Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site
Llanllawen Fawr Farm
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BY
Tel: 01758 760223  or  07989716149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: 01/03/2021 to 31/10/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 67 Reviews
                9/10 from 67 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  67 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Romeo 19 reviews from this member

 The first thing to bear in mind about this site is that the road to it is extremely narrow so be mindful of that if towing a caravan.

When we arrived at the site to be honest we were somewhat disappointed, after reading the reviews we were expecting better. The site is what I would call rustic, not particularly pretty or even that well maintained but the views are lovely. We were met by the owner who was very friendly and showed us to our pitch. A lot of the pitches has their an water supply although these rarely worked as there was a problem with the water pressure and I heard a few people complaining about the lack of water when washing up and in the showers. There was only 2 unisex toilets, 1 men's, 1 ladies shower and a disabled one which I personally don't think is enough for the size of the site, all 3 fields were full but perhaps this isn't often the case.

There was a small cafe on site and although we didn't eat there the food a saw coming out look very nice and the reports I heard were good.

Where we were there was a lot of children playing ball games which I wouldn't usually have a problem with but they were very close to people's units and we weren't too happy when a rugby all hit our caravan!

The actual location of the site is a little remote, the nearest shop, pub etc is about 1. 5 miles away so perhaps too far to just pop for a drink without the car. However that aside the village is lovely and there are also so many nice places to visit within a short drive away.

My overall opinion of this site is that we enjoyed our time there but wouldn't go back for the simple reason that there are so many sites in that area that I'm sure we could find one that was in a better location with better facilities. 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Silhill 1 review from this member

 We arrived here for the beginning of the school summer term in the heat wave with our large Outwell tent for electric hook up we found the site from this web site.

The owners run the three field site two of which have electric hook ups The site is clean and well run it has the usual toilets mind you take your own toilet roll just in case its very busy and showers at 50p with a washing area for cooking but no washing or tumble dryer but we found Madog Launderette in Porthmadog on the High St opp Tesco very useful for longer stays. We also found a very useful caravan store at the rear of the High St for anybody who has forgotten any thing.

Owner runs the cafe which is open for breakfast and dinner and for tea & cakes. She has supplied very useful info for the area.

Well behave dogs are welcomed but bear in mind sheep are in the next field.

No play area for kids mind you we found the children all played together with ball games in the centre of the field without any trouble for other campers

Its good if you in a group you can camp together along with tents & caravans as neighbour's.

The location is at the very end of the public highway joining Nation Trust land.

The views are breath taking and walking off site in any direction and if you enjoy fishing off the rocks you don't have better chance of catching dinner for a BBQ. Not suitable for young children to climb down.

Take the coastal walk to the nearest village Aberdaron over looking a good family beach idea for all beach sports. They're have two lovely hotels with bars and meals. The Ship serves a good meal or go to the local chippy. Spar around the corner with a very good deli and a fresh bakers.

The beaches around this area are breath taking & some have cafe on the beach for that good lunch and out shine Cornwall & Devon for peace and quiet.

We will be coming back with no doubt and you enjoy walking and fishing you could do nothing wrong and come here.

We would like to say a big thank you for a wonderful stay here.

Only minus for a lack of soap provided in showers & toilets and washing machine / tumble dryer would be useful would save driving to a town. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MWatkins 1 review from this member

 A well cared for, simple but clean site with friendly owners who look after you very well. New cafe serves the most wonderful afternoon teas - cakes to die for - and breakfasts to set you up for the day! Facilities kept very clean and regularly checked.

Two main fields that drain well and are on a slight slope for 'vans motorhomes and tents. High season overflow field for tents. Electric Hook ups - book up in advance if you need one as there are plenty, but only round the edges of the fields. Ground takes tent pegs easily in general and holds them well - it can be windy sometimes but is sheltered by the hills from most directions.

But it is the views that make the place what it is! It is at the end of Wales! Sea on three sides. Nothing to spoil the views anywhere. No clubs or pubs in earshot - so quiet. Good pubs within 2 miles and shop for all you need day-to-day in Aberdaron. Must do is a trip to Bardsey Island. Beautiful beaches, coves and cliff walks. Wildlife is amazing too. Miles of quiet roads and safe walking.

Off season the site is still kept well and makes a wonderful retreat! Really should be keeping that quiet!

Not a place to go if you don't like the countryside. But if you do…!

Great for families with children - but don't expect playgrounds or 'attractions' The location is the attraction. I give it 10 out of 10 for facilities because though simple they are very clean and well maintained.

If you want discos, entertainment and noise, don't go! If you want to relax and feel at one with the world - see you there! 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: SEACOURT 4 reviews from this member

 This site is great, would go back time and time again. The owner is very friendly and you get a good welcome from him, The toilets are very clean and the showers are good. If you want a site that is great for walking and great views then this is it.

You can have a very cheap holiday here because it is so remote and peaceful what can you spend your money on? Best site we have been to for years, pity it's 220 miles from our home or we would be there every weekend. And very dog friendly 


Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Inverwood 2 reviews from this member

 This is a great site. For us, a grown-up family of six in a caravan and two tents, this site satisfied all our needs and wants. The farmer owners are very friendly and keen to keep their customers happy. The site is at the end of the Lleyn peninsular and is ruggedly beautiful, high on the headland not immediately adjacent to any beach - but the delightful family-friendly Whistling Sands is not far by car. The site feels out-of-the-way and the new Welsh Coastal Path passes only metres away. A brand new log cabin cafe (opening hours not known) serves snacks, drinks and home made cakes.

The basic showers and toilets are new and very clean. This is an authentic, simple Welsh hill farm campsite good enough to operate independently of the main camping/caravanning clubs. It is making a reputation for itself amongst discerning campers wanting basic quality and simplicity. This is a lovely spot with sea views. It is quiet and appealingly remote for those wanting a get-away-from-it-all break. The two fields are mostly gently sloping but we pitched very comfortably - some hook ups available. Sheep adjacent so check with owners if you have a dog. Access can be tight on the narrow approach road for big outfits. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: GeeLiverpool 1 review from this member

 This was my first camping trip in ages, found the site via this website looking for somewhere that allows fires *, after contacting the owner we set up camp on a field within 30meters off the cliff edge with fantastic views of aberdaron bay and beach.

The other campers were very friendly, helping us out straight away, we noticed there were no areas designated for fires, no patches of burned ground and this was my main criteria for the trip, luckily a caravanner helped us out by lending us a chiminea, giving us some wood and a disposable bbq to get it going, we nipped down to the beach, a somewhat precarious journey, and brought back some wood washed up on the beach.

As you'd expect it's a windy site, and the weather can change in minutes, so when we were lent some windbreaks that really made a big difference on the second night.

The toilets were clean, lots of space, hot water showers, other than a dry area to stand on when getting dressed again, you couldn't ask for more.

We were charged £30 for two people, two tents, two nights. Cheaper than stated on the web site ?

The Lady who runs the site was nice, said hello a couple of times when driving through and stopped for a brief chat but generally left us in peace to enjoy the place, also we didn't really need anything from her.

The town is a ten minutes walk with great views all around, two nice pubs, a chip shop, some cafes. It isn't cheap in the town though.

The walk around the Lynn Peninsula is fantastic but very energy consuming. Two people fell as they passed us, footing is precarious at times, and mobile phones and devices do not work here. That can be a plus or a minus, but if you broke an ankle here you would wait a long time for assistance.

All in all highly recommended. Will Return 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lord Congi 5 reviews from this member

 Have just spend 10 wonderful days at this campsite right on the tip of the Llyn Penisula.

The campsite itself is split into three fields 2 with electric hook up and one without, all have amazing unspoilt views heading out across the fields and to the sea. The owner also owns the most of the local hill tops and he has pitches on the way up that look amazing.

If you like fishing a 5 min walk will take you to the cliffs where you can sea fish, I spoke to many of the people who fished and all got caught mackerel and pollock. Apparently Nani (Man Utd) comes here to camp and fish as well.

I have stayed in a few of the local campsites nearby and none have such spectacular views of the surrounding countryside and Bardsley island

Some of the pitches themselves are on a slight slope as mine was but 1 chock was more than sufficient.

There are 5 toilets in total and 2 showers which may not seem that many but I was there over the bank holiday weekend and as pitched in the field where the toilet block was never really saw many queues and the owners visited the blocks 3 or 4 times daily to clean. A nice touch was the industrial size washing up liquid provided in the washing up area.

I paid £10 per night and it was an extra £2.50 for hook up which considering the spectacular location thought was more than reasonable.

The owners themselves were very friendly and helpful and brought me eggs one day and chatted about the local area and gave recommendations on where to visit.

There is a cafe that is under construction and I was told that this would be open for next season serving local produce (as the owner farms livestock) the building was already constructed and they were putting in the electricity whilst I stayed there and had no reason to believe this would not be the case.

Aberdaron (30 min walk, I timed it)has 2 pubs, 1 with a veranda over the beach, a wonderfull chippy, I had lobster caught that day! a spar that also has a butchers counter, a village shop for beer and an amazing beach.

You also do a coastal walk to Aberdaron but I didn't bother as there are so many beaches and places to visit in the area.

The owner also hires bikes.

I have camped all across the UK in my van and I would put this into my top 3 campsites I have visited. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hallecat 2 reviews from this member

 This was my first camping trip with just me and my dog and I wanted somewhere quiet with good views and walks - this campsite met all the required criteria. Toilets, showers and wash facilities were all good, although the site wasn't at full capacity, so it might get a little busy at the height of the season.

The coastal walk is on the doorstep and is great for taking dogs out for regular exercise all through the day. They were building a cafe at the site entrance while I was there, which will be nice for breakfasts and I can't blame the owners for looking to generate more income - with its good siting, passing walkers will have an ideal place to take a break too. The site fees are more than reasonable - £8 per night for me and my dog.

The owners were friendly and relaxed. The main farm house is a little way up the road, but that doesn't cause any problems.

It is the sort of campsite that attracts those who want peace and quiet. Aberdaron is not far and is a lovely little village with all the facilities you would need.

I loved it and will be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cathy Sims 28 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful location-absolutely stunning

We loved this site-facilities are modest so glad it was quiet. Charges very reasonable-£10 per night plus £1. 50 for hook-up. 50p for shower was fair

Wind did roar round the site but then the sun would come out and all was bliss

Owner was very helpful-suggested walks and things to do. Eggs for sale were advertised on the loo door. He very kindly came back specially to bring us some. They were very good

Best part for us was the walking on the coast paths and the views from the coast and the site itself. Our dogs thought it was heaven

Well stocked Spar in Aberdaron and enjoyed a good pub meal overlooking the beach

Would recommend the site and the area 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ramptavan 1 review from this member

 Spent 10 days at Mynydd Mawr during the summer holidays. Site facilities are basic but more than adequate. Showers were 50p for 4 minutes, tricky with a 18 month and 5 year old but very reasonable considering we were only paying £15 a night with a hookup.

There were 2 main fields next to each other one with hookups and mostly used by motorhomes and caravans and the other one containing the toilets and set aside for mostly tents.

The Owner popped over to the site 2 or 3 times a day to empty the bins and check everyone was OK. He was very helpful suggesting the best beaches and places to visit depending on the days weather conditions.

We had to nip home for a few days but even though the site was full the owner very kindly suggested we leave the van in his barn rather than go through the hassle of towing it on a 200 mile round trip.

The access to the site is down a mile or so of single track road with passing places now and again but the views from the campsite and its stunning location are worth the faff of negotiating it.

The site is on a fair slope with some pitches being flatter than others but nothing a couple of bits of wood under one wheel couldn't sort out.

Aberdaron is the nearest village, about 5-10 mins drive or an hours walk. Anything other than essentials would best be bought from Pwllheli 30 mins up the road by car.

All in all a site with a very informal atmosphere, friendly owners and reasonable prices. 


Previous     67 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Pwllheli      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4995 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement