Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Newnes Touring Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > Central > Shropshire > Ellesmere > Newnes Touring Caravan Park Reviews

Newnes Touring Caravan Park
Two Old Newnes Farm Cottages
Ellesmere
Shropshire   (Browse area)
SY12 9HH
Tel: 01691 624464
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 60
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 57 Reviews
                9/10 from 57 Reviews

Photos (21)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <1 mile 
 No Beach   Watersports <1 mile   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Lakeside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  57 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sunlighter 6 reviews from this member

 Enjoyed 8 days at this lovely campsite with a view of the Welsh hills and spectacular sunsets. Robin, the owner, was very helpful. An adults only site so very quiet but other campers friendly. Toilet facilities excellent. Nearby town Ellesmere had small but good shops and plenty of pubs within a few miles. Would visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Plox 1 review from this member

 Just spent 2 nights at this site and was very impressed. Great views from both fields. All facilities were well kept and clean, EHU and water tap on or very close to each pitch, owner was very welcoming and helpful.

As previously mentioned pitches aren't huge but are ample for most units. Depending on weather conditions, the main driveway or exiting the second field could be 'interesting' due to the slope. This would depend on your tow car but I'm sure that the owner would be there waiting to assist if it was required.

Ellesmere is a 15 to 30 minuite walk away depending on your fitness level, other than the 100 metre slope to the campsite it is a flat walk. In town you will find all provisions, either from the local butchers, bakers, green grocers, etc or the tesco. A couple of good pubs, all forms of take away and a thai restaurant.

If you fancy a longer scenic walk into town, you can walk down the farm track opposite the site which leads to the canal, turn left and follow the tow path round to the left bringing you out at the end of the canal arm near the tesco. Approx 30 to 40 mins. Owner will direct you if you ask.

All in all great value for money, we will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gordy8873 1 review from this member

 Spent 8 days here in September. Not a bad site. Bit of road noise. But nice level pitch. The one thing which really let it down were the toilet/shower block which while very nice were not cleaned once in the 8 days we were there. Also on the 4th day we had to go and ask for some loo paper as there was none in any of the toilets at all so had obviously not been checked 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Amanda martin-smith 2 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from Newnes touring caravan park. This is our second trip there, and it was equally as lovely as the first time there. Big plus is the new toilet block, so that made things a lot easier, I didn't have to queue, to have a shower this time, and the park was full as it was bank holiday. It has a very relaxed feel about the park, overlooking beautiful views and so very peaceful. And you can easily visit Ellesmere, as Robin the owner has mowed a path around the field, to access the road into the town. We visited the Red Lion, and although had to sit in the dowdy garden, because we have a dog. The meals are amazing, very reasonable, and the staff are very friendly. Also, although in the pouring rain, we went to the Mere and then went into the Boathouse cafe. They let dogs in there, and we had a lovely breakfast baguette and tea. That was a bit pricey, but gorgeous all the same, and staff very obliging. Another visit was to Hawkestone follies, that was brilliant, and our dog loved it. A good work out climbing all that way, no need for the gym. And a very good cafe too. Robin the owner of the caravan site made us very welcome, and everywhere was very clean, the showers lovely and hot, and the information bit was good, with books and dvds if you wanted to borrow them. All in all it was a very short but really enjoyable trip there, and we are looking forward to going back again next year, all being well. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Susiebow 1 review from this member

 Wonderful six days. Site beautifully kept. The showers and toilets are spotless, as are the washing up facilities(washing up liquid provided+ other useful things). Lovely to have your own water supply on your pitch. Excellent value for money. Friendly, extremely helpful owners. Luxury campsite! Lovely views and lots to do in the area. Owners very willing to indicate places to visit. We will return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tyrone 18 reviews from this member

 What a pleasant, relaxing campsite. Just had a Sat & Sun night there. Robin, the owner, could not be more obliging. The toilets/ Showers are first class. Robin has mown a footpath in the next field which gives easy access to the nearby canal. We walked along the towpath to Ellesmere and had some food, etc. Our initial reaction to the site was that the pitch was rather small, but we set up OK and found no problems. We were told that we could specify a particular pitch when booking next which would be reserved if available. Overall a good weekend and we hope to return soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Debsy70 4 reviews from this member

 Writing the review whilst still here although we do leave tomorrow unfortunately. We have stayed for a week but wish it was longer. The site is lovely. Very relaxed and Robin and Jane the owners are really friendly. There are horses in all the adjoining fields which I really enjoyed, the field also had lots of wildlife inc rabbits. Only has two shower/toilet but never needed to queue. It also has a separate toilet only block which is brand new. There are two fields to chose from but we stayed on the first one pitch 1. All pitches are grass but nice and level with water/electric points. First field give you fantastic sunsets and views but the views from the second field are also spectacular. The Red Lion Pub offers great food at very responsible prices. We had lunch at The Boathouse at the Mere which was lovely and well worth a visit. I cannot recommend this site enough. We will definitely come back here if we come back to this area. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Setter50 21 reviews from this member

 Stayed here for 3 nights on our way home from the lakes and what a brilliant discovery! It's situated just on the edge of Ellesmere which is a lovely town with several lakes, easily walked to from the site. The site itself is excellent, all the pitches arranged around the outside of a huge field with superb views over the distant hills, great for those sunset photos! Each pitch has its own water tap and EHU. All are on grass but good firm grass, don't imagine they have much of a problem even in wet conditions. They've just opened an excellent new second toilet block which takes a bit of pressure of the two shower rooms in the older block. All very clean and well looked after. Owners are very friendly, kept telling them we hadn't paid but the reply was always 'don't worry we'll see you around some time'!

All in all a first class (adults only) site and we will return if in the area again.

Just one word of warning - make sure you're in the right gear (1st) for the final approach to the site which is rather steep - you don't want to stall, start again and have your wheels spinning throwing up clouds of dust like I did - still, entertaining for the folks who were already there! 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gaffer13 1 review from this member

 Booked for 1 week leading up to and including Easter - extended by another week! Had a lovely peaceful stay. Robin and Jayne were very very welcoming, nothing was too much trouble. Perfect site for walking and visiting Shropshire / North Wales. Lots of great local shops and Tesco within walking distance or 5 minutes drive, although you would not think so from the site. Fantastic views, surrounded by farm land and animals. Facilities are being extended and are possibly even completed now. We will be back very soon! 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Osmosis 4 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a one night stay. The campsite is clean and well maintained and the owner very friendly and helpful!

At the moment there are only two roomy combined toilet and shower units which are modern, well maintained and clean!

There is another toilet/shower block housing 4 more units that will be completed within the next couple of weeks.

Ellesmere is a small and very friendly town with some pleasant walks and attractions, the information for which can be found in the camp shower block,

Can highly recommend the Red lion for large portions of well cooked food at a fair price. Try the mixed grill! 


Previous     57 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Newnes Touring Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Newnes Touring Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Newnes Touring Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Ellesmere      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Shropshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Truckfest W Midlands and Wales 03/07 to 04/07
Exciting family entertainment with weekend camping ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4601 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement