was a little pricey given that the facilities could do with a modernisation. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gdlmilkman 1 review from this member

 Being only 30 miles from this site it made a short break & a practice run as we have just invested in a new tent after many years of not camping, had a great break, excellent facilities, toilets & showers, tidy children's play area, grounds well managed & well lit, no security problems, overall a great location for a short break or a longer stay with good walks to & from the site.
A clean & well managed site, would give this site a well earned bit of praise. Close enough to Bude where a variety of shops & eateries can be found, lovely walks along the Bude canal, great strolls over the cliffs to Widemouth Bay & beyond, unspoilt costal walks, within car distance worthwhile visits to north Cornwall or north Devon. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 This is an undulating site. There are flat pitches but there are also some very sloping ones. Fortunately it was not full when we arrived and we were able to choose somewhere flat! It is also true that there is a unusual arrangement where the toilet block is a short distance from the shower block (free hot water and showers) but we did not find this to be a problem in the slightest.
The site owners are an extended family living in the beautiful Devon Cob farmhouse which has been theirs for generations. We found them incredibly helpful and friendly - they offered to charge my camera batteries, and even chased after us when we left because I'd forgotten my cycling glasses.
The whole site showed evidence of a great deal of care and hard work with grass that would have graced a golf course, and an exciting-looking play area that included a wooden castle. There is access to the coast path from the top of the site and the walk into Bude along the cliffs is magnificent - do try it.
Bude has quite an old-fashioned feel without the tackiness of some of the larger resorts. There is plenty to do and see for everyone, from surfers to sitters-on-benchers. Plenty of history too, with a castle, historic canal, and other quirkily-attractive features. It has a mid-sized supermarket (Somerfield, I think) and lots of specialist shops - we loved Bude, and appreciated being able to stay so close to it. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tim 68 1 review from this member

 Despite weather - rain on Friday, fine on Sat & windy on Sunday, I was glad to stay at this site because it's so close to beautiful coast and town of Bude!

With me being profoundly deaf, camp staff were very friendly and helpful - made me feel at ease. I know the pitch a bit of problem (woken up with my face at the entrance of my tent after 1st night!)

Shower and toilet are not that far apart to be honest but still strange!

Will look forward coming back there again in near future! 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Highgateuk 21 reviews from this member

 This is a beautiful part of Cornwall, we cycled from the site along the coastal road to Boscastle stopping on the way at all the little villages and beaches. It was a hard cycle but worth it.

Now the site, very few of the pitches are level, so motorhomes need plastic levellers but the campers in tents must roll down hill when they go to bed! As previous reviewers have said it is a strange setup with the showers and toilets being so far away from each other, although they were very clean and there was plenty of hot water.
The site is on a hill and can be windy so take a wind break if you have one. The electric hookup pitches are of a reasonable size.The lady on reception was helpful if you asked the right questions! As said by others Bude is a ten minute walk down the hill, but a twenty minute walk back. The town is quite small and attractive without the usual tacky shops you usually find in some seaside resorts.
I've seen this part of Cornwall now and I don't think that I will go back, but for others this is a family friendly campsite with playground and with plenty of nearby sand and pebble beaches for kiddies so I can see why families would make return visits. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Samandchel 4 reviews from this member

 Our visit to Upper Lynstone was during a wet bank holiday.

We arrived to be greeted by unpleasant staff.

The field we were put in was very sloped - down and to the side, which was very impractical for tents.

The toilet and shower blocks were separate - which is impractical for cold, wet mornings.

The showers were dirty, tepid and low pressured.

The toilets were OK - relatively clean and modern.

There is a shop on site which was well stocked but only open for a few hours each day, other than that there is a Somerfield in the town about 15 minutes walk down the road.

The site is ideally located for the coastal path, only about 2 minutes from the site.

We wouldn't go back to Upper Lynstone, we felt it was over priced and disappointing. It lacked the fundamental necessity of camping; a hot shower. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tallulah_bb 3 reviews from this member

 We visited this campsite over the bank holiday weekend and were very pleased with all it had to offer. We arrived on the Thursday morning after having spent the night at a different campsite. (The trouble was that we were travelling from the North East and arriving in the middle of the night.
This campsite does not have a holding field and dose not accept bookings or arrivals after 10pm.) After waking up to see the first site was not suitable we decided to move on to Upper Lynstone. The staff are very friendly, facilities are very good and everywhere is kept clean and tidy. 
This site (unlike many others I have visited,) know when it's full and therefore it does not become over crowded. We were 2 couples in our 20's but it was also child friendly. Its handy for walking into Bude for a drink and a meal and also good for nice walks in the fresh Cornish air. I would definitely return here in the future. 


Reviewer: Charlie3010 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Excellent family friendly site!
Play area for the children. Reasonable rates. Has a shop that stocks the usual camping requirements.
Reasonable rates. Shower blocks clean with plenty of HOT WATER after cold nights in the tent!
Will definitely be returning 2005.
 


Previous     42 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5299 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement