Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South West > Cornwall (East) > Bude > Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park Reviews

Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park
Upper Lynstone
Bude
Cornwall (East)   (Browse area)
EX23 0LP
Tel: 01288 352017
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 65
Open: 01/04/2022 to 30/09/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 46 Reviews
                9/10 from 46 Reviews

Photos (22)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool <1 mile 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  46 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2022 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Mrs mouse 15 reviews from this member

 We made a late booking for the Easter weekend due to a good weather forecast. We booked a hard standing ehu pitch at a very reasonable price which was on a terraced field so was level, well maintained and a very good size.

This is a peaceful and quiet site, my husband could hear the sea in the background. No ball games allowed in the camping field but there is a small play area near the entrance. This may not be ideal for younger children as they'd need accompanying but for us as an older couple it was ideal and contributed to the peace.

The facilities were always clean and warm, plenty of showers and toilets. Showers were push button and didn't run for long but we'd chose this over ones you have to pay to use. The dish washing area was at the back of the block along with a chemical disposal area. There is a laundry room near the reception but I can't comment on this as we didn't use it.

This site is in an ideal position to walk directly onto the South West Coast path with Widemouth Bay in one direction and Bude the other, both with stunning views of the coast. You can also walk out the entrance, cross the road and down some lanes onto the Bude canal which was also an enjoyable walk.

This was our first time staying at Upper Lynstone and the first time visiting Bude for my husband, I've not been to Bude since I was a child and we had days out here on the beach. It was lovely to see the sea pool on the beach is still in use as I have fond memories of swimming in it as a child.

This is, without doubt, a campsite which will be on our list of places to return to, we loved it here. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Plj jones 1 review from this member

 Most impressed with this site & spec for the units around the camp site size.

Toilet blocks were well clean impressive look.

So close to Bude only a 10 minute walk.

Ideal for coastal walks.

Certain to return. 


Date of Visit: September 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Elizab 1 review from this member

 We had a lovely stay - we choose to avoid school holidays! Fabulous clean toilet thank you.

Truly loved use of fire pit & hammocks keep up

The good work.

Highly recommended 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2021 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Martyn 1 review from this member

 This is a great site with welcoming staff, a useful shop and quality facilities;

Good individual levelled plots, but maybe a little small; quiet and peaceful.

Good location on edge of Bude, on coastal path and 200m from canal path that runs all way to the beach. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2021 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 14 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Lucy and family 9 reviews from this member

 This is a well-run site in a lovely location.

Pitches are allocated on booking. Due to lack of availability when booking, despite booking in January for August, we only had a choice between 2 grass with electric pitches - one right next to the toilet block N1 on site map, or N4 which we chose.

We were advised on booking that the pitch was on the uneven side (slightly sloping), but we were disappointed to find dried-out bare earth covering the whole area where our awning had to be pitched (pitch was not big enough to place caravan other than in one position).

Perhaps we were following on from a trailer tent with non-breathable groundsheet, but it was unpleasant to have bare earth both under and all around the awning for our 2 week stay.

We didn't complain as there didn't seem much that could be done to remedy the state of the grass by this stage, and we knew from booking that the place was completely full that Covid summer.

Our pitch as well as having no grass on half of it was also very much on the small side, compared to others eg 15 - 20 opposite us. Many people must re-book year on year for the best pitches (in high season anyway).

Views from higher up site are good; there is good access to the coastal path for coastal path to Bude or you can walk down the road into Bude, or go the other direction to Widemouth Bay.

Beware of high winds as others have said; the proximity to the cliffs can make for strong winds although many pitches are well-sheltered or lower on the site.

Would probably not return due to the state of our fairly small pitch on this visit, unless we could be confident of a better pitch. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2021  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 2 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Richar 1 review from this member

 The campsite was great, but this was an unfortunate trip, which we booked many weeks in advance in order to be sure of getting somewhere nice.

We originally booked 6 nights, but the forecast for May 20 and 21 was so windy that we cancelled for those first 2 nights, and the owners graciously gave us a refund, and we stayed in an inn in Bude instead.

This meant we could enjoy May 22 locally, with quite nice weather. Then May 23 was awful (one 40 minute walk before it rained), and on May 24 the weather was worse than forecast, the wind broke 8 rods of our hub tent alongside the campervan, and so we left with 2 nights of our booking unused.

Nevertheless it is a nice site with good views and easy access to the beaches at Bude, and friendly staff, so we would go there again in good weather. 


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Wendyc 1 review from this member

 Easy access to coastal path and short walk into Bude Town.

Lovely countryside location and toilet and shower block was very clean.

Would recommend site. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Motorhome
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Bigoldbob 3 reviews from this member

 The reception was very frosty, minimal information given, and seemed a lot of bother to even let us have a site map, not even details of what was around.

Allocation of pitches is hap hazard, small outfits on big pitches, and big outfits like ours on a small pitch that even on blocks couldn't be levelled, wasn't going to go back to reception as would rather go find some hens teeth !

It is all rather cramped in, and no problem if you want to park 3 feet from another outfit to get a view as had been seen. No sense of safety and the boys on mowers ought to learn to slow down, let alone use a Strimmer without flinging grass over the hedge onto your pitch !

Suffice to say won't be returning, better places to go locally. 
via mobile


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daniecamper 4 reviews from this member

 We have had a very enjoyable 5 nights at Upper Lynstone. The pitches are incredibly well maintained and the fences which divide them were great, we have stayed in sites where other tents get a little too close for comfort, and this was not possible here.

The facilities were always immaculate. There was one occasion where the toilets were disgusting, but this was not the fault of the management, but some rather inconsiderate campers who can’t clean their own mess, it was quickly rectified.

The shop is well stocked and there is also a wide range of options in Bude. It’s a short walk to the beach, pubs, and other attractions the seaside town has to offer. The coastal path also takes you to Widemouth Bay where the cafe does an amazing breakfast’

The only issue we had was that the top field where we were staying could be quite exposed to the wind, but we sort of expected this with a site so close to the sea! 


Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Cressy69 13 reviews from this member

 2nd time on this beautiful site and for a change we had the weather on our side. The campsite itself is one of the best we stay at price, facilities, pitch size, etc, they are all just what you would wish for. Shower and toilet blocks are always clean and tidy. The pitches are massive, so even with our big air awning up and the range rover parked on the pitch, there's still lot's of room to bbq etc. The coastal walks are beautiful and no better place to sit and watch the sun set at the end of the day. 


Previous     46 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Upper Lynstone Camping & Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bude      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Cornwall (East)

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3650 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement