Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Gwynedd > Pwllheli > Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site Reviews

Mynydd Mawr Caravan And Camping Site
Llanllawen Fawr Farm
Aberdaron
Pwllheli
Gwynedd   (Browse area)
LL53 8BY
Tel: 01758 760223  or  07989716149
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook
 Featured Site

Pitches: 24
Open: March - October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 59 Reviews
                9/10 from 59 Reviews

Photos (10)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant On Site   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 1 mile   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 1 mile   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach 1 mile   Watersports 1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring 1 mile 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  59 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Static Rating:
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Family with older children
Reviewer: Jimmy and Buddy 1 review from this member

This was a marvellous experience.

The unit was clean and comfortable, a bargain at £50 pn.

The location is stunning, views from the nearby headland breathtaking. There are so many things to see and do within a short drive.

Highly recommended .

Hospitality from the owners was as warm as could be.

Would be a great place to take younger children also.
via mobile

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Teazer 1 review from this member

I booked a five night stay in the Spring for my touring caravan as I wanted to explore this extreme end of the peninsula. After a few days of soaking up the delights of this spectacular location I decided five nights just wasn’t long enough so I hastily secured a seasonal pitch with owners Robert and Carole.

Mynydd Mawr is a lovely family run rural campsite that blends in perfectly with the unspoiled natural beauty of this special place. Owners Robert and Carole along with their lovely daughter Catrine will welcome you with their delightful Welsh hospitality. They work extremely hard to ensure your stay here is as pleasant and memorable as possible.

The on-site facilities are excellent. Showers, washroom and toilets are spotless. There is also a disabled/family room and a washing up point along with a chemical waste point. There are ample taps around the site and most of the pitches have hookup points. There are three fields in general use and fourth field is opened during the busy Summer period. Some of the pitches in the upper field are on a slope so you will need your levelling gear. This is my favourite spot as the views here are spectacular. Remember this is a rural campsite and all pitches are grassed. If Uber level tarmaced pitches ( Glamping ) is your thing then this may not be the place for you.

The on-site Cafe serves delicious hearty breakfasts light lunches and snacks. Carole’s home made cakes and scones are legendary. Great coffee too. There are outdoor tables with splendid views.

For walkers/hikers you can pick up the coastal path just beyond the cattle grid outside the site. Head in either direction, you will not be disappointed. The Fishing from the nearby rock marks is excellent but take great care. Be aware of the strong currents and swells and very steep cliffs. For the lesser experienced and for youngsters the nearby beaches at Aberdaron and Whistling sands are a safer option. The approach Rd to the site is a narrow country lane with passing places so take your time.

I highly recommend this site but be warned ! Like myself you may not go home !

Date of Visit: September 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Timrumley 7 reviews from this member

Great site at the end of the Llyn Peninsula. Isolated, quiet, great views of Bardsey Island and some small hills to climb to see right across Cardigan Bay and North to Anglesey. Great views of sunrise in east as well as sunsets over Irish sea. Good coastal walking country and empty cycling roads. On the site the toilet block is new and clean and £20 per night for 2 people in campervan with electricity is a reasonable price. Friendly owner. Would highly recommend for a great getaway. Aberdaron is a good hours walk away (2. 5 hours on coastal path) so bring supplies. Cafe open on site in summer, but we missed it (at end Sept 2018).

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Dora the explorer60 6 reviews from this member

WOW! This wonderful home for 4 days is joint number 1 of our top 5 sites, and we have stayed on plenty!. 'But why?' you may ask.

The owner's Carol and Robert are adorable, they are so friendly and work so hard but, still have time for a chat and a laugh, that we felt we had known them forever.

We were surrounded by views and only a short (hilly)walk to the headland. Just fabulous. On a drizzly day we walked from the campsite, along the coastal path, up steps down steps, through fields to a tiny fisherman's cove. It felt as if we had walked into a `postcard` it was`beautiful`. I did moan a few times on the return journey, but a promise of a cuppa and slice of Carols homemade cake cheered me on. YUMMY.

We loved everything about this place, the views, the cleanliness, the cafe, the best coffee and walnut cake ever, really friendly campers, but mostly the laughs we shared with Robert.

Some lovely memories made. Cannot wait to get back!

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Pennaloopy 1 review from this member

Booked for a couple of nights and stayed 4 but could have stayed for the summer! Beautiful views - great starry skies and so clean! The cafe is great - breakfasts, coffee and cakes. Robert and Carol work hard to ensure the place is perfect for a memorable stay - how camping should be! Walked up Mynydd Mawr - amazing views - walk the coastal path to Aberdaron - great pubs and eating places Definitely peaceful. Phone signal patchy - no internet - we didn’t even take the tv - very relaxing We will def be going back - hopefully some clear nights to see the stars

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ali50n 6 reviews from this member

Excellent site. Surrounded by fields and fantastic views of the sea at the end of the peninsular. Site has a cafe that serves mid morning breakfast and afternoon tea. Facilities though not many are spot less and never queued. Hosts are friendly and eager for everyone to have an enjoyable stay.

Narrow approach road, which does have plenty of passing points. Wouldn’t like to do it with a big vehicle or caravan. Site fields do slope a bit so levellers required. Worth a visit if you like tranquil sites with fantastic views and good facilities.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Gunther1966 1 review from this member

If you are looking for a site with peace and quiet, natural beauty, clean facilities and friendly owners this is the place for you. We had a fantastic four days here. The owners, Robert and Carole, were welcoming from the beginning and extremely conscientious about ensuring that the campsite and the facilities were kept immaculate and that we had an enjoyable stay. The surrounding area was beautiful with plenty of wildlife and stunning views. There are lots of great places to visit within a reasonable travelling distance. However, do make sure you stock up on essentials as the nearest large supermarket is a good forty minutes drive away.

We certainly will be returning to this site again which, for us, says all that needs to be said.

Date of Visit: September 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ged120 5 reviews from this member

This has to be one of the nicest sites in North Wales. Whilst simple, it is really well kept, friendly owners and a superb setting. Prices are very fair and the toilet block is now a really high standard.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Cosmiccowboy 1 review from this member

What a gorgeous place, it rates for us as one of our best ever campsites. Unbelievably beautiful views and walks, such a lovely couple running it, and even better no phone or internet signal. Bring your chocks if you want to camp in the quiet field, and when the weather's good get up the little hill to watch the sunset. Take two 50p's into the shower, and stock up before you get here, unless you fancy a beautiful walk along country lanes to Aberdaron. (took me an hour slowly with a stick). Thanks to the owners for a brill stay, we'll be back soon.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cags1962 2 reviews from this member

Been meaning to write a review for a while now for this fantastic site

From the moment we arrived till the day we left John the owner and his lovely wife were so friendly and helpful as it was our first year caravaning

The site needs to be kept secret really as its in the most beautiful peaceful location in Aberdaron with views out to Bardsey Island

There is lots of walks round the site but YOU MUST keep your dog on a lead when near the sea and walk out as there's sheep grazing all around

The shower rooms and toilets are Immaculate and there is never any queuing

There's a cafe on site that is run by the owners

There are two fields to choose from and John does not cramp loads of tents or vans on the site

If you want a site for children I would say there is no play area swings etc but that's what makes the site so peaceful

Children made their own fun but they do need to be supervised as the road outside does have passing traffic up the mountain

The views up there are breathtaking you can see the whole of the peninsula

Don't want to say much more as I don't want this site to become really popular it's great the way it is

We will be back John I miss your Welsh Banter and hope, you have not. Sold your sheep :))

Hope your cottage was finished and people are enjoying staying there

See you when it's gets warmer

Caroline and Andrew with Alfie and LIly spaniels

Previous     59 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Gwynedd

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a £299 Clarke IG1200B Suitcase Generator! Win an Outwell Electric Barbecue Package worth over £205

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally Camping Weekend 6 to 7th July, Derbyshire
Save £20 on a weekend's camping with masses to do ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4420 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019